This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Order in Council
Department of the Environment

Code of Good Operating Practice for Vinyl Chloride and Polyvinyl Chloride Manufacturing Operations

Download the report in PDF format (337 KB)

P.C. 1991-2486
12 December, 1991

Whereas, pursuant to subsection 8 (1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, the Minister of the Environment has formulated the Code of Good Operating Practice for Vinyl Chloride and Polyvinyl Chloride Manufacturing Operations;

Therefore, His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, pursuant to section 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, is pleased hereby to give notice of the Code of Good Operating Practice for Vinyl Chloride and Polyvinyl Chloride Manufacturing Operations, in accordance with the schedule hereto.

I - Vinyl Chloride Fugitive Emissions

Introduction

The quantity of vinyl chloride lost via fugitive sources will vary from plant to plant depending on the type of operating equipment, operating procedures, leak detection and maintenance procedures adopted. The individual sources which may number several hundred in a typical plant can be grouped into categories for the purpose of discussion but the quantity of vinyl chloride being emitted from an individual source at a specific point in time cannot be readily determined. The principal fugitive sources include:

  • pump, compressor and agitator seals
  • pipe flanges and manhole seals
  • valve stems
  • leaking pressure relief valves
  • process quality control sampling sites
  • loading and unloading sites
  • equipment purging operations

Overall plant material balance results, augmented by source monitoring data, have been used to estimate vinyl chloride losses via non-specific or fugitive sources. Estimated emissions from these sources for 1973 were about 1,800 tons representing approximately 35% of total industry emissions for that year. For 1990, the fugitive emissions were estimated to be approximately 30 tons due to the implementation of several control and reduction programs.

Fugitive emissions are generally the result of the normal operations of a chemical plant or a refinery and are generated by the loading/unloading of lines and from equipment such as pumps, compressors, flanges, etc. The first and most essential step that must be taken to minimize these emissions is source detection. This can be accomplished through the use of a multi-point area monitoring system. Such a system used in conjunction with portable detection equipment will enable a plant operator to identify problem areas quickly and to initiate prompt remedial action. Fugitive emissions can be further minimized by improved maintenance schedules.

Over the years, a number of operating procedures have been developed to reduce emissions from the principal fugitive sources which characterize the vinyl chloride industry and the polyvinyl chloride industry. A short description of some of these procedures follows. No attempt bas been made to include all of the control strategies available, and in most cases, equivalent control strategies do exist.

Additional background information pertaining to these control strategies is contained in the EPS publication titled "Air Pollution Emissions and Control Technology: Vinyl Chloride Industry": EPS-3-AP-77-4.

(a) Technology used to reduce fugitive emissions
  1. Leaks front rotary and reciprocating equipment can be minimized by using more effective seals-e.g., double mechanical, seal-less, canned or magnetically driven pumps designs. Vinyl chloride losses from these sources can be further minimized by regular surveillance and maintenance schedules.

  2. Emission from pipe flanges can be minimized by using proper bolting techniques and gasket material. Valve stem leaks could be minimized by using ball/plug valves as minimum technology with additional reductions possible through the use of diaphragm or bellows-type valves, quarter turn valves and "live-loaded" packing on valve stems. Leaks from this and any other types of equipment can be identified by using a multi-point monitoring system in conjunction with portable detection equipment, thereby minimizing the delay in making the necessary repairs.

  3. Leaks from pressure relief valves can occur if the valves do not reseat properly. These leaks can essentially be eliminated by equipping pressure vessels in vinyl chloride service with discs upstream of the safety valve.

  4. Vinyl chloride losses resulting from sampling procedures can be minimized by purging sampling systems to a containment device or back into the process.

  5. Vinyl chloride emissions resulting from loading and unloading operations can be minimized by using closed system transfer facilities. This involves equalizing pressure between the loading or unloading container and the storage tank (accomplished using the vapour pressure of vinyl chloride), attaching loading hoses and transferring the vinyl chloride. A gauging device of closed design-e.g., a float magnetically coupled to a tape system in a pipe isolated from the product---can be used to determine when the transfer operation is complete.

    The material left in any part of the loading or unloading lines may be released to the atmosphere when these are uncoupled. This release can be minimized by implementing adequate closed system purging procedures.

  6. Process equipment in vinyl chloride service must be periodically depressured and opened to atmosphere for inspection and maintenance. The release of residual quantities of vinyl chloride present in this equipment can be minimized by purging these facilities to a containment device.

  7. The slurry strainer is used by some polyvinyl chloride manufacturers to remove lumps of solid polyvinyl chloride which may be present in the slurry. Emissions from this source can be minimized by implementing one of the following strategies:
    1. Relocating the strainer to a point downstream of the stripper and implementing improved stripping techniques;
    2. Enclosing the stripping operation and purging the VCM vapours to a blow-down system;
    3. Installing an in-line delumper.

  8. Some process water streams are contaminated with vinyl chloride which will eventually be lost to the atmosphere. These streams should be collected and stripped to no more than 10 ppm by weight. The vinyl chloride can then be recovered or incinerated. Stripped process water should at least once a month be analysed for vinyl chloride. Records of the analysis should be considered as a part of the fugitive emissions control plan.
(b) Monitors

The following information should be provided:

  • The number of sampling points in the processing area;
  • The analyser detection range;
  • The frequency of sampling at the different points; and
  • The alarm set point concentrations used in the in-plant monitoring system.
(c) Schedule of repairs

A description of the scheduling of actions taken to stop the detected leaks according to their magnitude is to be provided; e.g., a leak of:

  • Level 1 alarm will be stopped within "x" hours from the time of detection or alarm;
  • Level 2 alarm will be stopped within "y" hours from the time of detection or alarm;
  • Level 3 alarm will be stopped within "z" hours from the time of detection or alarm;

as well as the description of the procedures which exist in the plant for the prompt identification and repair of fugitive leaks/losses.

(d) Preventive maintenance program

The program should include an explanation of:

  • The scheduling of refurbishing and/or replacing of parts or equipment;
  • The frequency of inspections and other actions to be taken in respect of the program.
(e) Measurement/Estimation

Once a year, the plant shall provide to the inspector information regarding:

  1. The total estimated vinyl chloride fugitive emissions; and
  2. The method by which this information is obtained.

II - Accidental Release of Vinyl Chloride: Prevention and Preparedness

The Regulations indicate that the owner or operator of a vinyl chloride or a polyvinyl chloride plant shall submit to the Minister a plan to reduce the potential and impact of accidental releases of Vinyl Chloride into the ambient air. Such a plan should contain the following major elements:

  1. Use of available technology, equipment and procedures for the prevention of accidental releases of vinyl chloride, such as:
    1. Using of gas holders or equivalent when practical;
    2. Ensuring alternative power supply and cooling water systems are available;
    3. Using of technology to kill a reaction quickly;
    4. Establishing a good preventive maintenance program;
    5. Carrying out safety inspection after maintenance;
    6. Carrying out safety audit on a periodic basis and after alteration to the process;
    7. Establishing a good training program for employees; and
    8. Investigating causes of malfunctions or breakdowns to minimize causes;

  2. Preparation of different scenarios for potential vinyl chloride releases from different equipment; i.e., determining the maximum quantity or concentration of vinyl chloride which could be released at a certain time front a piece of equipment;

  3. Use of computerized plume modeling programs to predict vinyl chloride concentration at different distances from the release point, for scenarios referred to in subsection (2);

  4. Emergency response plans based on worst case scenarios referred to in subsection (2);

  5. Means for communication of these plans to, and collaboration with, the local municipality in order to integrate the internal plan with the municipality's (this is the part where the impact could be reduced);

  6. Means to make the local public aware of the risks as well as the measures established for its protection, in conjunction with the local municipality (public protection could mean issuing a warning, a notice of evacuation, the order to remain indoors...);

  7. Means to promptly notify the local emergency authorities which would take decisions regarding evacuation and/or public protection, in case of a major release which has the potential of affecting the public.

