Environment Canada’s Environmental Emergency Response Section

Environment Canada's Environmental Emergency Response Section (EERS) exists in order to provide specialized advice and sophisticated modeling which tracks hazardous material that could or does end up in the atmosphere. In addition to providing support to the department’s environmental emergencies program, the EERS also provides support for:

Montreal Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre

Working at the Montreal Volcanic Ash Advisory Centre (VAAC), the EERS monitors volcanic activity and is responsible for responding to any volcanic eruption that could affect the airspace over Canada and its adjacent waters.

Volcanic eruptions produce clouds of ash that can severely damage an aircraft’s engines and surfaces. This is why the Montreal VAAC issues Volcanic Ash Advisories when a concentrated area of volcanic ash, known as a plume, has been detected. These advisories, along with SIGMET (SIGnificant METeorological information) warnings, alert the aviation community to the presence of potential danger in the air.

Montreal Regional Specialized Meteorological Centre

A network of Regional Specialized Meteorological Centres RSMCs was created by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) following the accident at the Chernobyl, Ukraine nuclear power plant on April 26, 1986. There are eight meteorological centres that provide modeling of hazardous substances in the air, in the event of an environmental catastrophe that crosses international borders. This modeling indicates how much of the hazardous material will be transported in the air, and how much will fall to the ground (this is known as “deposition”).

The RSMCs have the responsibility of issuing warning messages about nuclear accidents and providing specialized forecasts that show where the pollutants from such accidents are travelling once they get into the atmosphere. The EERS provides this specialized modeling as part of its role in the RSMC Montreal mandate.

The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty

The Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT) is a comprehensive international agreement that was negotiated on September 24, 1996. Its aim is to ban all nuclear weapons testing. Environment Canada’s EERS is an active member of the Canadian National Authority on CTBT which is led by the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, along with Health Canada’s Radiation Protection Bureau and Natural Resources Canada.

The EERS supports CTBT activities by providing modeling that shows what would happen if radioactive material were to get out into the atmosphere and travel a far distance. This support also falls under the World Meteorological Organization’s (WMO) RSMCs responsibility, which is to provide an operational response to the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) if an incident should occur.

The Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan

The Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan is led by Health Canada’s Radiation Protection Bureau. The Plan is what provides the structure and basis for federal nuclear emergency preparedness and response in Canada.

Environment Canada's EERS supports Health Canada and the Federal Nuclear Emergency Plan by providing their expertise and specialized models that simulate the transport of radioactive material in the atmosphere.

Other Support

The EERS also supports the Chemical, Biological, Radiological-Nuclear, and Explosives (CBRNE) Research and Technology Initiative (CRTI), which is part of how Canada responds and deals with potential CBRNE threats to public security. The EERS contributes to the CRTI community and is involved in various projects, such as one on the development of a modeling prototype that would address the spreading of chemical, biological, radiological-nuclear, and explosive material in urban environments.

Section de la réponse aux urgences environnementales  d'Environnement Canada

La Section de la réponse aux urgences environnementales (SRUE) d'Environnement Canada vise à fournir des conseils d'experts et des modèles sophistiqués pour le suivi des matières dangereuses qui pourraient se trouver dans l'atmosphère ou qui y sont déjà. En plus d'offrir son soutien au programme d'urgences environnementales du ministère, la SRUE fournit aussi du soutien :

Centre d'avis de cendres volcaniques de Montréal

En tant que Centre d’avis de cendres volcaniques de Montréal (VAAC), la Section de la réponse aux urgences environnementales surveille les activités volcaniques. Il lui incombe d'intervenir lorsqu’une éruption volcanique est susceptible de toucher l'espace aérien du Canada et les eaux adjacentes.

Les éruptions volcaniques produisent des nuages de cendres qui peuvent endommager sérieusement les moteurs et les revêtements des aéronefs. Voilà pourquoi le VAAC de Montréal émet des avis de cendres volcaniques quand il détecte une zone de cendres volcaniques concentrées, nommée « panache ». Ces avis, de concert avec les renseignements météorologiques significatifs (messages SIGMET), alertent le monde de l'aviation de la présence d'un danger potentiel dans l'air.

Centre météorologique régional spécialisé de Montréal

Un réseau de Centres Météorologiques Régionaux Spécialisés (CMRS) a été mis sur pied par l'Organisation météorologique mondiale (OMM) à la suite de l'accident de la centrale nucléaire de Tchernobyl, en Ukraine, survenu le 26 avril 1986. Huit centres météorologiques fournissent une modélisation des substances dangereuses dans l'atmosphère si une catastrophe environnementale qui dépasse les frontières internationales survient. La modélisation indique la façon dont les substances dangereuses se déplaceront dans l'atmosphère, et quelle quantité retombera au sol (le « dépôt »).

Les CMRS ont la responsabilité d'émettre des messages d'avertissement sur les accidents nucléaires, et de fournir des prévisions spécialisées qui montrent les déplacements des polluants une fois que ceux-ci se trouvent dans l'atmosphère. La SRUE a pour rôle de fournir cette modélisation spécialisée dans le cadre du mandat du CMRS de Montréal.

Le Traité d'interdiction complète des essais nucléaires

Le Traité d'interdiction complète des essais nucléaire (TICEN) est un accord international détaillé qui a été négocié le 24 septembre 1996. Il vise à interdire complètement les essais d'armes nucléaires. La SRUE d'Environnement Canada contribue activement à l’autorité nationale du Canada en matière du TICEN, dont le Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, le Bureau de la radioprotection de Santé Canada et Ressources naturelles Canada sont les dirigeants.

La SRUE soutient les activités du TICEN en fournissant une modélisation qui montre ce qui arriverait si des substances radioactives étaient libérées dans l'atmosphère et voyageaient sur de longues distances. Ce soutien fait aussi partie de la responsabilité des CMSR de l'OMM, laquelle consiste à fournir une intervention opérationnelle dans le cadre de l'Organisation du Traité d'interdiction complète des essais nucléaires (OTICE) si un incident survenait.

Plan fédéral en cas d'urgence nucléaire

Le Plan fédéral en cas d'urgence nucléaire est dirigé par le Bureau de la radioprotection de Santé Canada. Le Plan fournit la structure et la base pour la préparation et l'intervention en cas d'urgence nucléaire du Canada.

La SRUE d'Environnement Canada soutient le Plan fédéral en cas d'urgence nucléaire de Santé Canada en fournissant son expertise et des modèles spécialisés qui simulent le déplacement des substances radioactives dans l'atmosphère.

Autre soutien

La SRUE soutient aussi l'Initiative de recherche et de technologie chimique, biologique, radiologique-nucléaire et explosive (IRTC), partie intégrante de la réponse canadienne pour assurer la sécurité publique et intervenir face aux menaces CBRNE (chimiques, biologiques, radiologiques-nucléaires et explosives). La SRUE s’inscrit aux efforts de l'IRTC par divers projets, comme celui de développement d'un prototype de modélisation abordant l’éventuelle dispersion de substances chimiques, biologiques, radionucléaires et explosives dans des environnements urbains.

Date de modification :