Types of Classification

Photo showing posted sign with shellfish classification. Photo credit - Yves Lamontagne, MWQM Quebec.

The CSSP recognizes five main categories of classification:

  • Approved- The area has been approved by the shellfish control authority for growing or harvesting shellfish for direct marketing.The area is not contaminated with fecal material, pathogenic micro-organisms, or poisonous or deleterious substances to the extent that consumption of the shellfish might be hazardous; and the median or geometric mean fecal coliform Most Probable Number (MPN) of the water does not exceed 14/100 ml, and not more than 10% of the sample exceed a fecal coliform MPN of 43/100 ml, for a five-tube decimal dilution test.
  • Conditionally Approved - The area meets the criteria for the approved classification except under conditions which are easily identified, predictable and/or controllable.
  • Restricted - The area is contaminated with fecal material, pathogenic micro-organisms, or poisonous or deleterious substances to the extent that consumption of the shellfish might be hazardous. No shellfish shall be taken from these areas except by licence (Fisheries and Oceans) for further treatment such as depuration (controlled purification), harvesting for natural relaying or scientific experimental purposes.
  • Conditionally Restricted – The area meets the criteria for the restricted classification except under conditions which are easily identified, predictable and/or controllable.
  • Prohibited - No shellfish may be harvested from these areas for any purpose, with the exception of seed and spat which may be collected under license. Such areas include the immediate vicinity of source discharges of sewage and industrial outfalls.

The status of the area describes whether shellfish harvest is permitted and is independent of the classification of the area. For example an Approved area may be closed temporarily due to unacceptable levels of biotoxins in shellstock (monitored by CFIA).

For more specific information please refer to the Canadian Shellfish Sanitation Program (CSSP) Manual of Operations.

Did You Know

Biotoxins in shellfish are monitored by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. An Approved area may be closed temporarily due to unacceptable levels of biotoxins (e.g. PSP - paralytic shellfish poison) in shellfish.

Types de classification

Photographie montrant un panneau affiché de classification des mollusques.  –  Références photographiques - Yves Lamontagne, SQE Québec.

Cap-des-Rosiers. Shellfish harvesting prohibited sign. Photo: Yves Lamontagne,PSQEM .

Le PCCSM reconnaît cinq catégories principales de classification:

  • Approuvées- La zone a été approuvée par l'organisme de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques pour la croissance ou la récolte de mollusques destinés à la vente directe. La zone est exempte de contamination par des matières fécales, des micro-organismes pathogènes, ou des substances toxiques ou délétères qui pourraient rendre la consommation des mollusques dangereuse; et la médiane ou la moyenne géométrique du nombre le plus probable (NPP) de coliformes fécaux de l'eau ne doit pas dépasser 14/100 ml, et pas plus de 10% de l'échantillon ne doit dépasser le nombre le plus probable (NPP) de coliformes fécaux de 43/100 ml, pour un test de dilution décimale à cinq éprouvettes.
  • Approuvées conditionnellement - La zone rencontre les critères de classification approuvée, sauf lors de conditions facilement identifiées, prévisibles et/ou contrôlables.
  • Restreintes - La zone est contaminée par des matières fécales, des micro-organismes pathogènes, ou des substances toxiques ou délétères qui pourraient rendre la consommation des mollusques dangereuse. Aucun mollusque ne devrait être prélevé de ces zones sauf si un permis a été émis (Pêches et Océans Canada) pour un traitement supplémentaire tel que la dépuration (purification contrôlée), pour la récolte aux fins du reparcage en milieu naturel ou pour les besoins scientifiques expérimentaux.
  • Restreintes conditionnellement - La zone rencontre les critères de classification restreinte, sauf lors de conditions facilement identifiées, prévisibles et/ou contrôlables.
  • Prohibées - Aucun mollusque ne peut être récolté de ces zones à toutes fins, à l'exception de la semence et du naissain qui peuvent être prélevés avec un permis. De telles zones incluent la proximité immédiate de sources de rejets d'eaux usées et d'émissaires industriels.

L'état de la zone décrit si la récolte des mollusques est autorisée et est indépendant de la classification de la zone. Par exemple, une zone approuvée peut être fermée temporairement à cause des niveaux inacceptables de biotoxines dans le mollusque en écail (contrôlé par l'ACIA).

Pour de l'information plus spécifique, veuillez s'il vous plaît vous référer au Manuel des opérations du Programme canadien de contrôle de la salubrité des mollusques (PCCSM).

Le saviez-vous

Les biotoxines dans les mollusques sont contrôlées par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. Une zone approuvée peut être fermée temporairement à cause des niveaux inacceptables de biotoxines (p. ex., toxine paralysante des mollusques - TPM) dans les mollusques.

Date de modification :