The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 and the National Pollutant Release Inventory

Download Fact Sheet in PDF Format (24 KB)

What is the National Pollutant Release Inventory?

The National Pollutant Release Inventory (NPRI) provides Canadians with facility-specific information regarding the release (to air, water, and land), disposal and recycling of more than 300 substances. These include substances that meet the criteria under section 64 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) (i.e. toxic substances), pollutants that contribute to smog, poor air quality and acid rain (i.e. air pollutants), and other substances of concern.

As specified in an annual Notice in the Canada Gazette, industrial and commercial facilities that meet the NPRI reporting criteria must report to Environment Canada. The information collected is then made available to Canadians.

What sections of CEPA 1999 cover the NPRI?

The NPRI is covered under sections 46 to 53 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999). Section 46 addresses the creation of inventories of data; section 48 states that the Minister shall establish a national inventory of releases of pollutants; section 50 states that the Minister shall publish this inventory; and sections 47, 49, and 51-53 contain guidelines for the collection and publication of inventory data.

Why specifically include the NPRI in this legislation?

The federal government considers the information provided by the NPRI vital to its efforts to reduce releases of substances of concern to the environment and to protect the health of Canadians.

The NPRI provides Canadians with information on releases and transfers in their communities. It is also used by the Department in its management of toxic substances and air pollutants. The publication of this information encourages companies to voluntarily reduce their releases and transfers and allows the Government of Canada to track reductions or increases. The NPRI also helps governments determine if regulatory action is necessary to ensure reductions and, if so, the form that action should take.

What information must be reported to the NPRI?

If a facility meets the NPRI reporting criteria as specified in the Canada Gazette Notice for a particular year, the company must report the following:

  • information about the company, its location and the number of employees;
  • information about each substance that meets the reporting criteria, including the substance name, and the nature of the activities (such as whether the substance is manufactured, processed or otherwise used at the facility);
  • the quantity of the substance that is released at the facility (to water, air or land) or disposed of at the facility;
  • the quantity of the substance that is transferred to another location for final disposal, treatment prior to disposal (specifying the nature of treatment), or recycling or energy recovery, and the address of the receiving facility;
  • the reasons for year-to-year changes in releases, disposals and recycling;
  • information on expected changes in releases, disposals and recycling (mandatory for the three years following the reporting year);
  • information on the types of pollution-prevention activities undertaken at the facility.

Is the NPRI information accessible to Canadians?

Section 50 of CEPA 1999 specifically directs the Minister to publish a national inventory of releases of pollutants. All information reported to the NPRI that is considered non-confidential is made available to Canadians. Confidentiality provisions are addressed in sections 51 to 53 of CEPA 1999.

Further information

Internet:

For specific inquiries regarding the NPRI:

Environment Canada,
Pollution Data Branch
351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Gatineau QC KIA OH3
Tel: (819) 994-4073
Fax: (819) 994-3266
E-mail: npri@ec.gc.ca

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd floor, Place Vincent Massey
Gatineau QC K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (24 ko)

Qu'est-ce que l'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants?

L'Inventaire national des rejets de polluants (INRP) fournit aux Canadiens de l'information propre aux installations quant aux rejets (dans l'air, l'eau et le sol), à l'élimination et au recyclage de plus de 300 substances. Sont incluses les substances qui correspondent aux critères de l'article 64 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)] (c.-à-d. substances toxiques), les polluants qui contribuent au smog, à la pauvre qualité de l'air et aux pluies acides (c.-à-d. polluants atmosphériques) et d'autres substances préoccupantes.

Comme mentionné dans un avis annuel de la Gazette du Canada, les installations industrielles et commerciales qui satisfont aux critères de déclaration de l'INRP doivent présenter des rapports à Environnement Canada. L'information recueillie est ensuite mise à la disposition des Canadiens.

Quels articles de la LCPE (1999) portent sur l'INRP?

Les articles 46 à 53 de la LCPE (1999) concernent l'INRP. L'article 46 porte sur l'établissement d'inventaires de données; l'article 48 stipule que le ministre doit établir un inventaire national des rejets polluants; l'article 50 indique que le ministre doit publier cet inventaire, et les articles 47, 49 et 51 à 53 fournissent les directives pour la collecte et la publication des données de l'inventaire.

Pourquoi est-il nécessaire d'inclure l'INRP dans la Loi?

Le gouvernement fédéral a absolument besoin de l'information que contient l'INRP pour réduire les rejets de substances préoccupantes dans l'environnement et protéger la santé des Canadiens.

L'INRP fournit aux Canadiens des renseignements sur les rejets et les transferts dans leurs collectivités. Le Ministère s'en sert également pour gérer les substances toxiques et les polluants atmosphériques. La publication des données incite les entreprises à réduire volontairement leurs rejets et transferts; de plus, le gouvernement du Canada peut ainsi assurer le suivi des réductions et des augmentations. En outre, le gouvernement du Canada se sert de l'INRP pour déterminer la nécessité d'adopter des mesures réglementaires afin d'assurer la diminution des rejets et décider du genre de mesures à prendre, le cas échéant.

Quel genre d'information doit-on déclarer à l'INRP?

Si une installation respecte les critères de déclaration de l'INRP précisés dans l'avis de la Gazette du Canada pour une année précise, l'entreprise doit :

  • fournir de l'information sur l'entreprise, son emplacement et le nombre de personnes qu'elle emploie;
  • donner de l'information sur toutes les substances qui satisfont aux critères de déclaration, dont leur nom et la nature des activités de l'entreprise (fabrication, traitement ou utilisation);
  • indiquer la quantité de la substance rejetée (dans l'eau, l'air ou le sol) ou éliminée à l'installation;
  • indiquer la quantité de la substance transférée vers un autre endroit pour élimination finale, traitement préalable à l'élimination (précisant la nature du traitement), recyclage ou récupération d'énergie, et préciser l'adresse de l'installation de réception;
  • expliquer les changements observés d'une année à l'autre en matière de rejet, d'élimination et de recyclage;
  • fournir de l'information sur les changements attendus quant au rejet, à l'élimination et au recyclage (obligatoire pour les trois années suivant l'année de déclaration);
  • donner de l'information sur les types d'activités de prévention de la pollution entreprises à l'installation.

Les Canadiens ont-ils accès aux renseignements de l'INRP?

L'article 50 de la LCPE (1999) demande précisément au ministre de publier un inventaire national des rejets de polluants. Les Canadiens ont accès à toute l'information non confidentielle de l'INRP. Les dispositions sur la confidentialité se trouvent aux articles 51 à 53 de la LCPE (1999).

Pour plus de renseignements

Internet :

Pour des demandes d'information précise sur l'INRP :

Environnement Canada
Direction générale des données sur la pollution
351, boul. St-Joseph
Gatineau (QC) K1A OH3
Téléphone : 819-994-4073
Télécopieur : 819-994-3266
Courriel : npri@ec.gc.ca

Informathèque :

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (QC) K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :