This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Consultation Document

Regulatory Framework Consultation Document describing key elements being considered for future regulations to limit greenhouse gas emissions from new on-road heavy-duty vehicles and engines of the 2014 and later model years

Background

The Government of Canada is committed to reducing Canada’s total greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 17% from 2005 levels by 2020, a target which reflects the importance of aligning with the United States, while maintaining economic competitiveness and prosperity. Transportation is a significant source of GHG emissions in Canada, accounting for about 27% of total GHG emissions in 2008.  Heavy-duty vehicles are also an important contributor to overall emissions, representing 23% of total GHG emissions from transportation in Canada.

Taking action to reduce GHG emissions from new vehicles is an important element of the Government’s plan to introduce an integrated, nationally consistent approach to reduce emissions of air pollutants and GHGs to protect the health and environment of Canadians. On May 21, the Honourable Minister Prentice announced that Canada is developing new Regulations under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999) to reduce GHG emissions from new heavy-duty vehicles.

The following regulatory framework consultation document is intended to provide an overview of the main elements that can be considered in developing the proposed regulations. The Government of Canada intends to strive to align as closely as possible with the U.S. EPA final regulations to reduce GHG emissions from heavy-duty vehicles while considering the specific characteristic of the Canadian fleet and safety standards. The regulatory framework is primarily intended to seek early stakeholders’ views on potential elements in advance of developing the proposed regulations.

Regulated Entities

The proposed regulations would apply to any person who is engaged in the business of manufacturing new heavy-duty vehicles or engines in Canada, or imports these vehicles or engines into Canada for the purpose of sale. As is the case with the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emissions Regulations, the proposed regulations would not apply to owners or operators of heavy-duty vehicles.

Applicable Classes of Vehicles

The proposed Regulations would seek to reduce emissions from the whole range of new on-road heavy-duty vehicles from full-size pick-up trucks to combination tractors, and including a wide variety of vocational vehicles such as:  freight, delivery, service, cement, garbage and dump trucks, as well as buses. This would effectively include all on-road vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of more than 3,856 kg (8,500 pounds), except those vehicles that would be subject to the Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations (e.g. medium-duty passenger vehicles up to 4,536 kg). It is intended that trailers designed to be attached to combination tractors would not initially be subject to the proposed regulations.

Emission Standards

The proposed regulations would seek to reduce GHG emissions from the whole vehicle. There are many aspects of heavy-duty vehicles beyond their engines that affect GHG emissions and the “vehicle-based” emissions standards would address these other aspects (the engine emits virtually all of the GHG emissions from the vehicle, but many other aspects of the vehicle such as its transmission, tires and aerodynamics affect how hard the engine must work and therefore how much it emits).

The proposed regulations would also recognize the range of applications of vehicles and consider emissions standards expressed as the quantity of GHG emissions emitted per unit of work. This per-unit-work method of establishing the standards would recognize that heavy-duty vehicles serve important purposes, and avoid distorting the heavy-duty vehicle market ability to serve those purposes. In general, vehicles with higher workload capacities are more efficient overall but do emit more as individual vehicles depending on its duty-cycle. The proposed regulations would ensure that these vehicles would not be penalized and that purchasers would maintain the ability to specify and buy the right vehicles.

Emissions standards would consider the dominant GHGs for transportation, including carbon dioxide (CO2), nitrous oxide, methane and hydrofluorocarbon refrigerants. The standards for nitrous oxide and methane would be intended simply to prevent significant increases in emissions of these gases as vehicle technologies evolve.  The proposed regulations could also include measures in the form of compliance flexibilities to recognize reductions in the release of hydrofluorocarbon refrigerants.

The standards for CO2, by far the dominant greenhouse gas emitted by heavy-duty vehicles, would be designed to drive improvements over time and would be designed to become increasingly more stringent over the model years 2014 through 2018. The emission standards would be performance based, which would allow manufacturers to combine the most appropriate and cost-effective GHG emission reduction methods for the products they built. It is expected that standards would be developed in a manner that would allow manufacturers to be able to build compliant vehicles by selecting among technologies, components or strategies that are already cost-effective and available off-the-shelf today. Many of these technologies would bring fuel savings that could outweigh initial costs in less than three years.  Moreover, the proposed regulations could provide the option for companies to meet the standards on the basis of fleet averaging.  The companies could also have the possibility to bank and trade emission credits.

