This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Pollution Prevention Planning for Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents in Municipal Wastewater Effluents

Working Document

Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

For consultation purposes

July 2002


Table of Contents

List of Acronyms and Abbreviations

Preface

Pollution Prevention Planning for Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents in Municipal Wastewater Effluents

  1. Persons or class of persons required to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan
  2. Activities in relation to which the plan is to be prepared
  3. Factors to consider in preparing the plans
  4. Timelines for the preparation and implementation of the pollution prevention plans
  5. Content of Plans
  6. Requirement to keep plan
  7. Declaration of Preparation
  8. Declaration of Implementation
  9. Filing of amended declarations
  10. Interim Progress reports
  11. Use of a plan prepared or implemented for another purpose
  12. Extension of time
  13. Application for waiver of factors to consider
  14. Appendix and Schedules

List of Acronyms and Abbreviations

CEPA 1999
Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999)

CEPA NAC
CEPA 1999 National Advisory Committee

CCME
Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment

CWWE
chlorinated wastewater effluents

TRC
total residual chlorine

EQOs
environmental quality objectives

NPEs
nonylphenol and its ethoxylates

NPRI
National Pollutant Release Inventory

TMEs
textile mill effluents

RMO
Risk Management Objective

P2
Pollution Prevention

mg/L
milligrams per litre

µ/L
micrograms per litre

LC50
lethal concentration at which 50% of the test organisms die

CAS
Chemical Abstracts Service

kg
kilograms

Preface

This document presents the elements proposed by Environment Canada for the preparation of pollution prevention plans for ammonia1, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents. The information is presented in the format envisaged for the Notice to be published in the Canada Gazette, Part 1 before June 23, 2003 setting out the proposed pollution prevention plan requirements under CEPA 1999. This document describes the proposed criteria to be used to determine the wastewater systems for which pollution prevention plans will be required and outlines the proposed considerations to be taken into account in preparing the plans.

This document is supporting, and is to be used with, Environment Canada's Proposed Risk Management Strategy addressing Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents under CEPA 1999.

Pollution Prevention Planning for Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents in Municipal Wastewater Effluents - Working Document

The following is a working document presenting the main elements that Environment Canada proposes to include in a section 56 notice requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans for ammonia, inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluents under Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Comments received on this document will be considered in developing a proposed notice pursuant to section 56 that will be published under section 91 of CEPA 1999 in the Canada Gazette, Part 1 for a 60-day comment period.

More information on pollution prevention planning can be found in the Guidelines for the Implementation of the Pollution Prevention Planning Provisions of Part 4 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). These guidelines and other information related to pollution prevention and pollution prevention planning can be found at www.ec.gc.ca/nopp

CEPA-toxic substances to be included in the Notice:

  • Ammonia
  • Inorganic Chloramines
  • Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents

1. Person or class of persons required to prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan

Any person who owns or operates a municipal wastewater collection system that, on the date of publication of the final notice, discharges treated or untreated wastewater effluent to surface water or to any surface location where it enters, or may enter, surface water where:

  1. (A) chlorine or chlorine compounds are used on a regular or seasonal basis to disinfect the wastewater prior to discharge, or;
    (B) the average total ammonia concentration in the discharge exceeds 20 mg/L; (The average total ammonia concentration is the arithmetic mean of at least 3 monthly averages over the months of June, July, August and September. The monthly average is the arithmetic mean of at least 3 samples taken at least one day apart.) and
  2. the annual average effluent discharge volume is 10,000 m3day or greater; and
  3. the effluent does not meet the risk management objectives as specified in paragraph 3.

The criteria used to select wastewater systems are illustrated in Figure 1.

The person may be a province, a municipality, a territory, a company or an individual, and may own or operate more than one physically independent wastewater collection system. A wastewater collection system (also known as a sanitary or combined sewer system or network) includes sewers, any treatment plant or facility, all treatment plant outfalls, pumping stations and overflow outfalls, combined sewer outfalls and raw sewage outfalls within a discrete system.

