This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Part I - Canada's Draft National Implementation Plan for the Stockholm Convention

Chapter 4: Register of Specific Exemptions and Chemicals Subject to Restricted Use

4.1 Overview

Article 4 of the Convention allows Parties to obtain specific exemptions, e.g., exemptions that are specific to a chemical, a country and a use. These exemptions were included in the Convention because they allow a phase-out period, during which time countries can eliminate production and use and introduce substitute substances and processes. The time period for an exemption is generally five or less years after the date of entry into force of the Convention for the particular chemical. Upon request and in special circumstances, the COP may choose to extend the expiry date of a specific exemption for a period of up to five years.

Parties wishing to use exemptions will be required to submit a report to the Secretariat, and the Conference of the Parties will review the report and make recommendations to the Party requesting the exemption. A public register of specific exemptions will be established and maintained by the Secretariat. In conformity with the requirements of article 4.2, it will include:


  1. A list of the types of specific exemptions reproduced from Annex A and Annex B;
  2. A list of the Parties that have a specific exemption listed under Annex A or Annex B; and
  3. A list of the expiry dates for each registered specific exemption

Parties may, at any time, withdraw an entry from the Register if and when the POP is no longer used or produced in that country.

4.2 Annex B Chemicals: DDT

As noted in Chapter 3, Annex B, Part II of the Stockholm Convention provides for specific provisions for restricted use of DDT (Annex B) in disease vector malaria control. Each Party that produces and/or uses DDT must do so in accordance with the World Health Organization (WHO) recommendations and guidelines, and only when locally safe, effective and affordable alternatives are not available. The Register of Specific Exemptions will be maintained by the Secretariat.


4 (1) A Register is hereby established for the purpose of identifying the Parties that have specific exemptions listed in Annex A or Annex B. It shall not identify Parties that make use of the provisions in Annex A or Annex B that may be exercised by all Parties. The Register shall be maintained by the Secretariat and shall be available to the public.

Parties using DDT will be required to:

  • report on quantities used, conditions of use, and relevance to the Party's disease management strategy.
  • develop and implement national action plans to :
    • confine use of DDT to disease vector management
    • implement alternatives to DDT, and
    • take measures to strengthen health care and reduce incidence of disease.
  • promote research and development of safe alternative chemical and non-chemical products methods and strategies for Parties using DDT. Factors to be promoted when considering alternatives or combinations of alternatives shall include their human health risks and environmental implications. Viable alternatives to DDT shall pose less risk to human health and the environment, be suitable for disease control based on conditions in countries requesting a specific exemption for DDT and be supported with monitoring data.
  • COP will evaluate at its first meeting and every three years thereafter, in consultation with the WHO, to see whether DDT continues to be needed for disease vector control.

The Convention also includes general exemptions for PCBs in existing use (with timelines for their phase-out and elimination), POPs in products, quantities of a chemical to be used in laboratory-scale research or as a reference standard, and unintentional trace contamination of final products where POPs are used as intermediate products.

4.3 Canada and Specific Use Exemptions

Canada does not produce or use any of the Annex A substances that will be listed in the Register, and therefore did not request any exemptions be added to it on its behalf. Canada does not produce or use any currently listed Annex B chemical (i.e., DDT) and therefore does not require an exemption.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Partie I : Plan national de mise en oeuvre du Canada en vertu de la Convention de Stockholm

Chapitre 4. Inscription de dérogations explicites et substances chimiques assujetties à un usage limité

4.1 Aperçu

L'article 4 de la Convention autorise les Parties à obtenir des dérogations explicites, c'est-à-dire des exemptions qui s'appliquent à une substance chimique, à un pays ou à une utilisation en particulier. Ces dérogations ont été incluses dans la Convention parce qu'elles permettent de fixer un délai dans lequel les pays peuvent éliminer graduellement la production ou l'utilisation d'une substance et commencer à employer des substances et des procédés de remplacement. En général, ce délai est de cinq ans ou moins après la date d'entrée en vigueur de la Convention à l'égard de la substance chimique visée. Sur demande et dans des circonstances spéciales, la Conférence des Parties (CdP) peut décider de proroger une dérogation donnée pour une période pouvant aller jusqu'à cinq ans.

