Environment Canada’s Montreal Regional Specialized Meteorological Centre

The World Meteorological Organization has designated Regional Specialized Meteorological Centres (RSMC) throughout the world to provide real-time support in response to environmental emergencies specifically related to airborne substances that are released into the atmosphere. To accomplish this goal, complex computer programs known as models are run to simulate the motion of these substances in the atmosphere. One of these centres is situated in Montreal and is run by the Canadian Meteorological Centre (CMC) of Environment Canada.

An example of this support is the guidance that the Montreal RSMC provides to The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO). Under this organization, a global network exists that monitors the release of radioactive substances during and after a nuclear detonation. If a substance is detected by the CTBTO monitoring system, RSMC Montreal attempts to find its origin by tracing how the winds changed during the period in question. 

In addition to this, it is possible to trace a substance from its source over a period of hours, days, or even weeks. Simulations of the atmosphere exist that allow the substance to be traced back to its source. This can be done over distances of thousands of kilometres, and is just one of the many ways the RSMC contributes to the greater meteorological community on an ongoing basis.

Centre météorologique régional spécialisé de Montréal d'Environnement Canada

L'Organisation météorologique mondiale a établi des centres météorologiques régionaux spécialisés (CMRS) dans le monde entier pour offrir un soutien en temps réel en réponse aux urgences environnementales spécifiquement reliées aux substances transportées dans l'atmosphère. Pour y arriver, des programmes informatiques complexes, communément appelés « modèles », sont exécutés pour simuler le déplacement de ces substances dans l'atmosphère. L'un de ces centres est situé à Montréal et est exploité par le Centre météorologique canadien (CMC) d'Environnement Canada.

Par exemple, le CMRS de Montréal peut offrir son soutien par des conseils à l'Organisation du Traité d'interdiction complète des essais nucléaires (CTBTO). Cette organisation chapeaute un réseau mondial qui surveille l'émission de substances radioactives pendant et suite à une explosion nucléaire. Si une substance est détectée par le système de surveillance du CTBTO, le CMRS de Montréal tente de retracer son origine en suivant les changements des vents au cours de la période en question

En outre, il est possible de suivre une substance à partir de sa source sur une période pouvant se calculer en heures, en jours et même en semaines. Des simulations de l'atmosphère existent et permettent de suivre la substance jusqu'à sa source. Cela peut être entrepris sur des milliers de kilomètres, et cela n'est qu'un des nombreux moyens que le CMRS peut offrir sur une base régulière à la communauté météorologique élargie.à

Date de modification :