The Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, and environmental matters related to emergencies

Download Fact Sheet in PDF Format (15 KB)

What is an environmental emergency?

An environmental emergency is an uncontrolled, unplanned, or accidental release (or the reasonable likelihood of such a release) of a substance into the environment that could affect the environment or human health.

How does the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, relate to environmental emergencies?

Part 8 (sections 193-205) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 (CEPA 1999), gives the Minister of the Environment and the Governor in Council (federal Cabinet) the authority to make regulations and take non-regulatory measures to prevent, prepare for, respond to, and recover from environmental emergencies. It also establishes a regime that makes the person who owns or controls the substance involved liable for restoring the damaged environment and for the costs and expenses incurred in responding to an environmental emergency.

What are the main features of Part 8 of CEPA 1999?

Part 8 provides a safety net for the comprehensive management of environmental emergencies. Where no other federal or provincial regulations exist that adequately address the prevention of, preparedness for, response to, or recovery from an environmental emergency, Part 8 can fill these gaps in order to protect the environment and human health.

The Minister has the authority to conduct research and issue guidelines and codes of practice respecting environmental emergencies. Research could include studies on the causes of environmental emergencies and remedial measures for dealing with them. The Minister may also establish a national system for the notification and reporting of environmental emergencies.

Part 8 provides the Minister with the authority to require the preparation and implementation of environmental emergency plans for substances currently listed in Schedule 1 of CEPA 1999 or assessed substances that have been recommended for addition to Schedule 1. Environmental emergency regulations have been developed under section 200 of the Act.

Under Part 8, the Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister, make regulations respecting various matters related to environmental emergencies.

Part 8 also allows for the creation of a civil liability regime to provide for the recovery of costs and expenses incurred for remedial measures taken to prevent environmental damage and to restore any part of the environment damaged by or during the emergency.

Are there other provisions in CEPA 1999 related to environmental emergencies?

CEPA 1999 contains several other provisions related to environmental emergencies. Part 7 (Controlling Pollution and Managing Wastes) authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations for the purpose of preventing, controlling, or correcting sources of international air and water pollution. Part 9 (Government Operations and Federal and Aboriginal Land ) authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations respecting environmental emergencies in federal government operations. Part 10 (Enforcement) authorizes a judge to require anyone in violation of CEPA to prepare and implement an environmental emergency plan.

Further information

For further information, please contact Environment Canada's Environmental Emergencies Program by e-mail at CEPAE2@ec.gc.ca.

Inquiry Centre:

Environment Canada
10 Wellington Street
23rd Floor
Gatineau, Quebec  K1A 0H3
Telephone: 1 800 668-6767 [in Canada only] or 819-997-2800
Fax: 819-994-1412
TTY: 819-994-0736
E-mail: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date modified:

La Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) et les questions d'ordre environnemental en matière d'urgences

Téléchargez la fiche d'information en format PDF (14 ko)

Qu'est-ce qu'une urgence environnementale?

Une urgence environnementale est une situation liée au rejet – effectif ou probable – d'une substance dans l'environnement, soit de manière incontrôlée, imprévue ou accidentelle, qui pourrait mettre en danger l'environnement ou la santé humaine.

Quel est le lien entre la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (LCPE [1999]) et les urgences environnementales?

La Partie 8 (articles 193 à 205) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement, (1999) confère au ministre de l'Environnement et au gouverneur en conseil (le Cabinet fédéral) le pouvoir de prendre des règlements et des mesures non réglementaires afin de prévenir les urgences environnementales, de s'y préparer, d'intervenir et de réparer les dommages à l'environnement. Elle établit également un régime qui oblige la personne à qui appartient la substance, ou qui la contrôle, à réparer les dommages causés à l'environnement ainsi qu'à assumer les dépenses et les coûts engagés par les mesures d'intervention en cas d'urgence environnementale.

Quelles sont les principales caractéristiques de la Partie 8 de la LCPE (1999)?

Cette partie sert de « filet de sécurité » à la gestion intégrale des urgences environnementales. Lorsqu'il n'y a pas d'autres règlements fédéraux ou provinciaux permettant de prévenir les urgences environnementales, de s'y préparer, d'intervenir et de réparer les dommages, la Partie 8 comble ces lacunes afin de protéger l'environnement et la santé humaine.

Le ministre peut effectuer des recherches et émettre des lignes directrices ainsi que des codes de pratique ayant trait aux urgences environnementales. Ses recherches peuvent comporter l'étude des causes des urgences environnementales et des mesures correctives nécessaires. Il peut également établir un système national de déclaration et de rapport des urgences environnementales.

La Partie 8 autorise le ministre à exiger l'élaboration et l'exécution de plans d'urgence environnementale pour les substances figurant sur la liste à l'Annexe 1 de la LCPE (1999) ou des substances évaluées dont l'ajout à cette Annexe a été recommandé. Un règlement sur les urgences environnementales a été élaboré en vertu de l'article 200 de la Loi.

En vertu de la Partie 8, le gouverneur en conseil peut, suivant la recommandation du Ministre, prendre un règlement concernant diverses questions d'ordre environnemental en matière d'urgences.

La Partie 8 instaure aussi un régime de responsabilité civile permettant de recouvrer les frais et les dépenses liés aux mesures correctives visant à éviter les dommages à l'environnement et à restaurer l'environnement endommagé par ou pendant une urgence environnementale.

La LCPE (1999) contient-elle d'autres dispositions sur les urgences environnementales?

La LCPE (1999) en contient plusieurs : la Partie 7 (Contrôle de la pollution et gestion des déchets) autorise le gouverneur en conseil à prendre un règlement visant à prévenir, à contrôler ou à corriger les sources de pollution atmosphérique internationale ou de pollution internationale des eaux. La Partie 9 (Opérations gouvernementales, territoire domanial et terres autochtones) autorise le gouverneur en conseil à prendre un règlement en matière d'urgences environnementales dans le cadre des opérations fédérales. Quant à la Partie 10 (Contrôle d'application), elle autorise un juge à exiger, en cas d'infraction à la LCPE, l'élaboration et la mise en oeuvre d'un plan d'urgence environnementale.

Pour plus de renseignements :

Veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du Programme des Urgences environnementales d'Environnement Canada par courriel, à CEPAE2@ec.gc.ca.

Informathèque

Environnement Canada
10, rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0H3
Téléphone : 1 800 668-6767 [au Canada seulement] ou 819-997-2800
Télécopieur : 819-994-1412
ATS : 819-994-0736
Courriel : enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca

Date de modification :