Skip booklet index and go to page content

Measuring Environment Canada's Research and Development Performance (2014)

Principle: Transparency

Transparency - Conduct science in an open manner

Why we measure

The commitment to transparency in science fosters greater collaboration and engagement with the scientific community, the private sector, and the general public. As part of a broader Government of Canada-wide move towards Open Government, it is a priority at Environment Canada (EC) to conduct science in an open manner and facilitate access to our science, including research and development (R&D) publications and data. With EC and Industry Canada as co-leads, science-based departments and agencies have committed to developing a government-wide Open Science Implementation Plan.

The Open Science commitment includes the following streams of activity:

  • Open Access: Maximize open access to publications resulting from federally-funded science and technology (S&T) activities. 
  • Open Data: Maximize open access to data resulting from federally-funded S&T activities, such as data supporting publications and data derived from operational activities.
  • Public Engagement: Make information available on federally-funded S&T activities, and identify opportunities for collaboration and citizen participation.

How we measure

To measure the degree to which EC science is conducted in an open manner, the Department’s publications, and the journals in which they appear, were sorted according to their approach to achieving Open Access. Additionally, analyses were carried out on the availability of datasets through Open Data initiatives.

Results

Environment Canada contributes to the Open Access movement, with nearly half of its 2010-2012 scientific peer-reviewed publications available free and online.

In this report, the definition of an “Open Access” (OA) publication is limited to any scientific peer-reviewed publication with the full text available online and free of charge, for everyone to read. No copyright licence analysis was done to determine the extent of reuse allowed. Open Access makes methodologies and results more widely available, enabling a larger community to view the scientific research. This openness to critical discussion is central to the scientific process, and every effort to facilitate such discussion ultimately contributes to the increased quality of research.

According to a 2013 pilot study by the Observatoire des sciences et des technologies (OST), about 42% of EC publications are OA. That sits in the middle of the range of the six most productive (in terms of number of publications) science-based departments and agencies.

For context, based on a study by Science-Metrix completed in 2013, about 43% of peer-reviewed papers published world-wide between 2008 and 2011 are OA. The study also notes that OA levels tend to differ by scientific field; OA papers are most common in general S&T (64%), biomedical research (61%) and biology (57%). In comparison, about 45% of papers in earth and environmental sciences worldwide are OA. So, overall, EC and other federal departments are in step with the international science community in terms of OA.

Figure 6: Proportion of Open Access federal publications, 2011-2012

Proportion of Open Access federal publications, 2011-2012 (See long description below)

Description of Figure 6

Proportion of Open Access federal publications, 2011-2012. Overall, EC and other federal departments (Natural Resources Canada, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, National Research Council of Canada, Health Canada) are in step with the international science community in terms of OA (about half).

 

Source: Observatoire des sciences et des technologies, Web of Science (2013)

A follow-up OST study focused specifically on EC, examining all of the Department’s publications from 2010-2012. Through this more comprehensive assessment, it was determined that nearly half (49%) of EC’s publications from those years are OA.

The assessment also examined the journals in which EC work was published, cataloguing how those journals offered Open Access to the articles they published, and sorting journals into four categories:

  • GoldFootnote 1 journals make all their articles OA through their own repositories, either free of charge or through a publication fee paid by the authors, called an “article processing charge” (APC);
  • Green journals achieve OA by allowing authors to self-archive their articles, usually through a disciplinary, institutional or personal repository;
  • Hybrid journals give authors the option to either pay an APC in exchange for immediate OA to their article through journal repositories, or distribute the article for free through journal repositories after a predetermined embargo period;
  • Red journals offer none of the above.

As shown in figure 7, about 12% of EC’s publications are in Gold journals. Although 37% of EC’s publications are published in Green journals, only about half of those articles (18%) are available online free of charge through an external archive. Articles in Hybrid journals make up the largest portion of EC’s publications (49%) and about one third of EC papers published in that category (18%) are freely available (either because the author paid the fee, or because the embargo period had elapsed).

Data is not available for previous levels of Open Access as this was not included in the assessment of EC R&D conducted in 2009. In future reports, these findings can provide an important baseline against which to gauge ongoing efforts to promote transparency at EC.

Figure 7: Breakdown of EC publications by online availability and OA category, 2010-2012

Breakdown of EC publications by online availability and OA category, 2010-2012 (See long description below)

Description of Figure 7

As shown in figure 7, about 12% of EC’s publications are in Gold journals. Although 37% of EC’s publications are published in Green journals, only about half of those articles (18%) are available online free of charge through an external archive. Articles in Hybrid journals make up the largest portion of EC’s publications (49%) and about one third of EC papers published in that category (18%) are freely available (either because the author paid the fee, or because the embargo period had elapsed).

 

Source: Observatoire des sciences et des technologies, Web of Science (2013)

Environment Canada’s scientific datasets are increasingly being made available to employees and the public under Open Data initiatives.

With Canada’s Action Plan on Open Government 2014-16, the Government of Canada is shifting towards an environment where data and information are released openly to the public by default, while respecting privacy, security and confidentiality restrictions. The Government of Canada Open Data Portal was launched in 2011, and as of February 12, 2015, it provides online access to 244 EC datasets on topics such as greenhouse gas emissions, water quality, biodiversity, chemicals and pollution. Where possible, this content is provided in non-proprietary, machine-readable formats, to facilitate re-purposing the data for novel applications.

The Canada-Alberta Oil Sands Environmental Monitoring Information Portal is a key example of Open Data.

The Government of Canada and the Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency are collaborating to provide the public with data about the impacts of oil sands activity over an area covering some 140 000 km2, including maps of monitoring regions, details of monitoring sites and raw datasets, as well as scientific analysis and interpretation of that data. The portal was launched April 22, 2013. Its content is organized according to the themes of air, biodiversity and land disturbance, water, and wildlife.

In addition to making EC datasets available to the public through the Government of Canada’s Open Data Portal, EC employees have access to 611 datasets and 1343 monitoring sites through the EC Data Catalogue as of August 20, 2015. The EC Data Catalogue had 1979 unique visitors and 7456 total visitors from October 2014 to July 2015. Datasets can include numerous resources, such as methodological information and summary materials. While EC is moving towards a consolidated approach to Open Data, it is important to note that the EC Data Catalogue does not capture all data produced by the Department. For example, MSC produces extensive monitoring and model output data which is not included in the EC Data catalogue.

Transparency - Make science easily accessible

Why we measure

Increasing the availability of EC science, by providing free online access to publications is an important element of transparency; but availability alone does not guarantee that the science will be fully accessible to those who need to use it. For example, comprehension barriers sometimes stand in the way of non-specialists. EC scientists take a number of steps to overcome these kinds of obstacles, contributing to the transparency of Departmental science to users.

How we measure

The degree of accessibility of EC science was assessed based on the provision of plain-language summaries, scientific expert profiles, and traditional and social media activity.

Results

Environment Canada’s science is accessible to non-specialists through initiatives such as EC Science Alert, traditional and social media. 

  • Authors of technical articles write a plain-language summary and discussion of policy implications.

These materials are included with the record of publication in EC Science Alert’s science summary database, and thereby made accessible to policy- and decision-makers, analysts, and the rest of EC staff. In 2014, 724 publication records were added to the database, each of which included a plain-language summary.

This includes Environmental Science Experts, a collection of over 300 profiles of the Department’s scientists and technical experts (including contact information and a description of current research) which is available on EC’s website. It allows colleagues within government, academia, industry and the public to connect with experts in specific scientific fields. In 2014, Expert profiles received 62 086 views--about one third of total views in the S&T Branch section of EC’s website.

  • EC science is accessible to the public through traditional news and social media.

In 2014, EC received close to 5,800 requests for information from media. In response to these requests, more than 4,100 interviews were granted by subject matter experts. Of these, more than 3,800 were handled by Warning Preparedness Meteorologists, and 369 interviews were granted by other subject matter experts, including scientists, climatologists and ice forecasters.

EC engages the public via social media, in particular Facebook and Twitter. The Department also runs special activities for the public, such as lab tours and youth engagement. For example, in early 2015, a group of high school students and media toured the Atlantic Laboratory for Environmental Testing and met the facility’s leading researchers and technicians.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Mesure du rendement en matière de recherche et développement à Environnement Canada (2014)

Principe: Transparence

Transparence - Réaliser les activités scientifiques de manière ouverte

Pourquoi mesurer cet élément?

