Instruction Sheet: Applying for an airport permit under the Migratory Birds Regulations

General information

An Airport Permit authorizes the killing of migratory birds that are a danger to aircraft operating at the airport. (Note: The permit holder must ensure compliance with the Species at Risk Act (SARA) when undertaking any actions affecting species, or their residences or habitat, that are listed as threatened, endangered or extirpated pursuant to Schedule 1 of SARA).

An Airport Permit does not authorize the removal or destruction of migratory bird eggs or nests or actions related to migratory birds that are causing serious damage or danger to people or other property or structures. A Migratory Bird Damage or Danger Permit is required to authorize these activities.

When completing an application for an Airport Permit, please note that:

  1. All applicable sections must be completed accurately and precisely. Incomplete or illegible application forms will not be accepted and will result in a delay in the processing of your application.
  2. Additional sheets may be attached (if the space provided is insufficient) as well as relevant supporting documents (e.g. management plans, photographs, maps, etc.).
  3. The application must be signed by the applicant in Section 6.

Once the application is complete it should be sent to the Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) office in your region. A list of offices is available on the Environment and Climate Change Canada website. Any questions may also be directed to the appropriate regional office.

For Canada Goose related activities: Before completing and signing the application form, make sure that you and any nominees read and understand the following guidelines:

  • Best Practices for Killing Birds and Disposing of Carcasses – Canada Goose Management; and,
  • Best Practices for Developing Management Plans – Canada Goose and Cackling Goose Management.

These documents are available on the Environment and Climate Change Canada website or from your regional CWS office.

For activities affecting Species at Risk: If you have reason to believe that migratory bird species listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) are endangering aircraft, please ensure that you indicate this in Section 2. Additional permitting requirements may apply in the case of SARA-listed migratory birds. Please contact your regional Canadian Wildlife Service office for more information.

Reporting: If required by the terms and conditions of your permit, the report for the Migratory Birds Airport Permit form must be completed and sent to the CWS office that issued the permit.


Section 1 – Applicant information

The applicant is the person to whom the permit will be issued. Applicants must be either the manager (airport owner/operator) of a civilian airport (commercial or private) or the commander of a military airport, or their nominees.

The contact information provided by the applicant in this section will be used by the Permits Office to communicate with the applicant if needed and will also appear on the permit. Therefore, it is important that the information provided be accurate and legible.

Information about the airport must also be provided in Section 1. Specifically, you must indicate:

  • Whether the airport is a military airport or whether it is a civilian (commercial/private) airport;
  • Whether you, or a previous Manager/Commander or nominees listed on the application, have previously been issued an Airport Permit;
  • The permit number of the most recent Airport Permit (if applicable); and,
  • Whether a report has been submitted for the most recent Airport Permit.

Section 2 – Nature of the situation

In Section 2:

  1. Provide a clear and detailed description of the problem (i.e. what species of migratory birds are a danger to aircraft and why you believe the migratory birds are endangering aircraft operating at the airport), in order to allow the Permits Office to assess the validity of the request. Insufficient or vague descriptions will result in the application being delayed.
  2. Indicate (yes or no) whether any of the migratory birds are listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act(SARA). If you answer “Yes,” please indicate the species of birds.
  3. Describe the methods you intend to use to kill the migratory birds.
  4. Indicate (yes or no) whether you will be submitting an Airport Wildlife Management Plan that was prepared under the Canadian Aviation Regulations.
  5. If you indicated in Question 4 that you will be submitting an Airport Wildlife Management Plan prepared under the Canadian Aviation Regulations, Question 5 does not need to be completed (write N/A). If you are not submitting an Airport Wildlife Management Plan, you must provide a detailed description of the existing and proposed management techniques (lethal and non-lethal) that are being (or will be) used to reduce or eliminate the danger caused by the migratory birds.
  6. Describe the non-lethal techniques that will be used over the next 5 years (anticipated).

Section 3 – Nominees

Nominees are individuals (for example employees from a wildlife control company) chosen by the applicant to carry out the activities that would be authorized under the permit. These individuals must be listed on the application and the permit. If multiple employees from the same company will be undertaking the authorized activities, it is sufficient to write “Employees of” under the Name field and list the company name under the Organization field. Please use Appendix 1 if the space provided is not sufficient.

Note: All nominees are required to carry a copy of the permit as well as identification while transporting carcasses for off-site disposal.