Explanatory Note

(This note is not part of the Code of Practice.)

In accordance with section 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, the Governor in Council shall publish, or give notice of, in the Canada Gazette, codes of practice formulated under section 8 or 9 of the Act.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Décret du conseil
Ministère de l'environnement

Code de recommandations techniques pour les fabriques de chlorure de vinyle et de chlorure de polyvinyle

Téléchargez le rapport en format PDF (337 ko)

C.P. 1991-2486 
Le 12 décembre 1991

Attendu que, en vertu du paragraphe 8 (1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, le ministre de l'Environnement a formulé le Code de recommandations techniques pour les fabriques de chlorure de vinyle et de chlorure de polyvinyle,

À ces causes, sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement et en vertu de l'article 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, il plaît à Son Excellence le gouverneur général en conseil de donner avis du Code de recommandations techniques pour les fabriques de chlorure de vinyle et de chlorure de polyvinyle, conformément à l'annexe ci-après.

I - Les émissions diffuses de chlorure de vinyle

Introduction

Les pertes diffuses de chlorure de vinyle varient d'une fabrique à l'autre, selon le type d'équipement utilisé et les méthodes d'exploitation, de détection des fuites et d'entretien adoptées. Les sources, qui peuvent s'élever à plusieurs centaines dans une fabrique typique, peuvent être groupées en catégories pour les besoins de la discussion, mais les dégagements de chlorure de vinyle provenant de chacune à un moment donné sont difficilement mesurables. Les principales sources diffuses comprennent :

  • les joints d'étanchéité des pompes, des compresseurs et des agitateurs
  • les brides de tuyau et les joints d'étanchéité des bouches d'accès
  • les tiges de soupages
  • les soupages de surpression comportant des fuites
  • les postes d'échantillonnage pour contrôle de la qualité
  • les aires de chargement et de déchargement
  • la purge des installations

On s'est servi du bilan des matières des fabriques, et des résultats du contrôle des sources pour évaluer les pertes (émissions diffuses ou émissions provenant de sources indéterminées) de chlorure de vinyle. Ces émissions étaient estimées, en 1973, à environ 1 800 tonnes, soit près de 35 % du total pour l'industrie. En 1990, les émissions diffuses ont été approximativement estimées à 30 tonnes; cette réduction est due à l'application de mesures de contrôle et de réduction dans les fabriques.

Les émissions diffuses sont généralement le résultat de l'exploitation normale des fabriques de produits chimiques et des raffineries de pétrole et sont produites durant le chargement et le déchargement des lignes ainsi que d'équipements tels que pompes, compresseurs, joints de conduits, etc. La détection des sources de ces émissions constitue la première et la plus importante mesure à prendre en vue de les diminuer. On peut y arriver par une surveillance des émissions en plusieurs endroits de la fabrique. Si à cela on ajoute un équipement portatif de détection, on peut identifier les problèmes et appliquer rapidement les remèdes. Les émissions diffuses peuvent être encore plus réduites si on améliore les calendriers d'entretien.

Avec les années, un grand nombre de méthodes ont été mises au point pour éliminer les principales sources d'émissions diffuses qui caractérisent les fabriques de chlorure de vinyle et de chlorure de polyvinyle. Nous en décrivons quelques-unes plus loin. Nous n'avons pas voulu faire un relevé complet de toutes les stratégies possibles et, dans la plupart des cas mentionnés, il existe des solutions de rechange équivalentes.

Des informations de base additionnelles relatives à ces stratégies de lutte se trouvent dans la publication du SPE intitulée : Technologie de la lutte contre la pollution atmosphérique - Industries de la fabrication du chlorure de vinyle, SPE-3-AP-77-4F.

a) Les techniques utilisées pour réduire les émissions diffuses
  1. Les fuites provenant de l'équipement rotatif ou alternatif peuvent être réduites par de meilleurs joints d'étanchéité, par exemple: des joints doubles mécaniques, ou des pompes enfermées, sans joints ou actionnées magnifiquement. Les pertes de chlorure de vinyle peuvent être réduites davantage au moyen de vérifications régulières et d'un calendrier régulier d'entretien.

  2. Les émissions au niveau des brides de tuyau peuvent être réduites par l'usage de techniques de serrage et de matières de garniture appropriées. Au minimum, les fuites dues aux tiges de soupage pourraient être réduites par l'usage de soupages sphériques; des réductions additionnelles peuvent être obtenues par l'usage de soupages de type diaphragme, quart de tour ou « bellows » et de garniture de type « live-loaded » pour les tiges de soupages. Les fuites dans ce type et autres types d'équipement peuvent être détectées au moyen d'un système de surveillance à points multiples auquel s'ajoute un équipement portatif de détection, diminuant ainsi les délais pour effectuer les réparations nécessaires.

  3. Des fuites peuvent survenir au niveau des soupages de surpression lorsque celles-ci ne se ferment pas convenablement. Ces fuites peuvent être essentiellement éliminées par l'ajout d'un disque de rupture aux réservoirs sous pression alimentés en chlorure de vinyle, en amont de la soupage de sécurité.

  4. Les pertes de chlorure de vinyle lors des échantillonnages peuvent être réduites par la purge des systèmes échantillonneurs dans un dispositif de retenue ou le recyclage des matières purgées.

  5. Les émissions de chlorure de vinyle résultant du chargement et du déchargement peuvent être réduites par le transfert en système fermé, lequel exige l'égalisation des pressions entre le contenant de chargement ou de déchargement et le réservoir d'entreposage (par le jeu de la pression de vapeur du chlorure de vinyle), l'utilisation de boyaux et la circulation du chlorure de vinyle. On peut utiliser un dispositif de jaugeage fermé composé par exemple d'un flotteur magnétique agissant sur un dispositif à ruban dans une conduite isolée du produit, pour déterminer à quel moment l'opération de transfert est terminée.

    Les produits restant dans les conduites de chargement et de déchargement peuvent être répandus dans l'atmosphère, lorsque ces conduites sont déconnectées. Ce problème peut être corrigé par une purge adéquate en système fermé.

  6. L'équipement de transformation alimenté en chlorure de vinyle doit être périodiquement dépressurisé et ouvert à l'air libre pour l'inspection et l'entretien. Les fuites de chlorure de vinyle résiduel peuvent être réduites par la purge de cet équipement vers un système de retenue.

  7. Certains fabricants de chlorure de polyvinyle tamisent la suspension pour en éliminer les morceaux de chlorure de polyvinyle. Les émissions provenant de cette source peuvent être réduites par l'un des moyens suivants :
    1. Relocalisation du tamis en aval du dévolatiseur et amélioration des méthodes de dévolatisation;
    2. Tamisage en milieu clos et purge des vapeurs de chlorure de vinyle;
    3. Installation d'un tamis dans la conduite.

  8. Une certaine quantité d'eau utilisée dans le procédé est contaminée avec du chlorure de vinyle qui pourrait éventuellement passer dans l'atmosphère. Cette eau devrait être recueillie et débarrassée du chlorure de vinyle de façon à ne pas dépasser 10 ppm par poids. Celui-ci devrait être récupéré ou incinéré. L'eau utilisée au cours du procédé devrait être analysée pour son contenu en chlorure de vinyle au moins une fois par mois. Les résultats d'analyses devrait être considérés comme partie des données du plan de contrôle des émissions diffuses.
b) Les appareils de mesure

L'information ci-dessous, devrait être présentée:

  • Le nombre d'appareils d'échantillonnages situés dans l'aire de fabrication;
  • Le registre de l'appareil d'analyse;
  • La fréquence d'échantillonnage aux points différents;
  • Les concentrations des points de consigne d'alarme des appareils d'échantillonnage dans les fabriques.
c) Le calendrier établi pour le colmatage