L’engagement à l’égard de la transparence dans les activités scientifiques favorise une collaboration et une communication plus importantes avec la communauté scientifique, le secteur privé et le grand public. Dans le cadre d’un plus vaste mouvement pour un gouvernement ouvert à l’échelle du gouvernement du Canada, Environnement Canada (EC) se donne comme priorité de mener ses activités scientifiques de manière ouverte et d’en faciliter l’accès, dont les publications et les données en matière de recherche et de développement. Avec Environnement Canada et Industrie Canada comme coresponsables, les ministères et les organismes à vocation scientifique se sont engagés à mettre au point un plan de mise en œuvre pangouvernementale de la science ouverte.

L’engagement à l’égard de la science ouverte inclut les volets d’activités suivants :

  • libre accès : maximiser le libre accès aux publications issues d’activités de sciences et de technologie financées par le gouvernement fédéral;
  • données ouvertes : maximiser le libre accès aux données issues d’activités de sciences et de technologie financées par le gouvernement fédéral, comme les données à l’appui des publications et les données obtenues à partir des activités opérationnelles;
  • participation du public : donner accès aux renseignements sur les activités de sciences et de technologie financées par le gouvernement fédéral et cerner les occasions de collaboration et de participation des citoyens.

Comment mesurer cet élément?

Afin d’évaluer la mesure dans laquelle les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont effectuées de manière ouverte, les publications du Ministère, ainsi que les revues dans lesquelles elles apparaissent, ont été classées en fonction de leur approche pour réaliser le libre accès. De plus, des analyses ont été réalisées sur la disponibilité des ensembles de données grâce aux initiatives de données ouvertes.

Résultats

Environnement Canada contribue au mouvement du libre accès alors que près de la moitié de ses publications scientifiques évaluées par des pairs entre 2010 et 2012 sont offertes gratuitement en ligne.

Dans le présent rapport, la définition d’une publication en « libre accès » se limite à toute publication scientifique évaluée par des pairs dont le texte complet est offert en ligne et sans frais pour que chacun puisse le lire. Aucune analyse sur les droits d’auteur n’a été réalisée pour déterminer la mesure dans laquelle la réutilisation du contenu est permise. Le libre accès rend les méthodes et les résultats plus largement disponibles, ce qui permet à une plus grande communauté de consulter la recherche scientifique. Cette ouverture aux discussions critiques est au cœur du processus scientifique, et chaque effort pour faciliter de telles discussions contribue en fin de compte à accroître la qualité de la recherche.

Selon une étude pilote de 2013 réalisée par l’Observatoire des sciences et des technologies, environ 42 % des publications d’Environnement Canada sont en libre accès. Environnement Canada se situe donc au milieu du groupe des six ministères et organismes à vocation scientifique les plus productifs (en ce qui concerne le nombre de publications).

Pour bien situer le contexte, d’après une étude de Science-Metrix réalisée en 2013, environ 43 % des articles évalués par des pairs publiés à l’échelle mondiale entre 2008 et 2011 sont en libre accès. L’étude indique également que les niveaux de libre accès ont tendance à varier selon le domaine scientifique; les articles en libre accès sont les plus courants dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie en général (64 %), de la recherche biomédicale (61 %) et de la biologie (57 %). En comparaison, environ 45 % des articles en sciences de la Terre et de l’environnement à l’échelle mondiale sont en libre accès. Par conséquent, dans l’ensemble, Environnement Canada et d’autres ministères fédéraux se comparent à la communauté scientifique internationale en matière de libre accès.

Figure 6 : Proportion de publications fédérales en libre accès pour 2011-2012

Proportion de publications fédérales en libre accès pour 2011-2012 (Voir description longue ci-dessous.)

Description longue de Figure 6

Proportion de publications fédérales en libre accès pour 2011-2012. Dans l’ensemble, Environnement Canada et d’autres ministères fédéraux (Ressources naturelles Canada, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, Conseil national de recherches du Canada, Santé Canada) se comparent à la communauté scientifique internationale en matière de libre accès (environ la moitié).

Source : Observatoire des sciences et des technologies, Web of Science (2013)

Une étude de suivi réalisée par l’Observatoire des sciences et des technologies a été axée spécifiquement sur Environnement Canada et a examiné toutes les publications du Ministère de 2010 à 2012. Grâce à cette évaluation plus complète, il a été déterminé que près de la moitié (49 %) des publications d’Environnement Canada datant de ces années sont en libre accès.

L’évaluation a également permis d’examiner les revues dans lesquelles les travaux d’Environnement Canada ont été publiés, de répertorier la façon dont ces revues ont offert le libre accès aux articles qu’elles ont publiés et de classer les revues en quatre catégories :

  • les revues orFootnote 1 offrent tous leurs articles en libre accès grâce à leurs propres dépôts, soit gratuitement ou au moyen de frais de publication payés par les auteurs, que l’on appelle « frais de traitement des articles »;
  • les revues vertes réussissent à offrir le libre accès en permettant aux auteurs d’autoarchiver leurs articles, généralement au moyen d’un dépôt personnel, institutionnel ou disciplinaire;
  • les revues hybrides donnent aux auteurs le choix de payer des frais de traitement des articles pour que leur article soit immédiatement en libre accès à l’aide des dépôts de la revue ou distribuent l’article gratuitement au moyen des dépôts de la revue après une période d’embargo prédéterminée;
  • les revues rouges n’offrent aucune des options mentionnées ci-dessus.

Comme le montre la figure ci-dessous, environ 12 % des publications d’Environnement Canada sont publiées dans des revues or. Bien que 37 % des publications d’Environnement Canada soient publiées dans des revues vertes, environ la moitié seulement de ces articles (18 %) sont disponibles gratuitement en ligne au moyen d’un centre d’archives externe. Les articles publiés dans des revues hybrides représentent la plus grande partie des publications d’Environnement Canada (49 %), et environ un tiers des articles d’Environnement Canada publiés dans cette catégorie (18 %) sont offerts gratuitement (soit parce que l’auteur a payé les frais, soit parce que la période d’embargo est terminée).

Aucune donnée n’est disponible concernant les niveaux antérieurs de libre accès étant donné que ce point n’a pas été inclus dans l’évaluation des activités de recherche et de développement d’Environnement Canada réalisée en 2009. Dans les prochains rapports, ces conclusions pourront fournir une importante base de référence pour mesurer les efforts continus visant à promouvoir la transparence au sein d’Environnement Canada.

Figure 7 : Répartition des publications d’Environnement Canada selon la disponibilité en ligne et la catégorie de libre accès de 2010 à 2012

Répartition des publications d’Environnement Canada selon la disponibilité en ligne et la catégorie de libre accès de 2010 à 2012 (Voir description longue ci-dessous.)

Description longue de Figure 7

Comme le montre la figure, environ 12 % des publications d’Environnement Canada sont publiées dans des revues or. Bien que 37 % des publications d’Environnement Canada soient publiées dans des revues vertes, environ la moitié seulement de ces articles (18 %) sont disponibles gratuitement en ligne au moyen d’un centre d’archives externe. Les articles publiés dans des revues hybrides représentent la plus grande partie des publications d’Environnement Canada (49 %), et environ un tiers des articles d’Environnement Canada publiés dans cette catégorie (18 %) sont offerts gratuitement (soit parce que l’auteur a payé les frais, soit parce que la période d’embargo est terminée).

Source : Observatoire des sciences et des technologies, Web of Science (2013)

Les ensembles de données scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont de plus en plus mis à la disposition des employés et du grand public dans le cadre des initiatives de données ouvertes.

Grâce au plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert 2014-2016, le gouvernement du Canada passe à un environnement où les données et les informations sont diffusées au grand public par défaut, tout en respectant les restrictions de protection des renseignements personnels, de sécurité et de confidentialité. Le portail des données ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada a été lancé en 2011, et depuis le 12 février 2015, il offre l’accès en ligne à 244 ensembles de données d’Environnement Canada sur des sujets tels que les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, la qualité de l’eau, la biodiversité, les produits chimiques et la pollution. Dans la mesure du possible, ce contenu est offert dans des formats non exclusifs et lisibles à la machine afin de faciliter la réorientation des données dans de nouvelles applications.

Le portail d’information Canada-Alberta sur la surveillance environnementale des sables bitumineux est un exemple clé de données ouvertes.

Le gouvernement du Canada et l’Alberta Environmental Monitoring, Evaluation and Reporting Agency collaborent afin de fournir au grand public des données concernant les effets des activités liées aux sables bitumineux sur une superficie de quelque 140 000 km2, y compris des cartes de la région sous surveillance, des détails sur les sites surveillés, des ensembles de données brutes ainsi que l’analyse et l’interprétation scientifiques de ces données. Le portail a été lancé le 22 avril 2013. Son contenu est organisé en fonction des thèmes de l’air, de la biodiversité et des perturbations du terrain, de l’eau et de la faune.

