This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06795

Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to section 127 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, Disposal at Sea Permit No. 4543-2-06795 authorizing the loading for disposal and the disposal of waste or other matter at sea is approved and published on the CEPA Registry on Tuesday, September 24, 2013.

1. Permittee: Bay Ferries Ltd., Saint John, New Brunswick.

2. Waste or other matter to be disposed of: Dredged material.

2.1. Nature of waste or other matter: Dredged material consisting of gravel, sand, silt and clay.

3. Duration of permit: Permit is valid from October 1, 2013, to September 30, 2014.

3.1. The loading and disposal at sea activities are restricted to the following periods: October 1, 2013, to November 10, 2013; January 15, 2014, to March 31, 2014; and July 1, 2014, to September 30, 2014.

4. Loading site(s): Bay Ferries Ltd. Terminal, Saint John Harbour, New Brunswick, 45.25000° N, 66.06083° W (NAD83).

5. Disposal site(s): Black Point, Saint John, New Brunswick, bound by 45.21650° N, 66.02633° W; 45.21667° N, 66.01767° W; 45.20433° N, 66.00450° W; 45.19150° N, 66.00383° W; and 45.19083° N, 66.02500° W (NAD 83).

6. Method of loading: Dredging will be carried out using a barge-mounted mechanical dredge. 

7. Route to disposal site(s) and method of transport: Most direct navigational route from the loading site to the disposal site via towed or self-propelled barge as described in Figure Number 4 of the report titled Supporting Information: Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea Program at Bay Ferries Saint John Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick (July 2013), submitted in support of the permit application.

8. Method of disposal: Disposal shall take place in accordance with the dredged material disposal plan required by paragraph 14.2. of this permit.

9. Total quantity to be disposed of: Not to exceed 25 000 cubic metres, place measure.

10. Fees: The fee prescribed by the Disposal at Sea Permit Fee Regulations shall be paid by the Permittee in accordance with those regulations.

11. Inspection:

11.1. By accepting this permit, the Permittee and its contractors accept that they are subject to inspection pursuant to Part 10 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999.

11.2. Ships operating under the authority of this permit shall be marked in accordance with the Collision Regulations of the Canada Shipping Act, 2001, when located on or in the waterway.

12. Contractors:

12.1. The loading or disposal at sea referred to under this permit shall not be carried out by any person without written authorization from the Permittee.

12.2. The Permittee shall ensure that all persons involved in the loading, transport or disposal activities authorized by this permit conduct these activities in accordance with the relevant permit conditions.

13. Reporting and notification:

13.1. The Permittee shall provide the following information at least 48 hours before loading and disposal activities commence: name or number of ship, platform or structure used to carry out the loading and/or disposal, name of the contractor including corporate and on-site contact information, and expected period of loading and disposal activities. The above-noted information shall be submitted to:

  1. Mr. Adam Fancy, Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth NS  B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (fax), adam.fancy@ec.gc.ca (email);

  2. Mr. Mark Dalton, Environmental Enforcement Directorate, Department of the Environment, Atlantic Region, Queen Square, 16th Floor, 45 Alderney Drive, Dartmouth NS  B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (fax), mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (email);

  3. Ms. Rachel Gautreau, Canadian Wildlife Service, Department of the Environment, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville NB  E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (fax), rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (email); and

  4. Mr. Jean-François Mallet, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, 343 Université Avenue, Moncton NB  E1C 9B6, 506-851-6579 (fax), jean-francois.mallet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (email).

13.2. The Canadian Coast Guard, Marine Communications and Traffic Services (MCTS), Sydney (1-800-686-8676) is to be notified in advance of the commencement of work so that appropriate Notices to Shipping/Mariners may be issued.

13.3. The Permittee shall submit a written report to the Minister, as represented by the Regional Director of the Environmental Protection Operations Directorate, Atlantic Region, care of Mr. Adam Fancy as identified in paragraph 13.1., within 30 days of the expiry of the permit. This report shall contain the following information: the quantity of matter disposed of at the disposal site(s) and the dates on which disposal activities occurred.

