This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notice of Objection to the Proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM10) to Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999)

Minister's Response to Concerns Raised by Motor Coach Canada

April 09, 2001

Mr. Brian Crow
Motor Coach Canada
4141 Yonge Street, Suite 306
Toronto ON M2P 2A8

Dear Mr. Crow:

This is in response to your letter of August 28, 2000, addressed to Danie Dube and Arthur Sheffield, providing comments respecting the proposed Order to add respirable particulate matter less than or equal to 10 microns (PM 10) to the List of Toxic Substances in Schedule 1 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA, 1999).

Although it is unclear to me whether your letter constitutes a formal request for the establishment of a Board of Review under subsection 332 of the Act, I have treated it as if it were.

I also note that your letter was dated well after the August 9, 2000, closing date for the formal comment period. However, should it have been received in time, since your position is supporting the submission by the Canadian Trucking Alliance of August 8, 2000, the decision would be the same.

I have fully and carefully considered your submission. No information was submitted that changes our understanding of the nature and extent of the danger posed by particulate matter which would thus warrant the establishment of a Board of Review. Therefore, I will not establish a Board of Review.

I appreciate your bringing Motor Coach Canada's concerns to my attention. I look forward to working with you in the future on matters of environmental interest to your organization.

Yours sincerely,

David Anderson, P.C., M.P.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis d'opposition au décret proposé d'inscription des particules inhalables de 10 microns ou moins (PM10) à l'annexe 1 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)

Réponse du Ministre aux inquiétudes suscitées par Motor Coach Canada

Le 9 avril 2001

M. Brian Crow
Motor Coach Canada
4141 Yonge Street, Suite 306
Toronto ON M2P 2A8

Cher Monsieur Crow :

La présente fait suite à votre lettre du 28 août 2000, adressée à Mme Danie Dubé et à M. Arthur Sheffield concernant le projet de décret visant à ajouter toute matière particulaire inhalable de diamètre inférieur ou égal à 10 microns (MP10) à la Liste des substances toxiques de l'annexe I de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) [LCPE (1999)].

Bien qu'il soit difficile pour moi de savoir si vos lettres constituent une demande officielle d'établissement d'une commission de révision en vertu de l'article 332 de la Loi, je les ai traitées comme si c'était le cas.

Je note également que votre lettre est datée bien après le 9 août 2000, date de clôture de la période officielle de commentaires. Toutefois, même si votre lettre avait été reçue à temps, étant donné que votre position appuie la soumission faite par l'Alliance canadienne du camionnage le 8 août 2000, la décision serait la même.

J'ai examiné attentivement et soigneusement votre soumission. Motor Coach Canada n’a pas soulevé de points qui permettent de modifier notre compréhension à l'égard de la nature et de l’étendue du danger posé par les matières particulaires pour justifier l'établissement d'une commission de révision. Par conséquent, je n'établirai pas une commission de révision.

Je vous remercie de m'avoir fait part des préoccupations de Motor Coach Canada. Je suis impatient de travailler avec vous à l'avenir sur des questions d'intérêt environnemental pour votre organisation.

Je vous prie d'agréer mes salutations distinguées.

David Anderson, c.p., député

Date de modification :