This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

ARCHIVED - CEPA 1999 Annual Report for April 2008 to March 2009

1. Administration (Part 1)

Part 1 of CEPA 1999 requires the Ministers to establish the National Advisory Committee, composed of one representative for the federal Minister of the Environment and one for the federal Minister of Health, representatives from each province and territory, and not more than six representatives of Aboriginal governments from across Canada.

Part 1 allows the Minister of the Environment to negotiate an agreement with a provincial or territorial government, or an Aboriginal people with respect to the administration of the Act. Part 1 also allows for equivalency agreements, which suspend federal regulations in a province or territory that has equivalent regulatory standards.

1.1 National Advisory Committee

The National Advisory Committee advises the Ministers on actions taken under CEPA 1999, enables national, cooperative action, and seeks to avoid duplication in regulatory activity among governments. The Committee also serves as the single window into provincial and territorial governments, and representatives of Aboriginal governments on consultations and offers to consult.

To carry out its duties in 2008-2009, the National Advisory Committee participated in one face-to-face meeting, eight conference calls, and ongoing correspondence among members throughout the year. Federal initiatives brought to the Committee for discussion included

  • implementation of Canada's Chemicals Management Plan including risk assessment and risk management activities for Batches 1 through 9 of the Challenge;
  • the federal government's Regulatory Framework for Air Emissions;
  • development of motor vehicle fuel efficiency regulations for Canada, and the federal agenda on cleaner vehicles, engines and fuels;
  • status of the CEPA 1999 Parliamentary review; and
  • other risk management activities, such as developing, amending or repealing regulations; pollution prevention plans; guidelines and codes of practice; proposed options for managing risks to the environment and human health; and other issues related to CEPA 1999.

1.2 Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem

Since 1971, Canada and Ontario have worked together through the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem. This agreement, most recently renewed in June 2007, guides the efforts of Canada and Ontario in achieving a healthy, prosperous and sustainable Great Lakes Basin ecosystem for present and future generations and is the mechanism for meeting Canada's obligations under the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement. The Agreement comprises 13 goals, 37 results and 183 specific commitments in four priority areas:

  • designated Areas of Concern (AOCs) in the Great Lakes Basin;
  • harmful pollutants;
  • lake and basin sustainability; and
  • coordination of monitoring, research and information.

The Areas of Concern Annex (Annex 1 of the Agreement) comprises two goals: Goal 1 is to complete priority actions for delisting four AOCs: (Nipigon Bay, Jackfish Bay, Wheatley Harbour and St. Lawrence River, Cornwall). In 2008-2009, remedial actions in the four Goal 1 AOCs neared completion with the main outstanding actions for delisting being upgrades to sewage treatment plants in the Nipigon and St. Lawrence areas. The objective of Goal 2 is to make significant progress toward Remedial Action Plan implementation, environmental recovery and restoration of beneficial uses in the remaining 11 AOCs. Work carried out included the cleanup of contaminated sediment, the establishment and advancement of contaminated sediment management strategies, and the delivery of habitat restoration strategies and projects to restore beneficial uses.

The Harmful Pollutants Annex (Annex 2 of the Agreement) addresses both past (legacy) and ongoing sources of pollution in the Great Lakes Basin. Annex 2 takes a substance and/or sector approach to reducing and preventing releases throughout the basin, and seeks to virtually eliminate persistent bioaccumulative toxic substances. Environment Canada's efforts under Annex 2 include actions undertaken by the Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy, which is a collaborative arrangement between Environment Canada and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to achieve progress towards the reduction of persistent toxic substances within the Great Lakes Basin. Environment Canada's efforts under Annex 2 also support the delivery of Canada's Chemicals Management Plan.

In 2008-2009, the Great Lakes Binational Toxics Strategy Stakeholders Forum continued its work to reduce emissions and releases to the environment of Level 1 substances, including mercury, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), dioxins and furans, hexachlorobenzene and benzo(a)pyrene. Since the signing of the Strategy in 1997, 13 of the challenge goals established for Level 1 substances by Environment Canada and the United States Environmental Protection Agency have been met. Significant progress has been made toward the remaining four challenge goals. Canada continues to make progress toward reaching the PCB challenge goals outlined in the Strategy, to monitor dioxins in the environment, to investigate dioxin data as available, and to look for reductions in uncontrolled combustion sources such as burn barrels. Canada conducted testing of certified wood stoves to evaluate emission factors and completed a Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbon Source Apportionment Modeling project. Canadian monitoring data indicate declining environmental concentrations of dioxins, furans, coplanar PCBs, benzo(a)pyrene and hexachlorobenze at Ontario sites.

Environment Canada worked to achieve commitments under Annex 3 of the 2007-2010 Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem to restore beneficial uses in open lake waters through Lakewide Management Plan activities. Stakeholders continued to be actively engaged through participation in development and updating of Lakewide Management Plans. Work also continued toward a better understanding of the state and trends in the Great Lakes Ecosystem. Environment Canada worked with universities and other government agencies on many water and wildlife research projects. These included implementing cooperative binational monitoring programs in support of Lakewide Management Plans; drafting a suite of updated indicators for peer review at the 8th biennial State of the Lakes Ecosystem Conference, which it hosted in collaboration with the United States Environmental Protection Agency; and drafting the State of the Great Lakes 2009 Highlights report.

Additionally, information on emerging contaminant monitoring and surveillance efforts in the Great Lakes was gathered through Canada's integrated multi-media approach to toxics monitoring under the Chemicals Management Plan. Canada continued to engage both federal and provincial partners in monitoring, surveillance and research on emerging harmful pollutants. Canadian monitoring data indicate declining environmental concentrations of polybrominated diphenyl ethers (PBDEs) at Ontario sites. Canadian monitoring data also provided a better understanding and insight into the basin-wide distribution of perfluorinated compounds. Canadian scientists continued to conduct research on the identification, prioritization and screening of chemicals in commerce that may be of concern for future assessment, monitoring and surveillance. As the understanding of the sources and the extent of the chemical problems increases, different approaches are used to address the problems, such as education.

1.3 Canada-Quebec Administrative Agreement

The governments of Canada and Quebec agreed to a five-year Administrative Agreement Between the Government of Quebec and the Government of Canada Regarding the Implementation in Quebec of Federal Regulations Pertaining to the Pulp and Paper and Metal Mining Sectors, which came into force on April 1, 2007. Under the Agreement, the province acts as a "single window," collecting data from pulp and paper mills required by the provincial regulations and federal regulations under the Fisheries Act and CEPA 1999, and sending this data to Environment Canada. The relevant CEPA 1999 regulations are the Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations and the Pulp and Paper Mill Defoamer and Wood Chip Regulations. Both levels of government maintain full responsibility for conducting inspections and investigations, and for taking appropriate law enforcement measures to ensure that industry complies with their respective requirements.

In 2008-2009, Environment Canada examined more than 700 monthly reports from mills, and federal Enforcement Officers conducted inspections at 20 mills. In 2008-2009, the Agreement's Management Committee met twice, on July 17, 2008, and January 29, 2009.

1.4 Canada-Saskatchewan Administrative Agreement

The Canada-Saskatchewan Administrative Agreement for the Canadian Environmental Protection Act has been in force since September 1994. It is a work-sharing arrangement covering certain provincial legislation and seven CEPA 1999 regulations, including two regulations related to the pulp and paper sector, two regulations on ozone-depleting substances and three regulations on PCBs.

No prosecutions under these regulations were undertaken in 2008-2009. Activities under the Agreement in 2008-2009 included

  • Provincial authorities relayed a total of nine spills of electrical fluids that could have contained PCBs. Corrective actions included the immediate cleanup of the spills, and proper disposal of PCBs and contaminated soils.
  • The only mill subject to the Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations has been closed and no longer has a continual effluent discharge. Because of rain and runoff, in April, July and September 2008, the mill owners conducted discharges, which were found to be in compliance.
  • Environment Canada and the Saskatchewan Ministry of Environment did not conduct any on-site inspections under the Ozone-depleting Substances Regulations, 1998; the Storage of PCB Material Regulations; or the Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations.

1.5 Canada-Alberta Equivalency Agreement

In December 1994, the Agreement on the Equivalency of Federal and Alberta Regulations for the Control of Toxic Substances in Alberta came into effect. As a result of the Agreement, the following CEPA 1999 regulations, or parts thereof, are no longer applicable in Alberta:

  • Pulp and Paper Mill Effluent Chlorinated Dioxins and Furans Regulations (all sections);
  • Pulp and Paper Mill Defoamer and Wood Chip Regulations(sections 4(1), 6(2), 6(3)(b), 7, and 9);
  • Secondary Lead Smelter Release Regulations (all sections); and
  • Vinyl Chloride Release Regulations, 1992 (all sections).

There are no longer any operating vinyl chloride plants or lead smelters in Alberta and therefore no compliance issues to report under the Vinyl Chloride Release Regulations or the Secondary Lead Smelter Release Regulations.

The Canada-Alberta Agreement is currently under review. Until its renewal, Environment Canada and Alberta Environment continue to work together in the spirit of the Agreement.

Alberta Environment indicated that there were no reported violations by the four pulp and paper mills regulated under the pulp and paper regulations in 2008-2009.

Date modified:

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

ARCHIVÉE - Rapport annuel de la LCPE (1999) pour la période d'avril 2008 à mars 2009

1. Exécution (Partie 1)

Aux termes de la Partie 1 de la LCPE (1999), les ministres sont tenus de constituer le Comité consultatif national, composé d'un représentant du ministre fédéral de l'Environnement et d'un représentant du ministre fédéral de la Santé, des représentants de chaque province et territoire, et d'au plus six représentants de gouvernements autochtones de l'ensemble du Canada.

La Partie 1 autorise le ministre de l'Environnement à négocier un accord avec un gouvernement provincial ou territorial, ou une population autochtone relativement à l'exécution de la Loi. La Partie 1 permet également les ententes d'équivalence qui suspendent les règlements fédéraux dans une province ou un territoire possédant des normes de réglementation équivalentes.

1.1 Comité consultatif national

Le Comité consultatif national conseille les ministres sur les mesures prises aux termes de la LCPE (1999), permet une action coopérative nationale et tente d'éviter le dédoublement des activités de réglementation entre les gouvernements. Le Comité sert aussi de guichet unique aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et aux représentants de gouvernements autochtones relativement aux consultations et aux offres de consultation.

Afin de s'acquitter de ses tâches en 2008-2009, le Comité consultatif national a tenu une réunion en personne, huit téléconférences et une correspondance suivie entre ses membres tout au long de l'année. Voici certaines des initiatives fédérales présentées au Comité pour discussion :

  • mise en oeuvre du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du Canada, y compris les activités d'évaluation et de gestion des risques pour les neuf premiers lots du Défi;
  • cadre réglementaire sur les émissions atmosphériques du gouvernement fédéral;
  • élaboration de règlements concernant l'efficacité énergétique des véhicules pour le Canada, et du programme fédéral pour des véhicules, des moteurs et des carburants moins polluants;
  • statut de l'examen parlementaire de la LCPE(1999);
  • autres activités de gestion des risques, telles que l'élaboration, la modification ou l'abrogation de règlements, de plans de prévention de la pollution, de lignes directrices et de codes de pratique, de propositions de mesures pour la gestion des risques relatifs à l'environnement et la santé humaine, et d'autres enjeux liés à la LCPE(1999).

1.2 Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs

Depuis 1971, le Canada et l'Ontario travaillent de concert grâce à l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs. Cet accord, qui a été renouvelé la dernière fois en juin 2007, guide les efforts du Canada et de l'Ontario visant l'atteinte d'un écosystème sain, prospère et durable dans le bassin des Grands Lacs pour les générations actuelles et futures, et il permet au Canada de satisfaire à ses obligations prévues dans l'Accord Canada-États-Unis relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs. L'Accord comporte 13 objectifs, 37 résultats et 183 engagements précis dans quatre secteurs prioritaires, soit :

  • les secteurs préoccupants désignés dans le bassin des Grands Lacs;
  • les polluants nocifs;
  • la durabilité des lacs et du bassin;
  • la coordination de la surveillance, de la recherche et de l'information.

L'annexe portant sur les secteurs préoccupants (annexe 1 de l'Accord) comporte deux objectifs. Le premier consiste à exécuter les actions prioritaires pour radier de la liste quatre secteurs préoccupants : la baie Nipigon, la baie Jackfish, Wheatley Harbour et le fleuve Saint-Laurent (Cornwall). En 2008-2009, les mesures correctives pour les quatre secteurs préoccupants du premier objectif étaient presque terminées et les mesures principales qu'il restait à exécuter pour radier les secteurs de la liste consistaient à améliorer des usines de traitement des eaux usées dans les régions de la baie Nipigon et du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Le second objectif a pour but de réaliser des progrès significatifs quant à la mise en oeuvre d'un plan d'assainissement, du rétablissement de l'environnement et de la restauration des utilisations bénéfiques dans les onze autres secteurs préoccupants. Les travaux effectués comprenaient l'assainissement des sédiments contaminés, l'adoption et la progression de stratégies de gestion des sédiments contaminés ainsi que l'application de stratégies de restauration de l'habitat et de projets pour restaurer les utilisations bénéfiques.

L'annexe sur les polluants nocifs (annexe 2 de l'Accord) porte sur les sources de pollution passées (existantes) et présentes du bassin des Grands Lacs. L'annexe 2 adopte une approche sur une substance ou un secteur en vue de réduire et de prévenir les rejets dans le bassin, et cherche à atteindre la quasi-élimination des substances persistantes bioaccumulables et toxiques. Les efforts que déploie Environnement Canada vertu de l'annexe 2 comprennent des mesures prises dans le cadre de la Stratégie binationale relative aux toxiques des Grands Lacs, un accord de collaboration entre Environnement Canada et l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis en vue d'accomplir des progrès à l'égard de la réduction des substances toxiques persistantes dans le bassin des Grands Lacs. Les efforts déployés par Environnement Canada dans le contexte de l'annexe 2 appuient également l'application du Plan de gestion des produits chimiques du Canada.

En 2008-2009, le forum des intervenants de la Stratégie binationale relative aux toxiques des Grands Lacs a continué ses travaux en vue de réduire les émissions et les rejets dans l'environnement des substances de niveau 1, notamment le mercure, les biphényles polychlorés (BPC), les dioxines et les furanes, l'hexachlorobenzène et le benzo[a]pyrène. Depuis la signature de la stratégie en 1997, 13 des objectifs du Défi fixés par Environnement Canada et l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis pour les substances de niveau 1 ont été atteints. Des progrès importants ont été accomplis quant aux quatre autres objectifs du Défi. Le Canada continue à réaliser des progrès en ce qui concerne l'atteinte des défis de la Stratégie concernant les BPC, à surveiller les dioxines dans l'environnement, à étudier les données sur les dioxines à mesure qu'elles sont disponibles, et à examiner les réductions des sources de combustion non contrôlées comme les tonneaux d'incinération. Le Canada a procédé à des essais sur les poêles à bois certifiés pour évaluer les facteurs d'émission et a mené à bien un projet de modélisation sur la répartition par source de l'hydrocarbure aromatique polycyclique. Les données de surveillance canadiennes indiquent des concentrations environnementales en déclin pour ce qui est des dioxines, des furanes, des BCP coplanaires, du benzo[a]pyrène et de l'hexachlorobenzène aux sites en Ontario.

Environnement Canada a travaillé à l'exécution de ses engagements en vertu de l'annexe 3 de l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs de 2007 à 2010 pour restaurer les utilisations bénéfiques dans les eaux lacustres libres par l'entremise d'activités liées au plan d'aménagement panlacustre. Les intervenants ont continué à jouer un rôle actif par leur participation à l'élaboration et à la mise à jour des plans d'aménagement panlacustre. Les travaux se sont également poursuivis pour obtenir une meilleure compréhension de la situation et des tendances dans l'écosystème des Grands Lacs. Environnement Canada a travaillé avec des universités et d'autres organismes gouvernementaux sur de nombreux projets de recherche liés à l'eau et à la faune. Ces projets comprenaient la mise en oeuvre de programmes de surveillance coopérative binationaux en appui aux plans d'aménagement panlacustre; la rédaction d'une série d'indicateurs mise à jour pour un examen par les pairs lors de la huitième Conférence sur l'état de l'écosystème des Grands Lacs, organisée par Environnement Canada en collaboration avec l'Environmental Protection Agency des États-Unis; la rédaction du rapport sur les points saillants de l'état des Grands Lacs de 2009.

De plus, des renseignements sur les efforts de suivi et de surveillance relativement aux nouveaux contaminants dans les Grands Lacs ont été recueillis par l'intermédiaire de l'approche multimédia intégrée du Canada à l'égard de la surveillance des substances toxiques selon le Plan de gestion des produits chimiques. Le Canada a continué à faire participer des partenaires provinciaux et fédéraux aux activités de suivi, de surveillance et de recherche relatives aux nouveaux polluants nocifs. Les données de surveillance canadiennes indiquent des concentrations environnementales en déclin pour ce qui est des polybromodiphényléthers (PBDE) aux sites en Ontario. Les données de surveillance canadiennes ont également permis une meilleure compréhension et connaissance de la distribution des composés perfluorés à l'échelle du bassin. Les scientifiques canadiens ont continué d'effectuer de la recherche sur l'identification, l'établissement de la priorité et l'évaluation préliminaire de substances chimiques commercialisées qui pourraient soulever des préoccupations quant à l'évaluation, le contrôle et la surveillance futurs. À mesure que la compréhension des sources et de la portée des problèmes liés aux produits chimiques augmente, différentes approches sont utilisées pour résoudre les problèmes, comme l'éducation.

1.3 Entente administrative Canada-Québec

Une entente administrative quinquennale a été conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement du Québec concernant l'application au Québec de la réglementation fédérale visant les secteurs des pâtes et papiers et des mines de métaux. Aux termes de cette entente, qui est entrée en vigueur le 1er avril 2007, la province agit comme un « guichet unique » pour la collecte de données des fabriques de pâtes et papiers requises par les règlements provinciaux et fédéraux en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches et de la LCPE (1999), et la transmission de ces données à Environnement Canada. Les règlements pertinents de la LCPE (1999) sont le Règlement sur les dioxines et les furanes chlorés dans les effluents des fabriques de pâtes et papiers et le Règlement sur les additifs antimousses et les copeaux de bois utilisés dans les fabriques de pâtes et papiers. Les deux ordres de gouvernement conservent l'entière responsabilité pour la conduite d'inspections et d'enquêtes, et la prise de mesures d'application de la loi appropriées pour veiller à ce que l'industrie respecte les exigences imposées par les règlements.

En 2008-2009, Environnement Canada a examiné plus de 700 rapports mensuels de fabriques, et les agents fédéraux de l'application de la loi ont effectué des inspections à 20 fabriques. En 2008-2009, les membres du comité de gestion de l'entente se sont rencontrés deux fois, le 17 juillet 2008 et le 29 janvier 2009.

1.4 Entente administrative Canada-Saskatchewan

L'Entente administrative Canada-Saskatchewan concernant la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, en vigueur depuis septembre 1994, établit un cadre de partage des tâches exécutées aux termes de certaines lois provinciales et de sept règlements adoptés en vertu de la LCPE (1999), y compris deux règlements relatifs au secteur des pâtes et papiers, deux règlements relatifs aux substances qui réduisent la couche d'ozone et trois règlements relatifs aux biphényles polychlorés (BPC).

Aucune poursuite n'a été intentée en vertu de ces règlements en 2008-2009. Voici certaines des activités tenues aux termes de l'Entente en 2008-2009 :

  • Les autorités provinciales ont signalé un total de neuf déversements de fluides électriques qui pouvaient contenir des BPC. Les mesures correctives comprenaient le nettoyage immédiat des déversements, et l'élimination appropriée des BPC et des sols contaminés.
  • La seule fabrique assujettie au Règlement sur les dioxines et les furanes chlorés dans les effluents des fabriques de pâtes et papiers a été fermée et n'a plus de rejet d'effluents continuels. En raison de la pluie et de l'écoulement, en avril, juillet et septembre 2008, les propriétaires de la fabrique ont effectué des déversements, qui ont été jugés conformes.
  • Environnement Canada et le ministère de l'Environnement de la Saskatchewan n'ont pas effectué des inspections sur place en vertu du Règlement sur les substances appauvrissant la couche d'ozone (1998), du Règlement sur le stockage des matériels contenant des BPC ou du Règlement sur les dioxines et les furanes chlorés dans les effluents des fabriques de pâtes et papiers.

1.5 Entente sur l'équivalence Canada-Alberta

En décembre 1994, l'Entente sur l'équivalence des règlements fédéraux et albertains en vue du contrôle des substances toxiques en Alberta est entrée en vigueur. En raison de l'Entente, les règlements suivants de la LCPE (1999), ou des sections de ceux-ci, ne s'appliquent plus en Alberta :

  • Règlement sur les dioxines et les furanes chlorés dans les effluents des fabriques de pâtes et papier (tous les articles);
  • Règlement sur les additifs antimousses et les copeaux de bois utilisés dans les fabriques de pâtes et papiers(paragraphes 4(1), 6(2), alinéa 6(3)b), et articles 7, et 9);
  • Règlement sur le rejet de plomb de seconde fusion(tous les articles);
  • Règlement sur le rejet de chlorure de vinyle, 1992(tous les articles).

Il n'existe plus de fabriques de chlorure de vinyle ni de fonderies de plomb en Alberta; par conséquent, il n'y a aucun problème de conformité à déclarer en vertu du Règlement sur le rejet de chlorure de vinyle ou du Règlement sur le rejet de plomb de seconde fusion.

L'Entente Canada-Alberta est actuellement à l'étude. Jusqu'à son renouvellement, Environnement Canada et le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Alberta continuent à travailler ensemble dans l'esprit de l'Entente.

Le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Alberta a indiqué qu'aucune infraction par les quatre fabriques de pâtes et papiers assujetties aux règlements sur les pâtes et papiers n'avait été signalée en 2008-2009.