This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Environment Canada's Response to Comments Received on the Consultation Document on the Draft Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2008

A consultation document that summarized proposed regulatory and administrative changes to the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2005 was posted on the Environment Canada web site on December 18, 2007 and was also mailed to interested parties. The comment period closed on January 25, 2008.

This document responds to the comments submitted by stakeholders on the consultation document. All comments have been noted and considered, however they may not be reported verbatim as similar comments have been combined and paraphrased for brevity.

Changes that will be made in response to comments received are reflected in the proposed Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, 2012, published in Part I of the Canada Gazette subject to a 75-day public comment period.

Comment:

Requiring that specific quantities of the toxic substance sold to customer(s) be reported as proposed in Schedule 5, section 3 would seem to be an unnecessary proliferation of detail that will also give rise to a greater concern about the risk for the potential release of sensitive confidential business information. The current approach should be maintained and additional detailed information be sought only when needed, on a case-by-case basis.

Response:

Reporting for quantities sold to customers will not be required under Schedule 5; however, the total quantity of the substance sold in Canada and its unit of measurement will remain.

It is also important to note that only those substances listed in the Reporting Thresholds table (Part 4 of Schedule 2 of the proposed Regulations) of the proposed Regulations are required to submit the information set out in Schedule 5.

Comment:

An importer may not have access to information about the country of origin due to the global nature of chemicals trade.

Response:

In an effort to reduce the reporting burden on stakeholders, this requirement has been removed from the proposed Regulations.

Comment:

Define the term “weighted average” within the Regulations. 

Response:

In order to clarify the term within the proposed Regulations, the word “annual” has been added to ensure that it is clear that the weighted average concentration is to be calculated on an annual basis.  

The meaning of annual weighted average concentration is based on the common meaning which can be expressed by the following equation, where w represents the mass of the product that was imported or manufactured in a given year, x represents the concentration of the toxic substance in the product, and n represents the number of data points.

Formula required to determine the annual weighted average concentration

Comment:

Re-consider the proposal to add the words “solvent” and “solution” to Schedule 2, Part 1.  This addition narrows the application of the Regulations. 

Response:

This comment has been considered and the wording has since been removed in the proposed Regulations.

Comment:

Proposed wording of Section 5 could be interpreted to mean that products other than those set out in Schedule 2, Part 1 would be prohibited

Response:

The revised wording ensures that it is explicit that the prohibition applies to the toxic substances listed in column 1 of Schedule 2, Part 1 (Part 3 in the proposed Regulations).

Comment:

Section 3 of the current regulations (laboratory reporting) has been misinterpreted to mean that annual reporting is required.

Response:

The proposed Regulations clarify that one time reporting is required under section 3

Comment:

Re-consider the removal of the term “mixture”. Certain stakeholders had concerns about the removal of the word “mixture” as they felt that this may reduce the scope of the regulation.

Response:

The term “mixture” was removed in the proposed Regulations in response to the recommendations of the Standing Joint Committee for the Scrutiny of Regulations.

It is important to note that while the word mixture has been removed, controls in both the current and proposed Regulation apply to both substances and products containing the substance. Mixtures that contain a toxic substance are included within the scope of products, which are subject to controls in the proposed Regulations.

Comment:

The Regulations should include a provision whereby if the Department has received the same data year after year for a particular application or substance, its reporting requirement would no longer be required. This would lessen the reporting burden on Industry. 

Response:

Reporting requirements provide Environment Canada with information that is crucial to effectively manage controls on toxic substances using the Regulations; however areas for reducing the reporting burden on industry were identified and have led to changes to the reporting requirements in the proposed Regulations. The most significant change is the removal of hexachlorobenzene from Part 3 of Schedule 2 (Part 4 in the proposed 2012 Regulations), thus eliminating the need to report on this substance.

Comment:

The consultation document proposed the addition of the total quantity of a substance exported and its unit of measurement to Schedule 5, section 2. This new information is redundant because the amount exported can be calculated from existing data reporting requirements. As one of the mandates of the 2008 Regulations is to modify the reporting requirements to ease unnecessary burden on industry, this new export reporting requirement would be inconsistent with the stated goal.   

Response:

Consistent with the Prohibition of Certain Toxic Substances Regulations, which do not cover exports, the proposed Regulations do not require reporting of the total quantity of a substance exported. Exports are covered under other regulations.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse d'Environnement Canada aux commentaires formulés relativement au document de consultation sur l'ébauche du Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2008)

Le 18 décembre 2007, un document de consultation résumant les changements réglementaires et administratifs qu'il est proposé d'apporter au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2005) a été publié sur le site Web d'Environnement Canada. Il a également été envoyé par la poste aux parties intéressées. La période de commentaires s'est terminée le 25 janvier 2008.

Ce document répond aux commentaires émis par les intervenants quant au document de consultation. Tous les commentaires ont été notés et pris en considération. Cependant, il est possible qu’ils n’aient pas été rapportés mot à mot, puisque les commentaires similaires ont été combinés et paraphrasés par souci de concision.

Les changements qui seront apportés en réaction aux commentaires reçus se retrouvent dans le projet de Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites (2012) publié dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada le 23 juillet 2011 et soumis à une période de commentaires publics de 75 jours.

