Satellites

Satellites are used to collect information about the surface of the Earth and the Earth’s atmosphere. Environment Canada operates a network of satellite reception stations which continually receive data that is broadcast by various weather satellites operated by other countries and organizations. The data is then processed into a variety of image products including the visible and infrared images provided on Weatheroffice.

Weather satellites circle the Earth in one of two orbit patterns:

  • Geostationary satellites, which orbit high above the Earth’s equator (35,800 km) at the same rotation speed as the Earth itself hence remaining constantly over the same location; and
  • Polar orbiting satellites which orbit about 850 km above the Earth’s surface, passing over the polar regions each time they circle the earth while passing over mid-latitude locations twice per day.

The meteorological sensors found on satellites can detect a variety of things, including: the location and movement of clouds and cloud systems; snow and ice cover; particles from fires, pollution, and sand and dust storms; ocean currents; and many other types of environmental information.

The latest animated and fixed satellite images can be found on the Canada.ca/weather website. The images, some of which are updated every 30 minutes, can be viewed on an international scale all the way down to a regional level.

Date modified:

Satellites

Les satellites sont utilisés pour recueillir des renseignements sur la surface et l'atmosphère de la Terre. Environnement Canada gère un réseau de stations de réception par satellite qui reçoit continuellement des données diffusées par divers satellites météorologiques exploités par d'autres pays et organismes. Les données sont ensuite transformées en une variété d'images, y compris des images visibles et infrarouges fournies sur le Bureau météorologique.

Les satellites météorologiques gravitent autour de la Terre selon un des deux schémas orbitaux :

  • Les satellites géostationnaires, qui sont en orbite à des altitudes élevées au-dessus de l'équateur de la Terre (35 800 km) et qui gravitent à la même vitesse de rotation que la Terre elle-même, restant ainsi au-dessus du même lieu géographique;
  • Les satellites à orbite polaire, qui gravitent à environ 850 km au-dessus de la surface terrestre et passent sur les régions polaires chaque fois qu'ils font le tour de la Terre ainsi que sur des régions de latitude moyenne deux fois par jour.

Les capteurs météorologiques que l'on trouve sur les satellites peuvent détecter diverses choses, notamment la position et le mouvement des nuages et des systèmes nuageux, la couverture de neige et de glace, les particules provenant des incendies, de la pollution et des tempêtes de sable et de poussière, les courants océaniques et bien d'autres types de renseignements sur l'environnement.

Les dernières images-satellites sont disponibles sur le site Web du Bureau météorologique. Les images, dont certaines sont mises à jour toutes les 30 minutes, peuvent être visualisées sur une échelle internationale jusqu'à une échelle régionale.