Skip booklet index and go to page content

Proposed Guidelines for the Reduction of Nitrogen Oxide Emissions from Natural Gas–fuelled Stationary Combustion Turbines

Download the proposed Guidelines in a portable format (534 Kilobytes)

1. Foreword

The development of the Guidelines for the Reduction of Nitrogen Oxide Emissions from Natural Gas–fuelled Stationary Combustion Turbines (henceforth “the Guidelines”), to be published under section 54 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA), follows the agreement made by federal, provincial and territorial environment ministers to better protect human health and the environment by endorsing and implementing a new Air Quality Management System (AQMS). The AQMS includes Canadian Ambient Air Quality Standards for fine particulate matter and ground-level ozone, Base Level Industrial Emissions Requirements (BLIERs) and local Air Zone Management by the provincial/territorial jurisdictions.

Environment and Climate Change Canada led a multi-stakeholder BLIERs working group that developed consensus-based NOx emission requirements for new natural gas–fuelled combustion turbines. These requirements form the foundation for the emission limits in the Guidelines.

The Guidelines introduce a nitrogen oxide (NOx) emission limit that is up to 50% more stringent than emission limits set out in the National Emission Guidelines for Stationary Combustion Turbines published by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Envirnonment (CCME) in 1992.

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change Canada recommends that the appropriate regulatory authorities adopt the Guidelines as a baseline emission limit for NOx from natural gas–fuelled stationary combustion turbines. However, the Guidelines do not prevent provinces or territories from setting more stringent emission requirements for combustion turbines via of their own provincial policies.

 
1. Foreword
Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Directives préliminaires pour la réduction des émissions d'oxyde d'azote rejetées par les turbines à combustion fixes alimentées au gaz naturel

Téléchargez les Directives préliminaires en format portable (581 kilo-octets)

1. Avant-propos

L'élaboration des directives concernant la réduction des émissions d'oxydes d'azote des turbines à combustion fixes alimentées au gaz naturel (ci-après appelées « les directives »), qui doivent être publiées en vertu de l'article 54 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE], fait suite à un accord entre les ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux. Cet accord vise à mieux protéger la santé humaine et l'environnement en adoptant et n mettant en application un nouveau système de gestion de la qualité de l'air (SGQA). Le SGQA comprend des normes canadiennes sur la qualité de l’air ambiant pour les matières particulaires fines et l’ozone au niveau du sol ainsi que des exigences de base relatives aux émissions industrielles (EBEI). Le SCGA prévoit aussi une gestion des zones atmosphériques locales par les autorités provinciales/territoriales.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada a dirigé un groupe de travail plurilatéral sur les EBEI. Ce groupe a d'un commun accord élaboré des exigences sur les émissions de NOx des nouvelles turbines à combustion alimentées au gaz naturel. Ces exigences servent de fondement aux limites d’émissions des présentes directives.

Les directives introduisent une limite d’émission de NOx qui est jusqu'à 50 % plus exigeante que celles établies dans la Recommandation nationale sur les émissions des turbines à combustion fixes publiée en 1992 par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME).

La ministre d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada recommande aux autorités de réglementation concernées d'adopter les présentes directives à titre de limite pour les émissions de NOx des turbines à combustion fixes alimentées au gaz naturel. Toutefois, il est entendu que les directives n'empêchent ni les provinces ni les territoires d'adopter des exigences d'émission plus strictes aux termes de leurs politiques provinciales.

 
1. Avant-propos
Date de modification :