13.4. At all times, a copy of this permit and of documents and drawings referenced in this permit shall be available at the loading site and on all powered ships directly engaged in the loading and disposal operations.

14. Special precautions:

14.1 The loading and disposal at sea activities referred to under this permit shall be carried out in accordance with the mitigation measures summarized in Table 5.1 of the report titled Supporting Information: Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea Program at Bay Ferries Saint John Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick. (July 2013).

14.2. The Permittee shall submit a written dredged material disposal plan to Mr. Adam Fancy, as identified in paragraph 13.1., for approval by the Department of the Environment prior to commencement of the first dredging operation authorized by this permit. The plan shall address procedures to accurately measure or estimate quantities of dredged material disposed of at the disposal site, the release zone, vessel tracking, and a schedule for use of the disposal site(s). Modifications to the plan shall be made only with the written approval of the Department of the Environment.

Jeffrey L. Corkum
A/Regional Director
Environmental Protection Operations Directorate
Atlantic Region

On behalf of the Minister of the Environment

 

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Permis d'immersion en mer no 4543-2-06795

Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999)

Avis est par les présentes donné, conformément à l’article 127 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999), que le permis d’immersion en mer n° 4543-2-06795, autorisant le chargement pour immersion et l’immersion de déchets ou d’autres matières en mer, est approuvé et publié sur le Registre de la LCPE le mardi 24 septembre 2013.

1. Titulaire : Bay Ferries Ltd., Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick).

2. Déchets ou autres matières à immerger : Déblais de dragage.

2.1. Nature des déchets ou autres matières : Déblais de dragage composés de gravier, de sable, de limon et d'argile.

3. Durée du permis : Le permis est valide du 1er octobre 2013 au 30 septembre 2014.

3.1. Les activités de chargement et d’immersion en mer doivent être effectuées entre le 1er octobre et le 10 novembre 2013, entre le 15 janvier et le 31 mars 2014, et entre le 1er juillet et le 30 septembre 2014.

4. Lieu(x) de chargement : Le terminal de Bay Ferries Ltd., havre de Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick) 45,25000° N., 66,06083° O. (NAD83).

5. Lieu(x) d’immersion : Black Point, Saint John (Nouveau-Brunswick), délimité par 45,21650° N., 66,02633° O.; 45,21667° N., 66,01767° O.; 45,20433° N., 66,00450° O.; 45,19150° N., 66,00383° O.; et 45,19083° N., 66,02500° O. (NAD83).

6. Méthode de chargement : Le dragage se fera à l’aide d’une drague mécanique sur chaland.

7. Parcours à suivre et mode de transport : Voie navigable la plus directe entre le lieu de chargement et le lieu d'immersion à l’aide de péniches remorquées ou automotrices telle qu’elle est décrite dans le dessin Numéro 4 du document intitulé : « Supporting Information : Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea program at Bay Ferries Saint John Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick » (juillet 2013) présenté à l’appui de la demande de permis.

8. Méthode d’immersion : Toute immersion doit respecter le plan d'immersion des matières draguées requis au paragraphe 14.2. de ce permis.

9. Quantité totale à immerger : Ne pas excéder 25 000 mètres cube, mesure en place.

10. Droits : Le titulaire doit payer le droit prescrit en vertu du Règlement sur les prix à payer pour les permis d'immersion en mer.

11. Inspection :

11.1. En acceptant ce permis, le titulaire et ses entrepreneurs acceptent d’être assujettis à des inspections conformément à la partie 10 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999).

11.2. Les navires visés par le présent permis doivent être identifiés tel qu’il est prescrit par le Règlement sur les abordages de la Loi de 2001 sur la marine marchande du Canada lorsqu’ils se trouvent dans la voie navigable.

