This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Peer Reviews

The third peer review of the monitoring and research activities of the IADN program was held in November 2008.  A panel of four expert scientists (representing the U.S., Canada, and Europe) reviewed the operation of the network between 2002-2008 and concluded that:

"IADN is a model for multi-national, long-term atmospheric and deposition monitoring of persistent organic pollutants (POPs). Together with European Monitoring and  Evaluation Programme (EMEP) and Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme (AMAP), it is one of the  few successful monitoring programs providing data on the atmospheric pollution and assessing  trends in long-term background levels of these contaminants. As such, IADN is an important resource for policymakers and researchers as they address the provisions laid out in the international persistent organic pollutants agreements including the Stockholm Convention on Persistent Organic Pollutants and the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe - Convention on Long-Range Transboundary Air Pollution."

The peer review panel also made recommendations to address how the network can better meet the provisions of Annexes 12 and 15 in the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement(GLWQA), as well as how to better inform other regional and international monitoring networks and conventions addressing toxic substances.

Date modified:

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

L'information dont il est indiqué qu'elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n'est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n'a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Évaluations par les pairs

La troisième évaluation par les pairs des activités de recherche et de surveillance du RMDA s’est déroulée en novembre 2008. Un groupe de quatre experts (réunissant des représentants des É.-U., du Canada et de l’Europe) ont examiné le fonctionnement du réseau entre 2002 et 2008. Ils sont parvenus à la conclusion suivante :

« Le RMDA est un modèle multinational de surveillance à long terme de l’atmosphère et du dépôt de polluants organiques persistants (POP). De pair avec le programme européen de surveillance et d’évaluation du transport à longue distance des polluants atmosphériques en Europe (EMEP) et de pair avec le Programme de surveillance et d’évaluation de l’Arctique (PSEA), il est l’un des rares programmes efficaces de surveillance qui produisent des données sur la pollution atmosphérique et qui étudient les tendances à long terme des concentrations de fond des polluants en question. À ce titre, le RMDA est une ressource importante pour les décideurs et pour les chercheurs qui voient à donner suite aux dispositions contenues dans les ententes internationales relatives aux polluants organiques persistants, notamment la Convention de Stockholm sur les polluants organiques persistants et la Convention sur la pollution atmosphérique transfrontière à longue distance de la CEE-ONU. »

Le groupe d’évaluation par les pairs a également formulé des recommandations sur la manière dont le réseau pourrait donner suite plus efficacement aux dispositions contenues dans les annexes 12 et 15 de l’accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs (AQEGL), ainsi que sur la manière de mieux informer les membres des autres réseaux de surveillance régionale et internationale et ceux concernés par les conventions relatives à des substances toxiques.

Date de modification :