Best practices for Management Plans - Canada Goose and Cackling Goose Management

Environment and Climate Change Canada's Canadian Wildlife Service

Three images: Left: Canada Goose. Centre: Canada Geese in a field. Right: flock of geese on a body of water.

Photo: © Photos.com, 2011

Other formats available for this document:


For large landowners with recurring conflicts, the permit applicant should be encouraged to develop a goose management plan for approval by the Canadian Wildlife Service. Examples of entities that would benefit from having a management plan include: municipalities and conservation authorities, golf courses, corporate campuses and cottage associations.

In particular, municipalities with airports should develop a goose management plan in conjunction with the airport authorities. Most airports will hold migratory bird control permits issued by CWS under the Migratory Birds Regulations, but those permits are only valid directly on the airport grounds. The risk of airstrikes is directly related to the number of geese in the surrounding area - an important determinant of goose use is the land use activities in the vicinity of the airport.

The plan must include a population target, an approach to achieve and maintain the target numbers, and address public opinion. Killing is not to be the primary management approach, however a one-time or even periodic removal of birds may be part of the plan if preventative measures are also applied. Preventative actions identified in the management plan must be completed. Lack of action may result in no permit being issued in subsequent years.

Requirements of a goose management plan

Identify area(s)

The affected area must be described in detail. Details include land use (park, beach, residential, commercial, crop etc.), ownership, size and exact location of the area. A map would be helpful. Areas where geese can be accommodated should be shown as well as areas where geese must be excluded.

Assessment of problem

Number and type of geese

Counts of the number of geese present must be provided. General statements like “lots” or “too many” are not acceptable. If the number varies throughout the year, seasonal counts are expected (for example during early spring, mid summer, fall and winter). Proponents must also describe the behaviour of geese (flying into the area to feed or loaf, nesting, raising young etc.).

Duration and nature

How long has the problem been occurring? Is this the first time geese have been observed at the site? Or have they been present for more than one year? What is the nature of the problem? Are the geese causing damage to crops or turf? Are their droppings a source of annoyance? Are they posing a direct threat to people or motor vehicles?

Identify root cause

If geese are present in an area, it is because something is attracting them there. All goose attractants must be identified including food sources (crops, grass, hand feeding), water bodies (size, depth, shoreline characteristics), nesting structures (islands, rooftops, other).

Target number of geese

Proponents must identify a target number of geese. In many cases this will be zero. If geese are allowed to occupy an area, it is very difficult to control the number of geese present. For large landowners, most likely there will be parts of the land where geese can be accommodated without causing damage or danger, and control activities will focus in particular problem areas.

Short term solutions

Applicants who can demonstrate that they have employed or will employ preventative short-term deterrent measures will be considered for a permit if it is a first-time request. Potential short-term solutions begin with preventative measures (scaring, barriers, allowing grass to grow longer etc.). If the problem continues to be serious and preventative measures have not been effective, actions requiring a permit may be proposed (destroying/removing nests/eggs, translocation, kill). The proponent must clearly demonstrate that they understand the consequences of proposed actions and that either they are competent to undertake the action or that they will hire someone who is.

Long term plan

The long term plan is the most important component of the management plan. Short term actions requiring a permit are to be employed on a temporary basis (one to several years) only. For the most part, they do not represent a long term solution to conflicts with geese. The long term plan must describe in detail how the proponent plans to make the affected area less attractive to geese. In some cases (such as golf courses and agricultural crops) the very nature of the land use means that they will always be attractive to geese, but that doesn’t mean that nothing can be done. Long term plans may include strategies to scare geese away. Permanent scaring programs may be required and if employed properly at appropriate times, can provide long term results. Management Plans must include two actions, as follows: 1) Feeding of geese has been banned, with appropriate signage and enforcement, and 2) hunting is allowed in all areas where it is safe to do so. Allowing hunting wherever it can be practiced safely is a long term solution to suppressing local populations.

Management Plan template for nuisance migratory birds

  1. Permittee Information: This can be based on information already collected as part of the existing permit application process.

    • Name or organization:
    • Legal description of property (include a scaled map, if available):
    • Town:
    • Municipal designation:
    • Province:
  2. Nature and scope of the conflict:
    • Species Involved in Conflict(s)
    • Property Type: Agriculture, Business, Government, Institution, Personal, Other
    • Specific Locations Where Conflicts are Occurring
      • Waterfront, Lawns, Agricultural Land, Other
      • List any know attractants on the property (Water, feeding area, other)
      • Brief description of location
    • Timing and Duration of Conflicts.
      • Time of Year: seasonal (March-May; June-July; August-December; December-February) or specific dates.
      • Time of Day: general (morning, afternoon, evening, night) or specific times of day.
    • Number and Age of nuisance birds using the property.
      • Provide a count of the number of birds for the period(s) of conflict. If possible, provide a count by age class. If birds are nesting, provide information regarding the number of nests on the property.
    • Use of the property by the birds.
      • Why are they there? (Nesting, feeding, loafing, roosting)
      • List any known attractants.
    • Nature of the conflict.
      • Health Concerns, Crop or other Damage, Aesthetic/ Nuisance.

  3. Long-term management goals and objectives
    • Outline the goals and objectives of the management plan. (Are they achievable and measureable?
      • Examples
        1. Reduce the number of birds nesting on my property by 50%.
        2. Eliminate all moulting birds from my property.
    • List of management techniques currently being implemented to discourage birds from using the property.
      • What efforts has the permittee made to reduce the frequency and/or severity of conflicts on the property?

  4. Proposed management techniques and strategies: For egg destruction, relocation and kill-to-remove permits only
    • For egg destruction/sterilization permits please provide the following information:
      • Justification and details for the egg destruction.
        • Outline the need for the egg destruction and why other management techniques have proven ineffective or are not feasible.
        • Provide detailed information regarding the location where this technique will be used, the maximum number of eggs to be destroyed and the methods that will be used.

    • For relocation permits please provide the following information:
      • Justification and destination details for the relocation.
        • Outline the need for relocation and why other management techniques have proven ineffective or are not feasible.
        • Provide detailed information regarding the maximum number of birds to be relocated and from where, methods for how the birds will be relocated, and the destination of relocated birds, including GPS coordinates and photographs of the site.

    • For kill-to-remove permits please provide the following information:
      • Justification for killing birds.
        • Outline the need for killing birds and why other management techniques have proven ineffective or are not feasible.
      • Provide detailed information regarding the maximum number of birds to be killed at which location, methods used to roundup live birds, and methods used to dispose of carcasses.
      • Provide details on consultations with other stakeholders and interest groups.

    • For all egg destruction, relocation and kill permits:
      • Propose alternative management activities to reduce or eliminate the need for future lethal techniques or relocations.
        • Provide a detailed list of other techniques and strategies that will be implemented to reduce the need for future lethal management techniques and/or relocations.
        • A general timeline should be included outlining when efforts to reduce reliance on destructive techniques and/or relocations will be implemented.
      • Indicate how success will be measured (e.g., counts of nuisance birds using property are maintained at a set objective, amount of crop damage is reduced by X percent, the number of customer complaints is reduced by Y percent).
Date modified:

Pratiques exemplaires pour l’élaboration d’un Plan de gestion - Gestion de la Bernache du Canada et de la Bernache de Hutchins

Service canadien de la faune d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada

Trois images: Gauche : Bernache du Canada. Centre : Bernaches du Canada dans un champ. Droite : regroupement de bernaches sur un plan d'eau.

Photo : © Photos.com, 2011

Pour les propriétaires de terrains d’envergure qui ont des problèmes récurrents, il est recommandé d’élaborer un plan de gestion des bernaches, qui sera soumis à l’approbation du SCF par la suite. Au nombre des exemples d’entités pour lesquelles un plan de gestion est recommandé, on compte les municipalités et les autorités de conservation, les terrains de golf, les terrains d’entreprise et les associations de chalets.

En particulier, une municipalité avec un aéroport devrait élaborer un plan de gestion des bernaches en collaboration avec l’autorité aéroportuaire. La plupart des aéroports sont titulaires d’un permis de contrôle des oiseaux migrateurs délivré par le SCF en vertu du Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs, mais ces permis sont seulement valides dans les limites de l’aéroport. Le risque de collisions pendant le vol est directement lié au nombre de bernaches qui se trouvent à proximité des aéroports. Les activités d’exploitation des terres à proximité de l’aéroport sont un important déterminant de l’utilisation des terres par les bernaches.

Le plan doit comprendre une population cible, une méthode pour atteindre et maintenir le nombre visé et une stratégie pour gérer l’opinion publique. Tuer ne doit pas être la principale méthode de gestion; cependant, une élimination ponctuelle ou même régulière des oiseaux peut faire partie du plan si des mesures de prévention sont aussi utilisées. Des mesures de prévention doivent apparaître dans le plan de gestion. Le défaut de prendre des mesures peut entraîner le refus de renouveler le permis dans les années subséquentes.

Exigences pour un plan de gestion des bernaches

Désigner l’endroit ou les endroits visé(s)

L’endroit visé doit être décrit en détail, dont l’exploitation des terres (parc, plage, résidentielles, commerciales, agricoles, etc.), le propriétaire, la taille et l’emplacement exact du lieu. Une carte serait utile à cet effet. Les endroits où les bernaches peuvent se trouver doivent être indiqués, ainsi que les endroits où elles doivent en être chassées.

Évaluation du problème

Nombre et types de bernaches

Il faut fournir le compte du nombre de bernaches présentes. Des qualificatifs généraux comme « beaucoup » ou « trop » ne sont pas acceptables. Si le nombre varie durant l’année, le titulaire du permis doit faire un comptage saisonnier (par exemple, au début du printemps, au milieu de l’été, à l’automne et à l’hiver). Le comportement des bernaches (volent et se nourrissent ou s’y reposent, font leur nid, élèvent les petits, etc.) doit être également décrit.

Durée et nature

Depuis combien de temps dure le problème? Est-ce la première fois que des bernaches sont observées à ce site? Sont-elles présentes depuis plus d’un an? Quelle est la nature du problème? Les bernaches endommagent-elles les récoltes ou le gazon? Leurs excréments sont-ils une nuisance? Sont-elles une menace directe pour des personnes ou des véhicules motorisés?

Décrire la cause principale

Si des bernaches sont présentes dans une zone en particulier, c’est parce que quelque chose les attire. Tout ce qui peut attirer les bernaches doit être indiqué, dont les sources de nourriture (récoltes, gazon, personnes qui les nourrissent), les cours d’eau (taille, profondeur, caractéristiques des côtes), les structures propices à la nidification (îles, toits, autres).

Nombre cible de bernaches

Les demandeurs de permis doivent fixer un nombre maximum de bernaches. Dans de nombreux cas, ce nombre sera établi à zéro. Si on permet aux bernaches d’occuper une zone en particulier, il sera alors très difficile de contrôler leur nombre. Il est fort probable que pour les grands propriétaires fonciers, certaines parties de la terre pourront accueillir des bernaches sans qu’elles soient nuisibles ou dangereuses, et les activités de contrôle seront axées sur des zones particulièrement problématiques.

Solutions à court terme

Les demandeurs qui peuvent prouver qu’ils ont utilisé ou utiliseront des mesures de prévention et de dissuasion à court terme seront considérés pour un permis s’il s’agit de leur première demande. Les solutions à court terme potentielles commencent par des mesures de prévention (effarouchement, barrières, laisser le gazon pousser, etc.). Si le problème est toujours grave et si les mesures de prévention n’ont pas été efficaces, des mesures nécessitant un permis pourraient être proposées (détruire/déplacer des nids/des œufs, relocalisation, tuer). Le demandeur doit démontrer clairement qu’il comprend les conséquences des mesures proposées, et qu’il a la compétence pour les mettre en œuvre ou embauchera quelqu’un qui est qualifié pour le faire.

Plan à long terme

Le plan à long terme est la composante la plus importante du plan d’action. Les mesures à court terme qui nécessitent un permis doivent être utilisées de façon temporaire (un an à plusieurs années) seulement. En majeure partie, elles ne représentent pas une solution à long terme aux problèmes avec les bernaches. Le plan à long terme doit décrire en détail comment le demandeur prévoit rendre les zones touchées moins attrayantes pour les bernaches. Dans certains cas (comme les terrains de golf et les cultures agricoles), la nature même de l’aménagement du territoire sera toujours attrayante pour les bernaches; cependant, cela ne veut pas pour autant dire qu’il n’y a rien à faire. Les plans à long terme peuvent comprendre des stratégies visant à effaroucher ces bernaches. Des programmes d’effarouchement permanents pourraient être nécessaires, et, s’ils sont utilisés adéquatement au bon moment, ils peuvent procurer des résultats à long terme. Les plans de gestion doivent comprendre les deux mesures suivantes : il a été interdit de nourrir les bernaches, et cette interdiction s’accompagne de panneaux; et la chasse est permise à tous les endroits où elle est sécuritaire. Cette dernière pratique est une solution à long terme pour supprimer les populations locales.

Modèle de plan de gestion pour les oiseaux migrateurs nuisibles

  1. Information sur le titulaire du permis : Il peut s’agir des renseignements déjà recueillis dans le cadre du processus de demande de permis existant.

