Conservation of Canada's Natural Heritage

PDF - 1.33 MB

The importance of biodiversity in Canada

Canada is a world leader in the conservation of biodiversity. We are strongly committed to the sustainability of abundance and variety of life on Earth. Biodiversity is valued for its own sake, offers resources that can help us respond to environmental challenges such as climate change, is a source of medical discoveries, and provides economic opportunities.

Canada was the first industrialized country to ratify the United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity in 1992, and we host the convention's international secretariat in Montréal.

Protecting our lands and wildlife for future generations

Canada is making a major contribution by setting aside wilderness and water for the benefit of future generations. From Darkwoods, British Columbia, to the Nahanni ecosystem in the Northwest Territories, to Deep Cove, Nova Scotia, and many other locations all across Canada, governments have taken action to protect more than 100 million hectares of land -- nearly 10 percent of Canada's land mass -- and 3 million hectares of ocean.

"Biodiversity is key to the maintenance of the world as we know it."
- E.O. Wilson

Conservation actions

We have made substantial investments to support biodiversity, including:

  • Investing $225 million in the Natural Areas Conservation Program, in partnership with the Nature Conservancy of Canada, to ensure the protection of over 200 000 hectares of sensitive land and the species at risk located on these lands.
  • Another $62 million will be invested in the Health of the Oceans Initiative to protect the waters on Canada's three coasts.
  • Committing $275 million over five years on measures related to species at risk, plus $5 million to work with provincial and territorial partners to address invasive alien species that threaten native wildlife.
  • Investing $96 million in our Action Plan for Clean Water to restore Lake Simcoe, Lake Winnipeg and areas of concern in the Great Lakes.
  • Investing $8.3 million in the creation of three new National Wildlife Areas on and around Baffin Island and negotiating the Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement for National Wildlife Areas and Migratory Bird Sanctuaries in the Nunavut Settlement Area.
  • An investment of $15 million by Environment Canada and Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, in addition to $8.75 million from Parks Canada for the period 2009-2013, as well as $4 million ongoing to create six National Wildlife Areas in the Northwest Territories with over 10 million hectares of land protected for biodiversity -- one of the largest land conservation initiatives in Canadian history.

Protecting biodiversity is a shared responsibility for all Canadians, including federal, provincial and local governments, the private sector, civil society, and Aboriginal peoples. In the past few years, we have made remarkable strides to protect our national treasures by working with our international partners, non-governmental organizations (NGOs) such as the Nature Conservancy of Canada and Ducks Unlimited Canada, and Canadians. Our actions include:

  • Securing over 9.7 million hectares of wetlands and upland habitat for North American waterfowl in partnership with the United States and Mexico.
  • Delivering more than 1800 projects since 2000, under the Habitat Stewardship Program, to protect and recover species at risk and their habitats.
  • Facilitating conservation of 136 488 hectares of sensitive land by providing tax incentives through the Ecological Gifts Program, with an estimated property value of $540 million.
  • Partnering with industries, provinces, territories and NGOs for the conservation of migratory birds through the North American Bird Conservation Initiative, which is a key tool for the implementation of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994
  • Committing to complete 25 Bird Conservation Region plans in 2010 to direct conservation actions for migratory birds and their habitats throughout Canada.
  • Funding close to 150 projects since 2005 that have targeted over 215 identified invasive species, raised stakeholder engagement, and increased understanding and awareness to minimize the risk of introductions of unwanted invasive species.
  • Providing $5 million in funding over five years to support 14 of the 15 biosphere reserves in Canada and the Canadian Biosphere Reserves Association.

Did you know?

  • The United Nations has declared 2010 to be the International Year of Biodiversity.
  • Environment Canada's Protected Areas Network currently includes 54 National Wildlife Areas (NWAs) and 92 Migratory Bird Sanctuaries, covering an area twice the size of Nova Scotia. Six more NWAs will be established in the Northwest Territories in the near future.
  • Over the last century, Canada has set aside 27.7 million hectares of our nation in a system of national parks and national marine conservation areas. Since 2006, we have added an additional 4.55 million hectares to the system and have taken actions that will result in a further expansion of 4 million hectares, which represents an increase of 30 percent.
  • Environment Canada has responsibility for migratory birds management as custodian of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and its related regulations.
  • Since the Species at Risk Act came into force in 2004, we have legally listed 470 species under the Act and developed recovery strategies for 127 species.

For more information on Canada's conservation action, please visit www.ec.gc.ca and www.pc.gc.ca.

 

Date modified:

Conservation du patrimoine naturel du Canada

PDF - 1.33 Mo

L'importance de la biodiversité au Canada

Le Canada est un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la conservation de la biodiversité. Nous nous sommes fortement engagés envers la durabilité de l'abondance et de la diversité de la vie sur Terre. La biodiversité comporte une valeur qui lui est propre, offre des ressources qui peuvent nous aider à répondre aux défis environnementaux, tels que les changements climatiques, constitue une source de découvertes médicales et offre des possibilités économiques.

Le Canada est le premier pays industrialisé à avoir ratifié la Convention des Nations Unies sur la diversité biologique en 1992, et nous accueillons le secrétariat international de la convention à Montréal.

