This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the proposed Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations

Minister of the EnvironmentCoat of ArmsMinistre de l'Environnement

The Honorable L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

August 30, 2010

 

Mr. Hugh Wilkins
Ecojustice Canada
30 St. Patrick Street, Suite 900
Toronto, Ontario
M5T 3A3

Dear Mr. Wilkins:

I am responding to the notice of objection that you filed in February 2007 with respect to the proposed Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations. Since that time, the Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations were made and came into force on June 19, 2008.

In order to assist me to make an informed decision in respect of whether to establish a board of review, an EcologicalState of the Science Report on Decabromodiphenyl Ether (Bioaccumulation and Transformation) was developed and finalized along with the final Revised Risk Management Strategy on the PBDEs. These documents are now accessible to the public via the Government of Canada’s Chemical Substances website. A summary of my Department’s responses to public comments received on the draft Ecological State of the Science report and the Revised Risk Management Strategy, including the comments of Ecojustice, can be viewed at the same location. 

In deciding whether a board of review should be established, I have carefully considered your notice of objection, the information presented in the Ecological State of the Science Report on decabromodiphenyl ether, the final Revised Risk Management Strategy on PBDEs, as well as public comments received on these documents. I am of the view that no additional new information would be available for a board of review to consider, respecting the capacity of decabromodiphenyl ether to bioaccumulate in wildlife and biomagnify in food chains, or to transform in the environment to bioaccumulative products, beyond that which has already been considered when finalizing the State of the Ecological Science Report and the final Revised Risk Management Strategy.

Therefore, I will not be establishing a board of review.

With respect to your concerns related to the exemption for disposal or recycling (paragraph 5(2)(b)) of the proposed Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers Regulations, you will note that this exemption was clarified in the final Regulations.

I appreciate your bringing your clients' concerns to my attention. I look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental or human health interest to your organization.

Sincerely,

Signature of minister

The Honourable Jim Prentice, P.C., Q.C., M.P.

Canada Wordmark

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au Règlement proposé sur les polybromodiphényléthers

Minister of the EnvironmentArmoiriesMinistre de l'Environnement

The Honorable L'honorable

Jim Prentice

Ottawa, Canada KIA OH3

Le 30 août 2010

 

M. Hugh Wilkins
Ecojustice Canada
30 St. Patrick Street, Suite 900
Toronto, Ontario
M5T 3A3

Cher Monsieur Wilkins :

Je réponds à l'avis d'opposition que vous avez déposé en février 2007 en ce qui a trait au projet de Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers. Depuis ce temps, le Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers a été édicté et est entré en vigueur le 19 juin 2008.

Afin de m'aider à prendre une décision éclairée pour savoir s'il faut ou non établir une commission de révision, un rapport d'état des connaissances scientifiques écologiques du décabromodiphényléther (bioaccumulation et transformation) a été élaboré et mis au point avec la version finale révisée de la stratégie de gestion des risques pour les PBDE. Ces documents sont désormais accessibles au public par l'intermédiaire du site Internet des substances chimiques du gouvernement du Canada. Un résumé des réponses de mon Ministère aux commentaires du public reçus sur l'ébauche du rapport d’état des connaissances scientifiques écologiques et la stratégie révisée de gestion des risques, y compris les commentaires d'Ecojustice, peut être consulté au même endroit.

Pour décider si une commission de révision doit être établie, j'ai étudié attentivement votre avis d'opposition, les renseignements contenus dans le rapport d’état des connaissances scientifiques écologiques du décabromodiphényléther, la version finale révisée de la stratégie de gestion des risques pour les PBDE, ainsi que les commentaires du public reçus à l'égard de ces documents. Je suis d'avis qu'aucun nouveau renseignement supplémentaire n'est disponible aux fins d'étude par une commission de révision concernant la capacité du décabromodiphényléther de se bioaccumuler dans la faune et de s'amplifier dans les chaînes alimentaires, ou pour se transformer dans l’environnement en produits bioaccumulatifs, au-delà de ce qui a déjà été pris en considération au moment de l'achèvement du rapport d'état des connaissances scientifiques écologiques et de la version définitive de la stratégie révisée de gestion des risques.

Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas de commission de révision.

En ce qui concerne vos préoccupations liées à l'exemption aux fins d'élimination ou de recyclage (alinéa 5(2)b)) du projet de Règlement sur les polybromodiphényléthers, vous remarquerez que cette exemption a été précisée dans le Règlement final.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de votre client. Je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental ou de santé humaine pour votre organisation.

Sincèrement,

Signature of minister

L'Honorable Jim Prentice, c.p., député.

Image de marque du Canada

Date de modification :