If a person owns or operates more than one wastewater collection system within a region or area, one plan may be prepared and implemented for all the systems, as long as it addresses each system individually. All Declarations, Interim Progress Reports and Requests for time extensions or waivers must be filed separately for each system.

Figure 1: Proposed Criteria to Determine the Wastewater Systems for which Pollution Prevention Plans will be Required under CEPA 1999

Proposed criteria to determine the wastewater systems for which pollution prevention plans will be required under CEPA 1999.

2. Activities in relation to which the plan is to be prepared: All persons identified in paragraph 1 shall prepare and implement a pollution prevention plan in relation to the following activities

  1. collection of wastewater;
  2. primary, secondary or other treatment of wastewater;
  3. disinfection of wastewater using chlorine or chlorine compounds;
  4. dechlorination of wastewater; and
  5. discharge of municipal wastewater effluent at main outfalls.

The scope of the pollution prevention plan does not have to include overflows (e.g. combined sewer overflows and sanitary sewer overflows), separate storm water sewer systems, or residuals, sludges and biosolids management activities, although inclusion of these activities into the plan would make it more comprehensive.

3. Factors to consider in preparing the plans: When preparing the pollution prevention plan, all persons identified in paragraph 1 shall consider the following factors

  1. Environment Canada has the following risk management objectives for the implementation of the pollution prevention plans:
    • For inorganic chloramines and chlorinated wastewater effluent, no acute lethality from these substances. Success in achieving this objective will be indicated by achieving a maximum effluent discharge concentration of 20 µg/L total residual chlorine (TRC), calculated as the mean of a minimum of 5 samples taken at least 1 week apart.
    • For ammonia, no acute lethality from ammonia. This means achieving a site-specific effluent discharge limit, calculated using the method explained in Appendix 1.
  2. The existing Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) Canadian Water Quality Guidelines for the Protection of Aquatic Life for chlorine and ammonia are, 0.5 µg/L reactive chlorine species in both fresh and salt water, and 19 µg/L un-ionized ammonia in fresh water, respectively.
  3. In preparing a pollution prevention plan, priority is to be given to pollution prevention activities, that is, the use of processes, practices, materials, products, substances or energy that avoid or minimize the creation of pollutants and waste and reduce the overall risk to the environment or human health. In this particular instance, pollution prevention activities are useful with respect to discharges into the collection system through source control programs such as sewer use bylaws.
  4. Persons should also consider the proposed long-term direction in Environment Canada's Proposed Risk Management Strategy addressing Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents under CEPA 1999.

4. Timelines for the preparation and implementation of the pollution prevention plans

The pollution prevention plan must be prepared within 12 months of the publication date of the Notice (hereafter called the Final Notice) requiring the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans in respect of inorganic chloramines, chlorinated wastewater effluent and ammonia in wastewater.

The pollution prevention plan must be implemented within 48 months after the end of the period within which the plan is to be prepared.

The proposed timelines for the publication of Notices, preparation and implementation of the pollution prevention plans are illustrated in Figure 2.

Figure 2: Proposed Timelines for the Publication of Notices, and the Preparation and Implementation of Pollution Prevention Plans

Proposed timelines for the publication of Notices, and the preparation and implementation of pollution prevention plans.

5. Content of Plans

Persons preparing the plan are to determine the appropriate content of their own plan; however, it must address all requirements of the Final Notice, and contain and support the information to be filed in the Declarations and the Interim Progress Reports. If a person owns or operates more than one wastewater system, one plan may be prepared and implemented for all systems, as long as it addresses each system individually.

6. Requirement to Keep Plan

Pursuant to section 59 of CEPA 1999, all persons identified in paragraph 1 must keep a copy of the plan at the place in Canada in relation to which the plan is prepared. If a person owns or operates more than one wastewater collection system and has prepared only one plan as described in paragraph 5, a copy of that plan must be kept at each collection and/or treatment system in relation to which the plan was prepared.

