Skip booklet index and go to page content

A Guide to Understanding the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

8. Marine Environment and Disposal at Sea

8.1 Land-based Sources of Marine Pollution

8.1.1 What are Land-based Sources of Marine Pollution?

The major threats to the health, productivity and biodiversity of the marine environment result from human activities on land in coastal areas and further inland. About 80% of the pollution load in the oceans originates from land-based activities. This includes wastes and run-off from municipal, industrial and agricultural activities, as well as deposits from the atmosphere. These contaminants affect the most productive areas of the marine environment, including estuaries and nearshore coastal waters. The marine environment is also threatened by physical alterations of the coastal zone, including destruction of habitats of vital importance to maintain ecosystem health. The impacts from land-based activities include closures of shellfish growing areas, degraded beaches, destroyed habitat and contaminated sites.


8.1.2 Who Protects Canada's Marine Environment?

The protection of the marine environment in Canada is a responsibility shared by all levels of government. The CEPA 1999 provisions are intended to complement existing regulatory measures and supplement the authority that exists in other federal, provincial, territorial and aboriginal government laws.


8.1.3 How is CEPA 1999 Used to Manage Land-based Sources of Marine Pollution?

CEPA 1999 provides the authority to issue non-regulatory objectives, guidelines and codes of practice to prevent and reduce marine pollution from land-based sources. This is done after consultation with other affected governments.

Keeping in mind the shared responsibility and cost-effectiveness of building on existing programs, Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and the provinces and territories developed a National Programme of Action for the Protection of the Marine Environment from Land-based Activities. As a national framework and plan, the Programme provides an assessment of the state of Canada's coastal and marine environment and identifies the management objectives strategies and priority actions that need to be implemented.


8.2 Disposal at Sea

8.2.1 What is Disposal at Sea?

Each year in Canada, two to three million tonnes of material is disposed of at sea. Most of this is material dredged from ocean floors that must be moved to keep shipping channels and harbours clear for navigation and commerce. CEPA 1999 covers the disposal of certain substances at sea from ships, aircraft, platforms or other structures. Discharges from land-based facilities or from normal ship operations are not considered disposal at sea, but are subject to controls under other Acts.


8.2.2 How is CEPA 1999 Used to Manage Disposal at Sea?

CEPA 1999 prohibits the disposal of wastes and other matter at sea within Canadian jurisdiction and by Canadian ships in international waters and waters under foreign jurisdiction, unless the disposal is done under a permit issued by the Minister. Permits typically govern timing, handling, storing, loading, placement at the disposal site and monitoring requirements. Permits are published in the Canada Gazette, Part I and on the CEPA Environmental Registry website. The permit system allows Canada to meet international obligations under the London Convention, 1972 and the 1996 Protocol to the Convention.

Only those substances listed in Schedule 5 of CEPA 1999 may be considered for disposal at sea. These include dredged material, fisheries waste, ships, inert geological matter, uncontaminated organic matter and bulky substances that are primarily composed of iron, steel, concrete or other similar matter. Incineration at sea is banned except under emergency situations or if it is waste generated on board the ship or structure.

Permits are granted on a case-by-case basis after an application and review process. Applicants for a disposal at sea permit must provide detailed disposal data, proof that the applicant published a notice of intent in a local newspaper, any required samples and analyses and payment of fees. Applicants must also comply with the Assessment of Waste or Other Matter in Schedule 6 of CEPA 1999, which requires consideration of other disposal options, such as recycling and means to prevent or reduce the generation of waste. A permit for disposal at sea will be approved only if it is the environmentally preferable and practical option. Permits are not granted if practical opportunities are available to recycle or reuse the material.

Once a permit is issued, Environment Canada conducts periodic inspections during disposal operations to ensure compliance with the permit's conditions. After disposal operations are completed, monitoring studies are conducted at selected sites to verify that permit conditions were met and that scientific assumptions made during the permit review process were correct and sufficient to protect the environment. Results of the monitoring studies are considered in future permit assessments.

 

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Guide explicatif de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

8. Milieu marin et immersion en mer

8.1 Sources telluriques de pollution des mers

8.1.1 Qu'est-ce qu'une source tellurique de pollution des mers?

Les principaux dangers pour la santé, la productivité et la biodiversité du milieu marin résultent de l'activité humaine terrestre, sur les côtes et dans les terres. Environ 80 p. 100 de la charge polluante des océans provient des activités terrestres, notamment les déchets et les eaux de ruissellement provenant des activités municipales, industrielles et agricoles, de même que les dépôts provenant de l'atmosphère. Ces contaminants ont une incidence sur la plupart des zones productives du milieu marin, tels les estuaires et les eaux côtières. L'environnement marin est aussi menacé par des modifications physiques de la zone littorale, y compris la destruction d'habitats dont l'importance est vitale pour maintenir la santé de l'écosystème. Les effets de la pollution causée par les activités terrestres comprennent la fermeture de régions coquillières, la dégradation des plages, la destruction des habitats et la contamination de certains lieux.


8.1.2 Qui protège le milieu marin au Canada?

La protection du milieu marin du Canada relève des divers ordres de gouvernement. Les dispositions de la LCPE 1999 complètent les mesures réglementaires actuelles et s'ajoutent au pouvoir des autres lois des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux, territoriaux et autochtones.

8.1.3 Comment utilise-t-on la LCPE 1999 pour gérer les sources telluriques de pollution des mers?

La LCPE 1999 autorise l'établissement d'objectifs non réglementaires, de lignes directrices et de codes de pratique visant à prévenir et à réduire la pollution des mers provenant des sources telluriques, ce qui s'effectue après avoir consulté les autres gouvernements touchés.

En ayant à l'esprit la responsabilité partagée et en tirant partie de la rentabilité des programmes actuels, Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, les provinces et les territoires ont créé un Programme d'action national du Canada pour la protection du milieu marin contre la pollution d'origine terrestre. Comme cadre de travail national et plan, le Programme offre une évaluation de l'état côtier du Canada, de l'environnement marin et identifie les stratégies des objectifs de gestion et les actions prioritaires à mettre en application.


8.2 Immersion de substances en mer

8.2.1 Qu'est-ce que l'immersion en mer?

Au Canada, on rejette chaque année deux à trois millions de tonnes de substances en mer. Il s'agit en général de déblais de dragage provenant des fonds marins qui doivent être déplacés pour libérer les chenaux et les ports en vue de faciliter le commerce et la navigation. La LCPE 1999 couvre l'immersion de substances en mer est le rejet en mer de certaines substances à partir de navires, d'aéronefs, de plates-formes ou d'autres structures. Les déversements provenant des activités terrestres ou des activités maritimes normales ne sont pas considérés comme des rejets en mer, mais néanmoins soumis à des contrôles en vertu d'autres lois.

8.2.2 Comment utilise-t-on la LCPE 1999 pour gérer l'immersion de substances en mer?

La LCPE 1999 interdit l'immersion en mer de déchets et autres matières dans les océans sous compétence canadienne et à partir de navires canadiens naviguant dans des eaux internationales, sauf si l'immersion est effectuée conformément au permis délivré par le Ministre. Les permis régissent normalement les exigences en matière de détermination du moment de l'immersion, de manipulation, d'entreposage, de chargement de dépôt au site d'enfouissement et de surveillance. Ceux-ci sont publiés dans la Gazette du Canada, partie I, et dans le site Web du Registre environnemental de la LCPE. Le régime de permis permet au Canada de respecter ses obligations internationales en vertu de Convention de Londres de 1972 et du Protocole d'accompagnement de 1996.

Seules les substances inscrites à l'annexe 5 de la LCPE 1999 peuvent être immergées en mer, ce qui comprend les déblais de dragage, les déchets de poissons, les navires, les matières géologiques inertes, les matières organiques non contaminées et les substances volumineuses principalement composées de fer, d'acier, de béton ou d'une autre matière semblable. L'incinération en mer est interdite, sauf s'il s'agit de situations d'urgence ou de déchets produits à bord d'un navire ou d'une structure.

La délivrance des permis est un processus individuel qui s'effectue à la suite d'une demande et d'un examen. Les demandeurs de permis d'immersion doivent fournir des données détaillées sur l'immersion, la preuve qu'ils ont publié un avis d'intention dans un journal local, tout échantillon ou analyse demandé et le paiement des droits. Les demandeurs doivent également se conformer à l'annexe 6 de la LCPE 1999, Gestion des déchets ou autres matières, qui exige que soient considérées d'autres options de disposition, par exemple le recyclage, et des mesures pour prévenir ou réduire la production de déchets, comme le recyclage, et les moyens de prévenir ou de réduire la production de déchets. Un permis d'immersion en mer ne sera approuvé que s'il s'agit de la meilleure option et de la plus pratique au point de vue environnemental. S'il existe des façons commodes de recycler ou de réutiliser la substance visée, la demande de permis est rejetée.

Après la délivrance d'un permis, Environnement Canada effectue des inspections périodiques au cours des opérations d'immersion afin de s'assurer du respect des conditions du permis. Après les opérations d'immersion, des études de surveillance sont effectuées à des sites choisis afin de vérifier si les conditions du permis ont été respectées, et si les estimations scientifiques faites au cours du processus d'examen du permis étaient correctes et suffisantes pour la protection de l'environnement. Les résultats des études de surveillance sont pris en compte lors de l'évaluation de permis subséquents.

 

Date de modification :