Section 4 – Location

1. Applicants must provide the physical/civic address and/or legal land description, parcel identification number, UTM (Universal Transverse Mercator geographic coordinate system) or latitude/longitude coordinates. A post office box is not an acceptable location and will be used for mailing purposes only. Additional information such as acreage, maps and information about adjacent land uses can be provided to clarify location.

Describe where on the airport property the migratory birds will primarily be killed (e.g. beside the runways, on the flight path, etc.).

2. Indicate (yes or no) if there is a Migratory Bird Sanctuary (MBS) or a National Wildlife Area (NWA) within 5 kilometres of the airport. If you answer “Yes” to this question, also please indicate the name of the MBS or NWA (zoning maps, aerial photographs, etc. may be attached for reference).

NOTE: The authorization to kill migratory birds pursuant to an Airport Permit is restricted to lands on the airport. If you wish to undertake management activities on lands that are not on the airport, you will need to apply for a Migratory Bird Damage or Danger Permit and you will need to obtain the landowner’s permission.


Section 5 – Disposal of Carcasses – Landowner Authorization

(a) The location (address, etc.) where the migratory bird carcasses will be disposed of must be provided. The physical/civic address(es) and/or legal land description, parcel identification number, UTM or latitude/longitude coordinates must be provided (a P.O. box is not acceptable). Additional information such as acreage and maps can be provided to clarify.

(b) If the disposal site is a landfill, a landowner authorization is not required, but the location of the landfill must still be provided in (a) above.

(c) For the disposal of migratory bird carcasses on property that is not on the airport or at a landfill, the landowner MUST sign the application form or provide a letter indicating approval for the disposal of the migratory birds on the site indicated. The location of the disposal site must be provided (in (a) above), as well as the landowner’s telephone number.


Section 6 – Signature of applicant

I, the undersigned hereby approve the release of migratory birds and/or relocation of eggs/nests on the site as described in section 6 and acknowledge that I am the landowner of that site.

The applicant should ensure that all information is correct and that the statement is read before signing and dating the application. The applicant’s signature in this section binds the applicant to the statement of certification, which includes an attestation that everything included in the application is true to the best of the applicant’s knowledge. This also means that the applicant certifies that he/she has read and understands the application and relevant best practices documents, and that the permit holder and nominees have the ability and knowledge to conduct the activities for which the permit is being requested.

The applicant’s name in Section 6 must match applicant’s name in Section 1 of the application.


Appendices

Appendix 1: Extra space is provided here for the names of additional nominees (if needed).

Appendix 2: The documents that are included with the application should be listed to ensure that the CWS regional office is aware of all documents that were attached and need to be reviewed with the application.

Appendix 3: Extra space is provided here for any sections where further space is required to sufficiently respond to the questions on the application form. Please clearly indicate the section number(s) that is continued here (e.g. Continuation of Section 2: Nature of the Situation).

Date modified:

Fiche d’instructions : Demande de permis relatif aux aéroports en vertu du Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs

Renseignements généraux

Un permis relatif aux aéroports autorise l’abattage d’oiseaux migrateurs qui représentent un danger pour les aéronefs à l’aéroport. (Remarque : Le titulaire du permis doit s’assurer de respecter la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) lorsqu’il prend des mesures ayant une incidence sur les espèces inscrites comme menacées, en voie de disparition ou disparues à l’annexe 1 de la LEP ou sur leurs résidences ou leurs habitats).

Un permis relatif aux aéroports n’autorise pas le retrait ou la destruction d’œufs ou de nids d’oiseaux migrateurs ou la prise de mesures liées aux oiseaux migrateurs causant des dommages ou du danger à des gens ou d’autres propriétés ou structures. Un permis relatif aux oiseaux migrateurs nuisibles ou dangereux est requis pour autoriser ces activités.

Lorsque vous remplissez une demande de permis relatifs aux aéroports, veuillez noter ce qui suit :

  1. Toutes les sections applicables doivent être remplies avec exactitude et précision. Les formulaires de demande incomplets ou illisibles seront refusés et entraîneront un retard dans le traitement de votre demande.
  2. Des feuilles supplémentaires peuvent être jointes (si l’espace fourni est insuffisant), ainsi que des documents à l’appui pertinents (p. ex. plans de gestion, photos, cartes, entre autres).
  3. La demande doit être signée par le demandeur dans la section 6.

Une fois que la demande est remplie, elle devrait être envoyée au bureau du Service canadien de la faune (SCF) de votre région. Une liste des bureaux est disponible sur le site Web d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Les questions peuvent également être acheminées au bureau régional approprié.

