Help the Government of Canada organize its website!

Complete an anonymous 5-minute questionnaire. Start now.

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the Assessment of New Substances

What is a new substance?

According to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), a "new substance" is one that is not on the Domestic Substances List (DSL). The DSL was originally an inventory of approximately 23 000 substances manufactured in, imported to or used in Canada on a commercial scale. It is based on substances that were present in Canada , under certain conditions, between January 1, 1984 and December 31, 1986. New substances that are deemed eligible after assessment are added to the DSL, thus becoming "existing substances".

What are risk assessments?

Risk assessments conducted under CEPA 1999 consider the impacts of substances on human and non-human organisms and the physical environment. These assessments consider the hazard posed not only by the inherent toxicity of a substance but also by its exposure, which is the likelihood that a person, organism, or the environment will come in contact with it. Exposure or potential for exposure depends, among other things, on the quantity of a substance that might be released throughout its life cycle.

What main programs are responsible for assessing new substances?

The New Substances Program (NSP) is responsible for administering the New Substances Notification Regulations (Chemicals and Polymers) and the New Substances Notification Regulations (Organisms) (NSNR) of CEPA 1999. The NSNR are an integral part of both the federal government's national pollution-prevention strategy and the "cradle-to-grave" management approach for harmful substances set out in Part 5 of the Act. These Regulations were created to ensure that no new substance (chemical, polymer or product of biotechnology) is introduced to the Canadian marketplace before a risk assessment is completed and the appropriate control measures taken.

How does the assessment process work?

When Environment Canada receives a notification from a company or individual proposing to import or manufacture a new substance, the Department carries out a joint assessment with Health Canada to determine whether the substance has the potential to cause adverse effects on the environment and human health. This assessment requires that new substance notifications provide specific administrative and technical data to Environment Canada by a prescribed date in advance of manufacture or import.

What type of information is required?

A company or individual planning to import or manufacture a new substance subject to notification under the NSNR must, before carrying out such activities, provide Environment Canada with a notification package containing all of the information prescribed in the NSNR. The type of information required and timing of the notification depend on such factors as the type of substance, the quantity to be imported or manufactured, its intended uses, and the circumstances associated with its introduction.

What happens after a new substance is assessed?

The assessment process results in one of the following outcomes:

  • a determination that the substance is not suspected to meet or be capable of meeting the criteria of "toxicity" as defined under section 64 of CEPA 1999;
  • a suspicion that the substance meets or is capable of meeting the criteria of "toxicity" as defined under section 64 of CEPA 1999; or
  • a suspicion that a significant new activity (SNAc) may result in the substance's meeting the criteria of "toxicity" as defined under section 64 of CEPA 1999

The typical time-limit for an assessment is 45 days; however, it can vary from 5 to 90 days, depending on the type of substance and the quantities intended for import or manufacture.

When the assessment process identifies a new substance that may pose a risk to human health or the environment, CEPA 1999 empowers Environment Canada to intervene prior to or during the earliest stages of its introduction into Canada. This ability to act early makes the NSP a unique and essential component of the federal management of toxic substances. Substances suspected of meeting the criteria of section 64 of CEPA 1999 may be controlled by one of the measures set out in CEPA 1999, including:

  • conditions on the import, manufacture, use, or disposal of the substance;
  • prohibition of import and manufacture; or
  • prohibition pending the submission and assessment of additional information determined to be required by the departments of Environment and of Health.

If there is no suspicion of toxicity, but there is a suspicion that a significant new activity (SNAc) in relation to the substance may result in the substance becoming "toxic", the substance can be subject to a SNAc notice. A SNAc notice communicates the criteria under which a new notification will be required for the same substance. The new notification allows Environment Canada and Health Canada to assess the potential impacts of the substance as it relates to the new activities being proposed.

New substances for which control measures are taken or SNAc notices are issued are published in the Canada Gazette and are available on both the New Substances Web site and the Environmental Registry Web site.

The NSP undertakes activities to support effective and efficient decision-making about human health and the environment by seeking common ground in international efforts. Such initiatives strengthen CEPA 1999's principles of pollution prevention and sustainable development.

Further information

Internet:

New Substances Web site.

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10, rue Wellington
23e étage
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et l'évaluation des substances nouvelles

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (26 ko)

Qu'est-ce qu'une substance nouvelle?

Selon Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] , une « substance nouvelle » est un produit qui ne figure pas sur la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS). La LIS était initialement un inventaire d'environ 23 000 substances fabriquées, importées ou utilisées au Canada sur une base commerciale. Cette liste est basée sur les substances présentes au Canada, dans certaines conditions, entre le 1er  janvier 1984 et le 31 décembre 1986. Après une évaluation, les substances nouvelles jugées admissibles sont ajoutées à la LIS et deviennent des « substances existantes ».

Qu'est-ce que l'évaluation des risques?