En plus des ensembles de données d’Environnement Canada mis à la disposition du grand public par l’entremise du portail des données ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada, les employés d’Environnement Canada ont accès à 611 ensembles de données et à 1 343 sites de surveillance grâce au catalogue de données d’Environnement Canada depuis le 20 août 2015. Le catalogue de données d’Environnement Canada a reçu 1 979 visiteurs uniques et 7 456 visiteurs au total d’octobre 2014 à juillet 2015. Les ensembles de données peuvent comprendre de nombreuses ressources, comme des renseignements méthodologiques et des résumés. Même si Environnement Canada s’oriente vers une approche consolidée en matière de données ouvertes, il est important de noter que toutes les données produites par le Ministère ne sont pas saisies dans le catalogue de données d’Environnement Canada. Par exemple, le Service météorologique du Canada produit des données de surveillance et de sortie de modèle détaillées qui ne sont pas incluses dans le catalogue de données d’Environnement Canada.

Transparence - Rendre la science accessible

Pourquoi mesurer cet élément?

L’amélioration de la disponibilité des activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada grâce à l’accès gratuit en ligne aux publications est un élément important de la transparence. Toutefois, la disponibilité seule ne garantit pas que les activités scientifiques seront entièrement accessibles à ceux qui doivent les utiliser. Par exemple, les non-spécialistes sont parfois confrontés à des problèmes de compréhension. Les scientifiques d’Environnement Canada adoptent une série de mesures pour surmonter ce genre d’obstacles, ce qui contribue à rendre les activités scientifiques du Ministère transparentes pour les utilisateurs.

Comment mesurer cet élément?

Le degré d’accessibilité des activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada a été évalué en se fondant sur la capacité à fournir des résumés en langage clair, des profils d’experts scientifiques et des activités dans les médias traditionnels et sociaux.

Résultats

Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont accessibles aux non-spécialistes grâce à des initiatives telles que la base de données « Nouveautés en sciences à EC », les médias traditionnels et les médias sociaux.

  • Les auteurs d’articles techniques utilisent un langage clair et simple pour rédiger un résumé et une discussion des implications sur la politique.

Ces documents sont inclus dans le dossier de publications de la base de données des résumés scientifiques de Nouveautés en sciences à EC et, par conséquent, mis à la disposition des responsables des politiques et des décideurs, des analystes et du reste du personnel d’Environnement Canada. En 2014, 724 dossiers de publications ont été ajoutés à la base de données, chacun d’entre eux comprenant un résumé en langage clair et simple.

  • Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont accessibles au public par l’entremise des sites Web ministériels ec.gc.ca et meteo.gc.ca.

Le site Web d’Environnement Canada offre la section Experts en sciences de l’environnement, un recueil de plus de 300 profils d’experts techniques et scientifiques du Ministère (y compris leurs coordonnées et une description de leur recherche actuelle). Cette section permet aux collègues au sein du gouvernement, au milieu universitaire, à l’industrie et aux membres du public de communiquer avec des experts dans des domaines scientifiques précis. En 2014, les profils des experts ont été consultés 62 086 fois, soit environ un tiers des consultations totales de la section des sciences et de la technologie du site Web d’Environnement Canada.

  • Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont accessibles au public grâce aux médias traditionnels et aux médias sociaux.

En 2014, Environnement Canada a reçu près de 5 800 demandes de renseignements de la part des médias. En réponse à ces demandes, plus de 4 100 entrevues ont été accordées par des experts en la matière. Parmi celles-ci, plus de 3 800 entrevues ont été traitées par des météorologues aux alertes et 369 entrevues ont été accordées par d’autres experts en la matière, y compris des scientifiques, des climatologues et des prévisionnistes (glaces).

Environnement Canada mobilise le public par l’intermédiaire des médias sociaux, notamment Facebook et Twitter. Le Ministère organise également des activités spéciales pour le public, comme des visites en laboratoire et des activités de mobilisation des jeunes. Par exemple, au début de l’année 2015, un groupe d’élèves du secondaire et de représentants des médias a visité le laboratoire atlantique pour les tests environnementaux et a rencontré les éminents chercheurs et techniciens de l’installation.

Date de modification :