Overview of the Existing Substances Program

4. Risk assessment

Substances identified as priorities for risk assessments undergo a process which compares the effects of substances on humans or the environment to the potential for exposure.

4.1 Scope of risk assessments

Even though substances are identified and prioritized for assessment using a range of approaches, assessments conducted under the Existing Substances Program fall under one of the following mandates:

  • Priority Substances List Assessments: Section 76 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) requires the Ministers of Environment and Health to establish a Priority Substances List (PSL) that identifies substances to be assessed on a priority basis.
  • Screening Assessments: Section 74 of CEPA 1999 requires the Ministers of Environment and Health to conduct screening assessments of substances that have been identified through the categorization exercise.
  • Reviews of decisions of other jurisdictions: Section 75 of CEPA 1999 requires the Ministers to review decisions of other jurisdictions specifically prohibiting or substantially restricting substances.
  • Other assessments: Section 68 of CEPA 1999 provides further general provisions for assessing, and for making recommendations with respect to substances, including measures to control their presence in the environment.

In this regulatory context, assessments are conducted to determine if a substance meets the criteria set out under section 64 of CEPA 1999 - that is, whether or not a substance

"... is entering or may enter the environment in a quantity or concentration or under conditions that

  1. have or may have an immediate or long-term harmful effect on the environment or its biological diversity;
  2. constitute or may constitute a danger to the environment on which life depends; or
  3. constitute or may constitute a danger in Canada to human life or health."

Determining whether a substance meets the criteria set out under section 64 is therefore a function of its release into the environment, the resulting concentrations in environmental media and/or the potential for exposure in humans, and its inherent toxicity. Risk assessments are objective and science based, and not influenced by socio-economic considerations.

Based upon screening assessment findings, Ministers of Environment and Health may propose one of the following measures:

  • taking no further action at this time under CEPA 1999;
  • adding the substance to the PSL for further assessment;
  • recommending addition of the substance to Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999, and development of risk management instruments and, where appropriate, implementation of virtual elimination.

4.2 Principles and Approaches

Timely delivery of a credible assessment outcome is determined both by the administrative procedures that are followed and by the robustness of the science that forms the basis of the assessment. The Existing Substances Program will apply a number of principles and approaches that have been derived from overarching guidelines and policies, such as those previously mentioned [particularly the Science Advice for Government Effectiveness (SAGE) and the Precautionary Principle]:

  • Predictability: In order to foster consistency and predictability of the assessment process, the approaches taken to identify and analyze information and to characterize entry, exposure, effects and risks will be documented in publicly available guidance documents.
  • Innovation: Approaches to risk assessment are constantly changing as science evolves. In addition, risk assessors may often face situations where assessments must be conducted for substances for which there is limited information relating to their properties, release, exposure or effects. The Existing Substances Program will use the latest tools and approaches, potentially in conjunction with domestic or international partners, to produce faster, more efficient, and technically solid assessments.
  • Openness and inclusiveness: A key to achieving timely and credible assessment outcomes is stakeholder engagement. Ongoing consultations with interested parties at specific stages in the assessment process will demonstrate the Program's commitment to openness and inclusiveness. Furthermore, publicly available documents describe various aspects of the Program, including its policies, processes, and the technical approaches used in conducting assessments.
  • Information management: In order to conduct rigorous assessments, the Existing Substances Program requires a wide range of substance-specific data including chemical and physical properties, quantities manufactured, quantities used and imported in Canada, its movement and persistence in the environment, effects on humans, effects on animals and plants, concentrations in the environment, and the results of long-term and short-term exposure to the chemical substance. The Existing Substances Program collects this information in a variety of ways, including literature searches and modelling exercises, and may generate this information by conducting or supporting research and, testing and conducting surveys. Also, stakeholders are expected to participate actively in providing the program with input at the outset of an assessment. All information will be rigorously analysed in order to ensure that the information used in the assessment is scientifically sound.
  • Use of sound science: Approaches used by the Existing Substances Program to carry out risk assessments will be consistent with those used in regulatory assessments internationally. Methods presented in technical guidance documents are thoroughly reviewed and discussed. In assessing specific substances, external expertise will be sought, when appropriate, in conducting the assessments. In addition, draft assessments will be subjected to an external science review step, involving appropriate experts from government, academia, industry, or non-governmental organizations, notably targeting input on critical technical issues. Peer review may include multiple steps depending on the issues at hand.
  • Transparency: Maintaining transparency is a key to credible assessment and management of the risks of substances. The Existing Substances Program recognizes that clear communication of uncertainties is an important part of achieving transparency. To satisfy the need for transparency, as well as to support sound assessment and risk management decisions, uncertainties as well as the approaches or assumptions made in dealing with those uncertainties will be recognized explicitly in any assessment.
  • Use of a weight-of-evidence approach and precautionary principle: Section 76.1 of CEPA 1999 states that when conducting and interpreting the results of an assessment, a weight-of-evidence approach and the precautionary principle shall be applied. Under the Existing Substances Program, a weight-of-evidence approach and the precautionary principle will be used throughout the risk assessment and management process. Precaution in an assessment will usually be manifested through conservative assumptions or by considering the thoroughness, consistency, concordance, plausibility and other factors affecting the robustness of independent experimental observations.
  • Accountability: The Existing Substances Program recognizes that assessment activities may require engagement from various stakeholders. However, the Program retains ultimate accountability for timely delivery of its publicly stated assessment objectives, and its performance will be measured on that basis.