Les évaluations des risques réalisées en vertu de la LCPE (1999) examinent les impacts que les substances peuvent avoir sur les êtres humains, les organismes autres que les organismes humains et le milieu physique. Ces évaluations se penchent sur le danger associé non seulement à la toxicité intrinsèque d'une substance, mais aussi à l'exposition à celle-ci, soit la probabilité qu'une personne, un organisme ou l'environnement entre en contact avec la substance. L'exposition ou le potentiel d'exposition dépend notamment de la quantité qui pourrait être rejetée pendant son cycle de vie.

Quels sont les principaux programmes responsables de l'évaluation des substances nouvelles?

Le Programme des substances nouvelles (PSN) est chargé d'administrer le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (substances chimiques et polymères) et le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles (organismes) (RRSN) de la LCPE (1999). Le RRSN fait partie intégrante de la stratégie nationale du gouvernement fédéral en matière de prévention de la pollution et de l'approche « du berceau à la tombe » pour les substances dangereuses dont il est question dans la Partie 5 de la Loi. Ces Règlements ont été élaborés pour faire en sorte qu'aucune substance nouvelle (substance chimique, polymère ou produit de biotechnologie) ne soit introduite sur le marché canadien avant qu'une évaluation des risques soit réalisée et que les mesures de contrôles appropriées soient prises.

En quoi consiste le processus d'évaluation?

Quand Environnement Canada reçoit une déclaration d'une entreprise ou d'un particulier qui propose d'importer ou de fabriquer une substance nouvelle, le ministère réalise une évaluation conjointe avec Santé Canada en vue de déterminer les effets nocifs potentiels de la substance sur l'environnement et la santé humaine. Aux fins de cette évaluation, les déclarations de substance nouvelle doivent contenir des données administratives et techniques précises et être fournies à Environnement Canada dans les délais prescrits, avant la fabrication ou l'importation de la substance.

Quel type d'information est requis?

Quiconque prévoit importer ou fabriquer une substance nouvelle devant être déclarée en vertu du RRSN doit fournir à Environnement Canada une documentation complète contenant toute l'information requise par le RRSN avant l'importation ou la fabrication de la substance. Le type d'information requise et le délai de déclaration dépendront de certains facteurs, comme le type de substance, la quantité qui sera importée ou fabriquée, l'utilisation prévue de la substance et les circonstances liées à son introduction.

Que se passe-t-il après l'évaluation d'une nouvelle substance?

L'évaluation doit aboutir à l'une ou l'autre des conclusions suivantes :

  • Rien ne laisse croire que la substance est toxique ou susceptible de le devenir aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999);
  • On soupçonne que la substance est toxique ou susceptible de le devenir aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999);
  • On soupçonne qu'une nouvelle activité (NAc) pourrait rendre la substance toxique aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999)

On alloue généralement 45 jours à la réalisation de l'évaluation, mais ce délai varie entre 5 et 90 jours selon le type de substance et la quantité destinée à l'importation ou à la fabrication.

Quand, à l'issue d'une évaluation, on détermine qu'une substance nouvelle peut poser un risque pour la santé humaine ou l'environnement, la LCPE (1999) confère à Environnement Canada le pouvoir d' intervenir avant l'introduction de cette substance au pays ou dès les premières étapes de son entrée au Canada. Grâce à cette capacité d'intervention rapide, le PSN est devenu un élément unique et essentiel de la gestion fédérale des substances toxiques. Les substances que l'on soupçonne d'être toxiques au sens de l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999) peuvent faire l'objet d'une des mesures de contrôle prévues dans la Loi, notamment :

  • l'imposition de restrictions à l'importation, à la fabrication, à l'utilisation ou à l'élimination de la substance;
  • l'interdiction de l'importation et de la fabrication de la substance;
  • l'imposition d'une interdiction jusqu'à ce que l'information supplémentaire jugée nécessaire par les ministères de l'Environnement et de la Santé ait été présentée et évaluée.

Si une substance n'est pas soupçonnée d'être toxique, mais qu'une nouvelle activité à son égard peut la rendre telle, on peut l'assujettir à un avis de nouvelle activité. L'avis de nouvelle activité précise les conditions justifiant une nouvelle déclaration pour la même substance. La nouvelle déclaration permet à Environnement Canada et à Santé Canada d'évaluer les impacts possibles de la substance qui pourraient découler des nouvelles activités proposées.

La Gazette du Canada ainsi que les sites Web des Substances nouvelles et du Registre environnemental publient les substances qui font l'objet de mesures de contrôle ou d'avis de NAc.

Le PSN réalise des activités à l'appui d'une prise de décisions optimale quant à la santé humaine et à l'environnement, en cherchant un terrain d'entente à l'échelle internationale. De telles initiatives renforcent les principes de prévention de la pollution et du développement durable de la LCPE (1999).

Pour plus de renseignements

Internet :

Site Web des Substances nouvelles.

Informathèque :

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington
23e étage
Gatineau (QC)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :