This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister of the Environment letterhead and Logo.

March 24, 2011

 

The Honourable John Wilkinson, M.P.P.
Minister of the Environment
Government of Ontario
77 Wellesley Street West
11th Floor, Ferguson Block
Toronto ON M7A 2T5

 

Dear Minister:

I am writing on behalf of the federal ministries of Agriculture and Agri-Food, Fisheries and Oceans, Health, Natural Resources, and Transport, Infrastructure and Communities regarding the extension of the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem.

Since 1971, Canada and Ontario have worked together under a series of Great Lakes agreements. Those agreements have guided our efforts to improve the water quality and aquatic ecosystem health of the Great Lakes Basin, and contributed to meeting Canada's obligations under the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. Canada and the United States are currently negotiating amendments to that agreement to strengthen and modernize the agreement to address existing and emerging threats. While those negotiations proceed to completion, it is important that our respective governments continue to work together under the Canada-Ontario Agreement framework so that our efforts to restore, protect and conserve the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem are not interrupted.

Accordingly, I am writing to confirm our mutual agreement to extend the term of the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem to June 24, 2012, the maximum extension permitted under federal law, and to add new commitments to the Agreement in support of our efforts to protect the Great Lakes.

The current Canada-Ontario Agreement is scheduled to expire on March 31, 2011. Article XI permits Canada and Ontario to amend the Agreement by an exchange of letters. On behalf of our respective governments, we have agreed to amend the Agreement by extending its term to June 24, 2012, and to add new commitments to the Agreement in support of our efforts for the protection of the Great Lakes during the extension. The amendments are set out in the enclosed appendix.

The Government of Canada pledges to work together with the Government of Ontario under the existing Canada-Ontario Agreement, and to negotiate a new Canada-Ontario Agreement expeditiously, so that a new agreement will be in effect on or before June 25, 2012. In our view, there should be no gap between the expiry of the existing agreement and the commencement of a new one.

The Great Lakes are vital in supporting our environment, economy and society. Canada appreciates Ontario's continued commitment to protect and improve these important waters.

Sincerely,

(original signed by)

The Honourable Peter Kent, P.C., M.P.

Enclosure

cc: The Honourable Gerry Ritz, P.C., M.P.
     The Honourable Gail Shea, P.C., M.P.
     The Honourable Leona Agglukaq, P.C., M.P.
     The Honourable Christian Paradis, P.C., M.P.
     The Honourable Chuck Strahl, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Entête de lettre du Ministre de l'Environnement avec les armoiries.

Le 24 mars 2011

 

L'honorable John Wilkinson, M.P.P.
Ministre de l'Environnement
Gouvernement de l'Ontario
77, rue Wellesley Ouest, 11e étage
Ferguson Block
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 2T5

Monsieur le Ministre,

Je vous écris au nom des ministres fédéraux de l'Agriculture et de l'Agroalimentaire, des Pêches et des Océans, de la Santé, des Ressources naturelles, et des Transports, de l'Infrastruture et des Collectivités au sujet de la prolongation de l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernatn l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.

Depuis 1971, le Canada et l'Ontario travaillent de concert sous le régimed'une série d'accords sur les Grands Lacs. Ces accords ont orientés nos efforts en vue d'améliorer la qualité de l'eau et la santé de l'environnement du bassin des Grands Lacs, et ont aidé le Canada à respecter ses obligations dans le cadre de l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs. Le Canada et les États-Unis sont en voie de négocier des modifications à cet accord afin de le renforcer et de le moderniser dans le but de faire face aux menaces actuelles et émergentes. Pendant que se poursuivent ces négociations, il importe que nos gouvernements respectifs continuent de collaborer en vertu du cadre de l'Accord Canada-Ontario de façon à ne pas interrompre nos efforts en vue de rétablir, de protéger et de conserver l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.

Par conséquent, je vous écris pour confirmer notre entente mutelle visant à prolonger la durée de l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs jusqu'au 24 juin 2012, la prolongation maximale permise par la loi fédérale, et pour ajouter de nouveaux engagements à l'Accord afin d'appuyer nos efforts de protection des Grands Lacs.

L'Accord Canada-Ontario actuel prend fin le 31 mars 2011. L'article XI permet au Canada et à l'Ontario de modifier l'Accord par un échange de lettres. Au nom de nos gouvernements respectifs, nous avons accepté de modifier l'Accord en prolongeant sa durée jusqu'au 24 juin 2012 et en y ajoutant de nouveaux engagements pour appuyer nos efforts de protection des Grands Lacs au cours de sa durée prolongée. Les modifications figurent à l'annexe ci-jointe.

Le Gouvernement du Canada s'engage à travailler avec le gouvernement de l'Ontario en vertu de l'Accord Canada-Ontario existant et de négocier un nouvel accord Canada-Ontario rapidement afin que le nouvel accord entre en vigueur au plus tard le 25 juin 2012. À notre avis, il ne devrait y avoir aucune interruption entre l'expiration de l'Accord Canada-Ontario actuel et le début du nouvel accord.

Les Grands Lacs sont essentiels au soutien de notre environnement, de notre économie et de notre société. Le Canada est reconnaissant de l'engagement soutenu de l'Ontario à l'égard de la protection et de l'amélioration de ces importants cours d'eau.

Je vous prie d'agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

(original signé par)

L'honorable Peter Kent, C.P. député

Pièce jointe

c.c. : L'honorable Gerry Ritz, C.P., député
      L'honorable Gail Shea, C.P., député
      L'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, C.P., député
      L'honorable Christian Paradis, C.P., député
      L'honorable Chuck Strahl, C.P., député

Date de modification :