Environmental Emergency (E2) Plans

The Environmental Emergency Regulations aim at enhancing the protection of the environment and human health in environmental emergency situations by promoting prevention and ensuring preparedness, response and recovery. They require persons who own or manage specified toxic and hazardous substances at or above the specified thresholds to provide required information on the substance(s), their quantities and to prepare and implement environmental emergency plans.

The Regulations contain a list of substances under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999), and other hazardous substances which, if they enter the environment as a result of an environmental emergency, (i) have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity, (ii) constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which human life depends, or (iii) constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health.

Any person in Canada who owns or manages a listed substance in a quantity at or over the prescribed minimum quantity is required to provide Environment Canada with information on the quantity of the substance, along with the facility location, a report that an environmental emergency plan has been prepared and a notice indicating that the emergency plan has been implemented within 90 days, six months and one year of the coming into force of the Regulations, respectively. Any existing emergency plan may be used to satisfy the requirements of the Regulations unless it does not entirely comply with the proposed Regulations. In this case, the plan will have to be amended to ensure it meets the prescribed requirements.

The emergency plan will have to address the types of emergencies that might reasonably occur, including both on-site and off-site consequences, and the associated prevention, preparedness, response and recovery issues.

Persons involved with an emergency plan along with their respective roles and responsibilities, will have to be identified in the plan. Any increase equal to or greater than 10 percent of the quantity reported will require the person to notify the Minister within 90 days after the change occurred. Affected facilities will have to notify Environment Canada when they no longer have a substance in a quantity equal to or exceeding the minimum quantity for 12 consecutive months.

You can also visit the Environment Canada's Environmental Emergencies web information.

Date modified:

Plans d'urgence environnementale (UE)

Le Règlement sur les urgences environnementales vise à protéger davantage l’environnement et la santé humaine dans les situations d’urgences environnementales en faisant la promotion de la prévention et en assurant la capacité d’intervention, la réponse et le rétablissement. Il oblige les personnes qui possèdent ou gèrent certaines substances toxiques et dangereuses dont les concentrations sont égales ou supérieures aux seuils spécifiés à fournir les renseignements demandés au sujet de ces substances et de leurs quantités, ainsi qu’à élaborer et à exécuter des plans d’urgence environnementale.

Quiconque au Canada possède ou gère une substance répertoriée en une quantité égale ou supérieure à la quantité minimum prescrite devra fournir à Environnement Canada des renseignements sur la quantité de la substance et l’emplacement de l’installation, un rapport mentionnant qu’un plan d’urgence environne-mentale a été élaboré et un avis indiquant que le plan a été exécuté, 90 jours, six mois et un an respectivement après l’entrée en vigueur du règlement proposé. Un plan d’urgence existant peut être utilisé pour satisfaire aux exigences du règlement proposé sauf s’il n’est pas entièrement conforme à ce dernier. Dans cette éventualité, il devra être modifié de façon à satisfaire aux exigences prescrites.

Le règlement contient une liste de substances au sens de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999) LCPE (1999)] et autres substances dangereuses qui, lorsqu’elles pénètrent dans l’environnement à la suite d’une situation d’urgence, (i) ont ou pourraient avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l’environnement ou la diversité biologique, (ii) mettent ou pourraient mettre en danger l’environnement essentiel pour la vie humaine, (iii) constituent ou pourraient constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.

Le plan doit traiter des types de situation d’urgence qui peuvent raisonnablement se présenter, y compris les conséquences sur place et à l’extérieur, ainsi que des questions afférentes touchant la prévention, les dispositifs d’alerte et de préparation, et les me-sures correctives et de rétablissement.

Les personnes intervenant dans le plan d’urgence ainsi que leurs rôles et responsabilités respectifs doivent y être mentionnés. Une augmentation de 10 p. 100 ou plus de la quantité déclarée doit être communiquée au ministre dans les 60 jours suivant la date du changement. Les installations qui ne possèdent pas pendant 12 mois consécutifs une substance en quantité égale ou supérieure à la quantité minimale doivent en informer Environnement Canada.

Vous pouvez aussi visiter la section des Urgences environnementales sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada.