Shellfish Growing Area Surveys

Photo of sewage outfall into open water.  Photo credit - Yves Lamontagne, MWQM Quebec.The major program activity for EC under the Marine Water Quality Monitoring Program is the shellfish growing area (sanitary) survey which has three main components - the identification of pollution sources through a shoreline survey, meteorological and hydrographic studies and bacteriological studies.

Types of surveys

Shoreline sanitary investigations include the evaluation of all actual and potential sources of pollution. Sources of pollution can include:

  • municipal sewage discharged into the receiving water body (or inflowing rivers to the receiving water body)
  • leachate from on-site systems
  • discharges from boats
  • agricultural and wildlife run-off
  • surface runoff from polluted areas
  • industrial wastes

The purpose of hydrographic studies is to:

  • determine the effects of rain, wind, tides and currents in disseminating pollution over the growing areas
  • estimate the water available to dilute effluents to approved standards
  • estimate the time of travel of pollution from the source to the growing waters
  • determine the physical properties of the water, including salinity, temperature and turbidity

Monitoring of indicator bacteria in the growing waters is necessary to determine the extent of fecal contamination, provide quantitative data for the classification of growing waters and delineate closure boundaries. 

Frequency of surveys

Laboratory photo of water testing. Photo credit - Yves Lamontagne, MWQM Quebec.Each harvesting area must undergo a comprehensive survey to determine the sources of point and non-point pollution, the degree of contamination and the extent of area contamination. Classifications are based on the analysis of fifteen sampling runs at every station.  

The CSSP requires a complete re-evaluation of the classification of each shellfish growing area (Approved, Conditionally Approved and Restricted areas which are used for Depuration or for Short-term Container Relaying) at least once every three years. The complexity and extent of a re-evaluation survey will be specific for each area and may require some or all of the elements of a comprehensive survey. A re-evaluation of a shellfish growing area is required within one year if the annual review shows that the sanitary quality of an area is likely to be significantly altered by new or changes in the pollution sources. Remote areas may be evaluated at a lesser frequency. Annual review surveys update the classification of the area and include a minimum of 5 samples at stations in non-remote areas.

While Environment Canada does not undertake chemical testing at the growing area under the CSSP, it will advise its CSSP partners, DFO and CFIA, of its concerns of specific pollution sources as a result of its shoreline investigations. And, as it is made aware of data from other specific investigations, it will also provide that information to its CSSP partners.

Études des zones de croissance des mollusques

Photographie d’un émissaire d’évacuation en eaux libres. –  Références photographiques - Yves Lamontagne, SQE Québec.

Photographie d’un émissaire d’évacuation en eaux libres. Photo: Yves Lamontagne

Types d'études

Les études sanitaires du littoral incluent l’évaluation de toutes les sources actuelles et potentielles de pollution. Les sources de pollution peuvent inclure:

  • les eaux d’égouts urbains rejetées dans les plans d’eaux réceptrices (ou les rivières s’écoulant vers les plans d’eaux réceptrices)
  • le lixiviat provenant des systèmes sur place
  • les rejets provenant des embarcations
  • le ruissellement agricole et originant de la faune
  • le ruissellement de surface provenant de zones polluées
  • les déchets industriels

Le but des études hydrographiques est de:

  • déterminer les effets de la pluie, du vent, des marées et des courants dans la dissémination de la pollution au-dessus des zones de croissance
  • estimer l’eau disponible pour diluer les effluents à des normes approuvées
  • estimer le temps de parcours de la pollution de la source aux eaux de croissance
  • déterminer les propriétés physiques de l’eau, incluant la salinité, la température et la turbidité

Le suivi des bactéries indicatrices dans les eaux de croissance est nécessaire pour déterminer l’étendue de la contamination fécale, pour fournir des données quantitatives pour la classification des eaux de croissance et pour délimiter les limites de fermeture.

Fréquence d'études

Photographie de laboratoire de tests sur l'eau. Références photographiques - Yves Lamontagne, SQE Québec.Photographie de laboratoire de tests sur l'eau. Photo: Yves Lamontagne

Chaque zone de récolte doit être soumise à une étude extensive pour déterminer les sources ponctuelles et diffuses de pollution, le degré de contamination et l'étendue de la contamination de la zone. Les classifications sont axées sur l'analyse de quinze évènements d'échantillonnage à chaque station.  

Le PCCSM nécessite une réévaluation complète de la classification de chaque zone de croissance des mollusques (les zones Approuvées, Approuvées conditionnellement et Restreintes utilisées pour la Dépuration ou pour le Reparcage en contenant à court terme) au moins une fois à tous les trois ans. La complexité et l'étendue de l'étude de réévaluation seront spécifiques à chaque zone et pourraient nécessiter certains ou tous les éléments d'une étude extensive. Une réévaluation de la zone de croissance des mollusques est requise en deçà d'une année si l'examen annuel montre que la qualité sanitaire d'une zone est susceptible d'être altérée significativement par des changements ou des nouvelles sources de pollution. Les zones éloignées peuvent être évaluées à une moindre fréquence. Les études d'examen annuel mettent à jour la classification de la zone et incluent un minimum de 5 échantillons aux stations dans les zones non éloignées.

Comme Environnement Canada n'entreprend pas l'étude chimique dans la zone de croissance dans le cadre du PCCSM, il avisera ses partenaires du PCCSM, le MPO et l'ACIA, de ses inquiétudes par rapport aux sources spécifiques de pollution émanant de ces enquêtes portant sur le littoral. Et, alors qu'il prendra connaissance des données provenant d'autres enquêtes spécifiques, il fournira aussi cette information à ses partenaires du PCCSM.

Date de modification :