This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H3

June 19, 2000

To: Distribution
From: Bernard Madé
Chief
Chemicals control division
Toxics pollution prevention directorate

Re: Consultation
Proposed Amendments to the Chlorobiphenyls Regulations and to the Storage of PCB Material Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act

Dear Sir / Madam:

Environment Canada is initiating a consultation on proposed amendments to the Chlorobiphenyls Regulations and to the Storage of PCB Material Regulations. The purpose of this consultation is to provide an opportunity for the owners of equipment containing PCBs, the manufacturers/importers of equipment and consumer products and the owners of PCB wastes to ask questions and comment on the proposed modifications to these Regulations.

The proposed PCB Regulations will replace the Chlorobiphenyls Regulations and, while incorporating most of the older requirements, will add new provisions for the tracking and disposal of PCB contaminated equipment currently in service, and additional restrictions on the uses, namely:

  • accelerate the phase out of PCB equipment in sensitive locations to one year after the coming into force of the regulations (schools, hospitals, drinking water treatment plant, food and feed processing sites)
  • phase out all PCB equipment by December 31, 2007
  • set a maximum content of 2 ppm of PCBs in manufactured and imported products
  • prohibit the release of PCB material (50 ppm or more) into the environment
  • mandate labeling and reporting of PCB equipment

The proposed PCB Regulations will implement the goals of the NAFTA North American Regional Action Plan (NARAP) for PCBs, including the elimination of non-dispersive uses of PCBs, e.g. transformers, capacitors, by 2008.

The Storage of PCB Material Regulations will also be amended at the same time to implement another goal of the NARAP: the setting of a time limit on storage before destruction. Proposed amendments will:

  • prohibit the storage of PCB material already in storage after December 31, 2009 (giving 2 years after the phase out of use of equipment for the destruction of all PCB material)
  • prohibit the storage of PCB material for more than a year after its decommissioning
  • prohibit the storage of PCB material in sensitive locations

These amendments will also implement our commitment under the UN ECE LRTAP Convention Protocol on POPs to make determined efforts to eliminate the use of PCBs in equipment by December 31, 2010 and to destroy them by December 31, 2015.

A consultation meeting on the proposed amendments is scheduled for August 28, 2000 from 8:30 to 12:30 at the Palais des Congrès de Hull , room Désert. We welcome comments and suggestions in advance of the meeting. We are prepared to clarify the proposed regulatory requirements where necessary.

If you would like to receive a draft copy of the proposed amendments for your review and submission of comments, please fill in the attached registration form and return it to Environment Canada as indicated on the form.

If you cannot attend the consultation meeting and would like to submit your comments in writing, please send them to Francine Laperrière by fax at (819)994-0007 or by mail at the following address: Environment Canada, Commercial Chemical Evaluation Branch, Toxics Pollution Prevention Directorate, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0H3. All comments must be received by September 15, 2000.

Comments received as part of this consultation will be considered in finalizing the regulatory proposals. The draft Regulations should be proposed in the Canada Gazette, Part l, in November 2000. This will be followed by a sixty-day comment period. Our objective is to publish the final regulations in the Canada Gazette, Part ll, in the spring 2001.

If you have any questions don’t hesitate to contact Francine Laperrière at (819) 953-1670 or at: francine.laperriere@ec.gc.ca.

I look forward to meeting with you to discuss the proposed amendments.

Sincerely yours,
Bernard Madé
attachments:
consultation agenda
registration form

Consultation on Proposed Amendments to the Chlorobiphenyls Regulations and to the Storage of PCB Material Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act

Consultation objective:
Present the amendments to stakeholders and receive comments on them.

Agenda
8:30 Welcome and Introduction
8:45 Presentation of the amendments
9:30 Questions and answers session
10:00 Coffee break
10:15 Questions and answers session
12:00 Wrap-up of comments and closing remarks

REGISTRATION FORM

Consultation on Proposed Amendments to the Chlorobiphenyls Regulations and to the Storage of PCB Material Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act

Please return the completed form by fax, before August 14, 2000, to:

Francine Laperrière, Commercial Chemicals Evaluation Branch
Environment Canada, Hull, Québec
Fax: (819) 994-0007

Please fill in the following information to receive a copy of the proposed amendments:

Name (in full): _____________________________________________
Organization or company: ____________________________________
Address: ____________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________
Tel: ( )______________________ fax: ( )______________________
Email: ______________________________________________________

Please indicate if:

  • you will attend the consultation meeting in Hull (August 28, 2000)_________
  • you intend to send written comments by September 15, 2000 _________________
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0H3

19 juin, 2000

À: Distribution
De: Bernard Madé
Chef
Division du contrôle des produits chimiques

Objet: Consultation
Projet de modifications du Règlement sur les biphényles chlorés et du Règlement sur le stockage des matériels contenant des BPC, en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement

Madame, Monsieur,

Environnement Canada engage une consultation sur le projet de modifications du Règlement sur les biphényles chlorés et du Règlement sur le stockage des matériels contenant des BPC. L'objet de cette consultation est de fournir une occasion aux propriétaires d'équipement contenant des BPC, aux producteurs/importateurs d'équipement et d'articles manufacturés et aux propriétaires de déchets contenant des BPC, de formuler des questions et commentaires sur le projet de modifications de ces règlements.

