Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the Contact Us page.

Article Title
Author

Predicting Severe Weather: Protecting Canadians

By:  Doug Whelpdale and Martin Charron with S&T Liaison

Download PDF (242 kB) | download free reader

The Problem

Providing an accurate forecast several days in advance of a severe weather event is a daunting scientific challenge, but essential for effective preparation and response to protect Canadians.

Canadians are no strangers to severe weather.  Winter storms – blizzards, heavy snowfalls and freezing rain – wreak havoc with transportation across the country.  Hurricanes and severe extra-tropical cyclones batter the east coast with rain, often resulting in flooding.  Summer heat waves, often accompanied by poor air quality in our major cities, increase mortality and morbidity rates among the frail and the elderly.  These and other severe weather events cause personal injury and loss of life, and damage to infrastructure and personal property from coast to coast to coast. To make matters worse, climate change brings with it the prospect of more frequent and more severe weather events.

Seeking Solutions through S&T

On October 31, 2006, a new version of the Global Environmental Multi-scale (GEM) model for global medium-range numerical weather prediction (NWP) was implemented operationally at the Canadian Meteorological Centre (CMC) in Dorval.

The science of weather forecasting has come a long way since Canada’s first storm warnings and general weather forecasts were issued in 1876.  Thanks to more computing power, better scientific knowledge, and improved global observing systems, 5-day forecasts today are as accurate as the 2-day forecasts of 30 years ago.  The most recent major improvement in weather and environmental prediction in Canada has been implementation of a new model for global medium-range numerical weather prediction, known as GEM MesoGlobal.

EC’s Gilbert Brunet with the supercomputer at the Canadian Meteorological Centre in Dorval | Photo: Guy Dansereau, ECEnvironment Canada is a world leader in weather forecasting.  Atmospheric scientists, meteorologists and computer experts from the Meteorological Research Division (Atmospheric Science and Technology Directorate) and the Development Division (Canadian Meteorological Centre) develop complex computer weather models that are run on one of Canada’s fastest supercomputers at the Canadian Meteorological Centre in Dorval.  These models simulate the physical processes controlling the behaviour of the atmosphere as it generates weather.  A forecast is produced by starting the model with the current conditions and running it forward in time to determine how the weather will develop and change in the future.

The new model represents five years of intensive effort to better understand processes that create hazardous weather and to use this knowledge to improve forecasts.  Major changes in the model include improved representation of key physical processes and finer model resolution.  (Model calculations are now made in a 33-km grid [instead of 100 km] around the world and in 58 atmospheric layers [instead of 28] above the earth’s surface.)  The new model, GEM MesoGlobal, generates weather forecasts with much finer detail and higher overall accuracy, in particular for predictions for three to 10 days in advance.  The result is much improved forecasts of severe weather, particularly for hurricanes and heavy rainfall.

Predictions with the new model compare very favourably with those of other leading world forecast centres - the European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasting (ECMWF) and the U.S. National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP).  With the implementation of GEM MesoGlobal, EC has greatly improved its capacity to forecast high-impact weather at the medium range, notably patterns and intensity of precipitation, in particular heavy rain and the location and depth of depressions.

Transforming Knowledge into Action

Who can use these results?

GEM MesoGlobal is an integral part of Canada’s weather prediction system at the Canadian Meteorological Centre in Dorval.  The model is run twice each day to produce public medium-range forecasts of temperature, winds, precipitation and several other weather elements for all regions of Canada.  These forecasts are available online at EC’s Weatheroffice website.  

Cross-country skiers | Photo: Corel CorporationOperational weather professionals use the improved GEM MesoGlobal model and its forecasts to alert people to impending severe weather and its likely impacts up to ten days in advance.  Such warnings save lives and mitigate damage.  In early November 2007 Hurricane Noel roared through the Atlantic Provinces.  The event provided a demanding and successful operational test of GEM MesoGlobal.  The model provided consistent, reliable advance warning throughout the forecast period for this major storm.

Early information on the anticipated path and severity of the storm and its possible impacts helped emergency planners, responders and the media disseminate messages in a timely manner.  Homeowners were warned to expect fallen branches and trees, power outages, damage to the cladding and roofing of homes, localized flooding and wave damage to coastal infrastructure.

Every day citizens and stakeholders in Canada and abroad - farmers, insurance companies, the energy industry, safety organizations - use weather forecasts to guide their personal and business activities.  The likelihood of rain or snow, maximum temperatures, winds and many other meteorological variables are valuable elements of decision making.  Hydro Quebec, for example, is a frequent user of short- and medium-range precipitation forecasts to manage power production.  Government authorities responsible for safety issues related to river levels and flooding issue advisories and warnings based on three- to ten-day forecasts.