7. Declaration of Preparation

A form entitled "Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Prepared and is being Implemented - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 58(1) of CEPA 1999)" is given in Schedule 1 of this document. This declaration must be filed for each wastewater collection system within 30 days after the end of the period within which the plan is to be prepared (paragraph 4).

8. Declaration of Implementation

A form entitled " Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Implemented - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 58(2) of CEPA 1999)" is given in Schedule 5. This declaration must be filed for each wastewater collection system. It must be filed within 30 days after the completion of the implementation of the plan, and no later than 30 days after the time period specified in paragraph 4.

9. Filing of Amended Declarations:

Where a person has filed a Declaration of Preparation or Implementation referred to in paragraphs 7 and 8, and the Declaration contains information that at any time thereafter becomes false or misleading, that person shall file an amended Declaration within 30 days after that time.

10. Interim Progress Reports

A form entitled "Interim Progress Report - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents" is given in Schedule 4. This Interim Progress Report #1 must be filed for each wastewater collection system within 24 months after the end of the period within which the plan is to be prepared (paragraph 4). If a Declaration of Implementation is submitted before the Interim Progress Report is due, then the requirement to submit such an Interim Progress Report is nullified.

Where a person has filed an Interim Progress Report that contains information that at any time after the filing becomes false or misleading, that person shall file an amended report within 30 days after that time.

11. Use of a Plan Prepared or Implemented for Another Purpose

Pollution prevention plans prepared or implemented for another purpose can be used to satisfy the requirements of the Final Notice as specified in subsection 57(1) of CEPA 1999. Under subsection 57(2) of CEPA 1999, where a person uses a plan that does not meet all the requirements of the Final Notice, the person can amend the plan so that it meets all of those requirements or prepare an additional plan that meets the remainder of those requirements. Persons using plans prepared for another purpose must still file the Declaration of Preparation referred to in paragraph 7, the Declaration of Implementation referred to in paragraph 8, any amended declarations referred to in paragraph 9, where applicable, and the Interim Progress Report referred to in paragraph 10.

12. Extension of Time

Where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to prepare or to implement the plan as specified in paragraph 4, the Minister may extend the period for a person who submits a written Request for Extension of Time - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluentsusing the form given in Schedule 3 before the expiry of the date referred to in paragraph 4 or before the expiry of any extended period.Where the Minister is of the opinion that further time is necessary to file an Interim Progress Report under paragraph 10, the Minister may extend the date on which the Interim Progress Report must be filed for a person who submits a written Request for Extension of Time - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents using the form given in Schedule 3 before the date referred to in paragraph 10 or before the expiry of any extended period.

13. Application for Waiver of Factors to Consider:

Where the Minister is of the opinion that it is not reasonable or practicable to consider a factor specified in the Final Notice, the Minister may waive the requirement to consider that factor for a person who submits a written Request for Waiver of Factors to Consider - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 56(5) of CEPA 1999) using the form given in Schedule 2, providing reasons for the request before the expiry of the period within which the plan is to be prepared (paragraph 4).


Appendix 1: Derivation of Risk Management Objective for Ammonia (See the pdf file.)

Schedule 1: Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Prepared and is being Implemented - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 58(1) of CEPA 1999) (See the pdf file.)

Schedule 2: Request for Waiver of Factors to Consider - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 56(5) of CEPA 1999) (See the pdf file.)

Schedule 3: Request for Extension of Time - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (See the pdf file.)

Schedule 4: Interim Progress Report - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (See the pdf file.)

Schedule 5: Declaration that a Pollution Prevention Plan has been Implemented - Ammonia, Inorganic Chloramines and Chlorinated Wastewater Effluents (Subsection 58(2) of CEPA 1999) (See the pdf file.)




Footnotes

1 Note that the nomenclature for Ammonia is subject to change. This applies to the entire document.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Planification de la prévention de la pollution pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées dans les effluents d'eaux usées municipales

Document de travail

Partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Aux fins de consultation

Juillet 2002


Table des matières

Liste des acronymes et des abréviations

Préface

  1. Personnes ou catégorie de personnes qui doivent élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution
  2. Activités visées par le plan à élaborer
  3. Facteurs à prendre en considération pour l'élaboration du plan
  4. Délai imparti pour l'élaboration et l'exécution du plan
  5. Contenu des plans
  6. Obligation de conserver une copie du plan
  7. Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration
  8. Déclaration confirmant l'exécution
  9. Présentation de déclarations modifiées
  10. Rapports provisoires
  11. Utilisation d'un plan élaboré ou exécuté à une autre fin
  12. Prolongation du délai
  13. Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs
  14. Appendice 1 : Dérivation de l'objectif de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac

Liste des acronymes et des abréviations

LCPE 1999
Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]

CCN LCPE
Comité consultatif national de la LCPE (1999)

CCME
Conseil canadien des Ministres de l'Environnement

EEUC
effluents d'eaux usées chlorées

CRT
chlore résiduel total

OQE
objectifs relatifs à la qualité de l'environnement

NPE
nonylphenol et ses dérivés ethoxylés

INRP
Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

EUT
effluents d'usines de textile

OGR
objectif de gestion des risques

P2
prévention de la pollution

mg/L
milligrammes par litre

µg/L
microgrammes per litre

CL50
concentration létale qui entraine la mortalité de 50 % des organismes faisant l'objet d'essais

CAS
Chemical Abstracts Service

kg
kilogramme

Préface

Ce document présente les éléments proposés par Environnement Canada qui seront nécessaires à l'élaboration de plans de prévention de la pollution (P2) pour l'ammoniac1, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées. L'information contenue dans ce document est présentée dans le format de l'avis qui établira les exigences proposées concernant les plans de prévention de la pollution en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)], et qui sera publié dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I avant le 23 juin 2003. Ce document donne une description des critères proposés pour identifier les systèmes d'assainissement pour lesquels des plans de prévention de la pollution seront exigés et résume les éléments dont il faudra tenir compte lors de l'élaboration de ces plans.

Ce document complète et forme un ensemble avec la stratégie de gestion des risques proposée par Environnement Canada pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées en vertu de la LCPE (1999).

Planification de la prévention de la pollution pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées dans les effluents d'eaux usées municipales - Document de travail

Le présent document de travail présente les principaux éléments qu'Environnement Canada se propose d'inclure dans un avis qui exigera l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution (P2) pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées, conformément à l'article 56 de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Les commentaires reçus par rapport à ce document seront considérés lors du développement d'un avis proposé conformément à l'article 56 qui sera publié en vertu de l'article 91 de la LCPE (1999) dans la Gazette du Canada, Partie I pour une période de commentaires de 60 jours.

De plus amples renseignements sur la planification de la prévention de la pollution sont présentés dans le document Directives pour la mise en uvre des dispositions relatives aux plans de prévention de la pollution de la partie 4 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Il est aussi possible d'accéder à ces directives et à d'autres renseignements sur la prévention de la pollution et la planification de la prévention de la pollution à l'adresse internet suivante : http://www.ec.gc.ca/nopp

Substances toxiques à inclure dans l'avis :

  • Ammoniac
  • Chloramines inorganiques
  • Effluents d'eaux usées chlorées

1. Personne ou catégorie de personnes qui doivent élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution

Toute personne qui possède ou qui exploite un réseau municipal collecteur d'eaux usées qui, à la date de la publication de l'avis final, rejette des effluents d'eaux usées traitées ou non traitées dans les eaux de surface ou à tout endroit à la surface où les effluents pénètrent ou peuvent pénétrer les eaux de surface et pour lequel :

  1. (A) du chlore ou des dérivés chlorés sont utilisés régulièrement ou de façon saisonnière pour désinfecter les eaux usées avant le rejet; ou
    (B) la concentration totale moyenne d'ammoniac dans le rejet dépasse 20 mg/l, (la concentration totale moyenne d'ammoniac est la moyenne arithmétique d'au moins trois moyennes mensuelles au cours des mois de juin, juillet, août et septembre. La moyenne mensuelle est la moyenne arithmétique d'au moins trois échantillons prélevés à au moins un jour d'intervalle les uns des autres) ; et
  2. la moyenne annuelle du volume de rejet quotidien d'effluents est de 10 000 m3/jour ou plus élevé; et
  3. l'effluent n'atteint pas les objectifs de gestion des risques tels qu'ils sont précisés au paragraphe 3.

