This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

New Substances Advisory Nov-03

| TOC | Next |

Consultation on the proposed
New Substances Program Operational Policies Manual

This advisory note outlines the current status of the proposed New Substances Program Operational Policies Manual, briefly explains the manual, and requests comments on the proposed manual.

Current Status

The New Substances Program is responsible for administering the New Substances Notification Regulations (NSNR) under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act. During 1999 and 2000, the New Substances Program engaged stakeholders in extensive discussions about regulatory opportunities and challenges related to the Program. The Final Report on these consultations included the following recommendation:

"Several policy document/statements should be developed in order to comprehensively describe and explain how the NS Program operates. These include..."

Environment Canada (EC) and Health Canada (HC) responded, as follows:

"Environment Canada and Health Canada will, in 2002, inventory and review as required, the operational policies associated with the NS Program, including the policy documents outlined in the consultation recommendations. Subsequent to this review, the departments will establish an ongoing process for the preparation, review and publication of operational policies and will ensure that they are complete and clearly written..."

The New Substances Program Operational Policies Manual was developed by Environment Canada and Health Canada to follow up on the above recommendation. The manual will provide the staff and stakeholders of the New Substances Program, and the public with general information on how Environment Canada and Health Canada interpret and apply the provisions of Part 5 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, in the context of the New Substances Program. The intent is to increase transparency of the program, and to improve consistency in its operations.

The Manual includes information of a general nature on the program, and more specific information related to processing and assessment of new substances notifications, and risk management for new substances suspected of being toxic.

The final version of the manual will be published on the New Substances website, and additional operational policies will be added as they are developed.

Path Forward

Environment Canada is offering interested parties the opportunity to provide comments on the proposed New Substances Program Operational Policies Manual. Please send submissions and inquiries to the attention of the New Substances Branch, Environment Canada, Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H3, 819-953-7155 (Facsimile), or by electronic mail to the New Substances Notification Webmaster, nsn-infoline@ec.gc.ca no later than January 30, 2004.

Sincerely,


David McBain
Director, New Substances Branch
Environment Canada

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Substances nouvelles : Avis - novembre 2003

| TdesM | Suivant |

Consultation Manuel des politiques opérationnelles du Programme des substances nouvelles

Cet avis présente le contexte actuel du Manuel des politiques opérationnelles du Programme des substances nouvelles qui est proposé, le décrit brièvement et sollicite les commentaires à son sujet.

Contexte actuel

Le Programme des substances nouvelles (SN) est responsable de l'administration du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles conformément à la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999 (LCPE de 1999). En 1999 et en 2000, le Programme a permis à des intervenants de prendre part à des discussions approfondies au sujet des possibilités et des défis de réglementation relatifs au Programme. Le rapport final sur ces consultations comprenait la recommandation suivante :

« Il y aurait lieu d'élaborer plusieurs documents/énoncés de politique afin de décrire et d'expliquer de façon exhaustive comment fonctionne le Programme des SN. Il faudrait inclure ce qui suit... »

Environnement Canada et Santé Canada ont présenté la réponse suivante :

« Environnement Canada et Santé Canada vont, en l'an 2002, inventorier et examiner, au besoin, les politiques opérationnelles associées au Programme des SN, y compris les documents de politique mentionnés dans les recommandations issues des consultations. Après cet examen, les ministères établiront un processus continu de préparation, d'examen et de publication des politiques opérationnelles et veilleront à ce que ces documents soient exhaustifs et clairement rédigés... »

Le Manuel des politiques opérationnelles du Programme des substances nouvelles a été élaboré par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada en réponse à la recommandation précitée. Le Manuel mettra à la disposition du public, du personnel et des intervenants du Programme des SN des renseignements généraux sur l'interprétation et l'application, par Environnement Canada et Santé Canada, des dispositions de la Partie 5 de la LCPE de 1999, dans le contexte du Programme des SN, et ce, dans le but d'accroître la transparence du Programme et d'assurer l'uniformité des opérations.

Le Manuel comprend de l'information générale concernant le Programme et de l'information détaillée en ce qui a trait au traitement et à l'évaluation des déclarations de substances nouvelles ainsi qu'à la gestion du risque associé aux nouvelles substances qu'on soupçonne d'être toxiques.

La version finale du Manuel sera affichée sur le site Web des Substances nouvelles et d'autres politiques opérationnelles y seront ajoutées à mesure qu'elles seront élaborées.

Voie à suivre

Environnement Canada offre aux parties intéressées la possibilité de formuler des commentaires au sujet du Manuel des politiques opérationnelles du Programme des substances nouvelles. Veuillez faire parvenir vos questions et vos commentaires par la poste, à l'attention de la Direction des substances nouvelles, Environnement Canada, Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H3, par télécopieur, au 819-953-7155, ou au webmestre responsable des déclarations de substances nouvelles, à nsn-infoline@ec.gc.ca, au plus tard le 30 janvier, 2004.

Veuillez agréer l'expression de mes sentiments distingués.


David McBain
Directeur, Substances nouvelles
Environnement Canada

Date de modification :