Consultation document: diphenylamine

Proposed approach to regulatory amendments to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 in consideration of the draft screening assessment for substituted diphenylamine (SDPA) substances

Download document in PDF format (272 KB)

Consultation document

  1. Purpose
  2. Context
  3. Proposed approach
  4. Public comment period
  5. Next steps
  6. References

1. Purpose

The purpose of this Consultation Document is to provide interested parties an opportunity to submit comments on the proposed approach described in Section 3 of this document for Benzenamine, N-phenyl-, Reaction Products with Styrene and 2,4,4-Trimethylpentene (BNST), Chemical Abstracts Service Registry Number (CAS RN)Footnote 1 68921-45-9. The proposed approach takes into account the findings of the draft screening assessment on substituted diphenylamine (SDPA) substancesFootnote 2 and how this may impact regulatory requirements  for BNST under the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 (the Prohibition Regulations, 2012).

2. Context

The Prohibition Regulations, 2012 are a multi-substance risk management instrument used to prohibit the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of a number of toxic substances and products containing these substances, with a limited number of exemptions (Canada 2013). BNST was added to the Prohibition Regulations, 2012 in January 2013, thereby prohibiting the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of BNST and products containing BNST with a limited number of exemptions. For example, the use of BNST in lubricants was temporarily allowed until 2015, with continued use allowed until March 14, 2018 if a permit is granted. Please visit the Prohibition Regulations, 2012 for more information.

On November 5, 2016, the proposed Regulations Amending the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012 (the proposed Amendments) were published in Canada Gazette, Part I for a 75-day public comment period (Canada 2016a). The proposed Amendments would modify existing controls on BNST. In particular, they would add an exemption which would allow the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of BNST used as an additive in lubricants found in replacement parts. In addition, they would extend the temporary exemption for BNST used as an additive in lubricants, and would thereby allow the manufacture, use, sale, offer for sale and import of BNST used as an additive in lubricants until March 14, 2025. In 2025, these proposed Amendments would allow manufacturers and importers of BNST and products containing BNST to apply for a permit to continue their activities after the expiry of the temporary exemption for additives in lubricants. Permits would be valid for one year and could be renewed twice for a total of three years ending March 14, 2028. Please visit the Prohibition Regulations, 2012, including the Regulatory Impact Assessment Statement for more information and to provide comments on the proposed Amendments.

Subsequently, on December 10, 2016, a draft screening assessment for SDPAs and a Notice summarizing the scientific considerations of this draft assessment were published for a 60-day public comment period (Canada 2016b, 2016c). The draft screening assessment proposes to conclude that none of the 14 SDPAs considered in the assessment are harmful to the environment or to human health. This proposed conclusion applies to BNST, which is one of the 14 SDPAs assessed. Please visit the draft screening assessment for SDPAs and related Notice for more information.

3. Proposed approach

Scenario 1: In accordance with subsection 90(2) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999 (CEPA), should the Minister of the Environment and the Minister of Health conclude in the final screening assessment for SDPAs, anticipated in 2017, that BNST is not toxic under section 64 of CEPA, the Department of the Environment would consider changing the current regulatory proposal in order to publish final amendments removing BNST from the Prohibition Regulations, 2012.

Scenario 2: Otherwise, should the Ministers conclude in the final screening assessment for SDPAs, anticipated in 2017, that BNST remains harmful to the environment, or meets any other criteria of section 64 of CEPA, the Ministers would recommend to finalize the proposed Amendments to provide flexibility for the use of BNST beyond March 2018, in replacement parts and legacy equipment.

4. Public comment period

Comments on the proposed approach noted in Section 3 of this document must be submitted no later than February 8, 2017, to the attention of:

Mary Ann Spicer
Acting Executive Director, Chemicals Management Division
Environment and Climate Change Canada
351, boul St-Joseph, 10th floor
Gatineau Quebec K1A 0H3
Email: ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca

5. Next steps

Environment and Climate Change Canada and Health Canada officials will consider comments received on this Consultation Document, as well as on the consultations referred to in Section 2 of this document.