4.3 Conducting Risk Assessments

Risk assessments are conducted to determine whether or not a substance may cause harm to the environment and/or to human health, considering both the inherent properties of a substance (i.e. characterization of a substance's hazard), and the potential for human or environmental exposure to the substance in Canada.

Assessment of substances involves reviewing and characterizing information collected, and integrating this information on exposure and effects by considering the weight of evidence to reach a conclusion regarding the potential for risk to humans or the environment.

The scope of a particular assessment may vary according to the complexity of the issues involved. The Existing Substances Program uses all scientifically robust information available at the time of the assessment to make conclusions on risk using a weight-of-evidence approach.

Detailed information on the various aspects of the assessment process, including technical guidance on methods used to conduct assessments, may be found in Existing Substances Program guidance documents.

4.4 Concluding on Assessments

Every assessment, no matter how detailed and comprehensive, includes elements of uncertainty. Uncertainty may influence the estimation of the magnitude and likelihood of risk, and could impact the conclusion reached by an assessment. Therefore, a critical element in developing credible assessment conclusions is the identification and open communication of uncertainties and the measures that were taken to account for them. This includes identifying individual sources of uncertainty and considering their cumulative impact on the confidence in the assessment conclusion.

In some cases, lack of information precludes refinement of assessment scenarios, resulting in conclusions that are based on conservative default assumptions. In such cases, stakeholders are given the opportunity to provide information to reduce uncertainties. When such information is not provided, decisions on whether or not to take preventive or control actions can only be made by balancing the potential for risk and magnitude of impacts with knowledge of uncertainties.

When several lines of evidence point in the same direction (e.g. suggest potential risks), certainty in the overall conclusion of the assessment is increased. A weight-of-evidence approach can also facilitate making conclusions in the face of conflicting information.

The weight of evidence comprises the information necessary to reach a conclusion. Decisions are therefore made as soon as the necessary scientifically defendable information, which varies between assessments, is collected.

Date modified:

Aperçu du Programme des substances existantes

4. Évaluation des risques

Les substances jugées prioritaires pour l'évaluation des risques font l'objet d'un processus qui compare les effets des substances sur les humains ou l'environnement avec le potentiel d'exposition.

4.1 Portée des évaluations des risques

Bien que les substances sont identifiées et priorisées pour leur évaluation à l'aide de diverses approches, les évaluations réalisées dans le cadre du Programme des substances existantes relèvent de l'un des mandats suivants :

  • Évaluations de la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire : L'article 76 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] exige que les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé établissent d'une Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP) qui identifie les substances devant être évaluées de façon prioritaire.
  • Évaluations préalables : L'article 74 de la LCPE (1999) exige que les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé réalisent des évaluations préalables des substances répertoriées lors de l'exercice de catégorisation.
  • Examen des décisions des autres instances : L'article 75 de la LCPE (1999) exige des ministres qu'ils examinent les décisions prises par d'autres instances, plus particulièrement celles interdisant des substances ou leur imposant des restrictions strictes.
  • Autres évaluations : L'article 68 de la LCPE (1999) contient d'autres dispositions générales sur l'évaluation et la formulation de recommandations à l'égard de substances, notamment des mesures visant à limiter leur présence dans l'environnement.

