This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection - Minister's Response


Ms. Shannon Coombs
President
Canadian Consumer Specialty
 Products Association
130 Albert Street, Suite 800
Ottawa ON K1P 5G4

Mr. Derek Nighbor
Senior Vice-President, Public and Regulatory Affairs
Food & Consumer Products of Canada
885 Don Mills Road, Suite 301
Toronto ON M3C 1V9

 

Mr. Darren Praznik
President and Chief Executive Officer
Canadian Cosmetic, Toiletry and Fragrance Association
420 Britannia Road East, Suite 102
Mississauga ON L4Z 3L5

 

Dear Ms. Coombs, Mr. Nighbor and Mr. Praznik:

I am responding to the Notice of Objection that you filed on April 27, 2011, regarding the generic nature of the proposed Regulations Respecting Products Containing Certain Substances Listed in Schedule 1 to the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, (CEPA 1999) (the Regulations) that were published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on February 26, 2011, for a 75-day consultation period that ended on May 12, 2011.

Your Notice of Objection requests that I establish a Board of Review. You also express concern that the generic nature of the proposed Regulations was inappropriate and had not been the subject of adequate consultation.

I have carefully considered the issues identified in your Notice of Objection in deciding whether to establish a Board of Review. As set out in CEPA 1999, the mandate of a Board of Review in this instance is to inquire into the nature and extent of the danger posed by the substance in respect of which the regulation is proposed. As your Notice of Objection does not provide any information that relates to this mandate, I am informing you that I will not establish a Board of Review.

Please be assured that the Government of Canada is committed to consulting with all stakeholders and the public on the development of the proposed Regulations, and that any issues brought forth will continue to be considered in an open and transparent manner. To that end, Environment Canada and Health Canada published a Response to Comments document (http://www.ec.gc.ca./mercure-mercury/default.asp?lang=En&n=E4070F21-1) that summarizes the feedback received during the consultation period and describes how these matters will be addressed in the final Regulations. The document is available on Environment Canada's Mercury and the Environment website.

At the time of publication of the proposed Regulations, mercury was the only substance targeted. As stated in the Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement, any addition of a substance would be done in accordance with the regulatory process, including public consultation requirements, as set out in CEPA 1999, and would require amendments to the Regulations as well as the development of a separate Regulatory Impact Analysis Statement and pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I. Nevertheless, I wish to inform you that, subject to the approval of the Governor in Council, it is proposed that the final Regulations deal explicitly and exclusively with products containing mercury.

I appreciate your bringing your organizations' concerns to my attention, and look forward to working with you in the future on environmental or human health matters of mutual interest.

Sincerely,

 

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition - Réponse du Ministre


Mme Shannon Coombs
Présidente
Association canadienne de produits
de consommation spécialisés
130, rue Albert, bureau 800
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 5G4

M. Derek Nighbor
Vice-président principal, Affaires publiques et réglementaires
Produits alimentaires et de consommation du Canada
885, chemin Don Mills, bureau 301
Toronto (Ontario) M3C 1V9

 

M. Darren Praznik
Président et président-directeur général
Association canadienne des cosmétiques, produits de toilette et parfums
420, Britannia Road East, bureau 102
Mississauga (Ontario) L4Z 3L5

 

Madame, Messieurs,

La présente vise à répondre à l'avis d'opposition que vous avez présenté le 27 avril 2011, portant sur la nature générique du projet de Règlement sur lesproduits contenant certaines substances toxiques inscrites à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)]. Ce projet de règlement a été publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, le 26 février 2011 pour une période de consultation de 75 jours prenant fin le 12 mai 2011.

Votre avis d'opposition demande l'établissement d'une commission de révision. Vous exprimez également vos inquiétudes quant au fait que la nature générique du projet de règlement était inappropriée et n'a pas fait l'objet d'une consultation adéquate.

J'ai examiné soigneusement les enjeux soulevés dans votre avis d'opposition afin de déterminer la nécessité ou non d'établir une commission de révision. Dans ce contexte, le mandat d'une commission de révision, tel qu'il est établi dans la LCPE (1999), consiste à enquêter sur la nature et l'importance du danger que représente la substance visée par le projet de règlement. Étant donné que votre avis d'opposition ne fournit aucune information relative à ce mandat, je tiens à vous informer que je n'établirai pas une commission de révision.

Soyez assuré que le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à consulter tous les intervenants et le public en ce qui concerne l'élaboration des projets de règlement, et que toute question abordée continuera d'être traitée de façon ouverte et transparente. À cette fin, Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont publié un document de réponse aux commentaires (http://www.ec.gc.ca./mercure-mercury/default.asp?lang=Fr&n=E4070F21-1) qui résume les commentaires reçus au cours de la période de consultation et décrit de quelle manière ces questions seront abordées dans la version définitive du règlement. Ce document est disponible sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada portant sur le mercure dans l'environnement.

Au moment de la publication du projet de règlement, le mercure était la seule substance ciblée. Tel qu'il est indiqué dans le Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation, tout ajout d'une substance doit être fait conformément au processus réglementaire, y compris les exigences en matière de consultation publique, tel qu'il est énoncé dans la LCPE (1999). Cela exigerait des modifications au règlement ainsi que la préparation d'un Résumé de l'étude d'impact de la réglementation distinct, ainsi qu'une publication préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada. Toutefois, je tiens à vous informer que, sous réserve de l'approbation du gouverneur en conseil, il est proposé que la version finale du règlement traite explicitement et exclusivement des produits contenant du mercure.  

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de vos entreprises et je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions environnementales ou de santé humaine présentant un intérêt commun.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Messieurs, l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.

 

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P., député

Date de modification :