Protection de nos terres et de notre faune pour les générations futures

Le Canada offre une importante contribution en préservant la nature sauvage et l'eau au profit des générations futures. De Darkwoods en Colombie-Britannique à l'écosystème de Nahanni dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, à Deep Cove en Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi qu'à bon nombre d'endroits partout au Canada, les gouvernements ont pris des mesures pour protéger plus de 100 millions d'hectares de terre, soit près de 10 % de la masse terrestre du Canada, et trois millions d'hectares d'océan.

« La biodiversité est essentielle au maintien du monde tel que nous le connaissons »
- E.O. Wilson

Mesures de conservation

D'importants investissements nous ont permis d'appuyer la biodiversité, notamment :

  • Un investissement de 225 millions de dollars dans le Programme de conservation des aires naturelles, en partenariat avec Conservation de la nature Canada, pour assurer la protection de plus de 200 000 hectares de terres écosensibles et des espèces en péril présentes sur ces terres.
  • De plus, 62 millions de dollars seront investis dans l'initiative Santé des océans pour protéger les eaux des trois côtes du Canada.
  • L'engagement de 275 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour des mesures liées aux espèces en péril, plus 5 millions de dollars pour travailler avec des partenaires provinciaux et territoriaux afin de s'occuper du problème des espèces étrangères qui menacent la faune indigène.
  • L'investissement de 96 millions de dollars dans notre Plan d'action pour l'assainissement de l'eau pour restaurer le lac Simcoe, le lac Winnipeg et les secteurs préoccupants dans les Grands Lacs.
  • L'investissement de 8,3 millions de dollars dans la création de trois nouvelles réserves nationales de faune sur l'île de Baffin et autour de cette dernière et la négociation de l'Entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits pour les réserves nationales de faune et les refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs dans la région du Nunavut.
  • Un investissement de 15 millions de dollars par Environnement Canada et Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada, en plus de 8,75 millions de dollars de Parcs Canada pour la période de 2009 à 2013 ainsi que 4 millions de dollars sur une base permanente pour créer six réserves nationales de faune dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest avec plus de 10 millions d'hectares de terres protégées pour la biodiversité, une des plus importantes initiatives de conservation des terres de l'histoire du Canada.

La protection de la biodiversité est une responsabilité partagée par tous les Canadiens, y compris les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et locaux, le secteur privé, la société civile et les peuples autochtones. Au cours des dernières années, nous avons réalisé des progrès remarquables afin de protéger nos trésors nationaux en collaborant avec nos partenaires internationaux, les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG), telles que Conservation de la nature Canada et Canards Illimités Canada, ainsi que les Canadiens. Nos mesures comprennent :

  • La protection de plus de 9,7 millions d'hectares de terres humides et de hautes terres pour la sauvagine nord-américaine en partenariat avec les États-Unis et le Mexique.
  • La réalisation de plus de 1 800 projets depuis 2000, dans le cadre du Programme d'intendance de l'habitat, afin d'assurer la protection et le rétablissement d'espèces en péril et de leur habitat.
  • La facilitation de la conservation de 136 488 hectares de terres sensibles en offrant des incitatifs fiscaux par le truchement du Programme des dons écologiques, avec une valeur de la propriété de 540 millions de dollars.
  • L'établissement de partenariats avec les industries, les provinces, les territoires et les ONG pour la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs par le truchement de l'Initiative de conservation des oiseaux de l'Amérique du Nord, qui représente un outil clé pour la mise en application de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs.
  • L'engagement visant à achever 25 plans de région de conservation des oiseaux en 2010 pour orienter les mesures de conservation d'oiseaux migrateurs et de leur habitat dans l'ensemble du Canada.
  • Le financement de près de 150 projets depuis 2005 qui ont ciblé plus de 215 espèces envahissantes désignées, mobilisé l'engagement des intervenants et amélioré la compréhension et la sensibilisation pour minimiser le risque d'introduction d'espèces envahissantes indésirables.
  • L'attribution de 5 millions de dollars sur 5 ans pour appuyer 14 des 15 réserves de la biosphère canadienne ainsi que l'Association canadienne des réserves de la biosphère.

Le saviez-vous?

  • Les Nations Unies ont proclamé 2010 Année internationale de la biodiversité.
  • Le réseau d'aires protégées d'Environnement Canada comprend 54 réserves nationales de faune (RNF) et 92 refuges d'oiseaux migrateurs couvrant une superficie deux fois plus grande que celle de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Six RNF additionnelles seront établies dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest dans un avenir rapproché.
  • Au cours du dernier siècle, le Canada a préservé 27,7 millions d'hectares de notre pays dans un réseau de parcs nationaux et d'aires marines nationales de conservation. Depuis 2006, nous avons ajouté 4.55 millions d'hectares au réseau et pris des mesures qui donneront lieu à une expansion supplémentaire de 4 millions d'hectares, ce qui représente une augmentation de 30 %.
  • Environnement Canada est responsable de la gestion des oiseaux migrateurs en tant que gardien de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et de ses règlements connexes.
  • Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, en 2004, nous avons légalement inscrit 470 espèces en vertu de la Loi et élaboré des stratégies de rétablissement pour 127 espèces.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les mesures de conservation du Canada, veuillez visiter : www.ec.gc.ca et www.pc.gc.ca.