Le projet de Règlement sur les BPC remplacera le Règlement sur les biphényles chlorés. Ce projet reprend la plupart des exigences du présent Règlement et introduit des exigences qui amélioreront l'inventaire et le suivi de l'élimination des équipements en service renfermant des BPC, et des exigences plus sévères sur l'utilisation de ces équipements:

  • fin accélérée d'utilisation pour les équipements renfermant des BPC dans les endroits névralgiques un an après l'entrée en vigueur du Règlement (école, hôpitaux, usine de traitement de l'eau potable, usine de transformation des aliments pour les humains et pour les animaux)
  • fin d'utilisation de tous les équipements renfermant des BPC le 31 décembre 2007
  • concentration maximale de 2 ppm de BPC dans les produits manufacturés et importés
  • interdiction de rejeter du matériel contenant des BPC dans l'environnement
  • étiquetage et rapport obligatoire pour l'équipement renfermant des BPC

Le projet de Règlement sur les BPC mettra en place les objectifs du Plan d'Action Régional (PAR) relatif aux BPC de l'ALENA , y compris l'élimination des utilisations non dispersives de BPC, e.g. des transformateurs et des condensateurs, d'ici 2008.

Le Règlement sur le stockage des matériels contenant des BPC sera également modifié afin de restreindre les périodes d'entreposage avant destruction:

  • interdiction d'entreposer après le 31 décembre 2009 du matériel contenant des BPC et présentement entreposé (deux ans après la fin d'utilisation des équipements, tout le matériel contenant des BPC devrait être détruit)
  • interdiction d'entreposer plus d'une année du matériel contenant des BPC avant leur destruction
  • interdiction d'entreposer du matériel contenant des BPC dans les endroits névralgiques

Ces modifications nous permettrons également de respecter nos engagements en vertu du protocole sur les POP au titre de la Convention de la CEE-ONU sur le transport à distance des polluants atmosphériques qui indique une élimination de l'utilisation des équipements renfermant des BPC d'ici le 31 décembre 2010 et la destruction de ceux-ci d'ici le 31 décembre 2015.

La réunion de consultation sur le projet de modifications aura lieu le 28 août 2000 de 8 h 30 à 12 h 30 au Palais des Congrès de Hull, salle Désert. Nous vous encourageons à nous faire part de vos commentaires et suggestions avant la tenue de la réunion. Nous préciserons les exigences règlementaires si elles ne sont pas claires.

Si vous désirez recevoir l'ébauche du projet de modifications afin de le réviser et de nous faire parvenir vos commentaires, veuillez compléter s'il vous plaît le formulaire d'inscription ci-joint et le retourner à Environnement Canada tel qu'indiqué sur le formulaire.

Si vous ne pouvez assister à la réunion de consultation et vous désirez soumettre des commentaires, veuillez s'il vous plaît les faire parvenir à Francine Laperrière par télécopieur au (819) 994-0007 ou par la poste à l'adresse suivante: Environnement Canada, Direction de l'évaluation des produits chimiques commerciaux, Direction générale de la prévention de la pollution par les toxiques, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 0H3. Tous les commentaires doivent être reçus au plus tard le 15 septembre 2000.

Les commentaires reçus lors de cette consultation seront considérés afin de compléter le projet règlementaire. Les ébauches de Règlements devraient être proposés en Partie l de la Gazette du Canada en novembre 2000. Il s'en suivra une période de commentaires de soixante jours. Notre objectif est de publier les Règlements en Partie ll de la Gazette du Canada, au printemps 2001.

Si vous avez des questions n'hésitez à contacter Francine Laperrière au (819) 953-1670 ou à francine.laperrière@ec.gc.ca.

J'espère vous rencontrer à la réunion afin de discuter du projet de modifications.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

Bernard Madé
p.j.: ordre du jour de la réunion
formulaire d'inscription

Consultation sur le Projet de Modifications du Règlement sur les Biphényles Chlorés et du Règlement sur le Stockage des Matériels contenant des BPC en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement

Objectif de la consultation:
Présenter les modifications aux personnes visées et recevoir des commentaires sur ces modifications.

Ordre du Jour
8 h 30 Mot de bienvenu et introduction
8 h 45 Présentation des modifications
9 h 30 Période de questions/ réponses
10 h 00 Pause-café
10 h 15 Période de questions/ réponses
12 h 00 Bilan des commentaires et remarques en guise de conclusion

FORMULAIRE D'INSCRIPTION

Consultation sur le Projet de Modifications du Règlement sur les Biphényles Chlorés et du Règlement sur le Stockage des Matériels contenant des BPC en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement

Veuillez retourner le formulaire rempli par télécopieur, avant le 14 août 2000, à:

Francine Laperrière
Direction de l'évalualtion des produits chimiques commerciaux
Environnement Canada, Hull, Québec
Télécopieur: (819) 994-0007

Veuillez fournir les renseignements suivants pour obtenir une copie du projet de modifications:

Nom (au complet):_________________________________________
Organisme ou entreprise:__________________________________
Adresse: _________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________
__________________________________________________________
Tél: ( )_________________ Télécopieur: ( )_____________
Courriel: _____________________

Veuillez indiquer si:

  • vous assisterez à la réunion de consultation à Hull _____________
    (28 août 2000)
  • vous avez l'intention de faire parvenir des commentaires _____________
    écrits au plus tard le 15 septembre 2000
Date de modification :