Other, more exotic uses of GEM MesoGlobal include tracking volcanic eruption plumes and releases of harmful chemicals and radioactive products.

The on-line availability of weather forecasts has greatly increased the accessibility and use of medium-range forecasts by many clients and stakeholders.

Forecasts from GEM MesoGlobal are distributed around the world and are used by several different national weather services and hurricane prediction centres.

The Recherche en Prévision Numérique group is currently developing a coupled atmosphere-hydrology modelling system with GEM MesoGlobal as its base.

A future trend in large-scale (global) modelling is to build comprehensive earth-system models with application to a wide range of environmental prediction issues.

GEM MesoGlobal positions Environment Canada well to couple atmospheric models with ocean, ice and hydrological models and to incorporate atmospheric chemistry, enabling significant advances in the broader field of environmental prediction. 

Benefits to Canadians

How does one place a value on lives that are not lost because fishermen heeded a timely weather warning and did not venture out to sea?  How do we calculate savings from vehicular accidents that did not happen when drivers listened to an ice storm forecast and stayed home?  Placing a dollar value on damage or loss of life that does not occur, as a result of an accurate and timely weather forecast for a severe weather event, is very difficult.

With the approaching landfall of Hurricane Juan in September 2003, a few alert Nova Scotians did take action on the basis of the weather forecast and advisories (see Canadian Hurricane Centre website).

"Before and after" photo of tree damage at Point Pleasant Park in Halifax | Photo: HDI Inc. for Environment Canada

  • Officials at Point Pleasant Park in Halifax took the unpopular step of closing the Park early.  This was a favourite place to watch incoming storms.  The morning after the storm hit 90% of the mature growth in the park was gone or damaged (60,000 to 75,000 trees).  Many lives were saved by keeping people out of harm’s way.
  • In anticipation of a record-level storm surge, marina operators in Dartmouth constructed makeshift, floating extensions to the pilings to which docks (and thus boats) were attached.  This allowed the docks to rise with the water level, yet remain securely tied to the pilings.  This pre-emptive action saved most of the docks and 75% of the moored boats (savings estimated in the several hundreds of thousands of dollars) in stark contrast to huge losses at other marinas in the path of the storm.

These are examples of how improved weather forecasts, and the underlying research and development that makes them possible, do benefit Canadians.  It is with such advance information, weather warnings, that Canadians have time to take actions to prepare for or avoid adverse weather.  As the old saying goes, “an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.”

For more information:

Meteorological Research Division – Research and Development

Environment Canada Weatheroffice

Canadian Meteorological Centre

Canadian Hurricane Centre

S&T Liaison | Tel 905 315 5228 | Fax 905 336 4420
© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Environment, 2008.
Catalogue No. En164-15/8-2008E-PDF; ISBN 978-1-100-10437-9

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Aidez le gouvernement du Canada à organiser son site Web!

Remplissez un questionnaire anonyme de 5 minutes. Commencez maintenant.

Titre d'article
Auteur

Prévision du temps violent : Protection des Canadiens

Par:  Doug Whelpdale et Martin Charron avec la Division de la liaison en S-T

Télécharger le PDF (252 kB) | télécharger : lecteur gratuit

Prévision du temps violent

Protection des Canadiens

Le problème 

Fournir des prévisions précises concernant un phénomène météorologique extrême plusieurs jours à l'avance constitue un défi de taille, mais essentiel pour se préparer et intervenir afin de protéger les Canadiens.

Les Canadiens sont habitués au temps violent. Les tempêtes hivernales (blizzards, chutes de neige importantes et pluie verglaçante) font des ravages sur le plan des transports, et ce, à l'échelle du pays. Les ouragans ainsi que les cyclones extratropicaux violents frappent la côte Est avec de la pluie qui provoque souvent des inondations. Les vagues de chaleur estivales, qui sont souvent accompagnées d'une mauvaise qualité de l'air dans nos grandes villes, augmentent les taux de mortalité et de morbidité parmi les gens plus fragiles et les personnes âgées. Ces dernières ainsi que d'autres phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes entraînent des préjudices corporels ainsi que la perte de vie et endommagent l'infrastructure et les biens personnels à l'échelle du territoire. Pire encore, les changements climatiques amènent à penser que les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes seront plus fréquents et plus intenses.

À la recherche de solutions au moyen des S et T

Le 31 octobre 2006, une nouvelle version du modèle global environnemental (GEM) multi-échelle de Prévision météorologique numérique (PMN) mondiale à moyen terme a été mise en œuvre de façon opérationnelle au Centre météorologique canadien (CMC) à Dorval.

