This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection

Minister of the Environment  Coat of Arms  Ministre de l'Environnement

The Honorable   L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

July 6, 2010

Ms. Susan Van Volkenburg
Manager, Product Safety and Regulatory Affairs
Lanxess
111 RIDC Park West Drive
Pittsburgh, PA  15275
U.S.A.

Dear Ms. Van Volkenburg:

I am responding to the Notice of Objection that you filed on November 18, 2008, regarding the proposed Order adding Propanedinitrile, [[4-[[2-(4-cyclohexylphenoxy) ethyl]ethylamino]-2-methylphenyl]methylene]- (CAS No. 54079-53-7; CHPD) to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), that was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on September 20, 2008.

In your Notice of Objection, you expressed concern that the proposed order to add CHPD to Schedule 1 to CEPA 1999 was based on an assessment that fails to appropriately characterize the true nature and extent of danger posed by the substance, notably with regards to the bioaccumulation potential of CHPD. You also indicated that you would be generating new bioaccumulation data that could impact the conclusion reached on CHPD, data that have since been received by Environment Canada.

I have reviewed your submissions, and have fully and carefully considered the issues raised and the data submitted.I wish to inform you that a revised draft screening assessment of CHPD was published on July 3, 2010, under subsection 77(1) of CEPA 1999, in the Canada Gazette, Part I, for a 60-day public comment period. The draft screening assessment reflects our current understanding of the nature and effect of CHPD on the environment and human health, and is available for public comment via the Government of Canada's Chemical Substances website (www.chemicalsubstances.gc.ca). The screening assessment published under subsection 77(6) of CEPA 1999, on July 5, 2008, is annulled.

The conclusions in the draft screening assessment state that CHPD does not meet any of the criteria set out under section 64 of CEPA 1999,and that it does not meet the criteria for virtual elimination. As we propose to take no further action on the substance at this time, CHPD will therefore not be added to Schedule 1 to CEPA 1999. Given this proposed course of action, you will appreciate that the circumstances do not warrant the establishment of a board of review, which you had requested. I therefore decline your request.

I appreciate your bringing the company's concerns to my attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your organization.

Sincerely,

Signature of minister

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Canada Wordmark

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition

Minister of the Environment  Armoiries  Ministre de l'Environnement

The Honorable   L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

Le 6 juillet 2010

Mme Susan Van Volkenburg
Manager, Product Safety and Regulatory Affairs
Lanxess
111 RIDC Park West Drive
Pittsburgh, PA  15275
U.S.A.

Chère Madame Van Volkenburg :

Je réponds à votre avis d'opposition daté du 18 novembre 2008 concernant le décret proposé d'inscription [[4-[[2-(4-Cyclohexylphénoxy)éthyl]éthylamino]-2-méthylphényl]méthylène]malononitrile (CHPD) (no CAS 54079-53-7) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), publié dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 20 septembre 2008.

Dans votre avis d'opposition, vous avez exprimé vos préoccupations quant au projet de décret visant l'inscription du CHPD à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] qui a été fondé sur une évaluation qui omet de caractériser adéquatement la nature et l'étendue réelles du danger posé par la substance, notamment concernant le potentiel de bioaccumulation du CHPD. Vous avez aussi indiqué que vous êtes en mesure de produire de nouvelles données sur la bioaccumulation qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur la conclusion atteinte concernant le CHPD, données qui ont depuis été reçues par Environnement Canada.

J’ai pris connaissance de vos présentations et j'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement les problèmes soulevés et les données soumises. Je désire vous informer qu'une version révisée de l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable du CHPD a été publiée le 3 juillet 2010, conformément au paragraphe 77(1) de la LCPE (1999), dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, pour une période de commentaires du public de 60 jours. L'ébauche d’évaluation préalable reflète notre compréhension actuelle de la nature du CHPD et de ses effets sur l'environnement et la santé humaine. Ce document est soumis aux commentaires du grand public par l'entremise du site Internet sur les substances chimiques du gouvernement du Canada (www.substanceschimiques.gc.ca). L'évaluation préalable publiée en vertu du paragraphe 77(6) de la LCPE (1999), le 5 juillet 2008, est annulée.

Les conclusions tirées dans l'ébauche d'évaluation préalable indiquent que le CHPD ne répond à aucun des critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999) et qu'il ne répond pas aux critères de la quasi-élimination. Étant donné que nous proposons de ne prendre aucune mesure supplémentaire concernant la substance pour l'instant, le CHPD ne sera donc pas ajouté à l'annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999). Étant donné cette marche à suivre proposée, vous apprécierez le fait que les circonstances ne justifient pas l'établissement d'une commission de révision, comme vous l'aviez demandé. Je refuse donc votre demande.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de votre compagnie et je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental ou de santé humaine pour votre organisation.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Signature of minister

L'honorable Jim Prentice, c.p., député

Image de marque du Canada

Date de modification :