Skip booklet index and go to page content

Environment Canada's Science Strategy 2014-2019

2. Vision, Mission and Principles to Guide Environment Canada’s Science

As described earlier, the Science Strategy responds to organizational and contextual changes for the Department. Environment Canada’s science continues to be grounded in a mandate to protect the environment, conserve Canada's natural heritage, and provide weather and meteorological information to keep Canadians informed and safe. The Strategy’s vision, mission, and principles build on the broad directions outlined in the 2007 Science Plan. They seek to refine and focus those directions to move the Department’s science forward and focus it on federal priorities, which include environmental priorities identified by the Government of Canada, the Minister of the Environment, and relevant national governance bodies, such as the Canadian Council of Ministers of the Environment. Although the Strategy sets out directions for the next five years, its vision, mission and principles are longer-term objectives.

Vision

To provide leadership on environmental science addressing federal priorities

Mission

To provide the scientific knowledge, data and tools needed to enable Environment Canada’s policies, programs and services to help provide a clean, safe and sustainable environment for Canadians

Principles

Relevance, Transparency, Responsiveness, Excellence, Collaboration

Principle 1: Relevance

Environment Canada’s science activities should be relevant to the current and future needs of users. These activities should effectively and efficiently deliver on the Department’s mandate and key federal priorities.

Principle 2: Transparency

Increased external scrutiny and the international and global nature of so many environmental problems demand greater transparency. Environment Canada’s science activities should be conducted in an open manner and the results of the Department’s work should be easily accessible.

Principle 3: Responsiveness

Environment Canada’s science should anticipate, respond and adapt to new and evolving environmental realities and priorities. The Department maintains core expertise and capacity across the field of environmental science, which it deploys to generate timely insight and solutions to current issues.

Principle 4: Excellence

Environment Canada maintains and pursues scientific excellence by using and adhering to internationally recognized standards and processes. The Department’s stature, reputation, and productivity are a direct result of its culture of scientific integrity, rigour, authority and creativity.

Principle 5: Collaboration

Science is a collaborative enterprise. Environment Canada’s scientists collaborate with partners in Canada and internationally through networks across universities, the private sector, other governments and non-governmental organizations. Collaboration involves sharing information and expertise across disciplines, sectors and jurisdictions in order to work collectively to find viable solutions to environmental challenges.

Together, these five principles serve as a framework to set out what Environment Canada strives for, and to explain how it will operate as a science-based organization. These principles guide the work of all staff involved in performing and managing science in the Department. The mechanisms for implementation included in the final section of the Strategy put these principles into practice.

Date modified:

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie pour les sciences d’Environnement Canada 2014-2019

2. Vision, mission et principes guidant la science d’Environnement Canada

Tel que discuté précédemment, la Stratégie pour les sciences répond à des changements organisationnels et contextuels survenus au Ministère. Les activités scientifiques réalisées par Environnement Canada continuent de répondre au mandat consistant à protéger l’environnement, à conserver le patrimoine naturel du Canada et à produire de l’information météorologique et climatique afin que les Canadiens soient informés et en sécurité. La vision, la mission et les principes de la Stratégie s’appuient sur les grandes orientations décrites dans le Plan pour les sciences de 2007. Ils visent à raffiner et à préciser ces orientations afin de faire progresser les activités scientifiques au Ministère et à les centrer sur les priorités fédérales, qui comprennent des priorités environnementales établies par le gouvernement du Canada, le ministre de l’Environnement et des organismes nationaux de gouvernance comme le Conseil canadien des ministres de l’environnement. Bien que la Stratégie établisse des orientations pour les cinq prochaines années, sa vision, sa mission et ses principes constituent des objectifs à long terme.

Vision

Être un chef de file en matière de sciences environnementales répondant aux priorités fédérales

Mission

Produire les connaissances, les données et les outils scientifiques requis pour permettre aux politiques, aux programmes et aux services d’Environnement Canada d’aider à offrir un environnement propre, sécuritaire et durable pour les Canadiens

Principes

Pertinence, transparence, réactivité, excellence et collaboration

Principe 1 – Pertinence

Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont pertinentes aux besoins actuels et futurs des utilisateurs. Ces activités doivent contribuer à la réalisation du mandat du Ministère et  favoriser l’avancement des priorités fédérales clés de manière efficace et efficiente.

Principe 2 – Transparence

En raison de l’examen accru auquel est soumis le secteur et de la nature internationale et généralisée de la plupart des problèmes environnementaux, davantage de transparence est exigée. Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada sont menées de manière ouverte et les résultats obtenus sont facilement accessibles.

Principe 3 – Réactivité

Les activités scientifiques d’Environnement Canada permettent de prévoir les conditions et les priorités environnementales nouvelles et en évolution, d’y réagir et de s’y adapter. Le Ministère conserve une expertise et une capacité interne qui couvre l’éventail des sciences de l’environnement et il s’en sert pour produire des informations et des solutions opportunes aux problèmes actuels.

Principe 4 – Excellence

Environnement Canada atteint l’excellence scientifique en utilisant et observant des normes et des processus reconnus à l’échelle internationale. La stature, la réputation et la productivité du Ministère découlent directement de sa culture d’intégrité scientifique, de sa rigueur, de son autorité et de sa créativité.

Principe 5 – Collaboration

La science est fondée sur la collaboration. Les scientifiques d’Environnement Canada collaborent avec des partenaires au Canada et à l’international grâce à des réseaux établis avec les universités, l’entreprise privée et d’autres organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales. La collaboration permet le partage de l’information et de l’expertise entre disciplines, secteurs et domaines de compétence afin de chercher ensemble des solutions viables aux problèmes environnementaux.

Ces cinq principes constituent un cadre qui établit les aspirations d’Environnement Canada et servent à expliquer comment il fonctionne en tant qu’organisme à vocation scientifique. Ces principes orientent le travail de tous les employés qui réalisent et gèrent des activités scientifiques au Ministère. Les mécanismes de mise en œuvre présentés dans la dernière partie de la Stratégie permettent de mettre ces principes en pratique.

Date de modification :