12. Entrepreneurs :

12.1. Personne ne doit effectuer le chargement ou l'immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis sans l'autorisation écrite du titulaire.

12.2. Le titulaire doit s’assurer que toutes les personnes qui prennent part aux opérations de chargement, de transport ou d’immersion pour lesquelles le permis a été accordé respectent les conditions mentionnées dans le permis.

13. Rapports et avis :

13.1. Le titulaire doit fournir les renseignements suivants au moins 48 heures avant le début des activités de chargement et d’immersion : le nom ou le numéro d’identification du navire, de la plate-forme ou de l’ouvrage duquel le chargement ou l’immersion sont effectués, le nom de l’entrepreneur, y compris les coordonnées des personnes-ressources de l’entreprise et de celles qui se trouvent sur les lieux ainsi que la période prévue des activités de chargement et d’immersion. Les renseignements susmentionnés doivent être acheminés à :

  1. Monsieur Adam Fancy, Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (NS), B2Y 2N6, 902-426-8373 (télécopieur), adam.fancy@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

  2. Monsieur Mark Dalton, Direction de l’application de la loi en environnement, ministère de l’Environnement, Région de l'Atlantique, Queen Square, 16e étage, 45, promenade Alderney, Dartmouth (NS), B2Y 2N6, 902-490-0775 (télécopieur), mark.dalton@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

  3. Madame Rachel Gautreau, Service canadien de la faune, ministère de l’Environnement, 17 Waterfowl Lane, Sackville (NB), E4L 1G6, 506-364-5062 (télécopieur), rachel.gautreau@ec.gc.ca (courriel);

  4. Monsieur Jean-Francois Mallet, ministère des Pêches et des Océans, 343, avenue Université, Moncton (NB), E1C 9B6, 506-851-6579 (télécopieur), jean-francois.mallet@dfo-mpo.gc.ca (courriel).

13.2. Le programme des Services de communications et de trafic maritimes (SCTM) de la Garde côtière canadienne de Sydney (1-800-686-8676) doit être avisé avant le début des travaux afin que les « avis à la navigation » appropriés soient délivrés.

13.3. Le titulaire doit présenter un rapport écrit au ministre, représenté par le directeur régional de la Direction des activités de protection de l’environnement, Région de l’Atlantique, aux soins de Monsieur Adam Fancy, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1., dans les 30 jours suivant l’expiration du permis. Ce rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : la quantité de matières immergées au(x) lieu(x) d’immersion et les dates auxquelles les activités d’immersion ont eu lieu.

13.4. Une copie de ce permis, des documents et des dessins visés par le présent permis, doit être conservée en tout temps au lieu de chargement ainsi que sur tout navire participant directement aux opérations de chargement et d’immersion.

14. Précautions spéciales :

14.1. Le chargement et l’immersion en mer désignés aux termes du présent permis doivent être réalisés conformément aux mesures d’atténuation telles qu’elles sont énoncées dans le tableau 5.1 du rapport intitulé  « Supporting Information: Maintenance Dredging and Disposal at Sea Program at Bay Ferries Saint John Terminal, Saint John, New Brunswick. » (juillet 2013).

14.2. Le titulaire doit présenter un plan pour l'immersion des matières draguées à Monsieur Adam Fancy, dont les coordonnées figurent au paragraphe 13.1., aux fins d'approbation par le ministère de l’Environnement avant le début des opérations. Le plan doit inclure des méthodes pour mesurer ou estimer adéquatement les quantités de matières draguées immergées au lieu d'immersion, la zone de dégagement, la surveillance des navires et un horaire pour l'usage de chaque lieu d'immersion. Toute modification apportée au plan requiert l'approbation écrite du ministère de l’Environnement.

Le directeur régional intérimaire
Direction des activités de protection de l'environnement
Région de l'Atlantique

Jeffrey L. Corkum

Au nom de la ministre de l'Environnement

 

Date de modification :