Pour les activités liées aux bernaches du Canada : Avant de remplir et de signer le formulaire de demande, assurez-vous que vous et toutes les personnes désignées ayez lu et compris les lignes directrices suivantes :

  • Pratiques exemplaires pour l’abattage et l’élimination des oiseaux et des carcasses – Gestion de la Bernache du Canada;
  • Pratiques exemplaires pour l’élaboration d’un Plan de gestion – Gestion de la Bernache du Canada et de la Bernache de Hutchins.

Ces documents sont disponibles sur le site Web d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada ou à votre bureau régional du SCF.

Pour les activités ayant une incidence sur une espèce en péril : Si vous avez des raisons de croire que des oiseaux migrateurs inscrits à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril mettent des aéronefs en danger, veuillez l’indiquer dans la section 2. D’autres exigences en matière d’octroi de permis pourraient s’appliquer dans le cas d’oiseaux migratoires inscrits à la LEP. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau régional du Service canadien de la faune pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Production de rapports : Si les conditions de votre permis l’exigent, le formulaire rapport sur les permis relatifs aux aéroports en vertu du Règlement sur les oiseaux migrateurs doit être rempli et envoyé au bureau du SCF qui a délivré le permis.


Section 1 – Renseignements sur le demandeur

Le demandeur est la personne à laquelle le permis sera délivré. Les demandeurs doivent être le directeur (propriétaire ou exploitant d’aéroport) d’un aéroport civil (commercial ou privé) ou le commandant d’un aéroport militaire, ou ses personnes désignées.

Les coordonnées fournies par le demandeur dans cette section seront utilisées par le bureau des permis pour communiquer avec le demandeur, au besoin, et elles apparaîtront aussi sur le permis. Par conséquent, il est important que les renseignements fournis soient exacts et lisibles.

Des renseignements sur l’aéroport doivent également être fournis à la section 1. Plus particulièrement, vous devez indiquer :

  • si l’aéroport est un aéroport militaire ou civil (commercial/privé);
  • si vous, ou un ancien directeur ou commandant ou une personne désignée inscrite sur la demande, avez déjà obtenu un permis relatif aux aéroports;
  • le numéro de permis du plus récent permis relatif aux aéroports (le cas échéant);
  • si un rapport a été produit pour le plus récent permis relatif aux aéroports.

Section 2 – Nature de la situation

Dans la section 2 :

  1. Donner une description claire et détaillée du problème (c.-à-d. Quelle espèce d’oiseaux migrateurs met les aéronefs en danger? Pourquoi pensez-vous que les oiseaux migrateurs représentent un danger pour les aéronefs à l’aéroport?) afin de permettre au bureau des permis d’évaluer la validité de la demande. Des descriptions insuffisantes ou vagues entraîneront un retard dans le traitement de la demande.
  2. Indiquez (oui ou non) si l’une des espèces d’oiseaux migrateurs est inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez indiquer l’espèce d’oiseaux.
  3. Décrivez les méthodes que vous prévoyez utiliser pour abattre les oiseaux migrateurs.
  4. Indiquez (oui ou non) si vous prévoyez présenter un Plan de gestion de la faune qui a été préparé en vertu du Règlement de l’aviation canadien.
  5. Si vous avez indiqué à la question 4 que vous présenterez un Plan de gestion de la faune préparé en vertu du Règlement de l’aviation canadien, il n’est pas nécessaire de répondre à la question 5 (écrivez S.O.). Si vous ne présentez pas un Plan de gestion de la faune, vous devez fournir une description détaillée des techniques de gestion (létale et non létale) actuelles ou proposées qui sont (ou seront) utilisées pour réduire ou éliminer le danger causé par les oiseaux migrateurs.
  6. Décrivez les techniques non létales qui seront utilisées au cours des 5 prochaines années (prévues).

Section 3 – Personnes désignées

Les personnes désignées sont des personnes (par exemple des employés d’une entreprise de gestion faunique) choisies par le demandeur pour réaliser les activités qui seront autorisées en vertu du permis. Ces personnes doivent être inscrites sur la demande et le permis. Si plusieurs employés de la même entreprise prévoient réaliser les activités autorisées, il suffit d’écrire « Employés de » dans le champ Nomet le nom de l’entreprise dans le champ Organisation. Veuillez utiliser l’annexe 1 si l’espace fourni est insuffisant.

Remarque : Toutes les personnes désignées doivent porter sur eux une copie du permis ainsi qu’une pièce d’identité lorsqu’ils transportent des carcasses aux fins d’élimination hors site.


