This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Importance of Surface Water Data


Overview

"Accurate information on the condition and trends of a country's water resource--surface and groundwater; quantity and quality--is required as a basis for economic and social development, and for maintenance of environmental quality through a proper perception of the physical processes controlling the hydrological cycle in time and space.... almost every sector of a nation's economy has some requirement for water information, for planning, development, or operational purposes."
--WMO/UNESCO Report on Water Resources Assessment, p. 16.

Canada has 7% of the world's renewable water. It seems that we have more than our fair share. But this fact is misleading: about 60 percent of Canada's fresh water drains to the north, while 85 percent of the population lives within 300 kilometres of our southern border. In other words, much of our water is not where it is needed most, in the heavily populated areas. And even in areas where water is plentiful, it is fast becoming polluted and unusable. In addition, there is periodic drought in certain regions, such as the Prairies. In fact, Canada is not as rich in water as it seems: water may very well become the issue in this century that energy was in the last.

Canada's water supply not only has limits, it also has many competing uses. The need for drinking, cooking, washing, and other domestic uses is obvious, but water is also essential to the pulp and paper and agricultural industries; it is a source of hydroelectric energy; it serves as a medium of transportation, as a recreational and tourism base, and as an aesthetic asset of which many Canadian communities are proud. The continued availability of surface water is an essential ingredient of Canada's future development.

With so many competing uses and a finite amount of water, we need to manage it in the best possible way, so that there is enough water, and of sufficient quality, for everyone. To make sound decisions we need reliable data. The box below summarizes the people involved in water management and indicates their needs for data.

We can use water without depleting its supply. But water is a fundamental component of a complex ecosystem - its maximum sustainable yield depends on how we exploit it within the system. Evidence of overexploitation and environmental stress is abundant. Pollution from human activities destroys aquatic life and threatens human health. Misuse of the water resource causes widespread degradation of soils, disrupts the supply of potable water, and generates massive economic losses. To be aware of the extent of these problems and to manage them, we need baseline data.

Being such a large country, Canada covers many different geographical regions. As a result, the hydrologic characteristics vary significantly across the land, as shown in Figure 2. Water and environmental issues are directly related to the hydrologic and socioeconomic conditions of each region. The management of those issues therefore requires an understanding of the regional hydrology. Measurements are the only reliable indicator of the status and trends of the available surface water across the country and as such are essential for making decisions that concern water.

As pressures on our water increase, the need for reliable hydrologic data and information becomes more urgent. The data collected by Environment Canada and its partners make it possible to manage this vital resource and the environment that it nourishes.

Principal Uses of Hydrometric Data in Canada

  • Aquatic Ecosystem Research
  • Climate Change Research
  • Environmental Impact Studies
  • Fisheries Management
  • Flood Forecasting
  • Floodplain Management
  • Forest Management
  • Hydro-Electric Power Generation
  • Infrastructure planning and design
  • Interjurisdictional Water Apportionment
  • International Relations
  • Irrigation and Drainage
  • Operation of Dams and Reservoirs
  • Recreation (e.g. boating)
  • Regional resource inventories
  • Regional water management
  • Sediment Studies
  • Transportation/navigation
  • Water quality studies
  • Water Resource Assessment/inventory
  • Water Resources Research
  • Water supply studies
  • Watershed studies


Sustainable Development

"The overall objective of the federal water policy is to encourage the use of freshwater in an efficient and equitable manner consistent with the social, economic, and environmental needs of present and future generations."
--Federal Water Policy, Environment Canada.

It is becoming clear that we must not only manage water as carefully as any other valuable resource, but we must also keep it unimpaired for future generations. We must not endanger the natural systems that support life on earth - the atmosphere, the waters, the soils and other living beings.

This is the concept of sustainable development, increasingly viewed as the essential management philosophy for all our environment and resources. Endorsed by Canadian environmentalists, business leaders, and government officials, this concept is now being incorporated in water resource programs and activities across the country. To manage water in a sustainable way, we need to:

  • develop a better understanding of the physical, chemical, and biological components of aquatic systems;
  • improve our knowledge about how atmospheric and terrestrial changes impact on water; and
  • apply this knowledge appropriately to anticipate and prevent environmental degradation from occurring.

The challenge for water data collection programs of all types will be to ensure that the data and information produced contribute to the achievement of these three objectives as fully as possible.

Who Needs Surface Water Data and Why?

Water Management -- Federal and provincial government agencies, control boards and conservation authorities, and private and public hydropower agencies all use water data to operate discharge structures, to control reservoir levels, to divert water into irrigation canals, and to control town water supply withdrawals and sewage discharge. These activities have serious and far-reaching financial and social implications, and should be based on the best possible data and information. Flow forecasting is a major use of water level and streamflow data, enabling maximum hydroelectric power generation and flood warning and protection.

Planning -- Scientific, engineering, and planning professionals use streamflow and sediment data to analyze problems, project future conditions, determine impacts, assess alternatives, and set policy for planning of a variety of large-scale water and other resource projects.

Environmental Assessment -- Environmental consultants and interest groups often need surface-water and sediment data and information; while some require only a general indication of water availability in an area, others need precise records to assess critical concentrations of pollutants and toxic chemicals.

Research -- Professionals and scientists engaged in water-related research use water data as the basis of understanding fundamental hydrologic relationships and water balance. This research is vital to Canada's long-term interests and cannot be carried out using approximations: high quality, accurate information is essential. Research into evaporation processes, for example, is important in water-short Prairie regions, and research into ice problems is necessary for flood hazard reduction programs throughout the country. And the potential impacts of climate change on water supplies need to be understood so that appropriate changes can be made in water management.

Government -- Many of the federal government's responsibilities depend on accurate surface water and sediment data for proper execution. For example, activities associated with fisheries, forestry, navigation, international relations, agriculture, federal lands, sovereignty, and apportionment all rely on water data and information. In fact, the Federal Water Policy lists 25 issues of national concern, and surface water data play a basic role in addressing all but one of these. Provincial governments, as the actual owners and stewards of the resource, operate programs such as irrigation, pollution control, and licensing that are even more dependent on surface water data.

International -- The exchange of water-related and technology data between countries helps their water agencies to accurately determine the effects of meteorological and land-base disturbances; to make technological improvements to their individual data-gathering methods and systems; to facilitate discussion of events and advances by having comparable measurements; and to allocate water, when necessary, between the countries.

Public Uses -- Many private citizens and citizens' groups want access to water-related information for a wide range of situations, from planning recreational activities to preventing property damage caused by erosion or flooding. General information on the state of a region's surface water conditions, as well as site-specific data, are extremely important to this client group.

Design and Construction -- Professional engineers must have accurate water data for a variety of hydraulic design projects such as dams, reservoirs, pipelines, and canals. Safety during project construction, and economic performance during their lifespan, are important criteria for these clients, clients, who depend on site-specific data, supplemented by regional information, to meet their needs.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

L'importance des données sur les eaux de surface


Aperçu

"L’accès à des informations fiables sur l’état et l’évolution des ressources hydriques (eaux de surface et eaux souterraines, quantité et qualité) joue un rôle indispensable dans le développement socio-économique d’un pays et le maintien d’un seuil de qualité environnemental adéquat fondé sur une bonne compréhension des processus physiques régissant le cycle hydrologique dans le temps et l’espace. Presque chaque secteur de l’économie d’un pays a besoin d’informations sur l’eau pour satisfaire ses exigences en matière de planification et de développement et mener à bien ses activités."
--WMO/UNESCO Report on Water Resources Assessments, p. 16

Le Canada possède 7 % des ressources hydriques renouvelables du monde. À première vue, le pays semble détenir plus que sa juste part. Les apparences sont cependant trompeuses, car près de 60 % des réserves d’eau douce du Canada s’écoulent vers le nord, tandis que 85 % de la population canadienne vit à moins de 300 kilomètres de la frontière canado-américaine. En d’autres mots, la majeure partie des réserves d’eau ne se trouvent pas là où on en a le plus besoin, c’est-à-dire dans les régions les plus densément peuplées. Et même dans les régions particulièrement choyées, les problèmes de pollution rendent rapidement l’eau inutilisable. Les sécheresses qui sévissent périodiquement dans certaines régions comme les Prairies ne font qu’amplifier le problème. En réalité, le Canada n’est pas aussi bien pourvu en eau qu’il n’y paraît à première vue, et l’eau pourrait bien devenir l’enjeu de cette décennie, comme l’énergie l’a été durant la dernière décennie.

En plus d’être limitées, les réserves d’eau du Canada sont l’objet de nombreuses utilisations concurrentes. L’eau est utilisée pour la consommation humaine, la cuisson, le lavage et d’autres usages ménagers. Elle est cependant tout aussi essentielle pour l’industrie des pâtes et papiers et le secteur agricole. Elle est à la fois une source d’énergie hydroélectrique et un moyen de transport. Elle fait aussi vivre une industrie des loisirs et du tourisme. En raison de leur qualité esthétique, de nombreux plans d’eau font la fierté des collectivités riveraines. Pour toutes ces raisons, la disponibilité future des eaux de surface est une condition essentielle au développement du Canada.

En égard au nombre élevé d’utilisations concurrentes et à la quantité limitée d’eau disponible, il devient important de gérer cette ressource de la meilleure façon possible, de manière à garantir à tous les Canadiens un approvisionnement en eau satisfaisant, tant sur le plan quantitatif que qualitatif. Pour faire des choix éclairés, nous avons besoin de données fiables. L’encadré présenté ci-dessous passe brièvement en revue les divers intervenants qui participent à la gestion de l’eau et décrit les exigences de chacun en matière de données.

Il est possible d’utiliser l’eau sans épuiser les réserves. L’eau est cependant une composante fondamentale dans un écosystème complexe, et son rendement soutenu maximal dépend de la façon dont nous parvenons à l’exploiter à l’intérieur du système. Les exemples d’exploitation excessive et de stress environnemental abondent. La pollution engendrée par les activités humaines détruit la vie aquatique et menace la santé humaine. L’utilisation irrationnelle des ressources hydriques entraîne une dégradation généralisée des sols, menace l’approvisionnement en eau potable et engendre des pertes économiques considérables. Pour apprécier l’ampleur de ces problèmes et trouver des solutions, il faut disposer des données de base voulues.

Du fait de sa grande superficie, le Canada couvre de nombreuses régions géographiques différentes. En conséquence, chaque région présente des caractéristiques hydrologiques bien particulières. Les préoccupations soulevées par la gestion de l’eau et la protection de l’environnement sont étroitement liées aux conditions hydrologiques et socio-économiques de chaque région. La résolution de ces problèmes exige donc une bonne compréhension de l’hydrologie régionale. Les données hydrométriques constituent les seuls indicateurs fiables de l’état actuel et futur des réserves d’eau de surface à l’échelle du pays et, en tant que telles, jouent un rôle indispensable dans le processus de prise de décisions relatives aux les ressources hydriques.

À mesure que les pressions sur les ressources hydriques s’accentuent, la nécessité d’obtenir des données hydrologiques et des informations fiables devient de plus en plus pressante. Les données recueillies par Environnement Canada et ses partenaires permettent de gérer de façon efficace cette ressource vitale et l’environnement qu’elle fait vivre.

Principaux domaines d'utilisation des données hydrométriques du Canada

  • Recherche sur les écosystèmes aquatiques
  • Recherche sur les changements climatiques
  • Études sur les impacts environnementaux
  • Gestion des pêches
  • Prévision des inondations
  • Gestion des plaines inondables
  • Gestion des forêts
  • Production d'hydroélectricité
  • Planification et conception des infrastructures
  • Répartition multipartite des eaux
  • Relations internationales
  • Irrigation et drainage
  • Exploitation des barrages et des réservoirs
  • Loisirs (ex. : navigation de plaisance)
  • Inventaire des ressources régionales
  • Gestion des plans d'eaux régionaux
  • Études sur les sédiments
  • Transport / navigation
  • Études sur la qualité de l'eau
  • Évaluation / inventaire des ressources en eau
  • Recherche sur les ressources en eau
  • Études sur l'approvisionnement en eau
  • Études sur les bassins versants

Développement durable

"L’objectif global de la Politique fédérale relative aux eaux est d’encourager l’utilisation rationnelle et équitable de l’eau douce au Canada, de manière à satisfaire les besoins sociaux, économiques et environnementaux des générations actuelles et futures."
--Politique fédérale relative aux eaux, Environnement Canada, 1990.

Il apparaît de plus en plus clair que nous devons non seulement accorder la même attention à la gestion de nos ressources hydriques qu’à celle des autres ressources précieuses, mais aussi veiller à en protéger l’intégrité pour les générations futures. Nous devons protéger les systèmes naturels dont dépendent toutes les formes de vie sur la terre - l’atmosphère, les eaux, les sols et les organismes vivants.

Ce concept de développement durable est considéré de plus en plus comme la philosophie de base qui doit régir la gestion de notre environnement et de nos ressources. Bien accueilli au Canada tant par les environnementalistes que par les chefs d’entreprise et les fonctionnaires du gouvernement, ce concept est maintenant intégré aux programmes et activités de gestion des ressources hydriques à l’échelle du pays. Pour gérer nos réserves d’eau de façon durable, nous devons :

  • accroître notre compréhension des composantes physiques, chimiques et biologiques de nos systèmes aquatiques;
  • acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les effets des changements atmosphériques et terrestres sur l’eau;
  • appliquer ces connaissances de manière à pouvoir anticiper et prévenir la dégradation de l’environnement.

Dans la mesure du possible, l’utilisation des données et des informations recueillies dans le cadre de tous les programmes de collecte de données sur l’eau devra satisfaire à ces trois exigences.

Les données sur les eaux de surface... Pour qui et pourquoi?

Gestion de l’eau -- Les organisations des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux, les conseils de contrôle, les organismes de conservation et les sociétés d’aménagement hydroélectrique des secteurs public et privé se fondent tous sur les données sur les eaux de surface pour assurer le fonctionnement de leurs ouvrages d’évacuation, réguler les niveaux d’eau des réservoirs, détourner un certain volume d’eau vers des canaux d’irrigation et contrôler les prélèvements d’eau pour les systèmes municipaux d’approvisionnement en eau et les rejets d’eaux usées. Ces activités ont des répercussions financières et sociales considérables et étendues et doivent s’appuyer sur les meilleures informations et données possibles. Les données sur les niveaux d’eau et les débits sont particulièrement utiles pour la prévision des débits, car elles permettent de maximiser la production hydroélectrique et de prévenir les inondations ou, lorsque cela se révèle impossible, de prendre des mesures de protection en temps opportun.

Planification -- Les scientifiques, les ingénieurs et les professionnels de la planification utilisent les données sur les débits et les sédiments pour analyser des problèmes, prévoir les conditions futures, déterminer des effets, évaluer l’efficacité relative d’options de rechange et établir une politique pour la planification de divers projets à grande échelle s’appliquant à l’eau ou à d’autres ressources.

Évaluation environnementale -- Les experts-conseils en environnement et les groupes de protection de l’environnement ont souvent besoin de données sur les eaux de surface et les sédiments. Si certains d’entre eux n’exigent que des informations générales sur la disponibilité des ressources hydriques dans leur région, d’autres ont besoin des données précises pour évaluer les concentrations critiques de polluants et de substances chimiques toxiques dans les écosystèmes aquatiques.

Recherche -- Les professionnels et les scientifiques qui poursuivent des travaux de recherche sur les ressources hydriques utilisent les données sur l’eau pour établir des liens hydrologiques fondamentaux et interpréter les bilans hydriques. Cette recherche est fondamentale à long terme pour le Canada et ne peut être réalisée à partir d’approximations, car elle exige des données précises de haute qualité. Ainsi, les travaux sur les processus d’évaporation est importante pour les régions arides des Prairies, tandis que l’étude des problèmes causés par les glaces est nécessaire pour réduire les risques d’inondation à l’échelle du pays. Il est également impératif de mieux comprendre les répercussions possibles du changement climatique sur nos réserves d’eau de manière à apporter les changements qui s’imposent à notre mode de gestion de l’eau.

Gouvernement -- Pour s’acquitter convenablement de bon nombre de ses responsabilités, le gouvernement fédéral a besoin de données précises sur les eaux de surface et les sédiments. Il se fonde sur les données sur l’eau, notamment, pour mener à bien toutes ses activités liées aux pêches, à la foresterie, à la navigation, aux relations internationales, à l’agriculture, aux terres fédérales, à la souveraineté et à la répartition. À ce chapitre, la Politique canadienne relative aux eaux énumère 25 sources de préoccupation d’envergure nationale, et les données sur les eaux de surface jouent un rôle crucial dans la résolution de toutes ces sources, à l’exception d’une. Les gouvernements provinciaux, à titre de propriétaires et de gestionnaires de la ressource, mettent en oeuvre des programmes d’irrigation, de lutte contre la pollution et de délivrance de permis qui dépendent encore plus étroitement des données sur les eaux de surface.

Échelle internationale -- L’échange de données concernant les eaux et les technologies permettent aux commissions des eaux des pays participants de déterminer avec précision les effets des perturbations météorologiques et terrestres et d’améliorer, le cas échéant, leurs méthodes et systèmes de collecte de données. En favorisant la comparaison de données compatibles entre pays, ces échanges facilitent également la tenue de discussions concernant les événements hydrologiques et les progrès accomplis et, dans certains cas, la répartition des réserves d’eau entre les pays participants.

Utilisations publiques -- Les particuliers et les groupes de citoyens souhaitent avoir accès à divers types de données sur l’eau, que ce soit pour planifier des activités de loisir ou prévenir les dommages à la propriété causés par l’érosion ou les inondations. Cette clientèle attache beaucoup d’importance aux données sur l’état des eaux de surface à l’échelle régionale ainsi qu’aux données concernant des sites particuliers.

Conception et construction -- Les ingénieurs ont besoin de données exactes et précises pour concevoir divers types de structures comme des barrages, des réservoirs, des pipelines et des canaux. La sécurité durant la construction et le rendement économique des structures érigées durant leur durée de vie constituent des critères importants pour ces clients qui, pour mener à bien leurs activités, ont besoin de données reflétant les conditions régionales et locales.

Date de modification :