This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by The Sierra Legal Defense Fund on behalf of the David Suzuki Foundation, Environmental Defence, and the Canadian Environmental Law Association

Mr. Hugh Wilkins
Ecojustice Canada (formerly Sierra Legal Defence Fund)
30 St. Patrick Street, Suite 900
Toronto , Ontario
M5T 3A3

Dear Mr. Wilkins:

I am pleased to inform you that the Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations have been published in the Canada Gazette, Part II. The issues raised in your Notice of Objection during the public comment period have been taken into consideration.

Environment Canada has conducted a comprehensive review of newly published science (post-2005) on decaBDE, resulting in the preparation of a State of the Science Report on the Bioaccumulation and Transformation of Decabromodiphenyl Ether, yet in draft form. A scientific peer review of this draft report ended on January 8. We anticipate that the draft report will be released for public comment this summer, thereby ensuring transparent consultation with all stakeholders.

I will be making a decision on whether to establish a Board of review under subsection 332(2) and section 333 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, once the State of Science Report is finalized, later this year.

Sincerely,

John Baird, P.C., M.P.

c.c.: The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par le Sierra Legal Defense Fund, au nom de la Fondation David Suzuki, Défense environnementale, et de l'Association canadienne du droit de l'environnement

M. Hugh Wilkins
Ecojustice Canada (formerly Sierra Legal Defence Fund)
30 St. Patrick Street, Suite 900
Toronto , Ontario
M5T 3A3

Cher Monsieur Wilkins :

J'ai le plaisir de vous informer que le Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers a été publié dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada. Les questions soulevées dans votre avis d'opposition au cours de la période de commentaires du public ont été prises en considération.

Environnement Canada a mené un examen exhaustif des nouvelles données scientifiques publiées (après 2005) sur le décaBDE, entraînant la préparation d'un rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques concernant la bioaccumulation et la transformation du décabromodiphényléther, mais sous forme de version préliminaire. Un examen scientifique par les pairs de ce rapport préliminaire a pris fin le 8 janvier. Nous prévoyons que ce rapport sera publié afin de recueillir les commentaires du public cet été, assurant ainsi un processus de consultation transparent avec tous les intervenants.

Je prendrai une décision quant à savoir s'il faut ou non établir une commission de révision en vertu du paragraphe 332(1) et de l'article 333 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), une fois que le rapport sur l'état des connaissances scientifiques sera terminé plus tard cette année.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

John Baird, c.p., député

c.c. : L'Honorable Tony Clement, c.p., député

Date de modification :