Dans ce contexte réglementaire, les évaluations sont réalisées afin de déterminer si une substance satisfait aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 de la LCPE (1999) – à savoir si oui ou non une substance :

« ... pénètre ou peut pénétrer dans l'environnement en une quantité ou concentration ou dans des conditions de nature à :

  1. avoir, immédiatement ou à long terme, un effet nocif sur l'environnement ou sur la diversité biologique;
  2. mettre en danger l'environnement essentiel pour la vie;
  3. constituer un danger au Canada pour la vie ou la santé humaines. »

La détermination du fait qu'une substance satisfait aux critères énoncés à l'article 64 est donc fonction de son rejet dans l'environnement, des concentrations résultantes dans le milieu naturel, du potentiel d'exposition des humains et de sa toxicité intrinsèque. L'évaluation des risques est objective, fondée sur la science et n'est pas dépendante de considérations socioéconomiques.

En se fondant sur les résultats des évaluations préalables, les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé peuvent proposer l'une des mesures suivantes :

  • ne prendre aucune autre mesure en vertu de la LCPE (1999);
  • ajouter la substance à la Liste des substances d'intérêt prioritaire (LSIP) pour une évaluation plus poussée;
  • recommander l'inscription de la substance dans l'annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999) et l'élaboration d'instruments de gestion des risques et, au besoin, la mise en œuvre de la quasi-élimination.

4.2 Principes et approches

La prestation d'une évaluation crédible dans des délais raisonnables dépend à la fois des procédures administratives utilisées et de la fiabilité des éléments scientifiques servant de fondements à l'évaluation. Le Programme des substances existantes appliquera divers principes et approches tirés de lignes directrices et de politiques globales, comme celles déjà mentionnées [particulièrement les Avis scientifiques pour l'efficacité gouvernementale (ASEG) et le principe de précaution] :

  • Prévisibilité : Afin de favoriser l'uniformité et la prévisibilité du processus d'évaluation, les approches adoptées pour répertorier et analyser l'information et caractériser la pénétration, l'exposition, les effets et les risques seront présentées dans des guides mis à la disposition du public.
  • Innovation : Les méthodes de l'évaluation des risques évoluent constamment avec les progrès scientifiques. Il arrive aussi souvent que les évaluateurs se trouvent dans des situations où des évaluations doivent être faites pour des substances pour lesquelles il existe peu de renseignements sur les propriétés, les rejets, l'exposition ou les effets. Le Programme des substances existantes fera appel aux méthodes et aux outils les plus récents, peut-être en collaboration avec des partenaires nationaux ou internationaux, afin de produire plus rapidement des évaluations plus efficaces et valables du point de vue technique.
  • Ouverture et intégration : L'engagement des intervenants est l'un des éléments essentiels d'une évaluation fiable réalisée dans les délais prévus. La consultation constante des parties intéressées à des étapes précises du processus d'évaluation démontrera l'engagement du programme envers l'ouverture et l'intégration. De plus, des documents accessibles au public décrivent les divers aspects du programme, notamment ses politiques, ses processus et des approches techniques appliquées à la réalisation des évaluations.
  • Gestion de l'information : Pour être en mesure de réaliser des évaluations rigoureuses, le Programme des substances existantes se doit de disposer d'un large éventail de données sur les substances, notamment leurs propriétés physiques et chimiques, les quantités fabriquées, utilisées et importées au Canada, leurs déplacements et leur persistance dans l'environnement, leurs effets sur les humains, les animaux et les végétaux, leurs concentrations dans l'environnement et les effets d'une exposition à court et à long terme. Le Programme recueille et produit ces renseignements de multiples façons notamment en effectuant des recherches dans les publications, en faisant de la modélisation, en réalisant ou en appuyant des recherches et des essais et en réalisant des enquêtes. On s'attend aussi à ce que les intervenants participent activement en fournissant de l'information dès le début des évaluations. Tous les renseignements obtenus seront rigoureusement analysés pour que l'information servant de fondement à l'évaluation soit scientifiquement valable.
  • Éléments scientifiques valables : Les approches utilisées par le Programme des substances existantes pour la réalisation des évaluations des risques seront conformes à celles utilisées à l'échelle internationale pour les évaluations réglementaires. Les méthodes présentées dans les guides techniques feront l'objet d'un examen sérieux et de discussions. Lors de l'évaluation de certaines substances, on fera appel à de l'expertise externe au besoin, pour la réalisation des évaluations. De plus, les ébauches des évaluations feront l'objet d'un examen scientifique externe de la part d'experts du gouvernement, du milieu universitaire, de l'industrie et d'organisations non gouvernementales qui mettront notamment l'accent sur des points techniques essentiels. L'examen par les pairs peut comprendre plusieurs étapes dépendamment des enjeux décelés par l'évaluation.
  • Transparence : Le maintien de la transparence est essentiel à la fiabilité de l'évaluation et de la gestion des risques que posent les substances. Le Programme des substances existantes est d'avis qu'une communication claire des incertitudes est un élément important de la transparence. Afin de satisfaire le besoin de transparence et de favoriser la prise de décisions justes en matière d'évaluation et de gestion des risques, les incertitudes, de même que les méthodes ou les hypothèses utilisées pour traiter des incertitudes, seront présentées explicitement dans les évaluations.
  • Utilisation du poids de la preuve et du principe de précaution : Le paragraphe 76(1) de la LCPE (1999) énonce que l'utilisation d'une approche utilisant le poids de la preuve, ainsi que le principe de précaution, doivent être appliqués à la réalisation des évaluations et à l'interprétation de leurs résultats. Le Programme des substances existantes prévoit que l'utilisation d'une approche utilisant le poids de la preuve et que le principe de précaution seront utilisés tout au long du processus d'évaluation et de gestion de risques. Dans une évaluation, la précaution sera habituellement exprimée par le biais d'hypothèses conservatrices ou en considérant la rigueur, la cohérence, la concordance, la vraisemblance et d'autres facteurs influençant la robustesse d'observations expérimentales indépendantes.
  • Responsabilité : Le programme des substances existantes reconnaît que les activités liées à l'évaluation peuvent exiger l'engagement de divers intervenants. Cependant, le Programme reconnaît aussi que la première responsabilité de l'atteinte de ses objectifs d'évaluation annoncés publiquement dans les délais prévus lui incombe et que sa performance sera mesurée sur cette base.