Section 4 – Lieu

1. Les demandeurs doivent fournir l’adresse physique ou municipale, ou la description légale des terres, le numéro d’identification de parcelle, les coordonnées UTM (coordonnées géographiques de la projection transversale universelle de Mercator) ou les latitudes et longitudes. Une case postale n’est pas un emplacement acceptable et elle ne doit être utilisée qu’à des fins d’envoi postal. Des renseignements supplémentaires, tels que la superficie, des cartes et de l’information sur l’utilisation des terres avoisinantes peuvent être fournis pour préciser l’emplacement.

Décrivez l’endroit sur la propriété de l’aéroport où les oiseaux migrateurs seront principalement abattus (p. ex. à côté des pistes, sur la trajectoire de vol, entre autres).

2. Indiquez (oui ou non) s’il y a un refuge d’oiseaux migrateurs (ROM) ou une réserve nationale de faune (RNF) dans un rayon de 5 kilomètres de l’aéroport. Dans l’affirmative, indiquez aussi le nom du ROM ou de la RNF (des cartes de zonage, des photos aériennes, entre autres, peuvent être jointes aux fins de référence).

Remarque : L’autorisation d’abattre des oiseaux migrateurs en vertu d’un permis relatif aux aéroports se limite aux terres de l’aéroport. Si vous souhaitez réaliser des activités de gestion sur des terres qui ne sont pas les terres de l’aéroport, vous devrez demander un permis relatif aux oiseaux migrateurs nuisibles ou dangereux et vous devrez obtenir la permission du propriétaire foncier.


Section 5 – Élimination des carcasses – Autorisation du propriétaire foncier

a) Le lieu (adresse, etc.) où les carcasses des oiseaux migrateurs seront éliminées doit être fourni. L’adresse physique ou municipale, ou la description foncière officielle, le numéro d’identification de parcelle, le quadrillage UTM ou les coordonnées de latitude et longitude doit être fourni (une case postale n’est pas valable). Tout autre renseignement pertinent, tel que la superficie en acres ou une carte, peut être fourni aux fins de clarification.

b) Si le lieu d’élimination est un site d’enfouissement, l’autorisation du propriétaire foncier n’est pas requise. Cependant, l’emplacement du site d’enfouissement doit quand même être indiqué au point a) ci-dessus.

c) Pour l’élimination de carcasses d’oiseaux migrateurs sur une propriété qui n’est pas l’aéroport ou un site d’enfouissement, le propriétaire foncier DOIT signer le formulaire de demande ou fournir une lettre d’approbation de l’élimination des oiseaux migrateurs au lieu indiqué. L’emplacement du lieu d’élimination doit être fourni (au point (a) ci-dessus), ainsi que le numéro de téléphone du propriétaire foncier.


Section 6 – Signature du demandeur

Le demandeur doit signer et dater la demande au bas de la case de la section 6. Si la demande n’est pas signée par le demandeur, elle ne peut pas être traitée et sera retournée aux fins de signature.

Le demandeur doit veiller à ce que tous les renseignements soient exacts et il doit s’assurer de lire la déclaration avant de signer et de dater la demande. La signature du demandeur dans cette section lie le demandeur à l’énoncé de certification, ce qui comprend l’attestation que tous les renseignements inclus dans la demande sont vrais à la connaissance du demandeur. Cela signifie aussi que le demandeur certifie qu’il a lu et compris la demande et les documents sur les pratiques exemplaires pertinentes et que le titulaire du permis et les personnes désignées ont la capacité et les connaissances nécessaires pour mener à bien les activités pour lesquelles le permis est demandé.

Le nom du demandeur dans la section 6 doit correspondre à celui qui figure dans la section 1 de la demande.

Annexes

Annexe 1 : Un espace supplémentaire est fourni pour les noms de personnes désignées supplémentaires (au besoin).

Annexe 2 : Les documents qui sont joints à la demande doivent être énumérés pour veiller à ce que le bureau régional du SCF soit au courant de tous les documents qui ont été joints et qui doivent être examinés avec la demande.

Annexe 3 : Un espace supplémentaire est fourni ici pour toute section où vous avez besoin d’espace supplémentaire pour répondre aux questions qui se trouvent sur le formulaire de demande. Veuillez clairement indiquer le numéro des sections auxquelles vous faites suite ici (p. ex. Suite de la section 2 : Nature de la situation).

Date de modification :