This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Fact Sheets

The Canadian Environmental Protection Act (CEPA 1999) and the Assessment of Existing Substances

What is an existing substance?

An existing substance is a substance that has been or is currently used in Canada as a commercial substance or product, or released as a single substance, an effluent, a mixture or a contaminant into the Canadian environment. This includes substances appearing on the Domestic Substances List.

What are the main programs responsible for assessing existing substances under CEPA 1999?

More efficient processes for identifying, screening, assessing and managing toxic substances were introduced in CEPA 1999. Two measures were included in the Act - the Categorization and Screening of the Domestic Substances List (DSL) and the review of decisions of other jurisdictions.

The Priority Substances Assessment Program (PSAP) was initiated under CEPA 1988. In CEPA 1999, this program continues to play a key role, particularly when issues associated with substances are difficult and complex, and warrant a comprehensive assessment.

What is the definition of a "toxic" substance under CEPA?

According to Section 64 of CEPA 1999, a substance is "toxic" if it is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that:

  • have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity;
  • constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or
  • constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health.

Determining a substance to be CEPA "toxic" is therefore a function of its release into the environment, the resulting concentrations in environmental media, and its inherent toxicity.

What is the Domestic Substances List (DSL)?

The DSLincludes substances that were, between January 1, 1984, and December 31, 1986, in Canadian commerce, used for manufacturing purposes, or manufactured in or imported into Canada in a quantity of 100 kg or more in any calendar year. The List is regularly amended to include additional substances that become eligible following assessment under the New

Substances Notification Regulations. The DSL currently contains approximately 23,000 substances.

What are the categorization and screening of the DSLProgram?

CEPA 1999 requires that all substances on the DSL that have not been subject to notification and assessment as new substances be categorized within seven years of Royal Assent, which occurred September 14, 1999.

The first phase of this Program, categorization, involves the systematic identification of substances on the DSL that should be subject to screening level risk assessment. For this purpose, categorization is looking for substances that:

  • are inherently toxic, and display either of the characteristics of persistence (take a long time to break down) or bioaccumulation (collect in living organisms and end up in the food chain), or
  • may present to individuals in Canada the greatest potential for exposure.

The screening level risk assessment considers whether the substance is "toxic" or capable of becoming "toxic," and may result in one of the following outcomes:

  • no further action is taken;
  • if the substance is not already listed, it could be added to the Priority Substances List under the Priority Substance Assessment Program; or
  • a recommendation is made that the substance be added Schedule 1 of CEPA1999.

What is the Program on Reviewing Decisions of other Jurisdictions?

From time to time the Minister may be informed of a decision by another jurisdiction to prohibit or substantially restrict a substance for environmental or health reasons. Canadian provinces or territories and member countries of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) are recognized as other jurisdictions under CEPA 1999. When the Minister receives such information, a review of the information supporting the decision is undertaken to ascertain whether it supports a determination that the substance is "toxic" or capable of becoming "toxic" in a Canadian context.

What is the Priority Substances Assessment Program?

The Ministers of the Environment and Health are required to develop a list of substances that are given priority for assessment to determine whether they are "toxic" or capable of becoming "toxic" as defined under Section 64 of CEPA 1999. This list is known as the Priority Substances List (PSL). The responsibility for assessing priority substances is shared by Environment Canada and Health Canada. These represent comprehensive assessments of all relevant aspects of

a substance, and can involve information gathering and testing. CEPA is very prescriptive about the time available to complete assessments, including circumstances where testing is needed.

What happens when a substance is declared "toxic"?

Substances that are declared "toxic" under CEPA 1999 are placed on Schedule 1 of the Act. They are then considered for risk management measures, such as regulations, guidelines or codes of practice to control any aspect of their life cycle, from the research and development stage through manufacture, use, storage, transport and ultimate disposal.

When a substance is determined to be "toxic" or capable of becoming "toxic," and is persistent, bioaccumulative and results primarily from human activity, then it is proposed for virtual elimination under CEPA 1999.

Virtual elimination is the reduction of releases to the environment of the most dangerous toxic substances to a level below which these releases cannot be accurately measured.

Further information:

Internet:

CEPAEnvironmental Registry

Inquiry Centre:

351 St. Joseph Boulevard
Hull, Quebec K1A 0H3
Telephone: 819-997-2800
toll-free: 1-800-668-6767
Fax: 819-994-1412
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉE - Fiches d'information

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, 1999 (LCPE 1999) et l'évaluation des substances actuelles

Qu'est qu'une substance actuelle ?

Il s'agit d'une substance qui est utilisée ou l'a été au Canada sous forme de substance ou de produit commercial, ou qui est libérée sous forme simple, d'effluent, de mélange ou de contaminant dans l'environnement. Cela comprend les substances qui figurent sur la Liste intérieure des substances.

Quels sont les principaux programmes d'évaluation des substances actuelles en vertu de la LCPE 1999 ?

La LCPE 1999 permet de mieux déterminer, dépister, évaluer et gérer les substances toxiques. Elle comporte deux mesures : la catégorisation et l'évaluation préalable des risques des substances figurant sur la Liste intérieure des substances et l'examen des décisions des autres gouvernements.

La mise en oeuvre du Programme d'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (PESIP) s'est faite en vertu de la LCPE 1988. Sous la LCPE 1999, ce programme joue toujours un rôle important, notamment dans le cas des substances dont l'examen doit être complet en raison des difficultés et de la complexité des problèmes qu'ils soulèvent.

Qu'est qu'une substance toxique aux termes de la LCPE ?

Aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE 1999, est toxique toute substance qui pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou une concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à :

  • avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique;
  • mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie;
  • constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines.

Selon la LCPE, la détermination de la toxicité d'une substance dépend donc de son rejet et de sa concentration dans l'environnement et de sa toxicité intrinsèque.

Qu'est-ce que la Liste intérieure des substances (LIS) ?

La LIS vise les substances qui, entre le 1er janvier 1984 et le 31 décembre 1986, se trouvaient soit commercialisées ou utilisées à des fins de fabrication commerciale au Canada, soit fabriquées ou importées au Canada en quantités d'au moins 100 kg au cours d'une année. On y ajoute régulièrement les substances admissibles conformément à l'évaluation prévue en vertu du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles. La LIS contient actuellement quelque 23 000 substances.

Que sont la catégorisation et l'évaluation préalable des risques des substances inscrites sur la Liste intérieure des substances ?

La LCPE 1999 exige la catégorisation, au cours des sept années suivant la sanction royale, obtenue le 14 septembre 1999, de toutes les substances de la LIS qui n'ont pas fait l'objet d'un avis et d'une évaluation en tant que substances nouvelles.

La première phase de ce programme, la catégorisation, repose sur l'identification systématique des substances de la LIS qui devraient être assujetties à une évaluation préalable des risques. À cette fin, la catégorisation examine les substances :

  1. qui présentent une toxicité intrinsèque et qui sont soit persistantes (longues à se dégrader) ou soit bioaccumulables (s'accumulent dans les organismes vivants et aboutissent dans la chaîne alimentaire),
  2. auxquelles on risque le plus d'être exposé au Canada.

L'évaluation préalable des risques permet de déterminer si une substance est « toxique » ou susceptible de l'être et peut donner lieu à l'une des mesures suivantes :

  • ne rien faire,
  • on inscrit la substance sur la Liste prioritaire, si elle n'y figure pas,
  • on recommande d'inscrire la substance à l'annexe 1 de la LCPE 1999.

En quoi consiste le programme d'examen des décisions des autres instances ?

Il peut arriver que le ministre soit informé périodiquement de la décision d'une autre instance d'interdire une substance ou d'en restreindre l'utilisation de façon importante pour des motifs environnementaux ou liés à la santé. Les provinces ou les territoires du Canada et les pays membres de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) sont considérés comme d'autres instances en vertu de la LCPE 1999. Lorsque le ministre est ainsi informé, il examine l'information, pour pouvoir déterminer si une substance est toxique ou susceptible de l'être au Canada.

Qu'est-ce que le Programme d'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaire ?

Les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé doivent établir la liste des substances dont l'évaluation est prioritaire afin de déterminer si elles sont effectivement ou potentiellement toxiques, aux termes de l'article 64 de la LCPE 1999. Cette liste s'appelle Liste prioritaire (LP). L'évaluation des substances d'intérêt prioritaire relève d'Environnement Canada et de Santé Canada. Elle doit porter sur les aspects pertinents des substances et peut comporter une collecte d'information et des essais. La LCPE est très claire quant au temps alloué aux évaluations et inclut des circonstances justifiant des essais.

Que se passe-t-il lorsqu'une substance est jugée toxique ?

Une substance jugée toxique au sens de la LCPE est inscrite à l'annexe 1 de la Loi. Par la suite, elle fait l'objet d'une évaluation en vue de l'adoption de mesures de gestion des risques (règlements, lignes directrices et codes de pratiques) visant à régir les divers aspects de son cycle de vie, du stade de la recherche et développement jusqu'à sa fabrication en passant par son utilisation, son entreposage, son transport et son élimination.

Lorsqu'une substance toxique ou susceptible de le devenir, à la fois persistante et bioaccumulable, est le résultat de l'activité humaine, sa quasi-élimination est proposée en vertu de la LCPE 1999.

La quasi-élimination, c'est la réduction des rejets dans l'environnement des substances toxiques les plus dangereuses à un niveau inférieur à celui à partir duquel on ne peut plus les mesurer avec précision.

Pour de plus amples informations :

Internet :

Registre environnemental de la LCPE

Informathèque :

351 boul. St-Joseph
Hull, (Québec)
K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 819-997-2800
sans frais : 1-800-668-6767
Téléc. : 819-994-1412
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :