This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Discussion document

On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations

Updating Canada's Motorcycle Emission Standards to Align with New U.S. Rules

Environment Canada has prepared a discussion document on planned amendments to the On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations for review and comment by interested parties. The primary purpose of the planned amendments is to maintain alignment with new U.S. emission standards for on-road motorcycles.

The On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations came into effect on January 1, 2004 to align Canadian emission standards with those of the United States for light-duty passenger vehicles, light-duty trucks (such as vans, pickup trucks and sport utility vehicles), heavy-duty vehicles (such as heavy trucks and buses), and motorcycles.

Amendments to the Regulations are required to maintain alignment with new elements of the U.S. motorcycle emission standards for 2006 and later model years, which were published by the EPA on January 15, 2004. The discussion document describes the technical contents of the planned amendments to the Regulations.

Emission regulations for on-road vehicles are an element of the Federal Agenda on Cleaner Vehicles, Engines and Fuels published in the February 17, 2001 Canada Gazette, Part I.

Comments received by November 12, 2004 will be considered in developing a formal proposal in the Canada Gazette, Part I, expected in early 2005. There will be a further opportunity to comment after publication in the Part I of the Canada Gazette. For additional information concerning the discussion document or to provide comments, please contact:

Ed Crupi
Head, Vehicle Regulations
Transportation Systems Branch
351 St - Joseph Blvd
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Tel: 819-994-2230
Fax: 819-953-7815
Email: ed.crupi@ec.gc.ca

List of Hyperlinks:

1. Discussion Document - On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations - Updating Canada's Motorcycle Emission Standards to Align with New U.S. Rules PDF, 381 KB
2. On-Road Vehicle and Engine Emission Regulations
3. Federal Agenda on Cleaner Vehicles, Engines and Fuels, February 17, 2001, Canada Gazette, Part I.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Document de discussion

Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

Mise à jour des normes d'émissions du Canada pour les motocyclettes en vue de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les nouvelles règles adoptées aux États-Unis

Environnement Canada a préparé un document de discussion relatif aux modifications du Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs pour fins d'examen et de commentaires. Les modifications prévues visent à assurer l'harmonisation des normes d'émissions canadiennes pour les motocyclettes avec les nouvelles exigences des États-unis.

Le Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs est entré en vigueur le 1er janvier 2004 afin d'harmoniser les normes canadiennes relatives aux émissions à celles des États-Unis relativement aux véhicules légers à passagers, aux camionnettes, (p. ex. fourgonnettes, camions légers et véhicules loisir travail), aux véhicules lourds (comme les camions lourds et les autobus) et aux motocyclettes.

Des modifications doivent être apportées au règlement afin de veiller à son harmonisation avec les changements apportés aux normes américaines relatives aux émissions de motocyclettes en 2006 et de modèles des années subséquentes, publiées par la Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis le 15 janvier 2004. Le document de discussion présente les aspects techniques des modifications prévues au règlement.

Le règlement sur les émissions pour les véhicules routiers représente un élément du Programme fédéral pour des véhicules, des moteurs et des carburants moins polluants publié le 17 février 2001 dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada.

Les commentaires reçus d'ici le 12 novembre 2004 seront considérés dans l'élaboration d'une proposition formelle dans la Partie I de la Gazette du Canada qui devrait être publiée au début 2005. Le public aura une nouvelle occasion de commenter le projet après sa publication dans la Gazette du Canada. Pour obtenir plus d'information sur le document de discussion ou pour présenter vos commentaires, veuillez communiquer avec :

Ed Crupi
Chef, Section de la réglementation des véhicules
Direction des systèmes de transport,
351, boulevard St-Joseph
Gatineau (Quebec),
K1A 0H3

Tél : 819-994-2230
Téléc. : 819-953-7815
Courriel : ed.crupi@ec.gc.ca

Liste des hyperliens :

1. Document de discussion - Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs - Mise à jour des normes d'émissions du Canada pour les motocyclettes en vue de maintenir l'harmonisation avec les nouvelles règles adoptées aux États-Unis PDF, 392 KB

2. Règlement sur les émissions des véhicules routiers et de leurs moteurs

3. Programme fédéral pour des véhicules, des moteurs et des carburants moins polluants, Partie I de la Gazette du Canada du 17 février 2001

Date de modification :