Weather Tools

Image of Radar tools.

Forecasts and warnings give you a good idea of the weather conditions you can expect in the coming hours and days. But Environment Canada has a variety of other tools that can provide you with even more detailed and localized information on what is happening or what is about to happen in your area. These tools can help you make better short-term decisions about activities that could be affected by the weather.

Some of these tools include:

  • Human and automated observations, which provide a great deal of information for our weather forecasting. Observations represent measurements of actual atmospheric conditions observed at a human or automated weather station. These observations help inform things like: temperature, wind/wind chill, humidex, and (in a number of locations) the Air Quality Health Index (AQHI) readings. Marine weather conditions are also provided through human and automated observations, for both land-based and offshore waters where available.
  • Maps of lightning activity and real-time satellite and radar images, which show features of weather systems and offer clues as to where they might be headed.

Environment Canada also monitors the water levels on the nation’s lakes and rivers and ice coverage and icebergs on shipping routes. Other data services are available for businesses and special applications, including the production of specialized forecasts using computerized weather models.

Date modified:

Outils météorologiques

Image de radar outils.

Les prévisions et les avertissements vous donnent une bonne idée des conditions météorologiques auxquelles vous pouvez vous attendre aux cours des heures et des jours à venir. Toutefois, Environnement Canada a une foule d’autres outils qui peuvent fournir de l’information encore plus détaillée et particulière à votre région, au sujet de ce qui se passe ou de ce qui va se passer. Ces outils peuvent vous aider à prendre de meilleures décisions à court terme au sujet des activités qui pourraient être touchées par les conditions météorologiques.

Voici un exemple de certains de ces outils :

  • Les observations humaines et automatisées, qui fournissent de nombreuses données pour nos prévisions météorologiques. Les observations consistent en la mesure des conditions atmosphériques réelles observées à une station météorologique dotée de personnel ou automatisée. Ces observations aident à fournir des données éclairées sur la température, le vent ou le refroidissement éolien, l’humidex et (à certains endroits) la cote air santé (CAS). Les conditions météorologiques maritimes sont également fournies au moyen d’observations humaines et automatisées, tant pour les eaux intérieures que, en fonction de la disponibilité, pour les eaux du large.
  • Les cartes des orages et des images de satellites et de radars en temps réel, qui montrent les caractéristiques des systèmes météorologiques et indiquent quelle direction ceux-ci peuvent suivre.

Environnement Canada surveille également les niveaux de l’eau des lacs et des rivières du pays, ainsi que la couverture des glaces et les icebergs sur les couloirs de navigation. D’autres services de données sont accessibles pour les entreprises et des applications précises, dont la production de prévisions spécialisées à l’aide de modèles météorologiques informatisés.

Date de modification :