This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection - Minister's Response


September 4, 2012

Mr. Jim Burpee
President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Electricity Association
350 Sparks Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa ON  K1R 7S8

Dear Mr. Burpee:

I am writing regarding the December 23, 2010, notice of objection sent to Environment Canada by Mr. Pierre A. Guimond, on behalf of the Canadian Electricity Association, requesting that a board of review be established to examine the proposed Order to add vanadium pentoxide to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on October 30, 2010.

As set out in section 333 of CEPA 1999, the mandate of a board of review in this instance would be to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by vanadium pentoxide.

The basis for the conclusion of the assessment that vanadium pentoxide may be entering the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health is the carcinogenic potential of the substance, for which there may be a probability of harm at any level of exposure, together with the potential for general population exposure to vanadium pentoxide.  As required under CEPA 1999, the Government applied precaution and weight of evidence in conducting its risk assessment of vanadium pentoxide.

I and the Minister of Health have fully and carefully considered your submission and request to establish a board of review, and are of the view that your Notice does not bring forth any new scientific data or information that would support a change in the conclusion of the assessment.  We will therefore not establish a board of review.

Please rest assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders, such as your organization, and with the public on the development of risk management options.  All issues raised in the context of these consultations will continue to be considered in an open and transparent manner.

I appreciate your bringing the concerns of the Canadian Electricity Association to our attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your association.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

c.c.: The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, PP.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition - Réponse des Ministres

Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H3
Le 4 septembre 2012

Monsieur Jim Burpee
Président et président-directeur général
Association canadienne de l'électricité
350, rue Sparks, bureau 1100
Ottawa (Ontario) K1R 7S8

Monsieur,

Je vous écris au sujet de l'avis d'opposition du 23 décembre 2010 que M. Pierre A. Guimond a envoyé à Environnement Canada au nom de l'Association canadienne de l'électricité, demandant l'établissement d'une commission de révision pour examiner le projet de décret visant à ajouter le pentaoxyde de divanadium à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999) qui a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 30 octobre 2010.

Comme le stipule l'article 333 de la LCPE (1999), le mandat d'une commission de révision dans ce cas serait d’enquêter sur la nature et l’étendue du danger posé par le pentaoxyde de divanadium.

Les fondements de la conclusion de l'évaluation selon laquelle le pentaoxyde de divanadium est une substance qui pourrait pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité, à une concentration ou dans des conditions qui constituent ou peuvent constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaine est le potentiel carcinogène de cette substance, pour laquelle il pourrait exister une possibilité d'effets nocifs à tout niveau d'exposition, ainsi que le potentiel d'exposition de la population générale au pentaoxyde de divanadium. Conformément à la LCPE (1999), le gouvernement applique le principe de prudence et la méthode du poids de la preuve dans la réalisation de son évaluation des risques du pentaoxyde de divanadium.

La ministre de la Santé et moi-même avons examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre soumission et demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision, et nous pensons que votre avis n'apporte aucune nouvelle donnée ou information scientifique qui viendrait appuyer une modification de la conclusion de l'évaluation. Par conséquent, nous n'établirons pas de commission de révision.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à consulter tous les intervenants, notamment votre organisme, et le public en ce qui concerne l'élaboration des options de gestion des risques, y compris des règlements, et que les problèmes soulevés dans le contexte de ces consultations continueront d'être considérés de façon ouverte et transparente.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de l'Association canadienne de l'électricité, et je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental ou de santé humaine pour votre association.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Peter Kent, C.P., député

c.c. : L'honorable Leona Agglukaq,C.P., député

Date de modification :