Modernizing Canada’s weather-radar network

The Government of Canada announced on February 28, 2017 the replacement of its weather-radar network. Canada’s radars network currently has 31 radars, including two radars operated in partnership with the Department of National Defence and one owned by McGill University. A contract has been awarded to buy and install 20 new radars by March 31, 2023.The contract also contains options to install up to 13 additional radars within the same timeframe. As part of this project, the radar network will be expanded by one radar to be installed in the Lower Athabasca region in Alberta.

Canadian Weather-Radar Network

Replacement schedule

The first radar is expected to be installed in 2017-2018 and the others will be replaced at a rate of four to seven per year. Details on which radars will be replaced when will be posted when available. Several factors are taken into account to determine the radar replacement order and schedule. This includes current operational stability, local severe weather frequency, location, and access to the radar sites. System design and construction plans could also influence the decision-making process.

Dual polarization: a leading-edge technology

These state-of-the-art radars will have fully integrated dual-polarization technology, which will enable forecasters to better distinguish between rain, snow, hail, and freezing rain as well as better discern the size, shape, and variety of precipitation particles. This technology will also enable better identification and removal of non-meteorological targets such as birds, bugs, and debris from the data. As a result, they will issue more precise and timely weather watches and warnings for these significant weather events, giving Canadians more lead time to take appropriate actions to protect themselves, their family, and their property from the effects of severe weather.

  • New weather radars Infographic

Extended tornado-detection range

The new radars will also have an extended severe-weather detection range to cover more of Canada, increasing the Doppler range to 240 kilometres per radar from the current 120 kilometres. Doubling the Doppler range will give Canadians greater lead time to protect themselves and their families from tornadoes and other severe weather. Extending Doppler coverage of the weather-radar network will also allow for better overlap of neighbouring radars in case of an outage.

Better serving weather-sensitive industries

Economic sectors sensitive to weather events such as agriculture, natural resources, fisheries, construction, aviation, tourism, transportation, retail, and investors will benefit from higher data quality and consistency for severe-weather events as weather information is an important part of their strategic planning. For example, weather-radar imagery is used to help in safely routing planes around severe weather.

The improved weather-data quality will also allow for more effective use of the information in other areas, such as water management, as radar images are used to understand the effects of precipitation on drainage basins, in particular in support of flood forecasting by provinces.

Continuous weather services during the replacement process

Before a new radar is commissioned, the old radar will have to be turned off. As we do for regular maintenance and unexpected technical problems, we will continue to provide weather services by using data from neighbouring radars since, wherever possible, the coverage of the radars has been designed to overlap. Weather forecasters also use satellite images, surface weather stations, lightning detectors and sophisticated computer models to monitor severe weather conditions. The scheduling of radar replacements will take into account seasonal severe weather periods to ensure minimal disruption and every effort will be made to minimize downtime. We will continue to use the Status of Canadian Radar Network page to inform you.

Health safety

The new weather radars comply with Health Canada’s Radio frequency exposure limits in all modes of operation. These guidelines are used to establish safe distances for radio frequency exposure to the general public. Compliance will be verified by a third party and must be demonstrated to Industry Canada before an operating license can be granted.

Radar structure

The radar structure is composed of an open lattice steel tower with a 12-metre diameter radome on top. The total height will vary from one site to another depending on the location and surroundings. Generally, the weather radars will be about 40 meters high or the equivalent of a 12-storey building.

Date modified:

Modernisation du réseau canadien de radars météorologiques

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé le 28 février 2017 le remplacement de son réseau de radars météorologiques. Le réseau canadien de radars météorologiques compte actuellement 31 radars, incluant deux radars exploités en partenariat avec le ministère de la Défense nationale et un radar appartenant à l’Université McGill. Un contrat a été octroyé pour l’achat et l’installation de 20 nouveaux radars d’ici le 31 mars 2023. Le contrat inclut aussi jusqu’à 13 options pour installer des radars supplémentaires dans la même période de temps. Dans le cadre de ce projet, le réseau radars sera agrandi d’un radar qui sera installé dans la région du cours inférieur de l’Athabasca en Alberta.

Réseau canadien de radars météorologiques

Calendrier de remplacement

On prévoit que le premier radar sera installé en 2017-2018, et les autres radars seront remplacés à raison de quatre à sept appareils par an. Les informations quant au calendrier de remplacement des radars seront publiées lorsqu’elles seront disponibles. Plusieurs facteurs sont pris en considération pour déterminer l’ordre et le calendrier de remplacement des radars. Cela comprend la stabilité opérationnelle actuelle, la fréquence des mauvaises conditions météorologiques locales ainsi que l’emplacement et l’accès aux sites de radars. Les plans de conception et de construction des systèmes pourraient aussi avoir une incidence sur le processus décisionnel.

Polarisation double : une technologie de pointe

La technologie de polarisation double sera pleinement intégrée dans ces radars de pointe, ce qui permettra aux prévisionnistes de mieux faire la distinction entre la pluie, la neige, la grêle et la pluie verglaçante. En outre, les prévisionnistes seront mieux outillés pour distinguer la taille, la forme et la variété non seulement des particules de précipitations, mais également des particules autres que les précipitations comme les oiseaux, les insectes et les débris. Par conséquent, ils émettront des veilles et des avertissements météorologiques plus précis et en temps opportun pour les phénomènes météorologiques menaçants. Les Canadiens auront donc plus de temps pour prendre les mesures appropriées pour se protéger, ainsi que leur famille et leur propriété des effets des conditions météorologiques violentes.

  • Nouveaux radars météo

Élargissement de la portée de détection des tornades

Les nouveaux radars auront également une portée élargie pour la détection du temps violent permettant de couvrir une plus grande partie du Canada. La portée des radars Doppler sera ainsi augmentée jusqu’à 240 kilomètres, par rapport à la portée de 120 kilomètres des radars actuels. Doubler la portée des radars Doppler donnera aux Canadiens plus de temps pour se protéger et protéger leur famille des tornades et du temps violent. Élargir la portée des radars météorologiques permettra également un meilleur chevauchement des radars avoisinants en cas de panne.

Mieux servir les industries tributaires des conditions météorologiques

Les secteurs économiques tributaires des conditions météorologiques comme l’agriculture, l’exploitation des ressources naturelles, la pêche, la construction, l’aviation, le tourisme, les transports, la vente au détail et les investisseurs bénéficieront de données de meilleure qualité et d’une plus grande uniformité pour les épisodes de temps violent, les renseignements météorologiques étant essentiels à leur planification stratégique. Par exemple, les images des radars météorologiques sont utilisées pour permettre aux aéronefs de contourner de façon sécuritaire les phénomènes de temps violents.

L’amélioration de la qualité des données météorologiques permettra également une utilisation plus efficace des renseignements dans d’autres domaines, comme la gestion de l’eau, les images radar étant utilisées pour comprendre les effets des précipitations sur les bassins hydrographiques, en particulier à l’appui des prévisions des crues et des inondations par province.

Services météorologiques continus durant le processus de remplacement

Avant qu’un nouveau radar ne soit mis en service, il faut arrêter l’ancien radar. Comme nous le faisons dans les cas de maintenance régulière et de problèmes techniques imprévus, nous continuerons de fournir des services météorologiques à l’aide des données des radars avoisinants puisque, dans la mesure du possible, les zones couvertes par les radars se chevauchent. Les prévisionnistes en météorologie utilisent aussi l’imagerie satellitaire, des stations météorologiques de surface, des détecteurs de foudre et des modèles informatiques sophistiqués pour surveiller les mauvaises conditions météorologiques. La planification du remplacement des radars tiendra compte des périodes saisonnières de temps violent pour limiter le plus possible les interruptions, et tous les efforts seront déployés pour réduire au minimum les temps d’arrêt. Nous continuerons d’utiliser la page sur l’état du réseau de radars du Canada pour vous tenir informés.

Santé et sécurité

Ces nouveaux radars respecteront les limites d’exposition aux radiofréquences de Santé Canada dans tous les modes d’opération. Ces lignes directrices sont utilisées pour établir les distances sécuritaires quant à l’exposition aux radiofréquences pour le grand public. La conformité sera vérifiée par une tierce partie et doit être démontrée à Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada avant qu’une licence de radiocommunication ne puisse être accordée.

Structure du radar

La structure du radar est composée d’un pylône en acier à treillis ouvert surmonté d’un radôme de 12 mètres de diamètre. La hauteur totale varie d’un site à l’autre selon l’emplacement et les environs. Généralement, les radars météorologiques mesurent environ 40 mètres de haut, soit l’équivalent d’un immeuble de 12 étages.

Produits connexes

Date de modification :