This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion Document
Marine Spark-Ignition Engine and Off-Road Recreational Vehicle Emission Regulations

To: Importers of outboard engines, personal watercraft, snowmobiles, off-highway motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles, and to trade associations that represent these importers

Re: Preliminary Consultation on a Discussion Document on planned Marine Spark-Ignition Engine and Off-Road Recreational Vehicle Emission Regulations

This letter is to draw attention to a discussion document describing planned emission regulations for outboard engines, personal watercraft, snowmobiles, off-highway motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles. Comments are requested towards preparation of a formal regulatory proposal in the Canada Gazette, Part I, planned for this winter.

The Regulations under Part 7, Division 5 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) will apply to manufacturers and importers of 2007 and later model year vehicles or engines. The standards will align with corresponding United States Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA) rules for Marine Spark-Ignition Engines and Off-Road Recreational Engines and Vehicles (Part 91 and Part 1051 of Title 40 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations respectively).

Importers will be required to demonstrate conformity with the Canadian standards prior to importation. In the case of vehicles and engines sold both in Canada and the United States and covered by a valid U.S. EPA certificate of conformity, they will be eligible for importation with a declaration at the border.

The Regulations will require manufacturers and importers to provide information on compliance with the emission standards and to submit specific records upon request. Other provisions include information to be marked on the vehicle or engine, a statement of compliance at the time of importation, providing emission-related maintenance instructions and providing notice of defect in the event of an emission defect being identified.

The discussion document is available for electronic retrieval. Please contact Mr. Morrie Kirshenblatt at 819-953-0914 (offroad_comments@ec.gc.ca) if you have any questions.

Sincerely,
Ross M. White
Director
Transportation Systems Branch
Environment Canada
351 St-Joseph Blvd
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de discussion
Règlement sur les émissions des moteurs nautiques à allumage commandé et les véhicules récréatifs hors route

Destinataires : Les importateurs de moteurs hors-bord, de motomarines, de motoneiges, de motocyclettes hors route et de véhicules tout terrain ainsi que les associations corporatives qui les représentent

Objet : Consultations préliminaires sur un document de discussion concernant le projet de règlement sur les émissions des moteurs nautiques à allumage commandé et les véhicules récréatifs hors route

La présente vise à attirer votre attention sur un document de discussion qui décrit le projet de règlement sur les émissions de moteurs hors-bord, de motomarines, de motoneiges, de motocyclettes hors route et de véhicules tout terrain. Ce document est diffusé pour solliciter des commentaires avant de préparer une proposition officielle qui devrait être publiée dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada au cours de l'hiver.

Le règlement, promulgué aux termes de la Section 5 de la Partie 7 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999, s'appliquera aux fabricants et aux importateurs de véhicules ou de moteurs de l'année modèle 2007 et des années modèles suivantes. Les normes seront harmonisées avec les règles correspondantes de l'Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) des États-Unis pour les moteurs nautiques à allumage commandé et les véhicules récréatifs hors route (respectivement, aux parties 91 et 1051 du titre 40 du Code of Federal Regulations américain).

Les importateurs seront tenus de démontrer qu'ils respectent les normes canadiennes, avant l'importation. Les véhicules et moteurs vendus au Canada et aux États-Unis qui sont accompagnés d'une attestation de conformité valide émise par l'EPA pourront être importés, sur présentation d'une déclaration à la frontière.

Le règlement obligera les fabricants et les importateurs à fournir, sur demande, des renseignements sur la conformité aux normes des émissions et des documents spécifiques. Parmi les dispositions, il y a l'information à inscrire sur le véhicule ou le moteur, une déclaration de conformité au moment de l'importation, fournir les instructions d'entretien relatifs aux émissions et de donner un avis de défaut dans le cas où un défaut lié aux émissions est signalé.

On peut se procurer le document de discussion par téléchargement électronique. Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec Morrie Kirshenblatt, au 819-953-0914 ou (offroad_comments@ec.gc.ca).

Sincères salutations
Ross M. White
Directeur
Direction des systèmes de transport
Environnement Canada
351, boul. St-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3

Date de modification :