La Partie souhaitant bénéficier d'une dérogation doit présenter un rapport au Secrétariat. La CdP examine le rapport et fait des recommandations au pays demandeur. Un registre public des dérogations explicites est tenu par le Secrétariat. Conformément aux obligations énoncées à l'article 4.2, il comprend ce qui suit :


  1. Une liste des types de dérogations spécifiques prévues à l'annexe A et à l'annexe B;
  2. Une liste des Parties bénéficiant d'une dérogation spécifique prévue à l'annexe A ou à l'annexe B;
  3. Une liste des dates d'expiration pour chaque dérogation spécifique enregistrée.

Une Partie peut, à tout moment, retirer son inscription au registre lorsque le POP n'est plus utilisé ou produit dans le pays.

4.2 Substance chimique de l'annexe B : le DDT

Comme on l'a mentionné au chapitre 3, la partie II de l'annexe B de la Convention de Stockholm prévoit des dispositions explicites concernant l'utilisation limitée du DDT dans la lutte contre les vecteurs pathogènes de la malaria. Chaque Partie qui produit ou utilise du DDT doit le faire conformément aux recommandations et lignes directrices de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), et ce, pour autant qu'elle ne dispose pas de solutions de rechange locales sûres, efficaces et abordables. Le registre des dérogations spécifiques est tenu par le Secrétariat.


4 1) Un registre est établi par les présentes afin d'identifier les Parties bénéficiant de dérogations spécifiques prévues à l'annexe A ou à l'annexe B. Il ne recense pas les Parties qui appliquent les dispositions de l'annexe A ou de l'annexe B dont toutes les Parties peuvent se prévaloir. Ce registre est tenu par le Secrétariat et est accessible au public.

Les Parties qui utilisent du DDT doivent :

  • Fournir des informations sur la quantité utilisée, les conditions de cette utilisation et son intérêt pour la stratégie prophylactique de la Partie.
  • Élaborer et mettre en oeuvre un plan d'action national pour :
    • limiter l'utilisation du DDT à la lutte contre les vecteurs pathogènes;
    • assurer l'emploi de produits de remplacement au DDT;
    • améliorer les soins de santé et réduire l'incidence de la maladie.
  • Promouvoir la recherche-développement de substances chimiques et non chimiques, méthodes et stratégies de remplacement sûres pour les Parties utilisant du DDT. Les facteurs à privilégier pour l'étude des solutions de remplacement ou des combinaisons de solutions de remplacement comprennent les risques pour la santé humaine et les incidences sur l'environnement de ces solutions de remplacement. Les solutions de remplacement du DDT viables doivent présenter moins de risques pour la santé humaine et l'environnement, convenir à la lutte contre la maladie compte tenu de la situation de chaque Partie et être étayées par des données de surveillance.
  • La CdP évaluera à sa première réunion et tous les trois ans par la suite, en consultation avec l'OMS, si le DDT reste nécessaire pour la lutte contre les vecteurs pathogènes.

La Convention contient aussi des dérogations générales (assorties de délais d'élimination graduelle) pour les BPC en circulation, les POP contenus dans les produits, les quantités d'une substance chimique destinée à être utilisée pour la recherche en laboratoire ou comme étalon de référence et les quantités d'une substance chimique présente non intentionnellement à l'état de traces dans des produits pour lesquels un POP a été utilisé comme produit intermédiaire.

4.3 Le Canada et le recours aux dérogations explicites

Le Canada ne produit ni n'utilise les substances inscrites à l'annexe A qui seront portées sur le registre et, par conséquent, n'a pas demandé qu'on y ajoute une dérogation en son nom. Actuellement, le Canada ne produit ni n'utilise la substance chimique figurant à l'annexe B (c.-à-d. le DDT) et n'a donc pas besoin de recourir à une dérogation.

Date de modification :