The general approach of the proposed regulations to establish CO2 standards that attempt to be similar for the whole range of heavy-duty vehicles, but would also seek to recognize and accommodate the significant differences between three broad kinds of heavy-duty vehicles, their use, their manufacture and their emission regulation history, while achieving the common objective of whole-vehicle regulation of GHG emissions:

  1. Heavy-duty pick-up trucks and vans -- This category is largely similar to light-duty vehicles and includes 2500 and 3500 series pick-up trucks and vans. The proposed regulations would seek to establish emission standards based on the complete vehicle. The standards for a given vehicle could seek to consider the vehicle work factor and could be measured using a standardized duty cycle. The proposed standards for this Class of vehicles would be defined in grams of emissions per distance travelled.

  2. Combination tractors -- This category would include medium/heavy-duty trucks that are typically designed to haul a trailer (i.e., Class 7 and 8). The proposed regulations would seek to separate emission standards for the engine and the rest of the vehicle. Engine emissions could be measured using a standardized duty cycle in a manner similar to the procedures currently used to certify engine smog-forming pollutant emissions under the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emissions Regulations. The proposed engine standards could be measured in grams of emissions per unit of work or energy. Vehicle emissions could be evaluated in a manner that would estimate the emissions based on a standardized duty cycle. The emission model could consider variables such as tractor aerodynamics, tire rolling resistance, wheel weight, drive-train efficiency or transmission. The proposed vehicle standards could be measured in grams of emissions per unit of work and distance travelled.

  3. Vocational vehicles – This category would comprise all heavy-duty vehicles not covered in the previous two categories.  For example, this category would include heavy-duty vehicles such as: freight, delivery, service, cement, garbage, dump trucks and buses.  The proposed regulations would seek to establish and measure emission standards similar to combination tractors.

Compliance Flexibilities

The proposed regulations could offer flexibility to achieve overall compliance with emissions standards. The flexibilities could be similar to those used under existing regulations such as the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations (for air pollutants) and the Passenger Automobile and Light Truck Greenhouse Gas Emission Regulations under the CEPA1999, and are widely supported by stakeholders. These measures could include flexibilities such as meeting the standards on the basis of fleet averaging, banking or trading of emission credits, providing allowances for making GHG-reducing improvements to vehicles or for innovative technologies to reduce GHG emissions, incentives for advanced technology vehicles, or optional standards for companies selling smaller volumes of vehicles.

The proposed regulations could also seek to reduce leakage of hydrofluorocarbon refrigerant used in cabin air conditioning systems. These standards would be independent from the other GHG emission standards. Hydrofluorocarbon refrigerants have high global warming potential and highly cost-effective leakage prevention measures are available.

Unique Canadian Considerations

There are many sizes and varieties of heavy-duty vehicles serving a wide spectrum of functions. The type of companies involved in the manufacture of different kinds of heavy-duty vehicles is also very diverse and there may be distinctions between the Canadian and American fleets that warrant consideration in the development of Canadian regulations. The Government of Canada intends to consider potential implications for the Canadian trucking sector in developing Canadian regulations, specifically the competitiveness and safety of Canadian fleet. A cost-benefit analysis will also be developed as part of the regulatory development process. 

Administration and Compliance Verification

Regulated companies would be subject to enforcement and compliance requirements and penalties as specified under CEPA 1999.

Companies would be required to demonstrate compliance with emissions standards using prescribed emissions testing procedures, or prescribed emissions simulation modelling procedures. The proposed regulations would seek to recognize U.S. evidence of conformity.

All technologies, components or strategies will have to meet requirements under the Motor Vehicle Safety Act.

Companies would be required to submit annual reports, to maintain records relating to the GHG emission performance of their fleets and to establish compliance with the proposed Regulations.

Consultation Plan

A consultation plan will be elaborated for the development of the proposed regulations.

Consultation will continue with the transportation and vehicle manufacture industries, environmental non-governmental organizations, provinces/territories and other stakeholders.

Proposed regulations are intended to be developed for pre-publication in the Canada Gazette, Part I, in mid-2011 to provide for a formal 60-day consultation period consistent with the Cabinet Directive on Streamlining Regulation and section 332 of CEPA, 1999. Final regulations are targeted for December 2011 publication in the Canada Gazette, Part II.  The implementation date of the regulations will be aligned with that of the U.S. 

Collaborative Approach with the United States Environmental Protection Agency

Work is underway with the U.S. EPA to develop a common approach to regulate GHG emissions from heavy-duty vehicles, including an emission testing protocol.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de consultation

Cadre réglementaire de consultation décrivant les principaux éléments pris en considération pour un futur règlement visant à limiter les émissions de gaz à effet de serre provenant de véhicules routiers lourds neufs et de leur moteur, et ce, pour les années de modèle 2014 et ultérieures

Contexte

Le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à réduire, d'ici 2020, les émissions totales de gaz à effet de serre (GES) de 17 % par rapport aux émissions de 2005. Cette cible montre l'importance de veiller à un alignement avec les États-Unis, tout en maintenant notre compétitivité économique et notre prospérité. Le secteur du transport est une source considérable de GES au Canada. Il a produit environ 27 % des émissions totales de GES en 2008. Les véhicules lourds contribuent aussi notablement à la production de gaz à effet de serre et rejettent 23 % des émissions totales de ce secteur.

La mise en place de mesures de réduction des émissions de GES des nouveaux véhicules est un élément important du plan du gouvernement, qui vise à présenter une approche intégrée et cohérente à l'échelle nationale, afin de réduire les émissions de polluants atmosphériques et de GES, et ainsi protéger la santé et l'environnement des Canadiens. Le 21 mai, l’honorable ministre Prentice a annoncé que le Canada élaborait de nouveaux règlements en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE [1999]), afin de réduire les émissions de GES provenant des véhicules lourds neufs.

Le présent cadre réglementaire de consultation vise à fournir une vue d'ensemble des principaux éléments qui peuvent être pris en compte dans le projet de règlement. Le gouvernement du Canada prévoit s'efforcer de s'aligner le plus possible avec la réglementation finale de l'EPA des États-Unis en matière de réduction des GES provenant des véhicules lourds, tout en considérant les caractéristiques spécifiques du parc canadien et des normes en matière de sécurité. Le cadre réglementaire vise tout d'abord à recueillir les idées des intervenants en ce qui concerne les éléments à considérer avant d'élaborer le projet de règlement.

Entités réglementées

Le projet de règlement s'appliquerait à toute personne qui fabrique des véhicules lourds ou des moteurs neufs au Canada, ou qui importe ces véhicules ou ces moteurs au Canada à des fins de vente. Comme pour le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs, le projet de règlement ne s'appliquerait pas aux propriétaires ou aux exploitants de véhicules lourds.

Classes de véhicules visées

Le projet de règlement viserait à réduire les émissions de toute la gamme de nouveaux véhicules routiers lourds : des camionnettes lourdes aux tracteurs semi-remorques, incluant une variété de véhicules spécialisés comme les camions de fret, les camions de livraison et de service, les bétonnières, les camions à ordures, les camions à benne et les autobus. Cette approche inclurait tous les véhicules routiers avec un poids nominal brut supérieur à 3 856 kg (8 500 livres), à l’exception des véhicules qui seraient régis par le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers (c.-à-d. les véhicules moyens à passagers dont le poids est de 4 536 kg ou moins). Il est prévu que les remorques conçues pour être attachées aux tracteurs semi-remorque ne seraient pas initialement visées par le projet de règlement.

Normes d'émissions

Le projet de règlement aurait comme objectif de réduire les émissions de GES provenant du véhicule en entier. Plusieurs aspects des véhicules lourds, autres que leur moteur, influencent les émissions de GES et les normes d'émissions relatives au véhicule tiendraient compte de ces autres aspects (le moteur émet presque tous les GES provenant du véhicule, mais plusieurs autres éléments, comme la transmission, les pneus et l'aérodynamisme, déterminent le travail que doit fournir le moteur et donc son taux de rejet).