    • Nom ou organisation :
    • Description officielle de la propriété (dont une carte à l’échelle, si possible) :
    • Ville :
    • Désignation municipale :
    • Province :
  2. Nature et portée du problème
    • Espèces en cause dans le(s) problème(s).
    • Type de propriété : ferme, entreprise, gouvernement, établissement, personnelle, autre.
    • Endroits précis où les problèmes sont observés :
      • Bord de l’eau, gazon, terres agricoles, autres.
      • Indiquer tout élément attrayant sur la propriété (eau, nourriture, autre).
      • Description succincte de l’endroit.
    • Moment et durée des problèmes :
      • Temps de l’année; saison (de mars à mai, de juin à juillet, d’août à décembre, de décembre à février) ou dates précises.
      • Moment de la journée : général (matin, après-midi, soir, nuit) ou heures précises.
    • Nombre et âge des oiseaux nuisibles sur la propriété :
      • Fournir le compte du nombre d’oiseaux pour la ou les période(s) du problème. Dans la mesure du possible, fournir un nombre par âge et catégorie. Si les oiseaux sont en nidification, fournir des renseignements sur le nombre de nids sur la propriété.
    • Utilisation de la propriété par les oiseaux :
      • Pourquoi sont-ils ici? (Nidification, nourriture, repos, élevage)
      • Indiquer tout élément attrayant.
    • Nature du problème :
      • Préoccupations de santé, dommages aux récoltes ou autres dommages, esthétique/nuisance.

  3. Buts et objectifs de gestion à long terme
    • Indiquer les buts et objectifs du plan de gestion. (Sont-ils réalisables et mesurables?)
      • Exemples
        1. Réduire le nombre d’oiseaux qui font leur nid sur ma propriété de 50 %.
        2. Éliminer tous les oiseaux en mue de ma propriété.
    • Liste des techniques de gestion actuellement utilisées pour décourager les oiseaux d’utiliser la propriété.
      • Quels efforts le titulaire du permis a-t-il faits pour réduire la fréquence et/ou la gravité des conflits sur sa propriété?

  4. Techniques et stratégies de gestion : pour les permis de destruction des œufs, de relocalisation et de tuer pour éliminer seulement.
    • Pour les permis de destruction / stérilisation des œufs,veuillez fournir l’information suivante :
      • Justification et détails concernant la destruction des œufs
        • Justifier le recours à la destruction d’œufs et la raison pour laquelle d’autres techniques de gestion ont été inefficaces ou ne sont pas réalisables.
        • Fournir de l’information détaillée sur l’endroit où cette technique sera utilisée, le nombre maximal d’œufs à détruire et les méthodes utilisées.
    • Pour les permis de relocalisation, veuillez fournir l’information suivante :
      • Justification et détails sur la destination de la relocalisation
        • Justifier le recours à la relocalisation et la raison pour laquelle d’autres techniques de gestion ont été inefficaces ou ne sont pas réalisables.
        • Fournir des renseignements détaillés sur le nombre maximal d’oiseaux à relocaliser et leur provenance, les méthodes de relocalisation des oiseaux et leur destination, dont les coordonnées GPS et des photographies du site.

    • Pour les permis de tuer pour éliminer, veuillez fournir l’information suivante :
      • Justification pour tuer les oiseaux :
        • Justifier la nécessité de tuer les oiseaux et la raison pour laquelle d’autres techniques de gestion ont été inefficaces ou ne sont pas réalisables.
      • Fournir des renseignements détaillés sur le nombre maximal d’oiseaux à tuer aux différents emplacements, les méthodes utilisées pour rassembler les oiseaux et les méthodes utilisées pour éliminer les carcasses.
      • Fournir des détails sur la consultation avec d’autres intervenants et groupes intéressés.

    • Pour TOUS les permis de destruction des œufs, de relocalisation et de tuer :
      • Proposer des stratégies de gestion alternatives pour réduire ou éliminer le besoin de d’autres méthodes létales ou de relocalisation.
        • Fournir une liste détaillée d’autres techniques et stratégies qui seront mises en place pour réduire le recours aux techniques létales et/ou de relocalisation.
        • Un échéancier doit illustrer quand les efforts pour réduire la dépendance aux techniques de destruction et/ou aux relocalisations seront mis en place.
      • Indiquer comment les réussites seront évaluées (p. ex., le nombre d’oiseaux nuisibles qui utilisent la propriété est maintenu à un objectif déterminé, le nombre de dommages aux récoltes est réduit de X pour cent, le nombre de plaintes de clients est réduit de Y pour cent, etc.).
Date de modification :