Frequently Asked Questions: Bird Banding

Question: Why should I report bands?

Answer: The success of the bird banding program relies on reports of bird bands from the public. Data from recovered bands are essential for many avian research and management projects. Bands identify individual birds so that we can better understand their movements including fidelity to breeding sites, migratory pathways and wintering areas. Data are used to estimate productivity, rates of survival and population dynamics of bird species. This provides important information for managing bird populations such including hunted species, endangered species and species status. By reporting bird bands you contribute directly to these conservation efforts.

Top of Page

Question: How many birds are banded each year?

Photo of Snowy Plover
Photo: © Jason Crotty, 2015.
Snowy Plover

Answer: On average 1.2 million birds are banded in Canada and the US each year. The most frequently banded bird in Canada is the Mallard Duck (Anas platyrhynchos) with about 2 million having been banded since the start of the program in the early 1900’s followed by the Canada Goose (Branta Canadensis) with about 800,000 banded. Within all of North America over 6 million Mallards and over 3 million Canada Geese have been banded. Of those over 1 million banded mallards just under 1 million Canada Geese have been recovered.

Top of Page

Question: Why do some birds also have a neck collar or other markers?

Answer: Researchers who study birds may also mark birds with additional markers to identify individual birds in the field without the need to recapture them. The various colour and alphanumeric code combinations can be read from a distance with binoculars or a spotting scope. Different types of markers are used depending on the type of bird, its behaviour and the information needed.

Photo of Canada Goose, Trumpeter swan, Red Knot, and Black Oystercatcher
Photo: © Jim Murray, Dave J. Brown, Edson Endrigo, and Monte Stinnett, 2015
Canada Goose, Trumpeter swan, Red Knot, and Black Oystercatcher.

Neck collars are often used to mark geese or swans. They are large enough that they can be easily read from a distance. Because geese aggregate on wintering grounds, it is possible to observe many colours in one area.

Wing markers are often used to mark vultures, eagles, swans, ravens, crows, and herons. They are generally visible while birds are in flight or perched.

Leg flags are often used to mark shorebirds. They stick out from the leg and often have a code which can be read from a distance with binoculars or a spotting scope. Because shorebird legs are often submerged, flags are placed on the upper leg.

Leg bands of various colours can also be used on all types of birds to identify them as individuals or belonging to a specific location, age or special project.

Dataloggers, transmitters and other electronic markers record specific location information that can be downloaded or transmitted directly to the researcher. These technologies help provide specific information about the movement and migration patterns of individual birds and are advancing our understanding of bird movements worldwide very rapidly.

Top of Page

Question: Do the collars (or other markers) hurt or hinder the bird?

Photo of Purple Martins
Photo : © Rick Ruppenthal, 2015.
Purple Martins

Answer: In their applications to study and mark birds, researchers must demonstrate that their project objectives and methods are justified. They may only mark birds once their proposal for scientific research has been approved and a permit issued by the Bird Banding Office. All projects involving markers other than colour bands must meet Canadian ethical and scientific standards and must be approved by an Animal Care Committee. When placing any type of markers on birds, researchers must follow strict protocols that have been tested and revised over the years to reduce any potential harm or hindrance to the birds.

Top of Page

Question: How far do birds migrate?

Answer: Many Canadian birds fly to the Southern United States for the winter, while some continue on to Central and South America, or even cross over to Russia, Europe, Asia or Africa. For specific species information and maps of migration routes, see the Canadian Atlas of Bird Banding.

Top of Page

Question: How long can a bird live? What are the oldest birds banded for a species?

Answer: The North American Bird Banding Program tracks and publishes longevity records for each North American bird species. You can find this list on the USGS Bird Banding Laboratory website. For example the longevity record for the Ruby-throated Hummingbird (Archilochus colubris) is 9 years, the Downy Woodpecker (Picoides pubescens) is 11 years 11 months, the American Robin (Turdus migratorius) is 13 years 11 months, the Mallard Duck is 27 years 7 months, the Great Horned Owl (Bubo virginianus) is 28 years and the Mourning Dove (Zenaida macroura) is 30 years 4 months!

Top of Page

Question: How do I obtain a permit to band outside North America?

Answer: The Bird Banding Office can issue letters of agreement to Canadians to use North American federal bands on North American migrants outside of North America. Applicants must have all permits, licences and approvals required by the host country. For more information please contact the BBO and the host country.

Top of Page

Date modified:

Foire aux questions : Baguage des oiseaux


Question : Pourquoi devrais-je rapporter les oiseaux bagués?

Réponse : Le succès du programme de baguage d’oiseaux dépend des enregistrements de bagues provenant du public. Les données des bagues récupérées sont essentielles pour beaucoup de projets de conservation. Les bagues identifient les individus d’une espèce afin que l’on puisse mieux comprendre leurs mouvements qui incluent la fidélité aux sites de reproduction, leur migration et les aires d’hivernage. Ainsi, les données sont utilisées pour mesurer la productivité, les taux de survie et la dynamique d’une espèce entant que population. Cela procure de l’information importante pour la gestion des populations d’oiseaux dans un contexte de chasse, d’espèces menacées et de détermination du statut des espèces. En enregistrant les bagues, vous contribuez directement à ces efforts de conservation.


Question : Combien d’oiseaux sont bagués par année?

Photo de Pluvier neigeux
Photo: © Jason Crotty, 2015.
Pluvier neigeux

Réponse : En moyenne 1,2 million d’oiseaux sont bagués dans l’ensemble du Canada et des États-Unis par année. L’oiseau le plus bagué au Canada est le canard colvert (Anas platyrhynchos) avec à peuprès 2 millions d’individus bagués depuis le début du programme au début des années 1900. Il est suivi de la Bernache du Canada (Branta Canadensis) qui en est à 800 000 individus bagués. Dans tout l’Amérique du Nord, plus de 6 millions de colverts et environ 3 millions de bernaches ont été bagués. De ceux-ci, 1 million de colverts et 1 million de bernaches ont été récupérés.