Le projet de règlement tiendrait également compte de la variété d'utilisation des véhicules et examinerait la pertinence de normes exprimées en quantité de GES émise par unité de travail fourni. L'élaboration de normes par « unité de travail » reconnaîtrait que les véhicules lourds produisent un travail important et éviterait de limiter ce marché dans l'exercice de ses fonctions. En général, les véhicules avec une grande capacité de travail sont plus efficaces dans l'ensemble, mais, pris un par un, émettent plus que d'autres véhicules dépendamment du cycle de travail. Le projet de règlement veillerait à ce que ces véhicules ne soient pas pénalisés et que leurs acheteurs conservent la capacité de déterminer leurs caractéristiques et d'acheter les véhicules adéquats.

Les normes d'émissions engloberaient les GES dominants pour le secteur du transport, y compris le dioxyde de carbone (CO2), l'oxyde nitreux, le méthane et les réfrigérants d’hydrurofluorurocarbones. Les normes pour l'oxyde nitreux et le méthane viseraient simplement à prévenir une augmentation significative des émissions de ces substances suivant l'évolution technologique des véhicules. Le projet de règlement pourrait également inclure des mesures de souplesses en matière de conformité pour reconnaître les réductions de fuites de réfrigérants d’hydrurofluorurocarbones.

Les normes pour le CO2, le GES qu'émettent le plus les véhicules lourds, seraient conçues pour produire une amélioration continue et seraient conçues pour devenir de plus en plus sévères durant les années de modèle 2014 à 2018. Les normes d'émissions s'appuieraient sur le rendement, ce qui permettrait aux fabricants de combiner de façon optimale et économique les méthodes de réductions des GES utilisées pour la fabrication de leurs produits. Il est prévu que les normes soient élaborées d’une manière qui permettrait aux fabricants d’être capables de construire des véhicules conformes en choisissant des technologies, des composantes ou des stratégies qui sont rentables et actuellement offertes sur le marché. Plusieurs de ces technologies représenteraient des économies de carburant qui pourraient dépasser leurs coûts en moins de trois ans. De plus, les entreprises auraient la possibilité de respecter les normes sous la base de moyennes d’émissions. Les entreprises auraient également la possibilité d'accumuler et d'échanger des points d’émissions.

L’approche générale du projet de règlement afin d’établir des normes de CO2 serait, autant que possible, semblable pour toute la gamme de véhicules lourds, mais tiendrait compte des différences notables entre trois grandes catégories de véhicules lourds, leur usage, leur fabrication et les règlements relatifs aux émissions auxquels ils ont été soumis dans le passé, tout en visant la réglementation des émissions de GES commune applicable à tout le véhicule :

  1. Camionnettes et fourgonnettes lourdes : Cette catégorie est largement similaire aux véhicules légers et comprend les camionnettes et les fourgonnettes des séries 2500 et 3500. Le projet de règlement viserait à établir des normes d’émissions appliquées à tout le véhicule. Les normes régissant un véhicule particulier pourraient viser à considérer le facteur de charge que celui-ci fournirait et pourraient être mesurées sur la base d'un cycle de travail normalisé. Les normes proposées pour cette classe de véhicules seraient définies en gramme d'émissions par distance parcourue. 

  2. Tracteurs semi-remorques : Cette catégorie désigne les camions mi-lourds et les poids lourds qui sont normalement conçus pour tirer une remorque (c.-à-d. classes 7 et 8). Le projet de règlement viserait à établir des normes différentes pour le moteur et le reste du véhicule. Les émissions provenant des moteurs pourraient être mesurées à l'aide d’un cycle de travail normalisé et de façon similaire à celle utilisée lors de la certification des émissions de polluants précurseurs de smog provenant des moteur dans le cadre du Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs. Les normes proposées concernant les moteurs pourraient être mesurées en gramme d’émissions par unité de travail ou d’énergie. Les émissions des véhicules pourraient être déterminées à partir d’un cycle de travail normalisé. Le modèle d’émissions pourraient prendre compte de paramètres comme l'aérodynamisme du tracteur routier, la résistance au roulement des pneus, la masse des roues et l'efficacité de la transmission. Les normes proposées des véhicules pourraient être mesurées en grammes d’émissions par unité de travail et de distance parcourue.

