Proposed emissions regulations for small off-road spark-ignition engines

Download the report in Adobe PDF format (57 KB).

Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H3

To: Importers of off-road small spark-ignition engines and trade associations that represent these importers

Re: Proposed Emissions Regulations for Small Off-Road Spark-Ignition Engines

Environment Canada proposed the Off-Road Small Spark-Ignition Engine Emissions Regulations in Part I of the Canada Gazette, Canada's official parliamentary journal on March 29, 2003. "Small spark-ignition engines" are typically found in lawn and garden machines (hedge trimmers, lawnmowers, garden tractors, snowblowers, etc.); in light-duty industrial machines (generator sets, welders, pressure washers, etc.); and in light-duty logging machines (chainsaws, log splitters, shredders, etc.).

This letter is to draw attention to certain aspects of the proposed Regulations that may affect an importer of small spark-ignition engines or machines powered by these engines.

The proposed Regulations are established under Part 7, Division 5 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Most of the provisions of the proposed Regulations apply to a company which, under CEPA 1999, includes "a person who (...) imports any vehicle, engine or equipment into Canada for the purpose of sale". As defined by CEPA 1999, to sell "includes to offer for sale or lease, have in possession for sale or lease or deliver for sale or lease".

The provisions of the proposed Regulations prohibit the importation of engines by a company unless they comply with the regulations. Other provisions include providing information about the engine and a statement of compliance upon request at the time of importation, submitting records related to compliance and providing notice of defect in the event of an emission defect being identified.

The proposed emission standards apply to 2005 and later model-year small spark-ignition engines and are aligned with the corresponding United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) rules. The proposed Regulations are structured to minimize the administrative and financial burden since most small spark-ignition engines currently supplied to the Canadian market comply with the EPA emission standards. Engines sold concurrently in Canada and the United States and covered by a valid EPA certificate of conformity can enter Canada with an appropriate declaration at the border. For other engines, it is required to demonstrate conformity with the Canadian standards prior to importation.

Records related to evidence of conformity are described in the proposed Regulations together with the deadlines for their submission if requested by the Minister of the Environment. When an engine is covered an EPA certificate of conformity, these records include copies of the certificate of conformity, supporting documentation used to obtain this certification and evidence demonstrating concurrent sales in Canada and the United States. Companies are responsible under CEPA 1999 to produce these records upon request but the proposed Regulations do not oblige companies to maintain them.

A company importing a small-spark ignition engine or a machine powered by such an engine is required to submit a declaration of conformity at the time of importation. The declaration can be added to a commercial invoice that contains the information required to accompany the declaration. Bulk declaration are allowed for companies importing more than 500 engines in a calendar year.

Copies of the proposed Regulations and the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement are available for electronic retrieval from the CEPA Environmental Registry. Please contact Mr. Morrie Kirshenblatt at (819) 953-0914 (morrie.kirshenblatt@ec.gc.ca) if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Ross M. White Director
Transportation Systems Branch
Environment Canada
351 St-Joseph Blvd
Hull QC  K1A 0H3

Date modified:

Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé proposé

Téléchargez le rapport en format PDF (59 ko).

Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H3

Aux : Importateurs de petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé

Objet : Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé proposé

Le 29 mars 2003, Environnement Canada proposait le Règlement sur les émissions des petits moteurs hors route à allumage commandé dans la partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le journal parlementaire officiel du Canada. Les « petits moteurs à allumage commandé » se trouvent dans les machines pour pelouse et jardin (taille-haies, tondeuses à gazon, tracteurs à jardin, souffleuses à neige, etc.), dans les machines industrielles de faible puissance (génératrices, machines à souder, nettoyeurs haute pression) et dans les machines d'exploitation forestière (scies à chaîne, fendeuses hydrauliques, déchiqueteuses, etc.).

Cette lettre vise à attirer l'attention sur certains aspects du projet de règlement qui risquent d'avoir des conséquences pour un importateur de petits moteurs à allumage commandé ou de machines munies de ces moteurs.

Le projet de règlement est établi en vertu de la partie 7, section 5 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. La plupart des dispositions du projet de règlement s'appliquent à une entreprise qui, en vertu de la LCPE (1999), comprend un « importateur au Canada de véhicules, moteurs ou équipements destinés à la vente ». La LCPE (1999) définit la vente ainsi : « Sont assimilées à la vente, la location, l'offre de vente ou de location ainsi que la possession et la livraison en vue de la vente ou de la location ».

Les dispositions du projet de règlement interdisent l'importation de moteurs à allumage commandé par une entreprise si ceux-ci ne respectent pas les règlements. D'autres dispositions exigent de transmettre des renseignements sur le moteur ainsi qu'une déclaration de conformité au moment de l'importation, de présenter des documents se rapportant à la conformité et de donner un avis de défaut si une défaillance en rapport avec les émissions est repérée.

Les normes d'émissions proposées s'appliqueront aux petits moteurs à allumage commandé à partir de l'année modèle 2005 et elles sont alignées avec les règles correspondantes de l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis (EPA). Le projet de règlement vise à minimiser le fardeau administratif et financier. La plupart des petits moteurs à allumage commandé qui sont actuellement vendus au Canada respectent les normes d'émission de l'EPA. Les moteurs qui sont vendus à la fois aux Canada et aux États-Unis et qui font l'objet d'un certificat de conformité valide de l'EPA peuvent être importés au Canada avec la présentation d'une déclaration adéquate à la frontière. Dans le cas des moteurs ne figurant pas dans cette catégorie, vous devez démontrer que ceux-ci respectent les normes canadiennes avant de les importer.

Les documents se rapportant à la justification de la conformité sont décrits dans le projet de règlement, tout comme les délais pour la présentation de ceux-ci si le ministre de l'Environnement présente une demande à cet effet. Dans le cas des moteurs couverts par un certificat de conformité de l'EPA, ces documents comprennent une copie de ce certificat, les documents justificatifs qui ont servi à obtenir la certification et un document démontrant une vente concurrente au Canada et aux États-Unis. En vertu de la LCPE (1999), les entreprises ont la responsabilité de fournir ces documents sur demande, mais le projet de règlement n'oblige pas les entreprises à les conserver.

Une société qui importe un petit moteur à allumage commandé ou une machine munie de ce type de moteur doit présenter une déclaration de conformité au moment de l'importation. Cette déclaration peut être inclue dans la facture commerciale qui contient les renseignements devant accompagner la déclaration. On autorise les sociétés qui importent plus de 500 moteurs au cours d'une année civile à présenter une déclaration en bloc.

Des copies de la proposition de règlement et du résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation sont disponibles par téléchargement électronique sur le Registre environnemental de la LCPE. Si vous avez des questions, communiquez avec M. Morrie Kirshenblatt au (819) 953-0914 (morrie.kirshenblatt@ec.gc.ca).

Je vous prie d'agréer l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

Ross M. White Directeur

Direction des systèmes de transport
Environnement Canada
351, boul. Saint-Joseph
Hull (Québec)  K1A 0H3

Date de modification :