Canada-wide Standards

Canada-wide Standards (CWSs) are intergovernmental agreements developed under the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME) Canada-wide Environmental Standards Sub-Agreement, which operates under the broader CCME Canada-wide Accord on Environmental Harmonization. CWSs flow from a political commitment by federal, provincial and territorial Ministers to address key environmental protection and health risk issues that require concerted action across Canada. CWSs represent co-operation toward a common goal and involve no delegation of authority by any federal, provincial or territorial Minister of Environment.

CWSs can include qualitative or quantitative standards, guidelines, objectives and criteria for protecting the environment and reducing risks to human health. The focus of the Canada-wide Environmental Standards Sub-Agreement is on standards that recommend levels or concentrations of substances in the surrounding environment. The levels or concentrations contained in the standards are generally those that provide protection for the environment and human health and are technologically and economically achievable. It is also possible to tailor Canada-wide standards to the specific priorities (for example, standards for products, discharge limits for a substance from a particular source or type of source such as steel-plants, emission reductions). Generally, each standard includes a target, a time frame for achieving the target, a list of governments' initial actions towards achieving the standard, and a protocol for reporting to the public on progress achieved.

While the standards are developed by CCME, the Minister uses s.9 of CEPA 1999 related to administrative agreements to enter into the commitments accepted by CCME for the substance targeted by the standard.

To date, the following CWSs have been adopted by the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment (CCME):

Les standards pancanadiens

Les standards pancanadiens (SP) représentent des accords intergouvernementaux élaborés en vertu de l'Entente auxiliaire pancanadienne sur l'établissement de standards environnementaux du Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement (CCME), qui relève de l'Accord pancanadien sur l'harmonisation environnementale du CCME. Les SP découlent d'un engagement politique de la part des ministres fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux visant à s'attaquer aux questions clés relatives à la protection de l'environnement et aux risques pour la santé qui requièrent une action concertée à l'échelle canadienne. Les SP portent sur l'atteinte d'objectifs communs et ne comportent aucune délégation de pouvoirs de la part d'un ministre fédéral, provincial ou territorial de l'Environnement.

Les SP peuvent inclure des normes qualitatives ou quantitatives, des lignes directrices, des objectifs et des critères visant la protection de l'environnement et la réduction des risques pour la santé humaine. L'Entente auxiliaire pancanadienne sur l'établissement des standards environnementaux est axée sur les normes qui recommandent des niveaux ou des concentrations de substances dans l'environnement ambiant. Les niveaux ou les concentrations figurant dans les standards visent généralement des objectifs de protection pour l'environnement et la santé humaine et peuvent être atteints sur le plan technologique et économique. On peut également adapter les standards pancanadiens à des priorités particulières (par exemple, les normes concernant les produits, les limites de rejet pour une substance provenant d'une certaine source ou d'un certain genre de source, comme les aciéries, la réduction des émissions). En général, chaque standard comporte un objectif, un délai prescrit pour atteindre cet objectif, une liste des mesures gouvernementales initiales visant l'application du standard et un protocole concernant les rapports publics sur les réalisations.

Même si les standards sont élaborés par le CCME, le ministre a recours à l'art. 9 de la LCPE (1999) portant sur les ententes administratives pour conclure des engagements acceptés par le CCME pour la substance ciblée par le standard.

Jusqu'à ce jour, les SP suivants ont été adoptés par le Conseil canadien des ministres de l'environnement :