Les critères utilisés pour sélectionner les systèmes d'assainissement sont illustrés à la figure 1.

Le terme « personne » peut désigner une province, une municipalité, un territoire, une compagnie ou une personne qui peut posséder ou exploiter plus d'un réseaux de collection d'eaux usées physiquement indépendants. Un réseau de collection d'eaux usées (aussi connu sous les noms réseau ou système d'égouts sanitaires, séparatifs ou combinés) comprend les égouts, toute installation ou station de traitement, tous les rejets de stations d'épuration des eaux usées, de postes de pompage ou de trop-plein ainsi que les rejets d'égouts combinés et d'égouts non traités dans un système fermé.

Si une personne possède ou exploite plus d'un réseau collecteur d'eaux usées dans une région ou une zone, il lui est possible d'élaborer et d'exécuter un seul plan de prévention de la pollution pour tous les réseaux tant et aussi longtemps que le plan traite chaque système de façon individuelle. Il est nécessaire de déposer séparément pour chaque réseau tous les rapports provisoires, déclarations et demandes de prorogation du délai ou de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs.

Figure 1 : Critères proposés pour déterminer les réseaus d'assainissement pour lesquels un plan de prévention de la pollution sera exigé en vertu de la LCPE (1999)

Critères proposés pour déterminer les réseaus d'assainissement pour lesquels un plan de prévention de la pollution sera exigé en vertu de la LCPE (1999)

2. Activités visées par le plan à élaborer

Toutes les personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1 devront élaborer et exécuter un plan de prévention de la pollution pour les activités suivantes :

  1. collecte des eaux usées,
  2. traitement primaire, secondaire ou autre traitement des eaux usées,
  3. désinfection des eaux usées à l'aide de chlore ou de produits chlorés,
  4. déchloration des eaux usées, et
  5. rejet des effluents d'eaux usées municipales aux principaux points de rejets.

La portée du plan de prévention de la pollution n'exige pas l'inclusion des trop-pleins (par ex., trop-pleins de réseaux d'égouts combinés et de réseaux séparatifs), les réseaux séparés d'égouts pluviaux ni les activités de gestion des résidus, boues et biosolides, bien que l'ajout de ces activités dans le plan le rendrait plus complet.

3. Facteurs à prendre en considération pour l'élaboration du plan

Toutes les personnes identifiées au paragraphe 1 devront tenir compte des facteurs suivants lors de l'élaboration du plan de prévention de la pollution:

  1. Le ministre de l'Environnement a établi les objectifs de gestion des risques suivants pour l'exécution du plan de prévention de la pollution :
    • Pour les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées, aucune létalité aiguë. L'atteinte de cet objectif sera indiquée en atteignant une concentration maximale de rejet d'effluents de 20 µg/l de chlore résiduel total (CRT), calculé en utilisant la moyenne d'un minimum de cinq échantillons prélevés à au moins une semaine d'intervalle les uns des autres.
    • Pour l'ammoniac, aucune létalité aiguë. Ceci implique la détermination d'une limite de rejet d'effluents propre à chaque installation, calculée en utilisant la méthode démontrée à l'annexe 1.
  2. Les recommandations canadiennes pour la qualité de l'eau pour la protection de la vie aquatique du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME) proposent que les limites pour le chlore et l'ammoniac soient de 0,5 µg/l pour les produits chlorés réactifs dans l'eau douce et l'eau salée et de 19 µg/l pour l'ammoniac non ionisé dans l'eau douce.
  3. En élaborant un plan de prévention de la pollution, la priorité doit être accordée aux activités de prévention de la pollution, par ex. : l'utilisation de processus, pratiques, matériel, produits, substances ou énergie qui préviennent ou diminuent la création de polluants et de déchets et qui réduisent les risques globaux pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine. Dans ce cas particulier, les activités de prévention de la pollution comme les programmes de contrôle à la source (par ex. : des règlements municipaux sur l'utilisation des égouts) s'avèrent utiles pour contrôler les rejets dans les réseaux de collection des eaux usées.
  4. Les personnes identifiées devraient aussi tenir compte de l'orientation à long terme de la Stratégie proposée de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac, les chloramines inorganiques et les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées en vertu de la LCPE (1999) proposée par Environnement Canada (www.ec.gc.ca/ à déterminer).

4. Délai imparti pour l'élaboration et l'exécution du plan de prévention de la pollution

Le plan de prévention de la pollution doit être élaboré dans un délai de 12 mois après la date de publication de l'avis final exigeant l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans de prévention de la pollution pour les chloramines inorganiques, les effluents d'eaux usées chlorées et l'ammoniac dans les eaux usées.

Le plan de prévention de la pollution doit être exécuté dans un délai de 48 mois après la fin de la période au cours de laquelle le plan doit être élaboré.

Le calendrier proposé pour la publication des avis (proposé et final), l'élaboration et l'exécution des plans de prévention de la pollution est illustré à la figure 2.

Figure 2 : Calendrier proposé pour la publication des avis (proposé et final) de l'élaboration et l'exécution des plans de prévention de la pollution.

Calendrier proposé pour la publication des avis (proposé et final) de l'élaboration et l'exécution des plans de prévention de la pollution.

5. Contenu des plans

Toute personne préparant des plans doivent déterminer le contenu adéquat de leurs propres plans; toutefois, le plan doit répondre à toutes les exigences énoncées dans l'avis final et doit aussi inclure et appuyer l'information qui sera déposée dans les déclarations et les rapports provisoires. Si une personne est propriétaire ou exploitant de plus d'un réseau d'assainissement, elle peut élaborer et exécuter un seul plan pour tous les réseaux tant et aussi longtemps que le plan traite chaque système individuellement.

6. Obligation de conserver une copie du plan

Conformément à l'article 59 de la LCPE (1999), toute personne identifiée au paragraphe 1 doit conserver une copie du plan au lieu, au Canada, en faisant l'objet. Si une personne est propriétaire ou exploitant de plus d'un réseau collecteur d'eaux usées ou qu'elle en exploite plus d'un et qu'elle a élaboré seulement un plan comme le décrit le paragraphe 5, une copie de ce plan doit être gardée au lieu où est situé chaque réseau collecteur et/ou d'assainissement pour lequel le plan a été élaboré.

7. Déclaration confirmant l'élaboration

Un formulaire intitulé « Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu'il est en cours d'exécution - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE 1999) » figure à l'annexe 1 de ce document. Il est nécessaire de déposer cette déclaration pour chaque réseau collecteur d'eaux usées dans un délai de 30 jours après la fin de la période au cours de laquelle le plan doit être élaboré (paragraphe 4).

8. Déclaration confirmant l'exécution

Un formulaire intitulé « Déclaration confirmant l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE (1999) » figure à l'annexe 5. Il est nécessaire de déposer cette déclaration pour chaque réseau collecteur d'eaux usées, dans un délai de 30 jours après l'achèvement de l'exécution du plan et au plus tard 30 jours après la période précisée au paragraphe 4.

9. Présentation de déclarations modifiées

Lorsqu'une personne a déposé une déclaration confirmant l'élaboration ou l'exécution dont il est question aux paragraphes 7 et 8, et que la déclaration contient des renseignements qui deviennent faux ou trompeurs à une date ultérieure, cette personne doit déposer une déclaration corrective dans un délai de 30 jour après cette date.