La science relative aux prévisions météorologiques a progressé depuis la diffusion des premiers avertissements de tempêtes et prévisions météorologiques générales du Canada en 1876. Grâce à des ordinateurs plus puissants, des meilleures connaissances scientifiques et des systèmes d’observation mondiaux améliorés, les prévisions météorologiques de cinq jours sont aujourd’hui aussi précis que les prévisions météorologiques d’il y a trente ans. La dernière amélioration majeure sur le plan des prévisions météorologiques et environnementales au Canada a été celle d'un nouveau modèle pour les prévisions météorologiques numériques mondiales à moyen terme, connu sous le nom de GEM MesoGlobal.

Gilbert Brunet d'EC avec le superordinateur au Centre météorologique canadien à Dorval | Photo : Guy Dansereau, ECEnvironnement Canada est un chef de file mondial en matière de prévision météorologique. Les scientifiques spécialistes de l'atmosphère, les météorologues ainsi que les experts en informatique de la Division de la recherche météorologique (Direction des sciences et de la technologie atmosphériques) et de la Division du développement (Centre météorologique canadien) mettent au point des modèles météorologiques complexes et informatisés qui fonctionnent sur l'un des superordinateurs les plus rapides du Canada au Centre météorologique canadien à Dorval. Ces modèles simulent les processus physiques qui contrôlent le comportement de l'atmosphère responsable des conditions météorologiques. Une prévision est générée en démarrant le modèle avec les conditions actuelles et en le faisant avancer dans le temps afin de déterminer la progression et les changements du temps dans le futur.

Le nouveau modèle représente cinq années d'efforts intensifs permettant de mieux comprendre les processus responsables des conditions météorologiques dangereuses et d'utiliser ces connaissances pour parfaire les prévisions. D'importants changements dans le modèle comportent une représentation améliorée des processus physiques clés et une résolution plus fine du modèle. (Des calculs effectués par le modèle sont désormais effectués dans une grille de 33 km [au lieu de 100 km] à l'échelle mondiale et dans 58 couches atmosphériques [au lieu de 28] au-dessus de la surface de la terre). Le nouveau modèle, GEM MesoGlobal, formule des prévisions météorologiques avec des détails plus précis et une exactitude générale plus élevée, en particulier pour les prévisions de trois à dix jours. Grâce à cela, les prévisions relatives au temps violent sont fortement améliorées, en particulier dans le cas d'ouragans et de fortes pluies.

Les prévisions formulées avec le nouveau modèle peuvent être très favorablement comparées à celles d'autres centres de prévisions principaux mondiaux, tels que le Centre européen pour les prévisions météorologiques à moyen terme (CEPMMT) et le U.S. National Centers for Environmental Prediction (NCEP). Grâce à la mise en œuvre du modèle GEM MesoGlobal, EC a grandement amélioré sa capacité à prévoir les conditions météorologiques extrêmes à moyen terme, en particulier les caractéristiques et l'intensité des précipitations, les fortes pluies ainsi que l'endroit et la profondeur des dépressions.

Mettre les connaissances en application

À qui ces résultats servent-ils?

Le modèle GEM MesoGlobal fait partie intégrante du système de prévisions météorologiques du Canada au Centre météorologique canadien à Dorval. Le modèle fonctionne deux fois par jour afin de générer des prévisions à moyen terme destinées au public concernant la température, les vents, les précipitations et plusieurs autres éléments climatiques pour toutes les régions du Canada. Ces prévisions sont disponibles en ligne sur le site Web du Bureau météorologique.

Des skieurs de fond | Photo : Corel CorporationDes météorologues opérationnels utilisent le modèle amélioré GEM MesoGlobal ainsi que ses prévisions afin d'alerter les personnes en cas de temps violent imminent et de les informer de ses répercussions, et ce, jusqu'à dix jours à l'avance. De tels avertissements permettent de sauver des vies et d'atténuer les dommages. Au début du mois de novembre 2007, le grondement de l'ouragan Noël s'est fait entendre à travers toutes les provinces de l'Atlantique. Le phénomène s'est traduit par la réalisation d'un test opérationnel rigoureux et satisfaisant du modèle GEM MesoGlobal. Le modèle a fourni des avertissements cohérents et fiables pendant toute la durée des prévisions relatives à cette importante tempête.

Des renseignements précoces sur la trajectoire et la gravité prévues de la tempête et sur ses conséquences possibles ont aidé les planificateurs des mesures d'urgence, les intervenants ainsi que les médias à diffuser des messages de manière opportune. On a averti les propriétaires de maison qu'ils devaient s'attendre à des chutes de branches et d'arbres, à des pannes d'électricité, à des dommages au recouvrement extérieur et aux toitures des maisons, à des inondations par endroits ainsi qu'à des dommages à l'infrastructure côtière occasionnés par les vagues.