  3. Véhicules spécialisés : Cette catégorie comprendrait tous les véhicules lourds non compris dans les deux catégories précédentes. Ces véhicules peuvent avoir divers usages : camions de fret, camions de livraison, camions de service, bétonnières, camions à ordures, camions à benne et autobus. Les émissions issues de ces véhicules seraient réglementées de façon similaire à celles des tracteurs semi-remorques.  

Souplesse en matière de conformité

Le projet de règlement pourrait offrir certaines souplesses pour arriver à une conformité globale en matière de normes d'émissions. Ces souplesses pourraient être semblables à celles qui sont existantes dans le cadre de règlements comme le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs (pour les polluants atmosphérique) et le Règlement sur les émissions de gaz à effet de serre des automobiles à passagers et des camions légers en vertu de la LCPE (1999), et obtiennent un appui substantiel de la part des intervenants. Les mesures d'assouplissement peuvent inclure la possibilité de respecter les normes en fonction de la moyenne du parc, d'accumuler et d’échanger des points d’émissions, fournir des allocations pour l’amélioration de systèmes de réduction de GES des véhicules ou l’utilisation de techniques novatrices de réduction des GES, d'encourager l'exploitation de véhicules à technologie de pointe, ou d'avoir des normes facultatives pour les entreprises qui vendent peu de véhicules.

Le projet de règlement pourrait également viser à réduire des fuites de réfrigérants d’hydrurofluorurocarbones dans le système de climatisation des cabines. Ces normes seraient indépendantes des autres normes d'émissions des GES. Les réfrigérants d’hydrurofluorurocarbones ont un potentiel élevé de réchauffement de la planète et il existe des moyens de prévention très rentables contre les fuites.

Préoccupations propres au Canada

Il existe une grande variété de tailles et de types de véhicules lourds exerçant une large gamme de fonctions. Les entreprises qui fabriquent les différentes sortes de véhicules lourds sont aussi très variées. Il y a peut-être aussi des différences entre les parcs canadien et américain de véhicules qui devront être prises en compte durant l'élaboration de la réglementation canadienne. Le gouvernement du Canada  à l’intention de considérer les incidences potentielles du projet de règlement canadien sur l'industrie du camionnage, plus spécifiquement la compétitivité et la sécurité du parc canadien. Une analyse coût-avantage sera mise en place dans le cadre du processus d'élaboration du règlement.

Administration et vérification de la conformité

Les entreprises réglementées seront soumises aux exigences de conformité et d’application de la loi, et aux amendes prévues dans la LCPE (1999).

Les entreprises devraient démontrer leur conformité aux normes d'émissions en suivant les procédures prescrites de test ou de modélisation d'émissions. Le projet de règlement viserait à reconnaître les preuves américaines de conformité.

Toutes les technologies, composantes ou stratégies mises en place devrons répondre aux exigences stipulées dans la Loi sur la sécurité automobile.

Les entreprises devraient présenter des rapports annuels, tenir des registres sur le rendement de leur parc automobile en matière d'émissions de GES et se conformer au projet de règlement.

Plan de consultation

L'élaboration du projet de règlement se fera à la suite de la mise en place d'un plan de consultation.

Les consultations se poursuivront avec les secteurs du transport et de l'industrie automobile, les organisations environnementales non gouvernementales, les provinces et territoires, et les autres intervenants.

Le projet de règlement sera rédigé pour une publication préalable dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada à la mi-2011 afin de fournir une période de commentaires de 60 jours conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur la rationalisation de la réglementation et l’article 332 de la LCPE (1999). La publication du règlement final dans la Partie II de la Gazette du Canada est prévue pour décembre 2011. La date d’entrée en vigueur du règlement sera alignée avec celle des États-Unis.

Collaboration avec l'EPA

Des travaux sont actuellement en cours avec l'EPA des États-Unis pour mettre en place une stratégie commune, afin de réglementer les émissions de GES provenant des véhicules lourds, incluant un protocole d’essai d’émissions.

Date de modification :