This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06744

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06744 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved.

1. Permittee: Irving Oil Terminals and Pipelines, G.P., Saint John, New Brunswick.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of:  Dredged material.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Dredged material consisting of gravel, sand, silt and clay.

3. Duration of permit:  Permit is valid from September 26, 2012, to September 25, 2013.

3.1. The loading and disposal at sea activities are restricted to the following period(s): from September 26, 2012, to November 11, 2012; from January 15, 2013, to March 31, 2013; and from July 1, 2013, to September 25, 2013.

4. Loading site(s): Docks 1 and 2 of the East Saint John Marine Terminal, Courtenay Bay: 45°16.31' N, 66°02.25' W (NAD83), as described in Figure 1 submitted in support of the permit application.

5. Disposal site(s):  Black Point, Saint John, New Brunswick, bounded by 45°12.99’ N, 66°01.58’ W; 45°13.00’ N, 66°01.06’ W; 45°12.26’ N, 66°00.27’ W; 45°11.49’ N, 66°00.23’ W; and 45°11.45’ N, 66°01.50’ W (NAD83).

6. Method of loading: Dredging will be carried out using barge-mounted mechanical dredges.

7. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the disposal site via towed or self-propelled barges.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal shall take place in accordance with the dredged material disposal plan required by paragraph 14.2. of this permit.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 50 000 cubic metres, place measure.

10. Fees:The fee prescribed by the Disposal at Sea Permit Fee Regulations shall be paid by the Permittee in accordance with those regulations.

11. Inspection:

11.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

11.2. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site and on all powered ships directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

11.3. Ships operating under the authority of this permit shall be marked in accordance with the Collision Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, when located on or in the waterway.

12. Contractors:

12.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

12.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

13. Reporting and notification:

13.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information at least 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence: name or number of ship, platform or structure used to carry out the loading and/or disposal, name of the contractor including corporate and on-site contact information, and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to 

(a) Ms. Jayne Roma, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth, NS,  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (fax) or jayne.roma@ec.gc.ca (email);

(b) Mr. Mark Dalton, Environmental Enforcement Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth, NS,  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (fax) or mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (email);

(c) Ms. Rachel Gautreau, Canadian Wildlife Service, Department of the Environment, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville, NB,  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (fax) or rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (email); and

(d) Mr. Robert MacDougall, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, P.O. Box 1009, St. George, NB,  E5C 3S9, 506-755-5061 (fax) or Robert.MacDougall@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (email).

13.2. The Canadian Coast Guard, Marine Communication and Traffic Services (MCTS) Sydney (1-800-686-8676) is to be notified in advance of the commencement of work so that appropriate Notices to Shipping/Mariners may be issued.

13.3 The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, care of Ms. Jayne Roma, as identified in paragraph 13.1., within 30 days of the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: the quantity of matter disposed of at the disposal site and the dates on which disposal activities occurred.

14. Special precautions:

14.1 The loading and disposal at sea activities referred to under this permit shall be carried out in accordance with the mitigation measures summarized in sections 5.2.4.2 and 5.3 of the document titled "Environmental Assessment Report: Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea Program at Docks 1 and 2 of the East Saint John Marine Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick" (August 2011) submitted in support of the permit application.

14.2. The Permittee shall submit a dredged material disposal plan to Ms. Jayne Roma, as identified in paragraph 13.1., for approval by the Department of the Environment prior to the commencement of the first dredging operation authorized by this permit. The plan shall address procedures to accurately measure or estimate quantities of dredged material disposed of at the disposal site(s), the release zone, vessel tracking, and a schedule for use of the disposal site(s). Modifications to the plan shall be made only with the written approval of the Department of the Environment.

14.3. The Permittee shall submit a sampling and analysis plan in support of the 2013 dredging and disposal activities to Ms. Jayne Roma, as identified in paragraph 13.1, for approval by the Department of the Environment.  The plan shall be submitted no later than May 15, 2013.

I. R. Geoffrey Mercer
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Atlantic Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment

 

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-06744

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), que le permis d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-06744, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé.

1. Titulaire : Irving Oil Terminals and Pipelines, G.P., Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Déblais de dragage.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Déblais de dragage composés de gravier, de sable, de limon ou d'argile.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 26 septembre 2012 au 25 septembre 2013.

3.1. Les activités de chargement et d’immersion en mer doivent être effectuées entre le 26 septembre et le 11 novembre 2012, entre le 15 janvier et le 31 mars 2013, et entre le 1er juillet et le 25 septembre 2013.

4. Lieu(x) de chargement : Les quais nos 1 et 2 du East Saint John Marine Terminal, baie Courtenay : 45°16,31' N., 66°02,25' O. (NAD83), tel qu’il est décrit dans la Figure 1 présentée à l’appui de la demande de permis.

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion : La pointe Black, Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) délimité par 45°12,99’ N., 66°01,58’ O.; 45°13,00’ N., 66°01,06’ O.; 45°12,26’ N., 66°00,27’ O.; 45°11,49’ N., 66°00,23’ O.; 45°11,45’ N., 66°01,50’ O. (NAD83).

6. Méthode de chargement : Le dragage se fera à l’aide de dragues mécaniques sur chaland.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d'immersion à l’aide de péniches remorquées ou automotrices.

8. Méthode d’immersion : Toute immersion doit respecter le plan d'immersion des matières draguées requis au paragraphe 14.2 de ce permis.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 50 000 mètres cube, mesure en place. 

10. Droits : Le titulaire doit payer le droit prescrit en vertu du Règlement sur les prix à payer pour les permis d'immersion en mer.

11. Inspection :

11.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).

11.2. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis, doit être conservée en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

11.3. Les navires visés par le présent permis doivent être identifiés tel qu’il est prescrit par le Règlement sur les abordages de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans la voie navigable.

12. Entrepreneurs :

12.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l'immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l'autorisation écrite du titulaire.

12.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

13. Rapports et avis :

13.1. Le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants au moins 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion : le nom ou le numéro d’identification du navire, de la plate-forme ou de l’ouvrage duquel le chargement ou l’immersion sont effectués, le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux ainsi que la période prévue des activités de chargement et d’immersion. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés à :

a) Madame Jayne Roma, Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, Ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (télécopieur) ou à l’adresse suivante : jayne.roma@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

b) Monsieur Mark Dalton, Direction de l’application de la loi en matière d'environnement, Ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l'Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (télécopieur) ou à l’adresse suivante : mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

c) Madame Rachel Gautreau, Service canadien de la faune, Ministère de l’Environnement, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (télécopieur) ou à l’adresse suivante : rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

d) Monsieur Robert MacDougall, Pêches et Océans Canada, Case postale 1009, St. George (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E5C 3S9, 506-755-5061 (télécopieur) ou à l’adresse suivante : Robert.MacDougall@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (courriel).

13.2. Le programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) de la Garde côtière canadienne de Sydney (1-800-686-8676) doit être avisé avant le début des travaux afin que les « avis à la navigation » appropriés soient délivrés.

13.3 Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional des activités de protection de l’environnement, aux soins de Madame Jayne Roma, dont les coordonnés figurent au paragraphe 13.1, dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : la quantité de matières immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu.

14. Précautions spéciales :

14.1 Le chargement et l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis doivent être réalisés conformément aux mesures d’atténuation énoncées dans les sections 5.2.4.2 et 5.3 du rapport intitulé « Environmental Assessment Report: Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea Program at Docks 1 and 2 of the East Saint John Marine Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick  » (août 2011) présenté à l’appui de la demande de permis.

14.2. Le titulaire doit présenter un plan pour l'immersion des matières draguées à Madame Jayne Roma, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1. Le plan doit être approuvé par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations effectuées en vertu de ce permis. Le plan doit inclure des méthodes pour mesurer ou estimer adéquatement les quantités de matières draguées immergées au(x) lieu d'immersion,  la zone de dégagement, la surveillance des navires et un horaire pour l'usage du (des) lieu(x) d'immersion. Toute modification apportée au plan requiert l'approbation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement.

14.3. Le titulaire doit présenter un plan d’échantillonnage et d’analyse en appui aux activités de dragage et d’immersion de 2013 à Madame Jayne Roma, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1. Le plan doit être approuvé par le ministère de l’Environnement et être présenté au plus tard le 15 mai 2013.

Le directeur régional
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région de l'Atlantique

I. R. Geoffrey Mercer

Au nom du ministre de l'Environnement

 

Date de modification :