The final screening assessment and related notice for SDPAs, including BNST, is expected to be published in 2017.

Depending on the final conclusions of this assessment, publication of final Amendments to the Prohibition Regulations, 2012, to either finalize the proposed Amendments or remove BNST prohibitions, as the case may be, would be published prior to the end of the permitting provisions (March 14, 2018).

6. References

Canada. 2013. Department of the Environment. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012, 2 January 2013, SOR/2012-285.

Canada. 2016a. Department of the Environment. Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999: Proposed Regulations Amending the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012, vol. 150, no. 45 – November 5, 2016, pp. 3375-3387.

Canada. 2016b. Department of the Environment, Department of Health. Draft Screening Assessment for the Substance Groupings Initiative of the Chemicals Management Plan, Substituted Diphenylamines.

Canada. 2016c. Department of the Environment, Department of Health. Publication after Screening Assessment of 14 Substituted Diphenylamines (SDPA) Specified on the Domestic Substances List. Canada Gazette, Part I, vol. 150, no. 50 – December 10, 2016, pp. 3949-3957.

Date modified:

Document de consultation : N-phénylanilines

Approche proposée pour modifier le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) tenant compte de l’ébauche d’évaluation préalable des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées

Téléchargez le document en format PDF (310 ko)

Document de consultation

  1. But
  2. Contexte
  3. Approche proposée
  4. Période de présentation des observations par le public
  5. Prochaines étapes
  6. Références

1. But

Le but de ce document de consultation est de donner aux parties intéressées une occasion de commenter l’approche proposée et décrite dans la partie 3 du présent document visant le N-phénylaniline, produits de réaction avec le styrène et le 2,4,4-triméthylpentène (BNST) [numéro de registre du Chemical Abstracts ServiceNotedebasdepage1 : 68921-45-9]. L’approche proposée tient compte des conclusions de l’ébauche d’évaluation préalable des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituéesNotedebasdepage2 et de l’impact de celles-ci sur les exigences réglementaires visant le BNST, énoncées dans le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012)  (le Règlement d’interdiction [2012]).

2. Contexte

Le Règlement d’interdiction (2012) est un instrument de gestion des risques visant plusieurs substances. Il est utilisé pour interdire la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l’importation d’un certain nombre de substances toxiques, ainsi que des produits qui les contiennent, tout en prévoyant un nombre limité d'exceptions (Canada 2013). Le BNST a été ajouté en janvier 2013 au Règlement d’interdiction (2012), ce qui interdit la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l’importation de cette substance et des produits en contenant, en prévoyant un nombre limité d'exceptions. Par exemple, l’utilisation de lubrifiants contenant du BNST a été autorisée sur une base temporaire jusqu’en 2015, pouvant être prolongée jusqu’au 14 mars 2018, à la condition qu’un permis ait été délivré à cette fin. Veuillez consulter le Règlement d’interdiction (2012) pour plus d’information.

Le 5 novembre 2016, la proposition de Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) [les modifications proposées] était publiée dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada, pour une période de 75 jours (Canada 2016a), afin d’obtenir les commentaires du public. Les modifications proposées affecteraient les mesures de contrôle en vigueur concernant le BNST. En particulier, elles introduiraient une dérogation qui autoriserait la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente, la mise en vente et l’importation de BNST comme additif dans les lubrifiants contenus dans les pièces de rechange. De plus, elles prolongeraient la dérogation temporaire s’appliquant au BNST utilisé comme additif dans les lubrifiants, et en autoriseraient la fabrication, l’utilisation, la vente ou l’offre de vente et l’importation jusqu’au 14 mars 2025. Après cette date, ces modifications proposées autoriseraient les fabricants et les importateurs de BNST utilisé comme additif dans les lubrifiants, ou de produits qui en contiennent, à présenter une demande de permis afin de pouvoir continuer leurs activités au-delà de l’expiration de cette dérogation temporaire. Les permis valides pour un an pourraient être renouvelés deux fois pour un total de trois ans se terminant le 14 mars 2028. Veuillez consulter le Règlement d’interdiction (2012), incluant le résumé de l’étude d’impact de la réglementation, pour plus de renseignements et pour formuler des commentaires au sujet des modifications proposées.

