This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection - Ministers Response


June 12, 2012

 

Dr. Nestor B. Shapka
President of the Canadian Council of Oral Medicine and Toxicology
Vice-President of the International Academy Oral Medicine and Toxicology
5029 50 Avenue
P.O. Box 5245
Bonnyville AB  T9N 2G4

Dear Dr. Shapka:

We are responding to the Notice of Objection and request for a Board of Review that you filed during the consultation period following publication of the proposed Regulations Respecting Products Containing Certain Substances Listed in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) (the Regulations) in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on February 26, 2011. 

We have carefully considered the issues identified in your Notice of Objection and request for a Board of Review regarding the exemption for dental amalgam in the proposed Regulations.

As set out in CEPA 1999, the mandate of a Board of Review in this instance is to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by the substance in respect of which the regulation is proposed.  We are of the view that your Notice does not bring forth any new scientific data or information with respect to the nature and extent of the danger posed by mercury. 

Health Canada has concluded that mercury levels in the body from dental amalgam do not approach those recognized to cause illness, and that it is essential from a public health perspective that all Canadians continue to have access to dental amalgam, a safe, cost-effective and responsible choice of dental restorative material.  In addition, the appropriate choice of risk management instruments in relation to a substance is beyond the mandate of a Board of Review.  Therefore, we wish to inform you that we will not be establishing a Board of Review.

Management of mercury releases remains an issue of importance for the Government of Canada.  Indeed, mercury releases from dental amalgam waste are currently being managed under CEPA 1999 through a Pollution Prevention Planning Notice.  In addition, Health Canada has established recommendations on the use of dental amalgam for the dental profession, while remaining respectful of the fact that the practice of dentistry is not regulated at the federal level.

Please be assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders and the public on the development of these regulations, and that any issues brought forth will continue to be considered in an open and transparent manner.  To that end, in November 2011 Environment Canada and Health Canada published a Response to Comment document that summarizes the feedback received during the consultation period and describes how these matters will be addressed in the final Regulations, including the decision to maintain the exemption for dental amalgam.  The document is available on Environment Canada’s Mercury and the Environment website.

We appreciate your bringing the concerns of the Canadian Council of Oral Medicine and Toxicology and the International Academy Oral Medicine and Toxicology to our attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on environmental or human health matters of mutual interest.

Sincerely,

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition - Réponse des Ministres

Le 12 juin 2012

 

M. Nestor B. Shapka, Ph. D.
Président du Conseil canadien de médecine orale et de toxicologie
Vice-président de l’Académie internationale de médecine orale et de toxicologie
5029, 50e avenue
C.P. 5245
Bonnyville (Alberta) T9N 2G4

Monsieur,

La présente vise à répondre à l'avis d'opposition et à la demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision que vous avez présentés au cours de la période de consultation suivant la publication du projet de Règlement sur les produits contenant certaines substances toxiques inscrites à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Ce projet de règlement a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 26 février 2011.

Nous avons examiné soigneusement les enjeux soulevés dans votre avis d'opposition et votre demande d'établissement d'une commission de révision à propos de l’exemption pour les amalgames dentaires dans le projet de règlement.

Dans ce contexte, le mandat d'une commission de révision, tel qu'il est établi dans la LCPE (1999), consiste à enquêter sur la nature et l'importance du danger que représente la substance visée par le projet de règlement. Nous pensons que votre avis n'apporte aucune nouvelle donnée ou information scientifique relative à la nature et à l’étendue du danger que représente le mercure.

Santé Canada a conclu que les niveaux de mercure dans le corps provenant des amalgames dentaires n'atteignent pas les niveaux reconnus pour causer des maladies, et qu'il est essentiel, du point de vue de la santé publique, que tous les Canadiens continuent d'avoir accès aux amalgames dentaires, car cela représente un choix sécuritaire, rentable et responsable de matériaux de restauration dentaire. En outre, le choix approprié de mesures de gestion du risque à l'égard d'une substance va au-delà du mandat de la commission de révision. Par conséquent, nous tenions à vous informer que nous n'établirons pas une commission de révision.

La gestion des rejets de mercure constitue toujours un enjeu de taille pour le gouvernement du Canada. En effet, les rejets de mercure provenant des résidus d'amalgames dentaires sont actuellement gérés en vertu de la LCPEE (1999), par l'intermédiaire d'un avis de planification de la prévention de la pollution. De plus, Santé Canada a formulé des recommandations relatives à l'utilisation des amalgames dans le secteur des soins dentaires, tout en gardant à l'esprit que la médecine dentaire n'est pas réglementée à l'échelle fédérale.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à consulter tous les intervenants et le public en ce qui concerne l'élaboration de ces règlements, et que toute question abordée continuera d'être traitée de façon ouverte et transparente. À cette fin, en novembre 2011, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont publié un document de réponse aux commentaires qui résume les commentaires reçus au cours de la période de consultation et décrit de quelle manière ces questions seront abordées dans la version définitive du règlement, y compris la décision de maintenir l'exemption pour les amalgames dentaires. Ce document est disponible sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada portant sur le mercure dans l'environnement.

Nous vous remercions d'avoir fait part des préoccupations du Conseil canadien de médecine orale et de toxicologie et de l'Académie internationale de médecine orale et de toxicologie et nous sommes impatients de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions environnementales ou de santé humaine présentant un intérêt commun.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P., député

L'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, C.P., députée

Date de modification :