This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Proposed Regulatory Provisions for the Export and Import of Non- hazardous Waste

Environment Canada will be drafting proposed regulatory provisions for the export and import of non-hazardous waste. The regulatory provisions are intended to protect Canada's environment and the health of Canadians from potential risks posed by the transboundary movement of non-hazardous waste and to ensure that this waste is handled in an environmentally sound manner. Exports, imports, and transits of non-hazardous waste destined for recycling or recovery operations are not targeted by these proposed regulatory provisions.

This discussion document, prepared by Environment Canada, contains an abridged description of the objectives, structure, and content of the proposed regulatory provisions, as well as the operational procedures to be followed once they are put into place. Many of the ideas this document puts forward reflect input from multi-stakeholder consultations that have taken place on the subject over the past four years.

The purpose of the current consultations is to invite all stakeholders to provide their comments on the proposed regulatory provisions, raise awareness of their concerns, and contribute to the development of recommendations that are based on a common understanding of the environmental benefits to be achieved through these provisions.

Environment Canada will review all written responses received prior to drafting and publishing the proposed regulatory provisions in theCanada Gazette, Part I, and will take them into full account in drafting the legal text for the proposed regulatory provisions.

The next opportunity for stakeholders to comment on the proposed regulatory provisions will be following the publication of the provisions in the Canada Gazette, Part I anticipated in 2007/08. Please send your comments on this discussion document in writing to either of the following addresses:

Regular mail:
Director
Waste Management
Environment Canada
Place Montcalm
70 Crémazie St., 6th Floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3

Email: TMB@ec.gc.ca
Please type "Consultation on Non-Hazardous Waste" in the subject line of your message

France Jacovella
Director
Waste Management
Environment Canada

 
Table of Contents
Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Dispositions réglementaires proposées pour l'exportation et l'importation de déchets non dangereux

Environnement Canada rédigera des dispositions réglementaires proposées pour l'exportation et l'importation de déchets non dangereux. Ces dispositions réglementaires visent à protéger l'environnement du Canada et la santé des Canadiens contre les risques potentiels posés par les mouvements tranfrontaliers des déchets non dangereux et à faire en sorte que ces déchets soient manipulés d'une manière qui ne nuise pas à l'environnement. Les exportations, importations et transits de déchets non dangereux destinés au recyclage ou à la récupération ne sont pas visés par ces dispositions réglementaires proposées.

Le présent document de travail, rédigé par Environnement Canada, contient une description abrégée des objectifs, de la structure et du contenu des dispositions réglementaires proposées, ainsi que des procédures opérationnelles qui devront être suivies une fois les dispositions mises en oeuvre. Bon nombre des idées mises de l'avant dans ce document sont le fruit des consultations qui ont été tenues sur le sujet auprès des nombreux intervenants au cours des quatre dernières années.

Les présentes consultations visent à inviter tous les intervenants à faire part de leurs observations sur les dispositions réglementaires proposées, à faire connaître davantage leurs préoccupations et à contribuer à l'élaboration de recommandations qui sont basées sur une compréhension commune des avantages environnementaux devant résulter des dispositions en question.

Environnement Canada examinera toutes les réponses reçues par écrit avant de rédiger et de publier dans la Partie I de laGazette du Canada les dispositions réglementaires proposées, et il en tiendra pleinement compte dans la rédaction du texte juridique de celles-ci.

La prochaine occasion qu'auront les intervenants de communiquer leurs observations au sujet des dispositions réglementaires proposées sera après la publication de celles-ci dans la Partie I de laGazette du Canada prévue en 2007/08. Veuillez envoyer vos commentaires sur ce document de travail par écrit à l'une ou l'autre des adresses suivantes :

Poste régulière :
Directeur
Gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada
Place Montcalm
70, rue Crémazie, 6e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3

Courrier électronique : TMB@ec.gc.ca
Veuillez inscrire « Consultation sur les déchets non dangereux » comme objet de votre message

France Jacovella
Directrice
Gestion des déchets
Environnement Canada

 
Table des Matières
Date de modification :