This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at Sea Emergency Permit No. 4543-2-06785

Download Permit in PDF Format (87 KB)

(Amendments: June 4, 2013; June 25, 2013;)

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 128 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Disposal at Sea Emergency Permit No. 4543-2-06785 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved.

1. Permittee: Department of Public Works and Government Services, Moncton, New Brunswick.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Dredged material.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Dredged material consisting of rock, gravel, sand, silt, clay and seaweed.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from May 8, 2013 to May 31, 2013.

4. Loading site: Tabusintac Gully, New Brunswick, 47.32284°N; 64.92367°W (NAD83), as described in the Site Plan (April 2013) submitted in support of the permit application.

5. Disposal site: Tabusintac Gully, New Brunswick, 47.32284°N; 64.92367°W (NAD83), as described in the Site Plan (April 2013) submitted in support of the permit application.

6. Method of loading: Dredging will be carried out using a mechanical dredge.

7. Route to disposal site and method of transport: Most direct route from the loading site to the disposal site via sidecasting.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal will be carried out by sidecasting.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 2500 cubic metres, place measure.

9.1. The Permittee shall submit the procedures to measure or estimate quantities of dredged material disposed of at the disposal site to Mr. Adrian MacDonald, identified in paragraph 13.1. The Department of the Environment shall approve the procedures prior to the commencement of the first dredging operation to be conducted under this permit.

10. Fees: The fee prescribed by the Disposal at Sea Permit Fee Regulations shall be paid by the Permittee in accordance with those regulations.

11. Inspection:

11.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

11.2. Ships operating under the authority of this permit shall be marked in accordance with the Collision Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, when located on or in the waterway.

12. Contractors:

12.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

12.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

13. Reporting and notification:

13.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information no later than 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence and no sooner than 7 days before loading and disposal activities commence: name of the contractor, including corporate and on-site contact information; and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to

(a) Mr. Adrian MacDonald, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0716 (fax), adrian.macdonald@ec.gc.ca (email);

(b) Mr. Mark Dalton, Environmental Enforcement Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (fax), mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (email);

(c) Ms. Rachel Gautreau, Canadian Wildlife Service, Department of the Environment, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville, NB  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (fax), rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (email); and

(d)  Mr. Jean-Francois Mallett, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, 343 Avenue, Moncton, New Brunswick E1C 9B6, 506-851-6579 (fax), jean-francois.mallet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (email).

13.2. The Canadian Coast Guard, Marine Communication and Traffic Services (MCTS) of Sydney (notshipssyd@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) is to be notified in advance of the commencement of work so that appropriate “Notices to Shipping/Mariners” may be issued.

13.3. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Mr. Adrian MacDonald, identified in paragraph 13.1, within 30 days of the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: a list of all work completed pursuant to the permit, including the location of the loading and disposal site(s) used, the quantity of matter disposed of at the disposal site(s) and the dates on which disposal activities occurred.

14. Special precautions:

14.1. The Permittee shall prepare an environmental protection plan relating to the loading and disposal at sea activities authorized by this permit. The plan shall be approved by the Department of the Environment prior to the commencement of the first dredging operation to be conducted under this permit. Project activities shall be carried out in accordance with all procedures and mitigation measures outlined in the environmental protection plan. Modifications to the plan shall be made only with the written approval of the Department of the Environment.

I. R. Geoffrey Mercer
Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Atlantic Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d’urgence d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-06785

Téléchargez le permis en format PDF (84 ko)

(Modifications : le 4 juin 2013; le 25 juin 2013;)

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 128 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), que le permis d’urgence d’immersion en mer no 4543-2-06785 autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé.

1. Titulaire : Ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Déblais de dragage.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Déblais de dragage composés de rochees, de gravier, de sable, de limon, d’argile et de varech.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 8 mai 2013 au 31 mai 2013.

4. Lieu de chargement : Tabusintac Gully (Nouveau-Brunswick), 47.32284°N.,  64.92367°O. (NAD83), tels qu’ils sont décrits dans les documents intitulés « Site Plans » (avril 2013), présentés à l’appui de la demande de permis.

5. Lieu d’immersion : Tabusintac Gully (Nouveau-Brunswick), 47.32284°N.,  64.92367°O. (NAD83), tels qu’ils sont décrits dans les documents intitulés « Site Plans » (avril 2013), présentés à l’appui de la demande de permis.

6. Méthode de chargement : Le dragage se fera à l’aide d’une drague mécanique.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d’immersion par déchargement latéral.

8. Méthode d’immersion : L’immersion se fera à l’aide par déchargement latéral.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 2500 mètres cube, mesure en place.

9.1. Le titulaire doit veiller à ce que les méthodes utilisées pour mesurer ou évaluer les quantités de matières draguées immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion soient soumises à Monsieur Adrian MacDonald, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1. Les méthodes doivent être approuvées par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations de dragage effectuées en vertu de ce permis.

10. Droits : Le titulaire doit payer le droit prescrit en vertu du Règlement sur les prix à payer pour les permis d'immersion en mer.

11. Inspection :

11.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).

11.2. Les navires visés par le présent permis doivent être identifiés tel qu’il est prescrit par le Règlement sur les abordages de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans la voie navigable.

12. Entrepreneurs :

12.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l’autorisation écrite du titulaire.

12.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

13. Rapports et avis :

13.1. Au plus tard 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion et au moins 7 jours avant le début de ces activités, le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants : le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux, ainsi que la période prévue de ces activités. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés à :

a) Monsieur Adrian MacDonald, Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, Ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0716 (télécopieur), adrian.macdonald@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

b) Monsieur Mark Dalton, Direction de l’application de la loi en matière d’environnement, Ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (télécopieur), mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

c) Madame Rachel Gautreau, Service canadien de la faune, Ministère de l’Environnement, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (télécopieur), rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

d) Monsieur Jean-François Mallet , Ministère des Pêches et des Océans, 343, Avenue Université, Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick)  E1C 9B6, 506-851-6579 (télécopieur), jean-francois.mallet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (courriel).

13.2. Le programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes de la Garde côtière canadienne de Sydney (notshipssyd@dfo-mpo.gc.ca) doit être avisé avant le début des travaux afin que les « avis à la navigation » appropriés soient délivrés.

13.3. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, aux soins de Monsieur Adrian MacDonald, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1, dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : une liste de tous les travaux effectués visés par le permis, y compris les noms des lieux de chargement et d’immersion utilisés, la quantité de matières immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu.

14. Précautions spéciales :

14.1. Le titulaire doit préparer un plan de protection de l'environnement relatif aux activités de chargement et d'immersion en mer désignées aux termes du présent permis. Le plan doit être approuvé par le ministère de l’Environnement avant que les premières opérations de dragage ne soient effectuées en vertu du permis. Les activités du projet doivent être réalisées conformément à toutes les procédures et les mesures d’atténuation énoncées dans le plan de protection de l’environnement. Aucune modification au plan ne sera apportée sans l'autorisation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement.

Le directeur régional
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région de l'Atlantique

I. R. Geoffrey Mercer

Au nom du ministre de l'Environnement

 

Date de modification :