Chaque jour, les citoyens et les intervenants au Canada et à l'étranger (fermiers, sociétés d'assurance, industrie de l'énergie, organismes de sécurité) se servent des prévisions météorologiques pour guider leurs activités personnelles et commerciales. La possibilité de pluie ou de neige, les températures maximales, les vents et bien d'autres variables météorologiques constituent des éléments précieux de la prise de décision. Hydro-Québec, par exemple, utilise fréquemment les prévisions à court et moyen terme concernant les précipitations afin de gérer la production d'énergie. Les autorités gouvernementales chargées des problèmes de sécurité liés aux niveaux de la rivière et aux inondations diffusent des conseils et des avertissements basés sur des prévisions couvrant trois à dix jours.

D'autres utilisations, plus exotiques, du modèle GEM MesoGlobal comprennent le suivi du panache lié à l'éruption volcanique et les rejets de produits chimiques et radioactifs dangereux.

La disponibilité en ligne des prévisions météorologiques a fortement élargi l'accès aux prévisions à moyen terme ainsi que leur utilisation par de nombreux clients et intervenants.

Les prévisions obtenues grâce au modèle GEM MesoGlobal sont diffusées à l'échelle mondiale et sont utilisées par plusieurs services météorologiques et centres de prévisions des ouragans nationaux différents.

Le groupe de recherche en Prévision numérique met actuellement au point un système de modélisation atmosphérique-hydrologique couplée avec le modèle GEM MesoGlobal en tant que base.

Une tendance future sur le plan de la modélisation à grande échelle (mondiale) consiste à créer des modèles intégraux liés au système terrestre et s'appliquant à une grande variété de problèmes relatifs aux prévisions environnementales.

Le modèle GEM MesoGlobal permet à Environnement Canada d'associer les modèles atmosphériques aux modèles océaniques, hydrologiques et des glaces et d'incorporer la chimie de l'atmosphère, permettant ainsi des avancées remarquables dans le vaste domaine des prévisions environnementales.

Avantages pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Que représente les vies sauvées grâce aux pêcheurs qui ont fait attention à un avertissement météorologique et qui ne se sont pas aventurés en mer? Comment calcule-t-on les économies générées grâce aux conducteurs qui ont écouté les prévisions d'une tempête de verglas, sont restés chez eux et ont ainsi prévenus des accidents de la route? Il est difficile de donner une estimation monétaire si on a pu prévenir des dommages ou des pertes de vie grâce à des prévisions météorologiques précises et rapides concernant un phénomène météorologique extrême.

En septembre 2003, lorsque l’ouragan Juan s'approchait des côtes, quelques Néo-écossais vigilants ont pris des mesures en tenant compte des prévisions météorologiques et des avis d'ouragan (consulter le site Web du Centre canadien des prévisions d’ouragan).

Photos « avant et après » le passage de l'ouragan Juan (arbres endommagés) au parc Point Pleasant à Halifax | Photo : HDI Inc. pour Environnement Canada

  • Les autorités responsables du parc Point Pleasant, à Halifax, ont pris l'initiative impopulaire de le fermer plus tôt. Ce parc était un endroit privilégié pour observer les tempêtes approchantes. Le matin suivant le passage de la tempête, 90 % de la forêt mature du parc avait été dévasté ou endommagé (de 60 000 à 75 000 arbres). De nombreuses vies ont pu être sauvées en maintenant la population hors de danger.
  • En prévoyant un niveau record d'ondes de tempête, des exploitants de marina à Dartmouth ont construit des extensions flottantes de fortune des pilotis soutenant les quais et auxquels les bateaux étaient attachés. Cela a permis l'élévation des quais avec le niveau d'eau, tout en les maintenant bien fixés aux pilotis. Cette mesure préventive a permis de conserver la plupart des quais ainsi que 75 % des bateaux amarrés (avec des économies estimées à plusieurs centaines de milliers de dollars), contrairement aux pertes considérables qu'ont subies les autres marinas se trouvant sur la trajectoire de la tempête.

Il s'agit là d'exemples qui montrent dans quelle mesure de meilleures prévisions météorologiques ainsi que la recherche et le développement sous-jacents qui les rendent possibles sont bénéfiques aux Canadiens. Grâce à une information précoce, notamment les alertes météorologiques, les Canadiens disposent de suffisamment de temps pour prendre des mesures en vue de se préparer contre des conditions météorologiques défavorables ou les éviter. Comme le dit le vieux dicton : « Mieux vaut prévenir que guérir! »

Pour de plus amples renseignements :

Division de la recherche météorologique – Recherche et développement

Bureau météorologique – Environnement Canada

Centre météorologique canadien

Centre canadien des prévisions d’ouragan

Division de la liaison en S-T | Tél 905 315 5228 | Télécopieur 905 336 4420
© Sa majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le Ministre de l'environnement, 2008.
No. de catalogue En164-15/8-2008F-PDF; ISBN 978-0-662-04664-6