Commentaire :

Il semblerait que l'exigence de déclaration des quantités précises de la substance toxique vendues aux clients proposée à l'article 3 de l'annexe 5 donne lieu à une prolifération inutile de détails qui engendrerait d'importantes préoccupations quant au risque de diffusion potentielle de renseignements commerciaux confidentiels et sensibles. L'approche actuelle doit être maintenue et des renseignements détaillés supplémentaires doivent être demandés uniquement au besoin, au cas par cas.

Réponse :

L'annexe 5 n'exigera pas de déclarer les quantités vendues aux clients. Toutefois, la quantité totale de la substance vendue au Canada et son unité de mesure devront toujours être déclarées.

Il est également important de noter que seules les substances indiquées dans le tableau des seuils de déclaration du projet de règlement (partie 4 de l'annexe 2) sont concernées par l'exigence de soumission des renseignements décrite à l’annexe 5.

Commentaire :

Les importateurs n'ont pas nécessairement accès aux renseignements concernant le pays d’origine en raison de la nature mondiale du commerce des produits chimiques.

Réponse :

Dans le but de réduire le fardeau de déclaration des intervenants, cette exigence a été supprimée du projet de règlement.

Commentaire :

Définir le terme « moyenne pondérée » utilisé dans le règlement.

Réponse :

Afin de clarifier ce terme dans le projet de règlement, le mot « annuelle » a été ajouté afin de s'assurer qu'il est clair que la moyenne pondérée de la concentration doit être calculée sur une base annuelle.

La moyenne pondéré de la concentration annuelle est calculée de la façon habituelle; elle peut être exprimée par l'équation suivante, où w représente la masse du produit importé ou fabriqué au cours d'une année donnée, x représente la concentration de la substance toxique dans le produit, et n représente le nombre de points de données.

Formule requise pour déterminer la moyenne pondéré de la concentration annuelle

Commentaire :

Revoir la proposition d'ajout des mots « solvant » et « solution » dans la partie 1 de l'annexe 2. Cet ajout limite l'application du règlement.

Réponse :

Ce commentaire a été pris en compte et cette formulation a été retirée du projet de règlement.

Commentaire :

La formulation proposée pour l'article 5 pourrait être interprétée comme une interdiction des produits autres que ceux figurant dans la partie 1 de l'annexe 2.

Réponse :

La formulation a été révisé pour qu'il soit clair que l'interdiction s'applique aux substances toxiques indiquées dans la colonne 1 de la partie 1 de l'annexe 2 (partie 3 du projet de règlement).

Commentaire :

L'article 3 du règlement actuel (rapports de laboratoire) est interprété à tort comme une exigence de déclaration annuelle.

Réponse :

Le projet de règlement précise qu'une déclaration annuelle est requise en vertu de l'article 3.

Commentaire :

Revoir le retrait du mot « mélange ». Certains intervenants ont exprimé des préoccupations quant au retrait du mot « mélange », leur donnant l'impression que cela réduirait la portée du règlement.

Réponse :

Le terme « mélange » a été retiré du projet de règlement en réaction aux recommandations formulées par le Comité mixte permanent d’examen de la réglementation.

Il est important de noter que, même si le mot « mélange » a été retiré, les mesures de contrôle prises en vertu du règlement actuel et du projet de règlement s'appliquent à la fois aux substances et aux produits contenant les substances. Les mélanges qui contiennent une substance toxique font partie de la portée des produits soumis à des mesures de contrôle en vertu du projet de règlement.

Commentaire :

Le règlement devrait comprendre une disposition selon laquelle l'exigence de déclaration ne s'applique plus si le Ministère reçoit les mêmes données année après année pour une application ou une substance donnée. Cela réduirait le fardeau de déclaration de l'industrie.

Réponse :

Les exigences de déclaration du règlement permettent à Environnement Canada d'obtenir des renseignements essentiels à la gestion efficace des mesures de contrôle relatives aux substances toxiques. Il a toutefois été déterminé que le fardeau de déclaration de l'industrie pouvait être réduit dans certains domaines et, en conséquence, des changements ont été apportés aux exigences de déclaration du projet de règlement. Le changement le plus important est le retrait de l'hexachlorobenzène de la partie 3 de l'annexe 2 (partie 4 du projet de règlement 2012), qui entraîne la suppression des obligations de déclaration relatives à cette substance.

Commentaire :

Le document de consultation proposait l'ajout de la quantité totale de substance exportée et de son unité de mesure à l'article 2 de l'annexe 5. Cette nouvelle donnée est redondante, car la quantité exportée peut être calculée à partir des exigences de déclaration des données existantes. Comme l'un des objectifs du règlement de 2008 est de modifier les exigences de déclaration pour diminuer le fardeau inutile de l'industrie, cette nouvelle exigence de déclaration des exportations ne serait pas cohérente avec l'objectif annoncé.

Réponse :

Conformément au Règlement sur certaines substances toxiques interdites, qui ne couvre pas les exportations, le projet de règlement n'exige pas de déclarer la quantité totale de substance exportée. Les exportations font l'objet d'un autre règlement.

Date de modification :