Subséquemment, le 10 décembre 2016, une ébauche d’évaluation préalable des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées et un avis résumant les considérations scientifiques de cette évaluation ont été publiés pour une période de 60 jours  afin de permettre au public d’émettre ses commentaires (Canada 2016b, 2016c). L’ébauche d’évaluation préalable propose de conclure qu’aucune des 14 substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées considérées dans l’évaluation n’est nocive pour l’environnement ou la santé humaine. La conclusion proposée s’applique au BNST qui est l’une des 14 substances évaluées. Veuillez consulter l’ébauche d’évaluation préalable des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées et l’avis connexe pour plus d’information.

3. Approche proposée

Scénario 1 : Si, conformément au paragraphe 90(2) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 (LCPE), la ministre de l’Environnement et celle de la Santé concluaient, dans l’évaluation préalable finale des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées, prévue en 2017, que le BNST n’était pas toxique au sens de l’article 64 de ladite Loi, le ministère de l’Environnement considérerait changer la proposition de réglementation actuelle et publieraient des modifications finales retirant le BNST du Règlement d’interdiction (2012).

Scénario 2 : Autrement, si les ministres concluaient dans l’évaluation préalable finale des substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées, prévue en 2017, que le BNST demeure nocif pour l’environnement ou rencontre tout autre critère de l’article 64 de la LCPE, les ministres recommanderaient de parachever les propositions de modification afin de permettre de la flexibilité dans l’utilisation du BNST après mars 2018 pour les pièces de rechange et l’équipement existant.

4. Période de présentation des observations par le public

Vos commentaires sur l’approche proposée à la partie 3 du présent document doivent parvenir au plus tard le 8 février 2017, à l’attention de:

Mme Mary Ann Spicer
Directrice exécutive par intérim, Division de la gestion des substances chimiques
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351, boulevard St-Joseph, 10e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3
Courriel : ec.interdiction-prohibition.ec@canada.ca

5. Prochaines étapes

Les fonctionnaires d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et de Santé Canada considéreront les commentaires sur ce document de consultation, et ceux reçus lors des consultations évoquées à la partie 2 du présent document.

L’évaluation préalable finale et l’avis connexe pour les substances du groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées, incluant notamment le BNST, devraient être publiés en 2017.

En fonction des conclusions finales de cette évaluation préalable, les modifications finales au Règlement d’interdiction (2012) qui, le cas échéant, intégreront les modifications proposées ou élimineront les interdictions relatives au BNST, seront publiées avant l’expiration des dispositions relatives aux permis (14 mars 2018).

6. Références

Canada. 2013. Ministère de l’Environnement. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 : Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites, 2012, 2 janvier 2013, DORS/2012-285.

Canada. 2016a. Ministère de l’Environnement. Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement, 1999 : Règlement modifiant le Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites, 2012, vol. 150, nº 45 – 5 novembre 2016, p. 3375-3387.

Canada. 2016b. Ministère de l’Environnement, ministère de la Santé. Ébauche d’évaluation préalable pour les substances du Groupe des N-phénylanilines substituées de l’Initiative du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques.

Canada. 2016c. Ministère de l’Environnement et ministère de la Santé. Publication après évaluation préalable de 14 N-phénylanilines substituées inscrites sur la Liste intérieure. Gazette du Canada, Partie I, vol. 150, nº 50, 10 décembre 2016, p. 3949-3957.

Date de modification :