4.3 Réalisation de l'évaluation des risques

L'évaluation des risques sert à déterminer si une substance peut ou non être nocive pour l'environnement ou la santé humaine en se fondant à la fois sur ses propriétés intrinsèques (caractérisation du risque qu'elle présente) et la possibilité d'exposition des êtres humains et de l'environnement au Canada.

L'évaluation des substances comporte l'examen et la caractérisation des renseignements recueillis et l'intégration des renseignements sur l'exposition et les effets, fondée sur l'utilisation d'une approche utilisant le poids de la preuve, pour tirer des conclusions sur le risque qu'elles peuvent présenter pour les êtres humains et l'environnement.

La portée d'une évaluation peut varier en fonction de la complexité des questions à examiner. Le Programme des substances existantes utilise toute l'information scientifique fiable disponible au moment de l'évaluation pour formuler des conclusions sur les risques en appliquant une approche utilisant le poids de la preuve.

De l'information détaillée sur les divers aspects du processus d'évaluation, y compris de l'orientation technique sur les méthodes d'évaluation utilisées, est disponible dans les guides du Programme des substances existantes.

4.4 Conclusion

Toutes les évaluations comportent des éléments d'incertitude, cela indépendamment de leur degré de détail ou de leur caractère exhaustif. L'incertitude peut influencer l'estimation de l'importance et de la probabilité d'un risque et avoir un effet sur la conclusion de l'évaluation. La détermination et la communication ouverte des incertitudes et des mesures prises pour les prendre en compte sont donc essentielles à l'élaboration de conclusions fiables. Cela comprend la détermination des sources individuelles d'incertitude et l'examen de leurs effets cumulatifs sur le niveau de confiance de la conclusion de l'évaluation.

Il arrive que le manque de renseignements empêche de perfectionner les scénarios d'évaluation, ce qui donne lieu à des conclusions fondées sur des hypothèses par défaut prudentes. Il est alors offert aux intervenants de fournir des renseignements permettant de réduire l'incertitude. En l'absence de ces renseignements, les décisions d'appliquer ou non des mesures de prévention ou de contrôle ne peuvent être prises qu'en mettant en regard le potentiel de risque et l'ampleur des effets, tout en connaissant la nature des incertitudes.

Lorsque plusieurs éléments de preuve pointent dans la même direction (p. ex., portent à croire à des risques possibles), le degré de certitude de la conclusion générale d'une évaluation est accru. L'application d'une approche utilisant le poids de la preuve peut aussi faciliter la formulation de conclusions lorsque les renseignements sont contradictoires.

Le poids de la preuve correspond à l'information nécessaire pour formuler une conclusion. Des décisions sont donc prises dès que toute l'information scientifique valable nécessaire, qui varie en fonction des évaluations, est obtenue.

Date de modification :