10. Rapports provisoires

Un formulaire intitulé « Rapport provisoire - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées » figure à l'annexe 4. Ce rapport provisoire # 1 doit être déposé pour chaque réseau collecteur d'eaux usées dans un délai de 24 mois suivant la fin de la période au cours de laquelle le plan doit être élaboré (paragraphe 4). Si une déclaration confirmant l'exécution est déposée avant la date d'échéance du rapport provisoire, l'exigence de déposer un tel rapport provisoire est alors annulée.

Lorsqu'une personne a déposé un rapport provisoire qui contient des renseignements qui deviennent faux ou trompeurs à une date ultérieure, cette personne doit déposer une déclaration corrective dans un délai de 30 jours après cette date.

11. Utilisation d'un plan élaboré ou exécuté à une autre fin

Les plans de prévention de la pollution élaborés ou exécutés pour un autre but peuvent être utilisés pour satisfaire les exigences de l'avis final tel que précisé dans le paragraphe 57(1) de la LCPE (1999). Conformément au paragraphe 57(2) de la LCPE (1999), lorsqu'une personne utilise un plan qui ne répond pas à toutes les exigences de l'avis final, cette personne peut modifier le plan afin qu'il réponde à toutes ces exigences ou élaborer un plan complémentaire qui satisfait aux exigences non remplies. Une personne qui utilise un plan élaboré à une autre fin doit quand même déposer la déclaration confirmant l'élaboration dont il est question au paragraphe 7, la déclaration confirmant l'exécution dont il est question au paragraphe 8, le cas échéant, toute déclaration modifiée dont il est question au paragraphe 9, ainsi que le rapport provisoire dont il est question au paragraphe 10.

12. Prorogation du délai

  1. Lorsque le Ministre est d'avis qu'une période plus longue est nécessaire pour l'élaboration ou l'exécution du plan tel que précisé au paragraphe 4, le Ministre peut proroger le délai pour une personne qui présente par écrit une Demande de prorogation du délai - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées en utilisant le formulaire présenté à l'annexe 3 avant la date dont il est question au paragraphe 4 ou avant l'expiration de toute autre prorogation de délai.
  2. Lorsque le Ministre est d'avis qu'une période plus longue est nécessaire pour déposer un rapport provisoire en vertu du paragraphe 10, le Ministre peut proroger le délai de déposition du rapport provisoire pour une personne qui présente par écrit une Demande de prorogation du délai - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées en utilisant le formulaire présenté à l'annexe 3 avant la date dont il est question au paragraphe 10 ou avant l'expiration de toute prorogation de délai.

13. Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs

Lorsque le ministre est d'avis qu'il est déraisonnable ou impossible de tenir compte d'un facteur précisé dans l'avis final, le ministre peut approuver une dérogation à l'obligation d'en tenir compte pour une personne qui présente par écrit une Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en consideration certains facteurs - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE (1999) en utilisant le formulaire présenté à l'annexe 2, et qui fournit les motifs justifiant la demande avant l'expiration de la période au cours de laquelle le plan doit être élaboré (paragraphe 4).

 

Appendice 1 : Dérivation de l'objectif de gestion des risques pour l'ammoniac (Voir le fichier pdf)

Annexe 1 : Déclaration confirmant qu'un plan de prévention de la pollution a été élaboré et qu'il est en cours d'exécution - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 58(1) de la LCPE 1999) (Voir le fichier pdf.)

Annexe 2 : Demande de dérogation à l'obligation de prendre en considération certains facteurs - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 56(5) de la LCPE (1999) (Voir le fichier pdf.)

Annexe 3 : Demande de prorogation du délai - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (Voir le fichier pdf.)

Annexe 4 : Rapport provisoire - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (Voir le fichier pdf.)

Annexe 5 : Déclaration confirmant l'exécution d'un plan de prévention de la pollution - ammoniac, chloramines inorganiques et effluents d'eaux usées chlorées (paragraphe 58(2) de la LCPE (1999) (Voir le fichier pdf.)




Notes de bas de page

1 Notez que la nomenclature utilisée pour l’ammoniac est présentée sous réserve de modifications. Ceci s’applique au reste du document.

Date de modification :