Question : Pourquoi est-ce que certains oiseaux ont aussi un collier (ou d'autres marqueurs)?

Réponse : Les chercheurs qui étudient les oiseaux peuvent aussi marquer les oiseaux avec des marqueurs supplémentaires afin d'identifier les oiseaux individuellement sur le terrain sans avoir besoin à les recapturer. Les diverses combinaisons de couleurs et de codes alphanumériques peuvent être lues à distance au moyen de jumelles ou d'un télescope d'observation. Les différents types de marqueurs sont utilisés selon le type d'oiseau, son comportement et les renseignements nécessaires.

Photo de la Bernache du Canada, le cygne trompette, le Bécasseau maubèche et Huîtrier
Photo : © Jim Murray, Dave J. Brown, Edson Endrigo, et Monte Stinnett, 2015
Canada Goose, le cygne trompette, le Bécasseau maubèche et Huîtrier.

Les colliers sont souvent utilisés pour marquer les oies et cygnes. Ils sont assez grands pour être facilement lus à distance. Étant donné que les oies se rassemblent sur les aires d'hivernage, il est possible d'observer de nombreuses couleurs dans une zone.

Les marqueurs alaires sont souvent utilisés pour marquer les vautours, les aigles, les cygnes, les corbeaux, les corneilles et les hérons. Ils sont généralement visibles lorsque les oiseaux sont en vol ou perchés.

Les banderoles de couleur aux pattes sont souvent utilisées pour marquer les oiseaux de rivage. Ils dépassent de la patte et ont souvent un code pouvant être lu à distance au moyen de jumelles ou d'un télescope d'observation. Comme les pattes des oiseaux de rivage sont souvent submergées, les banderoles sont placées sur la partie supérieure de la patte.

Des bagues aux pattes de différentes couleurs peuvent aussi être utilisées pour tous les types d'oiseaux afin d'identifier les individus et de déterminer s'ils sont liés à un emplacement précis, à un âge ou à un projet spécial.

Les enregistreurs de données, les transmetteurs et les autres marqueurs électroniques enregistrent des renseignements propres à l'emplacement qui peuvent être téléchargés ou transmis directement au chercheur. Ces technologies aident à fournir des renseignements précis sur les déplacements et les habitudes de migration des oiseaux individuels et permettent d'accroître très rapidement notre compréhension des déplacements des oiseaux à l'échelle mondiale.


Question : Est-ce que les colliers (ou d'autres marqueurs) blessent ou gênent l'oiseau?

Photo de Hirondelles noires
Photo : © Rick Ruppenthal, 2015.
Hirondelles noires

Réponse : Dans le cadre de leurs travaux pour étudier et marquer les oiseaux, les chercheurs doivent démontrer que les objectifs et les méthodes de leur projet sont justifiés. Ils peuvent seulement marquer les oiseaux une fois que leur proposition de recherche scientifique a été approuvée et qu'un permis a été délivré par le Bureau de baguage d'oiseaux. Tous les projets comprenant des marqueurs autres que des bagues colorées doivent répondre aux normes éthiques et scientifiques canadiennes et être approuvés par un comité de protection des animaux. Lorsqu'ils placent tout type de marqueur sur les oiseaux, les chercheurs doivent respecter des protocoles rigoureux qui ont été mis à l'essai et révisés au fil des ans afin de réduire toute gêne ou tout danger potentiel pour les oiseaux.


Question : Jusqu'où est-ce que les oiseaux migrent?

Réponse : Beaucoup d'oiseaux canadiens migrent vers le sud des États-Unis pour l'hiver, tandis que certains se rendent jusqu'en Amérique centrale et en Amérique du Sud ou encore traversent l'océan pour se rendre en Russie, en Europe, en Asie ou en Afrique. Pour des renseignements précis sur les espèces et des cartes des routes migratoires, veuillez consulter l'Atlas des oiseaux bagués ou repris au Canada.


Question : Combien de temps peut vivre un oiseau? Quel est l’oiseau le plus vieux à avoir été bagué?

Réponse : Le programme nord-américain de baguage d’oiseaux fait le suivi et publie les enregistrements de longévité pour chaque espèce d’oiseau provenant de l’Amérique du Nord. Vous pouvez trouver cette liste sur le site web (en anglais seulement) de l’USGS Bird Banding Laboratory. Par exemple, le record pour le plus vieu colibri à gorge rubis (Archilochus colubris) est 9 ans, le pic mineur (Picoides pubescens) est 11 ans et 11 mois, le merde l’Amérique (Turdus migratorius) est 13 ans et 11 mois, le canard colvert est 27 ans et 7 mois, le grand-duc d’Amérique (Bubo virginianus) est 28 ans et la tourterelle triste (Zenaida macroura) est 30 ans et 4 mois!


Question : Comment puis-je obtenir un permis de baguage d'oiseaux à l'extérieur de l'Amérique du Nord?

Réponse : Le Bureau de baguage d'oiseaux peut émettre des lettres d'entente aux canadiens leur permettant d'utiliser des bagues fédérales nord-américaines sur les oiseaux migrateurs nord-américains se trouvant à l'extérieur de l'Amérique du Nord. Les demandeurs doivent avoir obtenu toutes les approbations et tous les permis exigés par le pays hôte. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Bureau de baguage d'oiseaux et le pays hôte.


Date de modification :