This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

ARCHIVED - Interim Implementation Guidelines for CEPA Part 8, Section 199, Authorities for Requiring Environmental Emergency Plans

Part 8 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA); Environmental Matters Related to Emergencies, is new and provides the Minister of the Environment with various authorities. Section 199 represents one of the important components of this comprehensive emergencies management framework and will assist in reducing gaps in or between federal and provincial legislation for the prevention of, preparedness for, response to and recovery from an environmental emergency.

Subsection 199(1) of the CEPA authorizes the Minister of the Environment to require the preparation and implementation of environmental emergency plans for:

  • substances on the List of Toxic Substances (Schedule 1 of the CEPA); or
  • substances determined by the Ministers of the Environment and Health to be toxic under the CEPA and recommended or ordered to be added to the List of Toxic Substances.

The Minister will use these authorities to require environmental emergency plans to complement other existing or forthcoming risk management measures (e.g., regulations, guidelines) for CEPA-toxic substances. The requirement for environmental emergency plans will be determined using a risk assessment approach. These guidelines describe how Environment Canada intends to administer section 199.

You are invited to provide comments on the revised version of the Interim Implementation Guidelines for CEPA Part 8, Section 199 - Authorities for Requiring Environmental Emergency Plans by June 16, 2000.

Comments may be submitted electronically to:

environmental.emergencies@ec.gc.ca

Comments can also be submitted in writing to:

Director, Environmental Emergencies Branch
Environment Canada
351 St. Joseph Blvd.
Hull, Quebec
K1A 0H3

Download the Report

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

ARCHIVÉ - Lignes directrices provisoires pour la mise en application de la LCPE partie 8, Article 199: Exigences quant aux plans d'urgence environnementale

La partie 8 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement de 1999 (LCPE): Questions d'ordre environnemental en matière d'urgences, est nouvelle et confère au ministre de l'Environnement le pouvoir de prendre des mesures. L'article 199 constitue l'un des aspects importants du cadre de gestion intégrale des urgences environnementales et vise à combler les lacunes de la législation fédérale et provinciale ou, encore, entre ces législations en ce qui touche la prévention, la préparation, l'intervention et la restauration.

Le paragraphe 199(1) de la LCPE autorise le ministre de l'Environnement à exiger l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans d'urgence environnementale pour :

  • les substances figurant sur la Liste des substances toxiques (annexe 1 de la LCPE);
  • les substances déterminées par les ministres de l'Environnement et de la Santé comme étant toxiques en vertu de la LCPE et dont l'inscription à la Liste des substances toxiques a été recommandée ou demandée.

Le ministre exercera son pouvoir d'exiger des plans d'urgence environnementale pour compléter d'autres mesures de gestion des risques actuelles ou futures (p. ex., règlements, lignes directrices) concernant les substances toxiques visées par la LCPE. On utilise une approche fondée sur un cadre d'évaluation des risques pour déterminer la nécessité des plans d'urgence environnementale. Ces lignes directrices décrivent la façon dont Environnement Canada entend procéder à la mise en application de l'article 199.

Vous êtes invités, jusqu'au 16 juin, 2000, à soumettre des commentaires de la version révisée des Lignes directrices provisoires pour la mise en application de la LCPE de la partie 8, article 1999 - Exigences quant aux plans d'urgence environnementale.

Les commentaires peuvent être envoyés par courrier électronique à:

Urgences.Environnementales@ec.gc.ca

Les commentaires peuvent également être soumis par écrit au:

Directeur, Direction des urgences environnementales
Environnement Canada
351, boul. St. Joseph
Hull (Québec) K1A 0H3

Téléchargez le rapport

Date de modification :