Une description des calendriers des mesures qui seront prises pour arrêter les fuites détectées, selon leurs magnitudes devrait être soumise; p. ex., une fuite qui provoque :

  • Alarme de niveau 1 serait arrêtée en-dedans de « x » heures depuis sa détection;
  • Alarme de niveau 2 serait arrêtée en-dedans de « y » heures depuis sa détection;
  • Alarme de niveau 3 serait arrêtée en-dedans de « z » heures depuis sa détection;

ainsi que la description des mesures en place dans la fabrique pour la détection et la réparation immédiate en cas de fuite ou de perte diffuses.

d) Le programme d'entretien préventif

Ce programme devrait inclure les points suivants:

  • La fréquence du colmatage ou remplacement de pièces ou équipements;
  • La fréquence des inspections et d'autres actions qui serait prises en conjonction avec ce programme.
e) Mesures/estimations

Une fois l'an, la fabrique devrait soumettre l'information qui suit :

  1. Un estimé du total des émissions diffuses; et
  2. La méthode utilisée pour obtenir cette information.

II - Les rejets accidentels de chlorure de vinyle : prévention et préparation

Le Règlement exige que le propriétaire ou l'exploitant d'une manufacture de chlorure de vinyle ou de chlorure de polyvinyle soumette au ministre un programme pour la réduction des possibilités des rejets accidentels de chlorure de vinyle dans l'air ambiant ainsi que leurs effets. Un tel programme devrait contenir les éléments importants suivants :

  1. L'utilisation de la technologie disponible, l'équipement et les procédures pour la prévention des rejets accidentels de chlorure de vinyle, tels que :
    1. L'utilisation de containers de gaz ou l'équivalent, quand c'est pratique;
    2. L'acquisition d'une autre source d'alimentation en électricité et d'eau de refroidissement;
    3. L'utilisation de techniques pour arrêter une réaction;
    4. L'établissement d'un programme efficace d'entretien préventif;
    5. L'établissement des inspections de sécurité après l'entretien;
    6. L'établissement des évaluations de sécurité périodiques et après des changements aux procédés;
    7. L'établissement d'un bon programme de formation pour les travailleurs;
    8. L'identification des causes de pannes et de mauvais fonctionnements et profiter de ces expériences.

  2. Préparation de différents scénarios pour les rejets potentiels de chlorure de vinyle de diverses pièces d'équipement; p. ex, déterminer la quantité ou la concentration maximale de rejets pouvant émaner lors du rejet d'une pièce d'équipement, à un moment donné;

  3. Pour les scénarios mentionnés au paragraphe (2), utiliser des modèles programmés pour nuages gazeux afin dé déterminer les concentrations de chlorure de vinyle à différentes distances du point de rejet;

  4. Pour les scénarios mentionnés au paragraphe (2), élaborer des plans d'intervention d'urgence basés sur les scénarios les plus pessimistes;

  5. Les moyens de communiquer ces plans et collaborer avec les municipalités locales pour fin d'intégration des plans internes avec ceux de la municipalité (c'est ici où l'impact peut être réduit);

  6. Les moyens d'informer le public au sujet des risques et des mesures de protection élaborés, avec la collaboration de la municipalité locale (la protection du public peut inclure, entre autres, un avertissement, un avis d'évacuation ou de rester à l'intérieur...);

  7. Les moyens de notifier immédiatement les autorités d'urgence locale. qui sont en mesure de prendre les décisions quant à l'évacuation ou la protection du public lors d'un rejet important qui pourrait l'affecter.

Note explicative

(La présente note ne fait pas partie des Lignes directrices.)

Conformément à l'article 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, le gouverneur en conseil peut, soit faire publier dans la Gazette du Canada les directives formulées en vertu des articles 8 ou 9 de la Loi, soit en donner avis dans cette publication.

Date de modification :